Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: During the last two years of her life, Princess Diana (Naomi Watts) embarks on a final rite of passage: a secret love affair with Pakistani heart surgeon Hasnat Khan (Naveen Andrews).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
  1. 63
    Watts masters Diana’s look — the way she carried her head and used those wide, coyly expressive eyes — but is only passable at impersonating the voice.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Oct 29, 2013
    60
    Watts’s work is extraordinary, sometimes keying off the same illicit register as "Mulholland Drive"; she risks being goofy, awkward and bratty.
  3. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Oct 31, 2013
    50
    There’s a germ of a smart biopic in Diana; the problem is that it’s tucked away behind a clunky structure and even clunkier dialogue.
  4. Reviewed by: Charles Gant
    Sep 9, 2013
    40
    While mostly swerving past the pitfall of tastelessness, this sincerely intended account of the last two years of Princess Diana’s life risks an even more perilous roadblock: dullness.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 31, 2013
    38
    Hirschbiegel and Watts don’t have the nerve for camp. Even a scene of a rejected Diana back at Kensington, forlornly playing Bach at her piano while mascara streams down her face, is played gloomily straight.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Oct 31, 2013
    25
    Diana isn’t just an egregious case of rewriting history, but one of oversimplifying it.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Nov 8, 2013
    12
    Are the micro-biopics that don't even bother to provide overviews of their famed subjects' entire lives, but instead lean on the spectacle of celebrity impersonation, the new camp?

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    My expectations were low. Many reviews were unflattering and I never cared for for the fetish of British royalty. However this film turned out to be a moving love story made by a wonderful director and staring one of the best actresses in recent years.. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    First thing is that this is a Film saying something about feelings of a woman, longing for Love and not merely a TV Documentry or a Biopic with real life clippings..so its best not to expect that !!This Famous saying by poet Rumi...”Somewhere between right
    and wrong there is a garden…I will meet you there”. That’s the garden of love,
    where Diana wanted to go to. The film says a lot about the private life of
    Diana, which I guess has been researched on some hard facts. Young Lioness..One
    of the most beautiful women of all times…had the whole world in her palm yet
    she yearned for The one thing, that is a
    gift of only the fortunate- LOVE…She was denied that from her rebound affair
    with (one in a million) heart Surgeon- Dr.Khan, who realistically and logically,
    choose his career and family over her…only
    because she was a princess. But sadly Dr.Khan did not know that love is not to be
    analysed from the head …But FELT from the heart, which was what Diana felt…always
    from her Heart !! What I gather from the
    Film is that…Despite what was expected from the world’s most important woman at
    that time, from the Society, Royalty, Paparazzi
    and the World at large… she tried her best to Just come out of those clutches
    of Royalty to which she had wed into… Yet it seems like No one wanted to see
    her in any different image other than Princess Diana…Queen of England ! I feel there is that one dialogue from the
    movie- Notting hill by Julia Roberts, which best fits at the END…where Diana
    probably might want to have said to the world that…After all... I'm just a
    girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her!! …R.I.P. Diana.
    Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2014
    7
    A biographical movie of princess Diana. It tells the story of her last two years of life, especially the romance side. A better movie than I anticipated. I think Jessica Chastain would have been also a good choice to play the role princess Diana, anyway Naomi Watts excelled in her opportunity. The movie did not fail because of the cast, characters and performances, the thing is I really don't know why, different people say different reason, but I enjoyed it. This real incident was happened when I was a little kid, I did not know the whole story then till I watch it now.

    ‘‘There's about 5 billion people on this planet who can say
    they love me! But is there one who can stay with me?’’

    After all Diana was also a human like everybody else and I did not find anything wrong with her romantic affair in her final days. In fact, as a cinematic it chronicles on the sufficient amount of limited characters. Lots of the big names were just left out. That's great because the movie had all the time to concentrate on the particular relationship. Except that I waited for the end tragedy scene which never came. I assumed, that could have been the highlight of the movie, which might have brought the tears. So I believe it is a great let down, the movie did not have the car crash scene. Especially the real reason behind it remains fishy and mystery. Naveen Andrews was great, but he was no way near to Hasnat Khan in appearance.

    There might be some flaws in the movie, because in the biopics people often complain about many things. Those who observed all this incident closely at that time when it happened may recognize errors. But I feel modification sometimes need while transforming a real life to cinematic. Like any romantic movie it can be enjoyed by everyone who love biography. I did and liked it, certainly not a class movie like it should have been.
    Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    3
    The most disappointing movie of the year. Hirschbiegel was so unhappy as director. Naomi Watts is one of the best actresses of the moment, but the terrible development of the script doesn't allowed her show all her talent. Besides that, in absolutely unbelievable that someone take a perfect character (Di) with a great story of life and make a so stupid movie. Naomi, I stil love you...your Oscar is coming. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    Diana is a terrible film I agree, but Naomi Watts is outstanding in this film, even though it is terribly edited, dull, long and uninteresting, I totally forgot that I am watching someone taking the roll of Princess Diana, it all seemed to me that it is a real secret footage from her life, and the editing helped to forget it is a film, because you can't figure out it is a new day or is it the same, although it gets better, but believe it is footage from her life before she died, sometimes it seemed interesting but most of the time it is silly and forgettable. I won't bother to watch Diana again, it is terrible, boring, film but seems so real. Totally a film to skip. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2014
    2
    "Diana" 10 Scale Rating: 2.0 (Awful) ...

    The Good: Naomi Watts, who is usually excellent, tried really hard to make this work.

    The Bad:
    Sadly, Watts looked nothing like Diana and these days that is unacceptable in film. On top of that, the film is just a mess. It is very tacky, at times slow, and comes across as a film made for cable television. While I never understood the obsession with Diana, surely she deserved better than this? Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    ifb4tgrijehbregerhwhrewhuhberigewrgweiguuerwhbgbgbgbggbgbgbgbgbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers