Lions Gate Films | Release Date: February 25, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 102 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
2
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
melishamJul 31, 2009
i cried during the sad parts and laughed during the funny parts. things like this do happen to people in reality, and its sad. but this shows ways to deal with it and its also a wonderful family movie, we all loved it and watched it 3 times i cried during the sad parts and laughed during the funny parts. things like this do happen to people in reality, and its sad. but this shows ways to deal with it and its also a wonderful family movie, we all loved it and watched it 3 times in a row and have watched it frequently since then. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MicheleA.Oct 23, 2005
This was a great movie about life!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LindaRMar 22, 2009
I love this movie it make me realize how you could easy forgive a person no matter how they treat you in the long run especially you trying to save your marriage it take two to make it work. Neither spouse have any reason to cheat on each I love this movie it make me realize how you could easy forgive a person no matter how they treat you in the long run especially you trying to save your marriage it take two to make it work. Neither spouse have any reason to cheat on each other, that they suppose to follow their wedding vow. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricaOct 23, 2007
This movie was the best it could have more funny parts though cant wait for the next one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TheateraNerdJul 9, 2012
The critics have done it AGAIN! They have underated another GREAT Perry film! This movie's too good to get such a low score. People who rated this movie low are just JEALOUS just like spike lee is because Tyler Perry makes GREAT films.The critics have done it AGAIN! They have underated another GREAT Perry film! This movie's too good to get such a low score. People who rated this movie low are just JEALOUS just like spike lee is because Tyler Perry makes GREAT films. REMEMBER.....jealousy is a sin!!!!..... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MaryanneAOct 13, 2006
This movie had me laughing and crying. We loved it very much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanK.Mar 20, 2006
Instead of "Waiting to Exhale", Kimberly Elise's character realizes that she has the power to forgive, and move on, instead of staying angry. Medea/Joe provide comic relief, and also provide a "hook" to get audiences interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TwanellC.Oct 15, 2005
This movie was da bomb it make us Black women think about reality. I Love this movie and I also love the songs they sing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NinaP.Dec 5, 2005
This movie is da best..i love it soo much i watch it errday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LakeshiaB.Sep 26, 2005
I thought this movie was great. Shemar Moore did a wonderful job along with his costars. It had the sad moments, laughter, and was inspirational.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NinaJan 17, 2007
Diary Of a Mad Black woman was a movie that I enjoyed it has a powerful message behind it it isn't just a comedy movie to make you laugh it can touch you in many more ways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lukechristianscJan 8, 2015
play writer Tyler Perry makes his writing and acting debut in his first film! When critics hate your movie for the first time, bad news they hate you and you should leave show business. In my opinion: Tyler Perry is not a bad writer/directorplay writer Tyler Perry makes his writing and acting debut in his first film! When critics hate your movie for the first time, bad news they hate you and you should leave show business. In my opinion: Tyler Perry is not a bad writer/director i have like some of his movies (Madea,Good deeds), when perry wrote his first movie script for 'Diary of a mad black woman' then he started to lose his talent. He just makes his own style black humor that gets me annoyed he does the same things in his series of comedies. This movie is powerful and hilarious at times. But not a good start for Tyler Perry. Grade 76.9 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thefishslapJan 5, 2015
althouhg I really thought that is movie had potentiel, really funny, tougher, i lked it but it just sounds amazing! I could not believe my hays when i was slappin down for this movmie! good. I. Was HAPPY!oh wow i could really reltate to this,althouhg I really thought that is movie had potentiel, really funny, tougher, i lked it but it just sounds amazing! I could not believe my hays when i was slappin down for this movmie! good. I. Was HAPPY!oh wow i could really reltate to this, but not anytime hen wonfourchunaitley! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 25, 2016
Well, since the critics were very candid with their reviews with a Diary of A Mad Black Woman Movie, I must be candid with my review about their reviews on this movie as well. People are so quick to speak so negatively against something whenWell, since the critics were very candid with their reviews with a Diary of A Mad Black Woman Movie, I must be candid with my review about their reviews on this movie as well. People are so quick to speak so negatively against something when they have not done extension research on the target audience and the impact that it had on America after the ending of the movie. Example: USA Domestic Violence Group , reported after many viewers saw the movie Diary of a Mad Black Woman, many Americans male and Female ( all races and nationalities) called the national hotline seeking help to get out abusive relationships or seeking help and treatment because they were the abusers. This is indeed frustrating to see the immaturity in Hollywood and among critics. This film was not your traditional film.... it was targeted toward an audience that critics and Hollywood has ignored for years. Audiences that want movies with more authentic messages and solutions behind it, audiences who want to leave the movie with more than just a bag of popcorn and soda, most of a movie that bridges families back together, Something I can take my grandmother to and she never has to feel offended by but naked scenes, harsh and unacceptable language. It amazes me that critics now call "trashy movies" good and excellent, and authentic movies with a deep message behind it, no good. Please, give me a break! The majority of America can care less what the critics think now....... The box office should speak for it self....... We will continue to support Tyler Perry's work and his additional films in the near future. I credit Lions Gate Film for supporting and bringing to film a movie that many viewers have enjoyed and still buzzing about. How can movie reporters, speak negatively about a movie in which they have not taken the time to ask the real audiences of America who bought the film to number (that should speak for itself). Before your thoughts come to paper about another movie, please do your homework first. I give each critic a 0 on their reviews. No disrespect, but I think I speak for the majority that every critic needs to just do us all a favor ...... and get a new job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews