User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    The best of the Wimpy Kid movies. I was smiling and laughing throughout the entire movie. It's hilarious and brings several life lessons for kids to the table. The cast, as always, did a fantastic job. If you enjoyed the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid movies you'll enjoy this. Hilarious and one of the best movies of the year.
  2. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    the best of the three. was so funny and greg is still very good. better than the dark knihght rises big time and its the best of 2012. good graphics and good acting. this is a graet movie
  3. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    The best of the three! Dog Days delivers much more of a sentimental lesson but still pushing in the vast amount of fun and awesomeness the series needs.
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    At first I didn't like the Wimpy Kid films at all and when I found out about a third film, I laughed and didn't expect anything from it. But I then watched the 2nd Film on TV and was gripped to the Holly/Greg storyline. This caused me to go and watch the 3rd Film, Dog Days, expecting a cheesy, bad film. However, this film isn't all too bad. It's a light hearted comedy, with some good jokes, some bad jokes, and some copied jokes (There's a scene completely copied off a Mr Bean episode!). But it wasn't too bad. The Holly/Greg story that I was hooked into remained and, although it wasn't completely resolved, they ended the film and the story with finesse. Although I warn you, the opening and ending bits with human Greg standing in front of a cartoon background is the cheesiest thing ever, but you can forget that. Overall It's not the worst film of the year *Cough* Abe Lincoln Vampire Hunter *Cough* but if you are looking for a comedy with great constant gags, It's not the film for you. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    1
    Honestly This Movie In My Opinion Is Trash... Boring And Uncreative..
    One Of The Worst Of 2012
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    3
    i found this film terrible . you have a dad who is retarded a mom who is overprotected and brother who is cool but messes with your head . wow this trilogy is a waste of time
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    If this really is the end of this film franchise, then I say it ended on a pretty high note. Its all the same wacky and witty humor of the first 2, but this time its during the summer. You see Greg getting in embarrasing and troublesome situations a lot more this time around. Yes, this wimpy kid wants to play video games all summer, but his dad tries to change that. That is one big plot point. His relationship with his dad. Anyways, it is not the best of the series (Rodrick Rules is) but it is one heck of a fun conclusion. Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    By far it is the best of the "Wimpy Kid" movie trilogy. It is at some parts hilarious, but others were very weak and boring. But that is usually what I expect from these movies. You have to give the comedic style some time. Not to spoil, but the ending is hilarious. I was also really scared to death (honestly, during a PG movie!) during one part.
  9. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Has to be the best out of the 3! Hilarious, and when you see the bond between Greg and Holly starting to grow, it feels great! Especially loved the end - no spoilers here. Want to watch it? Go ahead! It will have you in stitches. Excellent cast too!
  10. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    The three Wimpy Kid films don't all manage to shock or put true emotions in them, but still manages a handful of laughs and has plot that is true to its book franchise. With family in mind, the film displays once again a humorous typical family facing troubles and going through another adventure in every day life. With this in find, kids will love these scenarios, which adults a little bored, but interested at times. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 5, 2012
    70
    It's the latest installment in what now forms a lightly likable trilogy of films based on Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid books.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Aug 5, 2012
    60
    Viewers enduring early adolescence or those grappling with its psychic scars will recognize the honesty in the comic humiliation.
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Aug 3, 2012
    70
    Fox is smart to keep turning this stuff out before star Gordon grows too old for the role. He's terrific in a Leave it to Beaver way, perfectly capturing the angst of being in-betweener.