Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Distributing Corporation (MGM) | Release Date: November 22, 2002
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 296 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
226
Mixed:
43
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Commander_JimDec 14, 2011
The worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that areThe worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that are too low brow for an Austin Powers movie and instead of the famous Bond stunts we get CGI that looked to have been done by the local High School AV club. Just check out Halle Berry's s CGI dive of a cliff, the most unintentionally funny thing Ive seen in a long time. A very, very poor movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
marwood87May 23, 2012
Starts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is theStarts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is the worst minutes of James Bond ever, just so bad, and I love James Bond, and have for many many years but most of this film is unforgivable, from having Madonna in it for her self promotion to all the dodgy special effects, to the worst Bond villan - just an unplesant experience! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DoctorSpacemanJul 5, 2012
It's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she'sIt's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she's very disappointed!") Other than that, it's a ridiculous movie with an absurd plot and more bad CGI than has a right to exist. But watch it on Christmas Eve, right before "It's a Wonderful Life"- it's a great tradition! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
VikrantP.Sep 19, 2007
Better than Casino Royale and by far the best Bond film ever made. Could have been even more enjoyable if it was extended by half or one hour.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SamblixAug 14, 2012
Bond has lost his charm.
Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
I
Bond has lost his charm.
Lukewarm plot with boring, unrelateable characters makes this offering, in the long running Bond series one of the weakest to date. Pierce Brosnans performance, is the commical, classical Bond we've grown to love.
I may have watched this movie for the first time 10 years after its release however, great movies will stand the test of time. This does not. The awful CGI make this, at times, unbareable to watch.... Oh and Madonnas in it. For Pierce Brosnan's Bond fans only.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BenE.Jun 9, 2006
Wonderfull, I really enjoyed it! Entertainment weekly is so right!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeAverageFeb 5, 2008
Ow! My eyes! I'm blind! This movie was so bad it blinded me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AllenT.Feb 5, 2008
This was possibly the worst film I've ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesCoolFeb 5, 2008
What were they thinking?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KrisK.Feb 5, 2008
This movie sucked balls! Bad acting, bad direction, bad special effects. The Batman & Robin of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinP.Mar 14, 2008
There is no excuse for a movie to be this bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomLJun 27, 2008
A good film, not up to the standard of some of the old classics but good enough, compare it to casino royale and it could be a 10. However, looking at this film compared to the films that were around when they made it, they made a few errors A good film, not up to the standard of some of the old classics but good enough, compare it to casino royale and it could be a 10. However, looking at this film compared to the films that were around when they made it, they made a few errors in the writing and designing of it. Firstly Halle Berry's acting in the film was bad, not terrible, but bad, secondly, they managed to make the first 30 mins of the film, almost the best I've seen in any bond film so compared to this, the rest of the movie jsut seems slightly toned down, through to the car chase scene at the end, some of the CG was also pretty cheesy but on the whole worked well. Overall though a thoroughly enjoyable film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankF.Nov 26, 2002
Better than Tomorrow Never Dies but, not as good as the World is not enough. I enjoy Brosnan's acting, and ability to make cheesy lines seem less cheesy. I didn't like the CGI interaction in one particular scene, it seems like a Better than Tomorrow Never Dies but, not as good as the World is not enough. I enjoy Brosnan's acting, and ability to make cheesy lines seem less cheesy. I didn't like the CGI interaction in one particular scene, it seems like a waste of money. I liked Halle Berry's character, although I didn't appreciate that fact that some of her dialogue seem to "dumb her down"....I was to busy enjoying the car...ahhhhhhhhhhhhh, what a car it is. Thank God the Astin Martin is back! I think that John Cleese was good as "Q", however I miss Douglass Llewellyn, and he will be sorely missed. (If you don't know, he died in a car accident after the opening weekend of the last movie.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jwt7000Nov 20, 2012
Loved the theme song, loved the gadgets, loved the setting, loved the stunts but did not love the cheesy plot. The main villain isn't always that villain at the beginning of the movie which makes the plot confusing. I wish this Bond movie isLoved the theme song, loved the gadgets, loved the setting, loved the stunts but did not love the cheesy plot. The main villain isn't always that villain at the beginning of the movie which makes the plot confusing. I wish this Bond movie is the first Bond movie to be turned to 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FlorianOct 17, 2010
I liked the movie very much - the actors are very interesting and their acting is flawless. The soundtrack greatly contributes to increase the tension. The action is very entertaining and though sometimes very exaggerated, still believable -I liked the movie very much - the actors are very interesting and their acting is flawless. The soundtrack greatly contributes to increase the tension. The action is very entertaining and though sometimes very exaggerated, still believable - well, a bit, but it's very much fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
chardr69May 25, 2011
The twentieth James Bond film and last for Pierce Brosnan as 007. It is also the only Bond directed by Lee Tamahori.

James Bond is captured by the North Koreans trying to disrupt an illegal arms deal for outlawed South African "conflict
The twentieth James Bond film and last for Pierce Brosnan as 007. It is also the only Bond directed by Lee Tamahori.

James Bond is captured by the North Koreans trying to disrupt an illegal arms deal for outlawed South African "conflict diamonds", put together by Colonel Moon (Will Yun Lee) and his right hand man Zao (Rick Moon). But he is double-crossed by someone within MI6, and tortured by the North Koreans, but not before killing Moon. Fourteen months later 007 is released by his captures in exchange for Zao, who was recently captured by the west. "M" (Dame Judi Dench) and NSA agent Damian Falco (Michael Madsen) believe Bond must have talked during his captivity, and is sent to rot in a British prison facility in Hong Kong. 007 escapes by stopping his heart for a brief period of time, and busting out. He then tracks Zao to Cuba where he is receiving DNA replacement therapy, and meets the incredibly sexy Jinx (Halle Berry), a NSA agent working for Falco. After Zao escapes, Bond returns to London and his attention turns to environmental billionaire Gustov Graves (Tobey Stephens), who has created a satellite that deploys a heat ray that can turn the world's ice lands into lush green gardens. 007 then travels to Iceland and Graves' ice fortress "The Ice Palace", where he is invited to watch a demonstration of his satellite, which Bond believes is fueled by the "conflict diamonds". While there, 007 meets up again with Jinx, and learns that Graves is actually Colonel Moon, having had has his appearance altered by the DNA replacement therapy. Bond and Jinx must now stop Graves and MI6 traitor Miranda Frost (Rosamund Pike) before he uses the satellite to attack South Korea.

This is the most absurd plot of any of the 007 films, and one of the reasons that the series went on hiatus for four years, and then the decision was made to reboot the franchise, and start all over again. Pierce Brosnan is great as usual, but starting to look a little old (he was 49 at the time), and Halle Berry is perfect as the strong-headed sexy Jinx. The theme song by Madonna is probably the worst of all the Bond themes, and the DNA Gene replacement therapy is completely ridiculous, as is 007's invisible Aston Martin.

This film is entertaining, but way too far over the top.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Dangerman1973Nov 24, 2012
This has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces andThis has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces and invisible cars? UGH! It's a real... REAL shame the Piece Brosnan left the Bond series on this abomination of a movie! If it weren't for Daniel Craig saving the franchise from total oblivion four years later, I've would have left the series permanently! Since I'm a sad owner of the Blu-ray from the Bond 50 set, I'll try my best to ignore it. Message to all Bond fans: avoid this at ALL COSTS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
WalkingDead5640Jul 10, 2013
Just pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced actionJust pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced action movie. There's too much of what we don't want in a Bond movie. Entertaining but I really do and have always never had anything great to say except for Brosnan gives another grand performance and the regulars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DibbHansenJul 16, 2013
It is a bit over the top, but it is also Bond. The action pieces are epic and awesome and really get you involved, the acting in here is great (except for Halle Berry- she just feels out of place) and the music is awesome (along with theIt is a bit over the top, but it is also Bond. The action pieces are epic and awesome and really get you involved, the acting in here is great (except for Halle Berry- she just feels out of place) and the music is awesome (along with the theme song- I really like Madonna's song, but not her cameo appearance). This film is an over the top Bond, which is fine. It is a pretty decent movie, and a good Bond film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
manofthemoonMar 7, 2015
Brosnan's final outing as 007 sees a poor script and a short-lived descent towards the worst excesses of the Roger Moore era with silly gags and silly gadgets. Halle Berry thinks it's all about her (as she did in the press interviews),Brosnan's final outing as 007 sees a poor script and a short-lived descent towards the worst excesses of the Roger Moore era with silly gags and silly gadgets. Halle Berry thinks it's all about her (as she did in the press interviews), Madonna proves that she can't act (or provide a decent theme tune), and it all goes against the good work of "Goldeneye" and the so-so follow-ups. Brosnan wasn't to blame, but he was let go, much to his disappointment. On the plus side, the action sequences are good. On the downside, there's an invisible car. It all seems so dated. Next up would be the reboot with Daniel Craig in the excellent "Casino Royale". "Die Another Day" did well at the box office, but Bond fans were shaking their heads in disbelief. A major let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
Pierce Brosnan is a decent Bond, and his take on the character is very studied, and thought out. Die Another Day will keep Bond fans' eye glued to the screen, and everyone else will think of how the special effects and CGI are crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Duke_NukemOct 12, 2015
The movie starts fine and there are some funny references to older Bond films. But once at the ice palace it starts going wrong. Especially the scene where James Bond is gliding on the water has some of the worst CGI ever in a Bond movie.The movie starts fine and there are some funny references to older Bond films. But once at the ice palace it starts going wrong. Especially the scene where James Bond is gliding on the water has some of the worst CGI ever in a Bond movie. Even my kid laughed and said: "This is so fake!"

Halle Berry and Rosamund Pike act totally childish in the movie with stupid one liners and even more stupid jealousy, but admittedly they both look very hot.

Too bad this was the last Bond movie with Pierce Brosnan because then we got those boring depressive Bond movies with Daniel Craig.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews