Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 25, 2012
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2024 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,834
Mixed:
113
Negative:
77
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
fogzaMay 27, 2013
Sort of a mix between Inglorious Basterds and Kill Bill 1, with the worst aspects of both. It's overlong as with IB, and filled with silly action set pieces as in KB. Very stylish, pretty short on anything else. Leo steals the show; you can'tSort of a mix between Inglorious Basterds and Kill Bill 1, with the worst aspects of both. It's overlong as with IB, and filled with silly action set pieces as in KB. Very stylish, pretty short on anything else. Leo steals the show; you can't buy any of the other characters or their motivations. People will try to tell you it's a homage to blaxploitation movies or brilliant satire cloaked in b-grade trapping, or any of the normal stuff people say about Tarantino movies. The truth is, it's just a silly movie that lacks the wit of his earliest films. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwAug 16, 2016
The beauty of Tarantino's films is that he can glean the finest qualities from lesser works and synthesize them into something even greater than the sum of their parts.

The frustrating aspect of his work is that one gets the impression
The beauty of Tarantino's films is that he can glean the finest qualities from lesser works and synthesize them into something even greater than the sum of their parts.

The frustrating aspect of his work is that one gets the impression that even in doing so, he has only up to this point been scratching the surface of that which is possible from that intellect.

I hope that his assertion that he's doing only two more films and then is retiring is baseless and thoroughly untrue. In saying that, I must admit that I enjoyed his ode to the spaghetti westerns of days gone by and that using that template as a mirror to the great racial divide that has splintered America to its core since its beginning and has stayed unchanged was nothing short of audaciously brilliant.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 27, 2016
The acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour andThe acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour and bloody violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ThomasSmithsonJul 25, 2014
If Mel Brooks had directed it might have worked, because this can only be approached as a work of satire. But it's not funny, it's not sad, it's a dud on every level, a milk dud has more flavor.

Tarantino cannot write romance, what a
If Mel Brooks had directed it might have worked, because this can only be approached as a work of satire. But it's not funny, it's not sad, it's a dud on every level, a milk dud has more flavor.

Tarantino cannot write romance, what a shock, right. But a romance is the center of the story and ( Jamie Foxx, Kerry Washington) were both a total miscast. Will Smith would have elevated the love story playing opposite say perhaps Keke Palmer who owns an edge and inherent sadness in her eyes at times but shares the attractive personality of Will Smith, whereas Foxx and Washington were both dull and artificially stoic.

What's more Tarantino did not even come close to depicting the misery of enslavement, which was key in lending any emotional involvement for the audience.

A lazy outing at the typewriter for Tarantino....if you wanna write slavery, shackle yourself to the desk next time because you clearly do not know what it means and failed even to imagine it.

Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Di Caprio both shined per usual and the death of their characters were felt but as for the rest of the cast you can throw them all to the dogs...

Tarantino has proven twice now he can't write historical.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Despite its excessiveness of everything, Django Unchained ulleashes a bold, brutal and important movie for the general public to be aware of and does so under the consise direction of Quentin Tarantino.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
yosemiteJan 13, 2016
Change the name of Tarantino's new movie to the Hateful 9 because I also hated it. Looking to give him a fresh look, I watched Django Unchained on Netflix. Better than Hateful 8…but not by much. QT has psychological hang ups;Change the name of Tarantino's new movie to the Hateful 9 because I also hated it. Looking to give him a fresh look, I watched Django Unchained on Netflix. Better than Hateful 8…but not by much. QT has psychological hang ups; African-Americans and the history of blacks , the word **** and Samuel Jackson. The latter is a really good actor but really .. every film ? As always , DiCaprio is a treasure. Bad,bad man. Deliciously played. The acting overall was solid as was the story line but the problem is QT excess and self indulgence. Since Pulp Fiction , the first 1/3 of his movies are really good, often comical , the middle 1/3 o.k. and the last part excessively violent and senseless. My new slogan is "just say no to Tarantino" . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mau1133Jan 26, 2013
This movie was awsome, i really liked it and i belive he is a true master. The cast was amazing and all of them created a movie that i was waiting to see for 6 months, definite must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ArkonBladeMay 19, 2013
I saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on howI saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to Waltz you kind of forget about Fox some times which is kind of a shame because Jamie Fox is no slouch in this and does a fine job. As a western its a pretty damn good one but my biggest problem with it is the music Now normally one of three things happens with music 1. either it blends in to where you don't notice it 2. It pops out wonderfully to make a scene better or 3. It pops out and just does not fit at all. With Django it falls in to number 3. Tarantino uses a lot of 60s and 70s style music which just doesn't feel right at all and just took me out at times going why is he using this kind of music? It just doesn't fit a western at all. Feels like it would belong more in Jackie Brown or Pulp Fiction That out of the way the story is good and the acting from the other actors is very solid The movie is well worth seeing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DalekJul 12, 2013
This film is hilarious with over the top action scenes which Quentin pulls off very well of course like in his previous films. Yes, there is racism and controversial material but so what? It's something different which is what I like! anyway,This film is hilarious with over the top action scenes which Quentin pulls off very well of course like in his previous films. Yes, there is racism and controversial material but so what? It's something different which is what I like! anyway, Django Unchained really steers away from clichés. It's definitely a film I'd want to watch again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobDec 22, 2015
Django Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances byDjango Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. The presentation is excellent with the landscape being big and beautiful and the violence being big, dumb, goory, and fun. Its everything a western is and it’s a ton of fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BairdoDec 5, 2013
There were a lot of things about this movie that I liked. The things that I didn't like, bothered me.... 1) There are an uncomfortable amount of far-fetched moments, in which characters seem to act against their nature in order to serve theThere were a lot of things about this movie that I liked. The things that I didn't like, bothered me.... 1) There are an uncomfortable amount of far-fetched moments, in which characters seem to act against their nature in order to serve the plot better. 2) Tarantino's cameo is extremely awkward he may as we'll have been on screen wearing a beret and sitting in a director's chair. 3) I'll never agree with the use of modern music in period movies. Are electric guitars and hip-hop necessary in a cowboy movie?
I think Quentin Tarantino is (maybe was) a great director. I just wish he'd stop making semi-serious, semi-goofball REVENGE flicks a la Kill Bill, Kill Bill Vol. II, Inglorious Basterds, and Django Unchained. That's four, and I believe he's threatened to make another Kill Bill! It's now a great number of years since Tarantino has shown any real range as a filmmaker. He obviously has the talent and imagination to make a serious movie for a change, and he really should.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrMar 9, 2013
Tarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film alsoTarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I will definitely see his next film again for the music, the inventive parley and the dialogue and the eccentricity of his leading role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DiggidyDanApr 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a very entertaining movie throughout. Lot's of violence, but it's a Tarantino flick, you know what you sign up for when watching. Jamie Foxx was very good. He has the charisma and cojones to make you actually believe he could pull off this legend. Overall, however, the movie was very predictable in Tarantino style. It felt like, oh, I already saw this in Jackie Brown, Kill Bill, Reservoir Dogs, and Inglorious Basterds. It was like a mashup of those movies done over the top with slavery thrown in for extra shock and story value. I was entertained, don't get me wrong, but I wish he did something more original with the movie instead of rehashing old ground. The end scene, also, was horrendously cheesy. I know it was an "Homage" but crikey, that was out of place and bad. Save the western ride off into the sunset worship and make a cut with a worthy ending that befits Jamie Foxx's stellar character performance throughout! It's like QT just stripped all of Jamie's charismatic character and the castration that never happened before in the film somehow managed to occur just before he makes his horse dance in a ridiculous forced tribute scene to appease the director's misguided fantasy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wishmasterFeb 23, 2013
Real film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly theReal film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly the best cast Waltz! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 9, 2013
Django Unchained was an excellent, surprisingly light and utterly hilarious western from Quentin Tarantino. The movie surprised me at many different junctures and delighted throughout. This was a fantastic film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gromitJan 26, 2013
I enjoyed the movie, but the convoluted scheme and plot really didn't make a lot of sense. It was also horribly predictable but a fun action flick none the less with good acting and cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheChaser1985Feb 1, 2016
One of the best movies that I have seen in a very long time. Funny, intense and emotional all in one movie. It was definitely a classic taratino film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJun 4, 2013
I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

The director’s usual fast paced dialogue,
I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

The director’s usual fast paced dialogue, bloody action sequences and ability to successfully mix comedy and drama to create truly memorable scenes are all on show here. Add in exceptional performances from a talented cast that includes Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio and deserved Oscar winner Christopher Waltz, as the dentist turned bounty hunter, and you have an example of the filmmaker at his very best.

Non-Tarantino fans need not apply.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BonesFeb 15, 2013
An exciting film inspired by spaghetti westerns that once again proves that Quentin Tarantino's writing talent is beyond original (although the movie has some recycled material in it) whether if its the funny dialogues or the fictional twistsAn exciting film inspired by spaghetti westerns that once again proves that Quentin Tarantino's writing talent is beyond original (although the movie has some recycled material in it) whether if its the funny dialogues or the fictional twists in the story that is based on the history of American slavery (just like he did in Inglorious Basterds). Quentin is a real filmmaker, he knows exactly how to make his audience feel in every single scene in this film, especially by the help of the amazing score, nonetheless, "Django" is a hilarious film, not only by the help of the brilliant script, but by the help of one of its leading characters bounty hunter Dr King Schultz that is played by one of tarantino's best discoveries, Christopher Waltz, like Tarantino himself, he knows how to express his emotions and story telling in this film. Scene after a scene is a whole other divine cinematic experience although some of them are way too long and should have been cut off. Yes, racism is painful but it's only as painful as this film's punch in the face for our society today. Tarantino's message has certainly spread to my mind, and I am quite positive it will do the same to yours (well not everyone, after all, it's Tarantino). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaestusFeb 26, 2013
A great movie, with great actors and real good scenes in it. The soundtrack is one of the best movie soundtracks ever. The only problem is that the film doesn´t maintain the quality after waltz and dicaprio are gone and is therefore notA great movie, with great actors and real good scenes in it. The soundtrack is one of the best movie soundtracks ever. The only problem is that the film doesn´t maintain the quality after waltz and dicaprio are gone and is therefore not getting the full score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
Quentin Tarantino hits the high note once again as "Django Unchained" unleashes the story of an African American slave named Django (the D is silent). Watch as, with the director's signature style of strong, electrical visuals, Django embarksQuentin Tarantino hits the high note once again as "Django Unchained" unleashes the story of an African American slave named Django (the D is silent). Watch as, with the director's signature style of strong, electrical visuals, Django embarks on a blood thirsty journey to kill the evil white slave owner Calvin Candie, played by the godly Leo DiCaprio, and retrieve back his long lost wife during colonial America. I promise you, this ain't a journey you wouldn't wanna miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hoops2448Feb 26, 2013
Ever since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slaveEver since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slave freed by a bounty hunter, Dr King Shultz (A sublime Christoph Waltz) who needs his help hunting his next bounty. The two head off in search of this bounty and Django's wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) who is a slave at Candyland, a brutal southern plantation run by Calvin Candie (a wonderfully temperamental Leonardo Dicaprio). It's a thrilling film and the only real problems with Django are that it suffers from some pacing issues and has a woeful cameo by Tarantino himself which borders on hilarity but just manages to irritate. In its dialogue the film sparks but in the build up to the violent set pieces the film flounders until suddenly the gunfire breaks out and we are back off to the races. Its a whole lot of stop and start which in some aspects detract from the enjoyment. Ultimately the film is fantastic for the most part with some fine performances by Waltz, DIcaprio, Foxx and Samuel L Jackson who gives a performance that is on par with his in my opinion best performance in the equally wonderful Tarantino flick Jackie Brown. Despite the bleak nature of the film and the shocking imagery used, Tarantino's wit and keen eye for detail save the film from being downright miserable and even give it a happy go lucky feel which is remarkable. Overall Tarantino delivers on everything you expect with flying colours but deep down you may be expecting a little more originality as he plays multiple cards from his own deck but never strives for anything out of the ordinary. A great film by regular standards, an average Tarantino film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraAug 25, 2013
A incredibly bloody and brilliant masterpiece by the ever brilliant Quentin Tarantino is smart, hilarious and shocking in equal measure. The film has been made with complete care and it shows with beautiful cinematography, fantastic actingA incredibly bloody and brilliant masterpiece by the ever brilliant Quentin Tarantino is smart, hilarious and shocking in equal measure. The film has been made with complete care and it shows with beautiful cinematography, fantastic acting and great directing. One of the best films to be released in 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkFeb 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first film I have seen in 2013 is also the first Tarantino film I have seen and the first '18' rated film I have seen at the cinema, and I only have one word to say: Dude. I absolutely loved the film, it was beautifully shot, incredibly well acted (particularly Leonardo Decaprio as Calvin Candy and Christoph Waltz as Dr. Schultz), extremely violent and very funny at times (one of my favourite film moments of all time is the scene completely ridiculing the Ku Klux Klan). This film has made me want to watch every one of Tarantino's films, as I now know what all the fuss is about. I do have a problem with the film however, it is a tad too long, even 10 minutes shaved off the run-time would have been good, however, this is a small gripe with an otherwise perfect film. The film is very well made to show everything in a ridiculous light, other than slavery, which was approached in a way that made parts of the film very hard to watch, but in a good way, as many films based in the 'Wild west' do not even take into account that atrocities like slavery were going on at the time of the cowboy: so I found it educational as well. Bold, bloody, stylistic and not for anybody easily offended by blood or bad language, Django Unchained is one of the best films I have ever seen, if not a little long. Dude, 93/100.

(Also, Candy and Stephen are horrible).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellApr 17, 2013
Best film of 2012. Best acting of 2012. It is a shockingly exciting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cacoJan 21, 2013
Tarantino's masterpiece, Django Unchained is probably one of the best movies I have ever seen.
I felt that every kind of detail, even the small ones, were intentional, Tarantino though all the details, and put them in the absolute right place!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SilentDogwoodFeb 19, 2013
A ridiculous good time, one of Tarantino's most indulgent yet most thoughtful films yet.
A re-hash of Kill Bill, but with a refreshing setting and with a surprisingly brutal political theme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShowBaggsFeb 25, 2013
Almost 3 hours and at no stage did it feel drawn out or too long. This trumps Inglorious Basterds and suits as Tarintino's best film. A funny, witty, slick, violent homage to spaghetti westerns set with the dark backdrop of the racist wild west.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMay 27, 2013
"The 'D' is silent" as our gunslinging hero continues to remind his victims, Django is on the path of vengeance with the most unorthodox of associates, with bloody, violent but fantastic storytelling from to start to finish, edgy, and"The 'D' is silent" as our gunslinging hero continues to remind his victims, Django is on the path of vengeance with the most unorthodox of associates, with bloody, violent but fantastic storytelling from to start to finish, edgy, and brilliant also fit seamlessly into a description of this wonderful film.
Set in the midst of slavery in the Old West and the Deep South of the United States, Django (Jamie Foxx) and a group of slaves are being hoarded across the plain by two brothers, when dentist turned bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) interrupts proceedings, he frees Django in the hope that he will lead him to another set of brothers who Django and his wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) were recently owned by.
Christoph Waltz brings an energetic and humorous energy to the role that is simply unmatched. Django is cold and collected in the hope of finding his wife, who he finds out is a slave of the talkative and ruthless Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio). As Django and Schultz set off across the frontier and wade out the winter, Schultz trains Django to become a bounty hunter, he sees it as his duty to free this slave and therefore look after him.
In typical Quentin Tarantino fashion, Django Unchained is more about pushing the boundaries of cinematic taboo than the simple story that is told. The use of the 'N' word has been the point of deliberation since the films release, but either way, a perfect Spaghetti Western has been moulded with Tarantino at the helm, is use of long dialogue and extended scenes of conversation continue to amaze, especially when the talented Christoph Waltz is involved, lest we forget his fantastic turn as Col. Hans Landa in Inglorious Basterds,but he truly raises the bar in Django for nobody but himself, is attitude and personality are unmatched, save for possibly Leonardo DiCaprio, who we rarely, if ever, see as the villain, but who shows exactly what he is capable of with the sadistic but charming Candie.
Jamie Foxx has been perfectly cast as them main man Django, he shows heart but willingness to find his wife by any means possible, and his rise to heroism throughout the film is a perfect test of character that he does brilliantly.
Tarantino again picks a perfect setting and now has a western hit under his belt, whether its the music, the deep southern accents or the wonderful camera work of gore and glory, he has again created a very deservedly named masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
Ok, so, I liked it. It ran a little too long for my tastes, but it didn't sour the experience overall. What darkened my score was that the film didn't really "unchain" until near the end of it. Now, when it happens, it's beautiful andOk, so, I liked it. It ran a little too long for my tastes, but it didn't sour the experience overall. What darkened my score was that the film didn't really "unchain" until near the end of it. Now, when it happens, it's beautiful and awesome, and you look back on the scene with fondness, but it just takes too long to get to that point in an already lengthy picture. I feel that Django himself was an honest character, and your really rooting for him by the end. All of the actors are great. A lot of the violence will have you going "Ohhh, THAT HURT!" but it's not the most inspired part of the film. Overall, it's a good movie. Is it on the level of Pulp Fiction? No. Not really. It's Tarantino trying to drive home a message, and while he succeeds at it, I feel that his best work is elsewhere. It's another Tarantino revenge story with a strong narrative, but I think his source material was a little TOO massive for him this time. It's a very strong 7 still though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews