Dogma

Dogma Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The latest battle in the eternal war between Good and Evil has come to New Jersey in the late, late 20th Century. In Kevin Smith's comic fantasia Dogma, angels, demons, apostles and prophets (of a sort) walk among the cynics and innocents of America and duke it out for the fate of humankind.The latest battle in the eternal war between Good and Evil has come to New Jersey in the late, late 20th Century. In Kevin Smith's comic fantasia Dogma, angels, demons, apostles and prophets (of a sort) walk among the cynics and innocents of America and duke it out for the fate of humankind. (Lions Gate Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. It's not every day you get to see a movie that begins in satire and ends in reverence, but then, for Kevin Smith, they may ultimately be the same thing.
  2. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    A tortured testament from a true believer.
  3. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    Has that rarest of qualities in movies that think of themselves as religious. I'm talking about the vision thing. And the ability to make morality entertaining.
  4. Smith has fashioned a complex, contemporary Bible epic on his own terms. By turns crafty and clunky, pious and profane, it's clearly a labor of love.
  5. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Foreman
    63
    Kevin Smith's attempt to combine sketchy low comedy with long-winded theological speculation results in a mostly unfunny and occasionally tedious mess.
  6. Portland Oregonian
    Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    58
    Dotted with real laughs and held together by some solid acting, but it's built of a fairly flaccid narrative and some really amateurish sequences.
  7. 30
    A tediously childish exhibition.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    My third favorite movie of all time. It's a refreshingly intelligent comedy that makes fun of religion without any atheistic agenda. I'm aMy third favorite movie of all time. It's a refreshingly intelligent comedy that makes fun of religion without any atheistic agenda. I'm a Christian, and I didn't find this movie offensive at all (which actually suprised me). If your a Catholic on the other hand...watch with caution. Expand
  2. Riren
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    A movie about religion that will tick off staunch atheists and zealots? Well hey! It's a mix of blasphemy and profanity that are always A movie about religion that will tick off staunch atheists and zealots? Well hey! It's a mix of blasphemy and profanity that are always measured to be just implausible or irreverent enough to be disarmingly funny. There is substance wedged down inside it: defense of individual faith, the lineage of Christ, the hypocrisy of the confident. Silent Bob is a cute reoccuring character in Smith's movies, but why does the director insert himself into his movie about religion, and play a mute? Yet where other religious movies watch like a thesis, this is more like a conversation with a smart and funny friend. And really, there's nothing so useful in spirituality as that. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    any one looking at this other then entertainment and trying to blast it as bibleical blaspamy is missing the whoel point of what this is .any one looking at this other then entertainment and trying to blast it as bibleical blaspamy is missing the whoel point of what this is . just a entertaining movie . has a great cast some funny lines and i think some of smiths best work. Collapse
  4. May 14, 2015
    7
    A revisit of Kevin Smith’s subversive religious comedy DOGMA, “subversive” may it seems in a story where God is a woman (played by theA revisit of Kevin Smith’s subversive religious comedy DOGMA, “subversive” may it seems in a story where God is a woman (played by the one-and-only Alanis Morissette, whose voice can shatter anything into fragments, deservingly to be the choice chanteuse during my adolescence); there is a 13th apostle Rufus (Rock) who has been omitted in the Bible simply because of his skin colour; two fallen angles Loki (Damon) and Bartleby (Affleck) find a loophole induced by a new “Buddy Christ” propaganda from Cardinal Glick (Carlin) in New Jersey, they will get the supposed plenary indulgence and re-enter Heaven, until one of them goes berserk becomes a human-killing winged creature. A blasphemy cannot be dodged for sure, but eventually the film appears not as subversive as the synopsis suggests, au fond, Smith simply picks various characters from religious myth and squeeze them into a wacky adventure of fantasy without even badmouthing Catholicism, there should be no hard-feeling (as the opening pointers amusingly noted).

    keep reading my review on my blog, please google: cinema omnivore, thanks!
    Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Excremental aside this is a really good movie. Interesting premise and fine comedic performances from the usual View Askewniverse cast. SimplyExcremental aside this is a really good movie. Interesting premise and fine comedic performances from the usual View Askewniverse cast. Simply a good time. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2015
    6
    Dogma is not my favorite Kevin Smith film. Its certainly a original movie and its really not something you'd expect from Kevin Smith who isDogma is not my favorite Kevin Smith film. Its certainly a original movie and its really not something you'd expect from Kevin Smith who is more known for stoner, gross out, immature comedies that I love. There are some memorable characters in this movie and some pretty big names like Ben Affleck, Matt Damon and Chris Rock involved plus many of the common Kevin Smith collaborators. Jay and Silent Bob are around in order to play the comedic relief. Dogma revolves around religion but the movie does not seem to have enough of an edge for a Kevin Smith film and its not nearly as funny as any of his other movies. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    0
    As soon as I saw Ben Affleck appear, and that was after about 180 seconds, I knew this movie would suck the life out of you. The opening sceneAs soon as I saw Ben Affleck appear, and that was after about 180 seconds, I knew this movie would suck the life out of you. The opening scene is like a cheap home video made by kids. The second scene is a priest presenting a ridiculous statue of Jesus to a small group of reporters. Did noone ever tell the filmmakers that crowd scenes are either to be large, or to be avoided at all costs, because otherwise they look cheap ? Anyway, we know Ben Affleck and Matt Damon are friends, but Matt's career took off, while Ben's did not.
    Another one for the bin of worst movies of all time. How bad can they get ? Unbelievable.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith

    All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith Image
    Published: February 26, 2010
    From "Clerks" to "Cop Out," Kevin Smith has bounced from success to failure. We examine the ups and downs in the career of one of indie film's most legendary directors.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.