Relativity Media | Release Date: September 27, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 323 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
225
Mixed:
75
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SpiralusOct 2, 2013
This movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it'sThis movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it's heart, an attempt to savage the values that all these groups hold dear. It shines a hot and otherwise absentee light the cancer of over-sexualization. It shows, subtly at times and baldly at others, how consumer driven, sexualized, culture has reached it's tendrils into every-day life, down even into the language we use, how we think and what we think we need. No character is safe, even the heroine, who chastises the male lead for being "addicted to porn" does so while lighting a joint. Entertaining, lighthearted and even touching, this movie, like it's main character, seems dumb on the outside but turns out to be intelligent after all. In fact it's really intelligent, which will hurt it's reviews. It's irreverence (which I love) makes it's target market small and it's high bar of entry (most people won't "get it") makes it's target audience smaller still. I took off a point the ending feeling rushed, but truly, I laughed my head off the whole time. If you're not in any of those listed groups, or if you're genuinely interested in gender roles, feminism, or sociology, you need to see this. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 31, 2014
First off, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has proved not only he is a talented actor but a talented director/writer as well. Don Jon isn't your typical romance film, It's actually a rather well thought out and enjoyable dramedy. The acting was great,First off, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has proved not only he is a talented actor but a talented director/writer as well. Don Jon isn't your typical romance film, It's actually a rather well thought out and enjoyable dramedy. The acting was great, The plot was solid, and you couldn't help but be entertained. I'd definitely recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 28, 2013
While some of its more dramatic elements could be executed much better, Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first writer/directorial outing is a successful comedic drama with an admirable sense of honesty for its subject matter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticDec 22, 2013
This is a solid directorial debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt. It was interesting to see how a guys porn addiction causes him to struggle in real relationships. The film has its flaws but it's a solid debut. B
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jinringaOct 1, 2013
I thought it was a smart, funny, scathing, but ultimately kind indictment of douche bro society.

The repetitiveness and shallowness of man child Jon's existence speaks loudly to my millenial sensibilities. A victim of a self centered
I thought it was a smart, funny, scathing, but ultimately kind indictment of douche bro society.

The repetitiveness and shallowness of man child Jon's existence speaks loudly to my millenial sensibilities. A victim of a self centered father and over accommodating mother, Jon is a self centered douche bag, whose only goal in life is to have meaningless fun. The blank faces on Jon's family during church and his road rage on the way there speak towards the emptiness of being nominally religious. The meaningless confession of sins, the meaningless prayers, all contribute to Jon's status as a shallow guy who doesn't really care about anything but banging an equally shallow and ridiculously hot girl and then spanking it to some meticulously selected pornography.

I think the fact that Barbara isn't actually a good person is a really important part of the film. That neither party in the Jon/Barbara relationship is actually that likable, despite both of them being very good looking, is pretty refreshing.

I really liked that Jon isn't actually that likable. He's charming, but he's a self centered dick with nothing really to say. And then he grows and he's still kind of a dick and he doesn't really have that much to say, but he is less self centered and I think that's a lot more honest than most other films.

I think attacking the tendency to be self centered through porn addiction was really clever. Self centeredness is kind of this internal thing with tons of symptoms, but it's really hard to pull at something and make a difference. With Barbara it manifests as manipulativeness, which I think is a really hard thing to make a person aware of in a meaningful way. With porn addiction it's a pretty straight shot to, you have a problem because you can't get off without porn.

I enjoyed it, I liked watching Jon struggle and grow, I liked that the ultimate love interest is really screwed up for totally believable reasons, I liked that no one is actually that likable. It feels like reality, but slightly prettier, as opposed to fantasy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryOct 1, 2013
Joseph Gordon-Levitt wrote, directed and stars as a character who looks and acts like he stepped out of "Jersey Shore:" brusque, muscular, shallow, sexy and a total stud. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Scarlett Johannson who embodiesJoseph Gordon-Levitt wrote, directed and stars as a character who looks and acts like he stepped out of "Jersey Shore:" brusque, muscular, shallow, sexy and a total stud. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Scarlett Johannson who embodies the tough, slutty borough girl), his obsession with pornography becomes an issue. This is a fast-paced, quick-witted character study about a man who's more of a mess than he seems. Gordon-Levitt has fully immersed himself in the character and it's a winner. His scenes of dinner with his dad (Tony Danza) are great fun. It's a bit raunchy, if you have a problem with that and not all that deep, but it's entertaining as hell and bodes well for his hyphenate talent. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonSep 27, 2013
In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is aIn the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
Eon2323Sep 27, 2013
Don Jon shows an interesting view on how we as a society are products of what we watch and see everyday. Gordon-Levitt does an amazing job of illustrating this phenomenon with a great cast and superb writing.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleSep 27, 2013
It's a fun, honest date movie yes, date movie, if you've got the guts, fellas. It's likely to provoke a few questions during, and after the movie. But Levitt does a fine job in his direction, and against all odds, he integrates JulianneIt's a fun, honest date movie yes, date movie, if you've got the guts, fellas. It's likely to provoke a few questions during, and after the movie. But Levitt does a fine job in his direction, and against all odds, he integrates Julianne Moore into the proceedings in a refreshing way. Great to see Tony Danza back on the scene. And Jon's friends the trumpet player from "Treme", and his shorter pal are great for their words of wisdom and some comic relief. Clearly, this won't win any awards, but it surpassed my not-so-modest expectations for it. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
sraymond7Sep 27, 2013
I am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like the character Don John, as there are women like Scarlett Johansson's Barbara. The movie is funny atI am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like the character Don John, as there are women like Scarlett Johansson's Barbara. The movie is funny at first...quite funny actually...and then it moves into a coming-of-age story for Don John, with his first discovery of what authentic intimacy looks like. Our culture is awash in pornography, and our young men of this generation grow up assaulted by images that distort reality and crassify culture. Jordan Leavitt's film placed a spotlight on this problem without preaching, and gave some welcome guidance as to the way out of that morass if you are a man stuck in that mode. It is an excellent film...look behind the genuine character comedy for the deeper message. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
rocketpackpandaJan 7, 2014
Probably the best film of 2013. I write this now, because whenever I think about it, this is the only film that still jumps out at me. Levitt took all his experience in the industry and put it towards crafting one of the most honest films inProbably the best film of 2013. I write this now, because whenever I think about it, this is the only film that still jumps out at me. Levitt took all his experience in the industry and put it towards crafting one of the most honest films in a while. It captures gender differences in such a tender and honest way, while at times lashing out at us for our hypocrite and scathing nature. It manages to scold without offending. Levitt himself plays the jersey shore douche with pitch point accuracy. Johansson nails her im above you nature perfectly, its too bad she isnt being recognized for her acting in this film. Julian moore is also fantastic, playing the sexy educational mom without ever once feeling creepy. The film is tender and great. If there's one movie you should watch from 2013, this is it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
analogkid280Oct 5, 2013
The trailer does this movie no justice as it makes you think this is a one subject movie. What this movie does is take you on a tour of Levitt's character as he matures from an early 20's kid into an adult. There are many issues along the wayThe trailer does this movie no justice as it makes you think this is a one subject movie. What this movie does is take you on a tour of Levitt's character as he matures from an early 20's kid into an adult. There are many issues along the way and the movie's light heartened approach is just perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ClayMerrittSep 30, 2013
To be very honest, porn addiction is a real thing. Not a serious issue, but its very real. There are guys out there that do think like Don Jon. However, the problem is that when people see porn in a movie, its automatically disgusting. OneTo be very honest, porn addiction is a real thing. Not a serious issue, but its very real. There are guys out there that do think like Don Jon. However, the problem is that when people see porn in a movie, its automatically disgusting. One thing I observed from watching this movie is that this is a guys movie. Certainly debatable if its a date movie, but its a mans movie. I'm sure going in, people were expecting the chick flick. Ya know, where the guy gets the girl, they briefly break-up, and guy does everything to get her back. It wasn't that. It ended differently, and it was fantastic. This is probably the most fun movie I've seen this year. I suggest that if you like good movies, you should put this on your must see list. The story is above the porn, its a real, down-to-earth story that can be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleMethodOct 4, 2013
As a debut, Don Jon is pretty solid. It was really far from perfect, but again it's a debut. I liked it but really didn't love it as much as I expected I might. The porn gets a little annoying too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Sep 28, 2013
In Joseph Gordon-Levitt's directorial debut, he has offered heart, witty humor and a great script that shows the view of one man's deception on porn and how it has affected his humanity. Overall, great job Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Be sure toIn Joseph Gordon-Levitt's directorial debut, he has offered heart, witty humor and a great script that shows the view of one man's deception on porn and how it has affected his humanity. Overall, great job Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Kevin4900Oct 14, 2013
I was impressed with Gordon-Levitt's auteur film debut. I like the premise of the film. Porn is popular.

What I didn't like about the film was Gordon-Levitt and Johansson performance. Joseph and Scarlett over acted. They did the Jersey
I was impressed with Gordon-Levitt's auteur film debut. I like the premise of the film. Porn is popular.

What I didn't like about the film was Gordon-Levitt and Johansson performance.

Joseph and Scarlett over acted. They did the Jersey thing too much. Which is a shame because they are good actors who did an otherwise good job in the film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticOct 3, 2013
Joseph Gordon Levitt's first feature of Don Jon is funny, enjoyable, and entertaining about one man who struggles his life of being a cool dude for fantasizing women a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adhamhanyFeb 4, 2014
Turns out that Joseph Gordon-Levitt behind the camera was a good idea after all. His directing is spot-on. The film editing is also great. The performances, especially of the three leads, is top-notch. The supporting cast is also very good.Turns out that Joseph Gordon-Levitt behind the camera was a good idea after all. His directing is spot-on. The film editing is also great. The performances, especially of the three leads, is top-notch. The supporting cast is also very good.

But the film's true strength is in the concept itself. It is a criticism of many aspects in society today, whether it's sexuality or religion. But in the end, it's actually a criticism of the predictability of romance movies themselves. I realized that in the ending (which was a bit rushed). After that i looked at the movie tagline (Everybody Loves A Happy Ending), and i finally understood it. It puzzled me in the beginning.

This is a very intelligent film. Looking forward to more movies with Joseph Gordon-Levitt as director and writer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jonhDec 2, 2013
Very solid movie. I think detractors missed the point on this. It is not simply a tale of porn addiction. It's also a story of a person and growing, becoming honest with himself, etc. More than that, I found it refreshingly original, both inVery solid movie. I think detractors missed the point on this. It is not simply a tale of porn addiction. It's also a story of a person and growing, becoming honest with himself, etc. More than that, I found it refreshingly original, both in story and in vibe, as well as solid acting by the entire cast. Well worth it, and a great first directorial outing from JGL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hollyvNov 25, 2013
Porn isn't real. We all know it... but perhaps we never think about it? This film explores that concept and more than anything makes you wonder how many other things in life are ruined by on-demand access to a never-ending stream of crap onPorn isn't real. We all know it... but perhaps we never think about it? This film explores that concept and more than anything makes you wonder how many other things in life are ruined by on-demand access to a never-ending stream of crap on every channel of our lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KadeemluvmusicJan 20, 2014
That Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something. I love Don Jon. Very raunchy, it's not "Zack and Miri 2.0." Playing a porn addicted ladies man who falls in love with a hot looking girlfriend who sees him watching porn. Oh my god! I love porn movies,That Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something. I love Don Jon. Very raunchy, it's not "Zack and Miri 2.0." Playing a porn addicted ladies man who falls in love with a hot looking girlfriend who sees him watching porn. Oh my god! I love porn movies, I seriously do. Probably soon, he could make another movie called "The Don Juan Porn Diaries." For me, this is one of the best comedies of 2013. Go on with your bad self, JGL! Pimpin' Ain't Easy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MikefromAngusFeb 2, 2014
I didn't want to watch this movie, based on its trailer. But I was very surprised! The movie is not boring, it has a lot of interesting parts. The director of the movie did a really good job for his first movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mrniceJan 13, 2014
More philosophical and precise than I'd expected. It plays out like a very average story, but the content is important to young men (and women) and it is clear that it has been given serious thought. The ending took me by surprise and added aMore philosophical and precise than I'd expected. It plays out like a very average story, but the content is important to young men (and women) and it is clear that it has been given serious thought. The ending took me by surprise and added a new dimension to the film which makes me want to see it in again from that perspective. It has something to say about relationships. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawDec 28, 2013
JGL’s director debut (also the writer and leading actor, a triple threat indeed in this case), DON JON, like (500) DAYS OF SUMMER (2009, 8/10), they are not your average rom-com and they are much better since they underpin certain realisticJGL’s director debut (also the writer and leading actor, a triple threat indeed in this case), DON JON, like (500) DAYS OF SUMMER (2009, 8/10), they are not your average rom-com and they are much better since they underpin certain realistic meanings. For DON JON, it is an anti-objectification to what Hollywood chronically implants into our generations’ minds about the veneer of romantic relationship. That is, man is looking for the perfect sex target to fulfill all his fantasies and woman is looking for a Mr. Perfect who is totally under her control. Both reek one-sided selfishness.

Thanks to the invention of internet pornography and the discrepancy between man and woman on playing with oneself, for man, the more graphically related sexual demand can be easily actualized, so our protagonist Jon (Gordon-Levitt) is a porno-addicted gym jock, who has no difficulty hooking up the hottest girl in the nightclub, but when the eventual boy-meet-girl scenario happens, a smoking hot Barbara (Johansson) yet cannot drag him out to the cold turkey period, meanwhile, Barbara is far from picture-perfect and clearly has her own agenda of what kind of man she is seeking for, an inexorable clash sets them apart (although the history in the browser is a shoddy device). Later on, Jon starts to date an elder woman Esther (Moore) from the night school, who has just gone through a tragic accident in her life, nurtured by Esther’s sensible edification, Jon becomes clarified about what love is and accomplishes his rite of passage.

DON JON is a genre-blender with indie comedy, romp romance and lighthearted drama, adorned by formulaic default of male chauvinism, female sexualization, boisterous Anglo-Italian family (Tony Danza is an embarrassing joke though), paint-by-number religious service and confession, while swarmed with repetition shots of making beds, gym, church, night school, sex-hunt in the club, and of course, porn stuff. Nevertheless as a novice in the director’s chair, JGL shows qualified competence in executing the story with slick pace and earnest passion, and as an actor, he is definitely a leading man material among his peers. Johansson and Moore are pitch-perfect in two different types of women who turn a boy into a man. Johansson amplifies her self-mocking fatuousness and control freaky possessiveness, injects immense credibility in a derogative character; Moore, is an on-screen goddess of mettle, shatters the twenty-years age difference, generates some wholesome chemistry with JGL despite it is not a challenging role for her at all.

I give DON JON an reassuring 8/10, it is more than a cute feel-good flick to watch with your significant other, underneath its less-than-impressive script, the connotation it evokes is worth more wider reverberations other than an immediate suggestion “why not Jon just date a porn star if he is really into that?”. For me, it is a guilty pleasure not the least because Moore is in it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
An excellent trifecta from Joseph Gordon-Levitt! To write, direct and act is not often a success; but he's pulled it off. A story well-worth telling as well as watching, with strong performances from nearly all of its cast members.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MalFet1999Jan 5, 2014
In the interest of full disclosure, I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The man can do no wrong. This movie is no exception. It has an honest heart and impeccable performances from all involved. In all seriousness, there's not a single weakIn the interest of full disclosure, I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The man can do no wrong. This movie is no exception. It has an honest heart and impeccable performances from all involved. In all seriousness, there's not a single weak performance from any of the cast. Without spoiling anything I can say that this is a strong directorial debut from an already established young actor that explores the sexual identity of a new generation that is often oversimplified. This film takes a turn in the end that's unexpected, but very gratifying. Absolutely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The ending was a bit predictable from halfway through the movie, and it does feel like it's slightly repeated, but "Don Jon" delivers a number of funny scenes, great moments, and great acting from JGL and Scarlett Johansson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Zarathesus216Dec 21, 2013
Well done. Great camera work, great direction, great acting. While some plot points in the story seem to get rushed, ultimately, the things that weren't connected dot to dot became realistically foretold. Levitt painted a beauty here thatWell done. Great camera work, great direction, great acting. While some plot points in the story seem to get rushed, ultimately, the things that weren't connected dot to dot became realistically foretold. Levitt painted a beauty here that doesn't get convoluted or trip over it's own words. Whether you agree or disagree with the premise or conclusion, this is a well-crafted film and very much worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
catcarloDec 3, 2013
Jon, in fondo, sarebbe un bravo ragazzo: sa tenere in ordine una casa, va a messa con regolarità confessandosi sempre (la sua accurata contabilità dei peccati gli costa penitenze che poi vengono scontate mentre fatica in palestra) e tutte leJon, in fondo, sarebbe un bravo ragazzo: sa tenere in ordine una casa, va a messa con regolarità confessandosi sempre (la sua accurata contabilità dei peccati gli costa penitenze che poi vengono scontate mentre fatica in palestra) e tutte le domeniche va a pranzo da mammà, i maschi di casa a tavola in canottiera mentre il televisore trasmette a ciclo continuo football americano di cui suo padre fanatico. Il problema che il giovanotto un egocentrico impenitente in ciò che ritiene importante c’è una sfilza di aggettivi possessivi e, di conseguenza, nel rapporto con l’altro sesso ha la sensibilità di un quindicenne carico di testosterone: cataloga le donne dando loro un voto, un seduttore seriale (da cui il nomignolo ‘Don’), ma la sua vera passione resta il porno, giudicato sempre più soddisfacente di qualsiasi rapporto reale. Quando incontra Barbara, la sua prospettiva parrebbe cambiare e vorrei ben vedere, avendo lei le fattezze di Scarlett Johansson tanto che si azzarda persino a presentarla in casa per la gioia di sua madre che non vede l’ora di diventare nonna. Ben presto, però, il meccanismo si inceppa, un po’ perché lui non riesce a rinunciare al sesso virtuale, un po’ perché lei solo un’altra faccia di un atteggiamento egoista verso la vita: Barbara cerca di plasmare Jon a suo piacimento la scuola serale, il divieto di fare le pulizie, le pellicole sdolcinate a ripetizione (Anne Hathaway e Cuba Gooding jr. cammei dei film nel film) finchè la sorella di lui Monica non dice che il re nudo nell’unica battuta che le riservata, visto che per il resto del tempo impegnata con il telefonino. Le lezioni forzate hanno però avuto almeno il pregio di far conoscere a Jon la sua compagna di corso Esther, una Julianne Moore che più lontana non potrebbe essere dai suoi ideali femminili: tra le braccia materne di questa vedova molto più vecchia di lui gli fa il bagno e occhio anche al cambio di prospettiva sul preservativo egli fa infine un passo verso la maturità, riuscendo per la prima volta a dare oltre che a ricevere. Per la sua prima regia, Joseph Gordon-Levitt scrive e dirige questa svelta (novanta minuti scarsi) commedia dal buon ritmo e puntellata da un più che discreto numero di battute: pur essendo un californiano di origine ebrea, la ambienta curiosamente in una famiglia italoamericana cattolica, ma questa sua versione di giovane Scorsese con il sorriso funziona assai meglio di quanto ci si potesse aspettare. Il merito va equamente diviso tra una scrittura che mostra davvero pochi passaggi da limare e un cast che sembra divertirsi: Gordon-Levitt sempre in scena, anche se all’inizio non aveva pensato a se stesso come interprete, e attorno a lui gli altri attori riescono a caratterizzare con gusto i loro personaggi, compresi quelli minori come i genitori di Jon Tony Danza e Glenne Headly oppure gli amici tamarri come e più di lui Rob Brown e Jeremy Luke. Certo, tutto questo parlare di (e fare) sesso può dare fastidio a qualcuno, come successo anche fra i sei che erano in sala con me durante la proiezione: un peccato, però, perché l’argomento, pur scivoloso, trattato cercando di evitare la volgarità e viene usato per rappresentare quell’eccesso di autoreferenzialità che caratterizza molti individui nella nostra società. Il tutto, comunque, senza prendersi troppo sul serio e, soprattutto, evitando i moralismi: se da una parte lo sguardo sul piccolo mondo che ruota attorno a Jon poteva essere più aggressivo, dall’altro il ‘lieto fine’ conclusivo risulta ben lungi dall’essere classico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveNov 15, 2013
Don Jon's first hour is recognisably on the money with regards to sex and the male of the species. Some very funny comedic writing hits some great targets often with the sting of truth. A buffed up Joseph Gordon-Levitt is great fun asDon Jon's first hour is recognisably on the money with regards to sex and the male of the species. Some very funny comedic writing hits some great targets often with the sting of truth. A buffed up Joseph Gordon-Levitt is great fun as catholic boy Jon, more interested in internet porn than in sustaining long term relationships with any girl, including Scarlett Johansson who is great here. In fact, she hasn't been this good in years and looks fantastic into the bargain.
Unfortunately, with the entry of a rather mis-cast and de glamourised Julianne Moore the film rather deflates. It's obvious that she and Levitt will get together, but this last act which is a shade unbelievable loses the laughs, becomes rather moralising, somewhat judgemental and is actually too simplistically concluded. All of which is a shame because there is so much to enjoy in the film's first hour.
Amongst its other achievements the movie boasts a great original score. Alternating between lush romanticism and a playful cheekiness it enhances all the shenanigans taking place on screen, perfectly.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews