Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut

Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: This Director's Cut from writer/director Richard Kelly features 20 minutes of never-before-seen footage.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Buy On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    Obsessives will be familiar with the "new" material (almost all available on the original DVD), which elaborates on the time-travel metaphysics and tightens the emotional screws. Donnie (Jake Gyllenhaal) shares one additional tender exchange with each family member
  2. 100
    “Donnie Darko" was one of the best pictures released in 2001. Now that it has returned in a 20-minute longer--and richer -- director's cut, it seems sure to be ranked as one of the key American films of the decade.
  3. The director's cut of this 2001 cult fantasy is a deliriously subtle exploration of storytelling possibilities, and a deliciously wry teen-pic to boot. Brilliant.
  4. The longer film makes Donnie's intentions clearer, explains the time-travel theme better and also leaves us in no doubt as to Frank's identity.
  5. 88
    The director's cut has been getting a much warmer critical reception than the original release, but not necessarily because it's significantly better.
  6. 80
    This surreal, subversive teen drama tanked at the box office but has since become a cult favorite, prompting this new release with 20 minutes of additional footage.
  7. Immensely moving and strikingly original, Kelly's story of a brilliant, disturbed teen (Jake Gyllenhaal) drowning in the cultural morass of the 1980s now feels bloated.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 82
  2. Negative: 6 out of 82
  1. FrankS.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. I saw it for the first time when I was 20 and it changed my life. I had never identified with a film character My favorite movie of all time. I saw it for the first time when I was 20 and it changed my life. I had never identified with a film character like this before, and doubt that I ever will. I think you owe it to yourself to experience this movie. Uniquely American and flawlessly executed. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    One of the most brilliant movies I have seen, Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut offers an exceptional plot and fully fleshed out characters toOne of the most brilliant movies I have seen, Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut offers an exceptional plot and fully fleshed out characters to further support and intensify the multitude of dark, existential and humanist themes it explores. Combine this with an excellent and wonderfully used soundtrack, a touching romantic subplot and just enough (black) humor to soften the hard-edged reality of Donnie's world and the result is a perfect film that will keep you engaged all the way and finally leave you emotional and overwhelmed with your own thoughts on life, death, love and the human experience. Expand
  3. JeffP
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Every time I see this movie, which has probably been 10 times, I discover more depth and content to revel in. I highly recommend this film Every time I see this movie, which has probably been 10 times, I discover more depth and content to revel in. I highly recommend this film and have it in both blu-ray and DVD, just so I can loan it to friends. It has those gnostic undercurrents (The world is not what you think, and neither are you) which I loved in Blade Runner, The Matrix, Dark City, Waking Life, etc. Expand
  4. Smally
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    liked it alot both its inner perspective and outer spective views on reality and life, also the wake up part clearly was reference to the liked it alot both its inner perspective and outer spective views on reality and life, also the wake up part clearly was reference to the kundalini awakening, donnie suffers trauma then his kundalini wakes up, he also predicts his own death as a result of this sudden out pour of energy within the body. Expand
  5. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    Perhaps the ultimate example of how to tell such an original and bizzare story, Donnie Darko presents some wild and astonishing ideas, and Perhaps the ultimate example of how to tell such an original and bizzare story, Donnie Darko presents some wild and astonishing ideas, and cleverly masks them by masquerading as a film of teen frustration. The film is packed with moments that will make you think for months afterwards, but it is not the individual scenes that shine, rather the whole idea of the film itself. It scatters ideas that come from every direction while threading a somewhat coherent story and some fascinating propistions throughout it. Donnie Darko is a hard film to describe and while not perfect is an absolute must see. Expand
  6. j30
    Feb 19, 2012
    9
    Donnie Darko's Directors Cut builds off the theatrical version by a lot with character development and a few loose ends with plot. If youDonnie Darko's Directors Cut builds off the theatrical version by a lot with character development and a few loose ends with plot. If you decide to take a dive in the moody, thought-provoking Donnie Darko waters, you might as well dive in the 133 minute director's cut version. Expand
  7. chrism
    May 14, 2009
    1
    Not a good movie, once more the wooly rabbit suit is pulled over our eyes.

See all 82 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.