Doomsday

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 152
  2. Negative: 61 out of 152

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Ricky
    Jun 11, 2008
    0
    Mad Max and robin hood had a love child that turned out to be a bently GT. without a doubt the worst film iv ever seen. Idea for the film wasnt bad but just went in a farsical direction. Thot it would be like dog soldiers....i was wrong, very wrong.
  2. JayH.
    Jul 18, 2008
    5
    Sort of a Mad Max meets Resident Evil. Plenty of action, but not very creative and unpleasant to watch. The cast is fair. Just another movie with a dismal view of the future.
  3. MichaelP.
    Mar 14, 2008
    0
    I allowed my admiration for Marshall's "Dog Soldiers" and, even more, "The Descent" overcome my reluctance to see a movie that's not screened for critics. And you'd better believe I regret it. Just absolutely awful. This is the movie to beat for Worst of 2008.
  4. MarkS.
    Mar 14, 2008
    3
    I was very impressed by both of Marshall's previous films. Dog Soldiers was a very good addition to the often poorly served werewolf sub-genre and The Descent had some really good and realistic ideas for a horror film... until the cave monsters showed up and it went a bit further than necessary. Still, both were reasonably intelligent modern horror films that showed him to be a I was very impressed by both of Marshall's previous films. Dog Soldiers was a very good addition to the often poorly served werewolf sub-genre and The Descent had some really good and realistic ideas for a horror film... until the cave monsters showed up and it went a bit further than necessary. Still, both were reasonably intelligent modern horror films that showed him to be a talent to watch. I saw this as a free screening due largely Marshall's other films. After seeing it, however, I really wish I had passed. It's little more than a mish-mash of much better films with little in the way of plot or character to fill in the moments between set-pieces and gratuitous moments: e.g. random topless girl, something blows up for no reason, something explodes in a cloud of blood... these occur left and right and entirely without reason or purpose. It blatantly rips off the plot from Escape from New York (a character is even named Carpenter in apparent homage), the set-up will be compared to 28 Days Later (though any "massive viral outbreak in Britain" plot will get that now), steals a lot of design and atmosphere from Mad Max and still manages to throw in some medieval nonsense in there as well. Fight scenes were of the terrible, overly-fast, shaky-cam, quick-cut style making them a jumbled mess and none of the effects really felt that impressive. Almost none of the plot has any semblance of sense with almost every action occurring for little to no reason and characters being encountered so randomly that the writing doesn't feel quite good enough to even be considered lazy. In all I really enjoyed most of the films this is derived from. Heck, I even enjoyed Escape from LA to a moderate degree. This, however, was a waste of time and money even as a free screening. Expand
  5. ChadS.
    Mar 16, 2008
    5
    "Mama, I'm coming home." Those words are never spoken in "Doomsday", but that's because this film is more Ozzy Osbourne than Josh Groban. Eden Sinclair(Rhona Mitra) was just a wee lass when the Glasgowian face melting began, and now the Scottish expatriate is returning to the bosom, commando style. If you pardon the cannibalism, "Doomsday" could be a Lifetime movie, if you "Mama, I'm coming home." Those words are never spoken in "Doomsday", but that's because this film is more Ozzy Osbourne than Josh Groban. Eden Sinclair(Rhona Mitra) was just a wee lass when the Glasgowian face melting began, and now the Scottish expatriate is returning to the bosom, commando style. If you pardon the cannibalism, "Doomsday" could be a Lifetime movie, if you pardon the bloodletting and car chases, too. This would be more readily apparent had Scotland not reinvented itself as a punk rock wonderland. If Eden wasn't looking for Kane(Malcolm McDonald), who English authorities think is in possession of the antidote that can cure the second wave of infections, this secretly Scottish woman would be looking for her mom. Don't let it escape your notice that badass Eden kept the momento which tells her who she is. The whole of Scotland is under quarantine by English decree, but "Doomsday" could've extrapolated with less coyness and blatantly declare the U.K.'s actions as totalitarian. The movie is also hampered by sloppy music choices during the ceremonial slayings, which leads to the nihilistic barbeque. Granted, Scottish bands like Simple Minds("Up on the Catwalk" might've worked) and Orange Juice(they're hopeless; too twee, and that goes for all Postcard-era bands) aren't "Warriors(The)"-worthy(the 1979 Walter Hill film), but there's always Franz Ferdinand(instead of Adam and the Ants). "Doomsday" might just another neo-holocaust movie, but at least the dead stay dead. "Doomsday" chooses "I Am Dead" over "I Am Legend". Eden hardly bats an eyelid as colleague after colleague are picked off by this new breed of Scots, but the team leader would probably be bawling her eyes out if she crossed paths with mom. That's her achilees heel. She's an orphan. "Doomsday" is a chick-flick protected by a bullet-proof genre. Expand
  6. Enrique
    Mar 17, 2008
    3
    Derivative. poorly conceived. It is already becoming an easy formula. I am getting tired of it.
  7. doc
    May 11, 2008
    3
    Couldn't decide what it wanted to be... just felt like every scene or gag or action scene was mistimed and limp. Big disappointment.
  8. NeilC.
    May 8, 2008
    3
    I thought Dog (Sh*t) Soldiers was rubbish and this despite having some money thrown at it is poor and loses it way leaving loose ends all over the shop. Rhona Mitra pulls off her end as the kick ass heroine(i wish she would mine! lol) but poor characters and Medevil Scotland with full costumes is hard to believe. Tries to be Aliens, Escape from New York, and Mad Max and ends up being more I thought Dog (Sh*t) Soldiers was rubbish and this despite having some money thrown at it is poor and loses it way leaving loose ends all over the shop. Rhona Mitra pulls off her end as the kick ass heroine(i wish she would mine! lol) but poor characters and Medevil Scotland with full costumes is hard to believe. Tries to be Aliens, Escape from New York, and Mad Max and ends up being more Waterworld meets 28 weeks later. Disappointing sorry. Expand
  9. worstmoviejohn
    May 9, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie ever made , the story is unoriginal and it takes good ideas from over movies and turns it into crap, at one moment the group of resuers are in glasgow full of mad max like survivers wanting to kill them then they are next attacked by a bunch of lord of the rings like warriors , then after they find a bently then drive away in james bond like fashion , you could This is the worst movie ever made , the story is unoriginal and it takes good ideas from over movies and turns it into crap, at one moment the group of resuers are in glasgow full of mad max like survivers wanting to kill them then they are next attacked by a bunch of lord of the rings like warriors , then after they find a bently then drive away in james bond like fashion , you could acctually make a list of what movies were used to make this film.you couldn't even make a spoof about this movie! Expand
  10. Brian
    Jun 8, 2008
    5
    The film is a good idea poorly executed. The inconsistencies are frustrating. I found myself wanting to like the movie but not able. If you like B movies you will love it as for the rest of us it leave a lot to be desired.
  11. ErnestS
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    Absolutely terrible, hardly anything made sense in this movie. I never knew Bently made slow automobiles.
  12. BobH
    Aug 28, 2008
    4
    Take "Mad Max", "28 Days Later", and "Escape From New York", remove any semblance of plot, story structure, and all the interesting characters. Then add a heavy dose of contrived self-parody and camp and you have "Doomsday". This movie is absolutely dreadful. Mitra, although lovely as always, fails miserably while trying to pull off a female Snake Plissken. The usually reliable Hoskins Take "Mad Max", "28 Days Later", and "Escape From New York", remove any semblance of plot, story structure, and all the interesting characters. Then add a heavy dose of contrived self-parody and camp and you have "Doomsday". This movie is absolutely dreadful. Mitra, although lovely as always, fails miserably while trying to pull off a female Snake Plissken. The usually reliable Hoskins tries to do his best with the pitiful role given him but comes up dry. The main villains are wholly unconvincing, BDSM-loving, cannabilistic carbon-copy Mad Max ripoffs while Malcolm McDowell leads a group of entirely superflous and totally useless medieval side-villains. I could drone on but honestly it's too painfully bad to try and reconvey here. I'm only giving it a solid 4 for the sheer comedic value. The excessive, cartoonish, 1970s exploitation film-style violence and gore is so delightfully bad it's good and the soundtrack is so incredibly campy and inappropriate it literally made my mouth gape wide open. I think the creators of this film started off trying to make a serious, badass post-apocalyptic movie and decided to just start goofing off halfway through filming. Definitely file this in the "so bad it's good" category. Expand
  13. DavidH
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    Very bad!!!!!!!!!!!! i can't believe this was the guy who did the descent, that is such a good film! this is terrible! awful dialogue, script, acting...EVERYTYHING! it isn't even remotely scary! and i can't believe they played that 80's song when that punk guy was on stage! what was the song again? ne one? thatscene was awful! where as in the descent it was suspensful, Very bad!!!!!!!!!!!! i can't believe this was the guy who did the descent, that is such a good film! this is terrible! awful dialogue, script, acting...EVERYTYHING! it isn't even remotely scary! and i can't believe they played that 80's song when that punk guy was on stage! what was the song again? ne one? thatscene was awful! where as in the descent it was suspensful, intense, exciting and realistic or the similar movie 28 days later, which deeply taps into our fears of 'what would we do if this happened?' thanks to it's amazing direction, making it incredibly realistic and all the more fearful! here, the best attempt at tapping itno our deepest fears is a stereotypically cheesy punk guy on stage singing some cheesy 80's song while screaming and a mosh-pit crowd! ooh, how scary-80'S CHEESY POP SONG! DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE! it will be a complete waste of your time! Expand
  14. JoseF.
    Mar 11, 2008
    0
    Simply awful.
  15. NookL.
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    Honestly, I don't know what the suits saw in this script. Piss-poor.
  16. MarkG.
    Mar 16, 2008
    0
    A terrible waste of a ticket purchase. Garbage.
  17. RobertM.
    May 13, 2008
    1
    Utter sh*te, peices of some great movies, cut out and pasted randomly together into a huge horrible mess of drab crap.
  18. GeorgeN.
    Jul 31, 2008
    4
    This was an exciting movie. However, it lacked inspiration, good acting, and depth. I enjoyed it but I would never see it again.
  19. TSD
    Aug 11, 2008
    2
    It started off so promisingly. It had the potential to be absolutely fantastic - the premise was brilliant. But then the moment they arrived in Glasgow it turned into a shambolic display of idiocy, excess, and one of the worst Mad Max rip-offs in history. Where's the bitterness? The social and political issues that should have been there but weren't? I'll tell you It started off so promisingly. It had the potential to be absolutely fantastic - the premise was brilliant. But then the moment they arrived in Glasgow it turned into a shambolic display of idiocy, excess, and one of the worst Mad Max rip-offs in history. Where's the bitterness? The social and political issues that should have been there but weren't? I'll tell you something, it's blindingly obvious that Neil Marshall is English. And hasn't the vaguest idea of the resentment and anger that exists north of the border even WITHOUT a viral apocalypse. Is it possible for an entire society to be out-of-character? Expand
  20. ChrisC.
    Aug 27, 2008
    5
    Starts promisingly but then proceeds to steal all the best bits from Mad Max, 28 Weeks Later, The Running Man, Waterworld (ahem). Good tongue in cheek moments but the futuristic Glasgow is unconvincing - if you've ever been you'll know it's always like that!
  21. JPac
    Mar 27, 2009
    2
    The worst film I have seen in the last few years.
  22. Aug 24, 2010
    5
    Shamelessly rips off Resident Evil (Not the best source of inspiration) and Sol (the antagonist) looks like Keith Flints stranger brother. I love the first 10 mins of the movie and if neil marshall had kept the quality up then I'd happily recommend this, however it falls flat after that, following the introduction of Snake Pliss.., I mean Eden Sinclair. Also medieval armor appears to beShamelessly rips off Resident Evil (Not the best source of inspiration) and Sol (the antagonist) looks like Keith Flints stranger brother. I love the first 10 mins of the movie and if neil marshall had kept the quality up then I'd happily recommend this, however it falls flat after that, following the introduction of Snake Pliss.., I mean Eden Sinclair. Also medieval armor appears to be plentiful and is Scotland really that bad in that it degenerates in 28 or so years. It actually does somewhat stand up for what it's worth but when compared to Marshals previous and masterful film, The Descent it just falls flat. Also i haven't mentioned plot holes because I'm too afraid of leaving one out, there are literally dozens of them in the movie! It looks good and when it's only the charachters that aren't annoying or unintentionally hilarious talking it's really eerie (note beginning and going into Scotland) but from there it fails. Expand
  23. Nov 27, 2012
    1
    Someone role a die for every 20 minutes to determin what shoul come next as the theme. Worst plot ever!! Zombies, punkers, middle age and carchase.... Seriously one of the worst movies ever!!
  24. Jayno
    Aug 4, 2008
    0
    No. Ultra garbage boring and confusing
  25. DanielB.
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    It's all about gore, violence, boobies, and a very cool, punk-rock sacrificial dance-number. If that's not your cup of tea than don't bother. If it is, get a bucket of popcorn, leave your criticism for the real world, and have a blast!
  26. JonnyH.
    May 18, 2008
    3
    I'm starting to believed that some of the public have gone totally insane! 10's and 9's, u cannot be serious, this movie began well but rapidly deteriorated to becoming the worse plot/story line i have ever seen! putting the 'can can' music in was the last straw 4 me! i have given it a 3 because of its gore and nothing more! the main character was an awful I'm starting to believed that some of the public have gone totally insane! 10's and 9's, u cannot be serious, this movie began well but rapidly deteriorated to becoming the worse plot/story line i have ever seen! putting the 'can can' music in was the last straw 4 me! i have given it a 3 because of its gore and nothing more! the main character was an awful addition, who seemed to be james bond with the hulks strength, i cud barely watch as it was so far fetched! the director had moments of madness whilst making this appaling excuse 4 a movie n shud be shot for doing so! Expand
  27. JohonaM.
    Mar 11, 2008
    1
    This movie was awful. The one is for Rhona Mitra, who is hot. Smokin' hot.
  28. Ry
    Mar 16, 2008
    0
    Did it really need music for every damn scene....i thought i was watching Mortal Kombat for a second...with that crappy ass techno music...no wait House of the Dead.
  29. RossL.
    May 10, 2008
    2
    Great premise for a movie however. no effort has been put into preproduction or research, It had the feel of Madmax but without the originality, Not to mention the plot holes which i could have very easily drven the Bentley used in the later part of the film through. At several points I found my friends and I actually bored with the dialogue and having abit of a chat and contemplate a Great premise for a movie however. no effort has been put into preproduction or research, It had the feel of Madmax but without the originality, Not to mention the plot holes which i could have very easily drven the Bentley used in the later part of the film through. At several points I found my friends and I actually bored with the dialogue and having abit of a chat and contemplate a toilet break in the cinema. Just shows how A poorly written script, and direction can create something that i would recommend waiting till it was on weekly rental at your local rather than going and parting with your hard earned cash to see in the cinema. 28 days laterm V for vendetta potential but came of feeling like judge dread Yukky! Expand
  30. bigG
    May 16, 2008
    2
    This film was basically a bunch of emo warlords killing everything around them.. what was the point in this movie? It didnt even make sense.
  31. DavidW.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    This is by far the worst film I have seen in the last 5 years. It is as if they let some fourteen year old who likes violence and unrealistic badly directed action "cos its cool" and had him make a film with all the bits from his favorite movies in. There are biker boys, lord of the rings scenes, car chases and a hot female action hero. "Yeah Cool" I hear all the mindless idiots shout. No, it isn
  32. MarkR.
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    Longest state lottery funded car commercial I've ever seen. This movie was so bad I feel as though my braincells would have been better used drowning in arsenic. This movie should have been illegal. I can honestly say that some of the glaring plot holes and inexplicable random circumstances were actually the high points of this movie. Not since an Uwe Boll movie has such a huge (also Longest state lottery funded car commercial I've ever seen. This movie was so bad I feel as though my braincells would have been better used drowning in arsenic. This movie should have been illegal. I can honestly say that some of the glaring plot holes and inexplicable random circumstances were actually the high points of this movie. Not since an Uwe Boll movie has such a huge (also state funded) budget produced such a steaming mountain of manure. Think I'm being too harsh? Let me give you some highlights of the plot: 25 years is long enough to degrade to feudal society complete with competent bowmen, blacksmiths, masons, tapestry weavers, list goes on. A small percentage of the population survives, just enough to have a hundred or so to kill in random scenes. Armored personnel carriers not only do not have bullet proof glass windows, but they don't have shatter proof glass windows. Crazy bloodlusting cannibal psychos in big ole steel trucks and roadsters are scared of tiny 2008 bentleys running into them, but the same psychos are not scared of taking on guys in full high-tech military armor with big huge automatic weapons when they themselves wield boards with nails in them. This movie was just too stupid for digestion. I wanted to like it, I wanted to believe it was camp, I wanted to just enjoy the action, but there was no way possible that I could even start to get into it. Not to mention the adhd quality of the plot, it's appallingly derivative nature or the complete lack of resolution. This was vomit on cellulose and I want that hour and 45 min of my life back. If anyone else would like to start a class action suit with me for damages and vitality wasted let me know. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE. Expand
  33. brogers
    May 1, 2009
    4
    Some people need to realise that some movies are made for fun - despite the huge investment - especially future virus takes over Scotland type movies. For those of you who have never driven a Bentley in the Scottish Highlands or raced a steam train for that matter - this movie clearly started out as a computer game. That's why the Bentley goes so slow too, it has a speed limiter on Some people need to realise that some movies are made for fun - despite the huge investment - especially future virus takes over Scotland type movies. For those of you who have never driven a Bentley in the Scottish Highlands or raced a steam train for that matter - this movie clearly started out as a computer game. That's why the Bentley goes so slow too, it has a speed limiter on it from the game "I drive like an Asian'. If Swine Flu takes hold, I hope I find a passage under the mountain that has a box with a bike in it let alone a Bentley. Then when I go to the castle I can join them as a court jester....guys seriously you have to see this move for what it is - a truncated gore fest where nobody has any idea who says what and life exists in fast forward due to the only food being the insides of Scottish gentry. Can't wait for part 2 - Glasgow Rangers v Glasgow Celtic street soccer! Expand
  34. Anme-MarieM.
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    Loved this film. Gory but satisfying. Mad Max meets 28 Weeks Later. Absolutely loved Rhona Mitra - she has it all over Lara Croft as posh birth who kicks butt. A great surprise.
  35. MilesM.
    Mar 11, 2008
    0
    Trite, boring, lame...vintage Neil Marshall
  36. BenP.
    Mar 10, 2008
    0
    It's hard to imagine that any movie could be worse than Marshall's "The Descent"...this one isn't, but it comes close. This guy is worse than Uwe Boll.
  37. ShallunD
    Sep 12, 2009
    3
    It's amazing to see that this movie with plotholes can get at least a 51 rating while the movie KNOWING which actually makes sense a far worse rating.Shame on you people!!!
  38. CliftonC.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Anyone who went to this movie and didn't like it is just stupid. Why are you in the theater at all?? Did you see the commercial and expect Dances With Wolves? The majority of us knew we were about to see a crazy action movie and that's exactly what we got! A 10 all the way. See it a hundred times then buy the unrated DVD! People who gave it a 0 should get their heads torn from Anyone who went to this movie and didn't like it is just stupid. Why are you in the theater at all?? Did you see the commercial and expect Dances With Wolves? The majority of us knew we were about to see a crazy action movie and that's exactly what we got! A 10 all the way. See it a hundred times then buy the unrated DVD! People who gave it a 0 should get their heads torn from their bodies with a jagged, dull, diseased sword and the firm grip of a hot, battle-hardened woman! Expand
  39. TobiasW.
    Jul 16, 2008
    9
    A very entertaining movie - some great homages to Mad Max and Escape from New York, as well as some great music choices. Grab some beer and some friends and you won't go wrong.
  40. KevinN.
    Aug 5, 2008
    8
    Any fan of post-apocalyptic films should see this movie. Tons of explosive action, and a little touch of suspense. The only problem I had with the film was the overuse of violence and the storyline wasn't much, but I could watch Doomsday again and still enjoy it.
  41. BrianH
    Sep 1, 2009
    7
    Guilty pleasure for sure. But it's a fun tribute to the Mad Max movies and Escape From LA. Rhona Mitra is hot in this movie. I admit that it does have so unintentional humor, but it's the kind of movie you will enjoy if you don't expect something of high art.
  42. EhrenG.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    This is such a viscerally thrilling, super clever, post-modern throwdown.
  43. AlecB.
    Mar 16, 2008
    7
    Why people are giving this movie such negative reviews. i actually enjoyed the movie, it had a pretty good story line 2 it and the action was nonstop. Not as good at the decent but pretty close?
  44. MorganK.
    Mar 16, 2008
    8
    While tonally very different from Marshall's critically-loved The Descent, this bears a good bit of the humor and the loving embrace of all things cool that Dog Soldiers exhibited, albeit on a much larger, extravagant scale. It's pretty clear that this wasn't shown to critics less because the studio thought it was a dud, and more because they aren't the audience for a While tonally very different from Marshall's critically-loved The Descent, this bears a good bit of the humor and the loving embrace of all things cool that Dog Soldiers exhibited, albeit on a much larger, extravagant scale. It's pretty clear that this wasn't shown to critics less because the studio thought it was a dud, and more because they aren't the audience for a movie like this - it's a giddy lovefest for both the director and genre fans to share and, really, if you can't appreciate the sheer joy this movie has plowing through apocalyptic punk, D&D fantasy, and unabashed irony-free late-70s/early-80s action then you simply came to the wrong film. Doomsday manages to provide the same level of kitschy badass that Tarantino/Rodriguez's Grindhouse did last year, except without all the film-school hipster winking-at-the-audience with fake lost-reels and digital film grain - it's an adoring collage that does exactly what it's designed to do. Expand
  45. J.B.
    Mar 16, 2008
    7
    Rodriguez and Tarantino crashed and burned with their indulgent "Grindhouse" experiment. Those were fun to watch, and for those who got it, a great time while while the reels rolled. Totally forgettable afterward though. Marshall reaches back into a little more recent genre period - the multi-plex,midnight movie 80's - for his nostalgia trip, and I think that since he doesn't Rodriguez and Tarantino crashed and burned with their indulgent "Grindhouse" experiment. Those were fun to watch, and for those who got it, a great time while while the reels rolled. Totally forgettable afterward though. Marshall reaches back into a little more recent genre period - the multi-plex,midnight movie 80's - for his nostalgia trip, and I think that since he doesn't hype his experimental time trip so much, it makes it more fun to discover the genre and movie rip-offs, hommages and cinematic playing arounds than Tarantino and Rodriguez thinking they were making another flick -that they seem to have thought everybody was going to give them another pat on the back for. Marshall does his best again with little - and he handles it all, production, action, casting - likes he's been doin' it for longer and better than others with only three movies to their credit. Hollywood is scrambling to pick up foreign directors who can do a lot with a little. I think with this, you'll see Marshall's name on a bigger tentpole flick soon. Expand
  46. AdamR
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    Now I think a rating below 5 makes you markedly less intelligent because it is IMMEDIATELY apparent that you don't understand that this movie has a niche in which it is perfect. If it's not your type of movie, don't f*(&%ing rate it. Every so often, a movie comes around that is some person's brainchild and will be excruciatingly painful in the name of "art" (Babel Now I think a rating below 5 makes you markedly less intelligent because it is IMMEDIATELY apparent that you don't understand that this movie has a niche in which it is perfect. If it's not your type of movie, don't f*(&%ing rate it. Every so often, a movie comes around that is some person's brainchild and will be excruciatingly painful in the name of "art" (Babel comes to mind). You know these. They feel like over-acted high-school plays shot in black and white with vaseline on the screen. The end usually ends with "fin" in script. These movies suck, yet we all feel there's a greater meaning that requires donning this s*$% sandwich with an academy award or five. All I wanted tonight was a little action, a little (lot) gore, a little comedy, and a movie that's not completely predictable. "Doomsday" provided outstandingly on all fronts while evoking the nostalgia of "Mad Max," "28 days later," and strangely "I am legend" (which was ironically released AFTER Doomsday was shot). If you gave this movie a poor rating, perhaps you should learn the terms GENRE and NICHE understand why people may like the movie that you hated. If you like chick flicks, go watch those instead of plaguing us with your fanboy opinions about something you chose to watch knowing it wouldn't be enjoyable for you. Expand
  47. AdamL.
    Mar 21, 2008
    8
    About as deep and substantive as a pudding cup, this is not a great movie. It is, however, a great movie to watch. It riffs on more post-apocalyptic movies than you can count, and you just don't care. It's worth watching, and lots of fun.
  48. stuarthamm
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    wonderfully fun ride. i go to see movies as an escape this was a ride that i never could predict where it was going next. i must concede that it is a mix of many movies but had enough originality to keep me interested.
  49. Kim
    Apr 13, 2008
    7
    The movie was unrealistic. But the film rocks as a whole. If you're into horror with morbid images and smashed bodies, this is the movie for u otherwise if you're not into those things, this movie is definitely not for you.
  50. Chris
    May 10, 2008
    9
    Hell of a good Carpenter-Mad Max flick. Highly recommended!
  51. KingHerod
    May 19, 2008
    8
    I don't understand why critics have a problem with this movie. I would have thought that anyone who recognizes the movies that Doomsday openly borrows from (Mad Max II, Escape From New York, Aliens) could appreciate how deftly Marshall blends tired ingredients into an original cocktail. A dystopian London and a post-apocalyptic Scotland; a felsh-eating virus; a Lara Croft lookalike; I don't understand why critics have a problem with this movie. I would have thought that anyone who recognizes the movies that Doomsday openly borrows from (Mad Max II, Escape From New York, Aliens) could appreciate how deftly Marshall blends tired ingredients into an original cocktail. A dystopian London and a post-apocalyptic Scotland; a felsh-eating virus; a Lara Croft lookalike; gimps; medieval knights; Mad Max punks; a Bentley Continental; kilts; comical gore and Frankie Goes To Hollywood. A one-of-a-kind concoction, I'm sure you'll agree. It fits in snugly with Marshall's previous two features and it's exactly the kind of action movie I want the British film industry producing more of. Expand
  52. Zoe
    May 19, 2008
    7
    What do you get if you combine "Aliens", "Mad Max 2", "Robin Hood", "Gladiator", and "Top Gear? You get an action-packed and very funny film called "Doomsday". The plot waivered in places, but overall it was a lot of fun to watch. Just don't go in expecting anything too serious.
  53. GloreC.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    The descent, quite similar to this is a downhil crapshow horror compared to this. Most horro films like this deserve crap, but this was amazing. Its not the genuine, which is not displayed in this. It is the genre treatment. They use this kind of genre at the best. The movie was realistic, and great!
  54. LuJ.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    i can see the bias in the neg reviews from a mile away. they either hate the director outright or they didn't like it that the movie wasn't pre-screened by the press. oh well. this movie was excellent. its great to see a virus flick where you don't have to be a zombie to still be a monster and keep the movie interesting. great fight scenes as well as plot. enjoy and cheers!
  55. ChrisD.
    Mar 16, 2008
    7
    It was hard to tell if I was going to enjoy it from what I saw in the beginning. In the end though I found it to be worth the money and entertaining enough to probably buy it on DVD later.
  56. DrewF
    Mar 16, 2008
    8
    If you know who John Carpenter and George Miller are, then run out and see this flick post-haste. If you don't, you probably shouldn't bother.
  57. RyanG.
    Mar 16, 2008
    7
    Neil Marshall has proven that the action movie is alive and well. Yes, Doomsday is not The Descent, but Doomsday is exactly what Resident Evil, 28 Days Later, and any lame video game adaptation should have been. Finally, a director delivers a movie that deserves a strong R rating. Paul W.S. Anderson and Uwe Bowl only wish they had the talent of Marshall.
  58. Werewolf
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    Doomsday is an entertaining thrill ride with boobies.
  59. michaelH
    Mar 18, 2008
    7
    good but not great entertianed me enough. if you have seen escape from ny or la then this movie is basicaqlly the same area. still entertaining enough to get on DVD or Blu-Ray.
  60. ArianeA.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    I love it! I love Rhona Mitra. She rocks, really kicks some ass & super cool! All the actors & crews really did there job! Great job guys! What a great movie you've made! I've been telling everybody to really watch it. :)
  61. ErikR.
    Mar 22, 2008
    7
    Ok i just saw this tonight. Its the weirdest movie iv ever seen. umm its like what if you isolate a country completely cut off. what would happen? like i said it was the weirdest movie ive seen. i did like the scotish accents
  62. BrandonL
    Aug 31, 2008
    7
    This movie did what it was supposed to do, entertain. It had more holes in the plot than any movie I have seen in the past 5 years but still managed to have great action, over the top characters, over the top gore, hot chicks with guns, car chases and explosions. For a guy looking to be entertained, you could only add gratuitous nudity and you have a future cult classic. The only other This movie did what it was supposed to do, entertain. It had more holes in the plot than any movie I have seen in the past 5 years but still managed to have great action, over the top characters, over the top gore, hot chicks with guns, car chases and explosions. For a guy looking to be entertained, you could only add gratuitous nudity and you have a future cult classic. The only other movie that I laughed at more, because of how outrageous it was, was Rambo. Both highly entertaining, but dumb as a bag of rocks. Expand
  63. FrankC.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    I would give this a 12 if i could they really knocked it out of the park.I would rent this for every1 just so they could see how amazing it is.A+++
  64. Jag
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    This movie wasn't really amazing but it wasn't bad either. The trailer makes the actual movie look really crappy. When I first saw the trailer I thought "okay great, another invincible hot girl with a gun" but this movie does so much more than that. The beginning hooked me right off the bat and it stayed that way for a while. But then it got kinda boring and I started to loose This movie wasn't really amazing but it wasn't bad either. The trailer makes the actual movie look really crappy. When I first saw the trailer I thought "okay great, another invincible hot girl with a gun" but this movie does so much more than that. The beginning hooked me right off the bat and it stayed that way for a while. But then it got kinda boring and I started to loose hope. I thought it was going to turn out to be another 2004 version of Dawn of the Dead. But just when I was ready to start fast-forwarding it got really good again. And the variety here is also a real highlight. I don't want to give away the awesomeness but lets just say it will be the last thing you'll expect. There is also a real story here to but it can be consumed by the constant action which was awesome and well done . At your first watch-through you might think Rhona Mitra's character was really shallow and "topical action girl" but she was also really nasty and bitter. And then it hit me. She plays the role of a special forces soldier and she was in there for a long time (she was a major). She had no family, she grew up without an eye, and literally had no one. And when one is basically stealing, killing, and destroying for a living they usually loose respect for alot of things. Even people. Its that exact case with her so don't judge her to fast or you'll loose interest. It should also be noted that she is not invincible and there are very few"oh please" moments in the action sequences. She does alot of beating up but she gets her fair share of beat down too. This movie may not be the kind you'd want on your shelf but it would make a fun weekend rental or just something to have your buddy's over to watch with you. I liked it and it was worth the 4 dollars I paid to rent it. If you like action movies check it out. Expand
  65. Antz
    Mar 22, 2009
    8
    Entertaining action flick. Basically a Scottish Mad Max variation. If you like the over the top 80's action flick, you'll like this.
  66. [Anonymous]
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    Fantastic homage to classics like Road Warrior and Escape from New York without losing sight of the fast-paced story. Clearly made by people who love movies. Outstanding.
  67. RyanJP
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    I don't know what these negative reviews are trying to say, but Dog Soldiers sucked, The Descent was good, and Doomsday was just as good. In it's genre it's one of the most exciting in recent months that I've seen!! This is just an exciting action film, not an Oscar-winner, so just enjoy it!
  68. PhilS
    Mar 16, 2008
    9
    I enjoyed this movie is a compilation, as some said above, of Mad Max, 28 Days Later, Escape from New York, John Capenters Ghosts of Mars.
  69. GarrisonH.
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    This is the movie P.W.S. Anderson, Tarantino, Rodriguez and countless others have been trying to make for years. Its... whats the word again.. oh yeah.. Fun. you all remember that right?
  70. EMShedcannotbetamed
    Mar 18, 2008
    9
    This movie is absolute fun -- provided you like your action detailed with over-the-top violence. My friend and I were laughing so hard at how quickly the movie switches gears. First it's a gritty urban shooter, then all of a sudden it's a King Arthur movie (complete with villains who say "take them away!") and then just as quickly it becomes the Road Warrior. Even better, all This movie is absolute fun -- provided you like your action detailed with over-the-top violence. My friend and I were laughing so hard at how quickly the movie switches gears. First it's a gritty urban shooter, then all of a sudden it's a King Arthur movie (complete with villains who say "take them away!") and then just as quickly it becomes the Road Warrior. Even better, all three parts are thrilling and fun. Also should mention that the production and budget for this thing must have been huge. Clearly they didn't spend a lot on actor's salaries, and all of that savings went right into fabulous sets, equipment and stunts. Really impressive in that regard. Oh well, this will probably not get very well-reviewed, but I thought it was an absolute hoot, and a very well-made movie (for what it is) to boot. Expand
  71. GeorgeM
    Aug 12, 2008
    7
    Talk about a movie with a little bit of EVERYTHING. This film throws everything but the kitchen sink at you and youll either love it, like it, or loathe it and i must say......i LIKE it. Watching this movie i could sense scene after scene that id seen all this before.......it felt like Gladiator, Aliens, 28 Days Later, Mad Max, Planet Terror, and Resident Evil Extinction all rolled up Talk about a movie with a little bit of EVERYTHING. This film throws everything but the kitchen sink at you and youll either love it, like it, or loathe it and i must say......i LIKE it. Watching this movie i could sense scene after scene that id seen all this before.......it felt like Gladiator, Aliens, 28 Days Later, Mad Max, Planet Terror, and Resident Evil Extinction all rolled up into one crazy powderkeg of goofiness, gore, and eye rolling entertainment. Don't take this film too seriously and youll have a bloody good time watching all the craziness unfold taking you everwhere from a city full of infected human beings to a castle being protected by.....knights???....confused yet??? Overall this is a overly violent, "run for your barf bags", assault on your senses, sit back and enjoy kinda movie. I look at this movie as something that pays homage to some of the most influential films out there, and it does it in a most entertaining way.......just not in a Date Movie, Epic Movie, Disaster Movie kinda way.....THANK GOD. Expand
  72. GGill
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    Quite enjoyable if you understand what the director was trying to accomplish, which was an homage to some really fantastic films in the past 30 years.
  73. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    This pretty much sums Doomsday up. Suspend you disbelief a wee bit and sit back and enjoy. It
  74. Aug 25, 2014
    8
    An action-packed movie with exploding scenes - and bodies (the latter at least in the unrated version). It is almost ridiculous how some of the bloody scenes are constructed, but even though they are there just for the sake of splattering blood all over the screen, it fits the generally cruel and raw atmosphere of "Doomsday".

    The characters are given room to introduce themselves, and
    An action-packed movie with exploding scenes - and bodies (the latter at least in the unrated version). It is almost ridiculous how some of the bloody scenes are constructed, but even though they are there just for the sake of splattering blood all over the screen, it fits the generally cruel and raw atmosphere of "Doomsday".

    The characters are given room to introduce themselves, and even though there isn't much growth in them, that isn't necessary since most of their screen time comes to an bloody end.

    As far as the plot goes, there are some things that worked, and other that should have been worked on some more. At times it is more about "explaining" than allowing people to figure it out for themselves. That does not make the movie a bad one, though, because the good aspects of the plot and story work well; the mission remains the same despite all the distractions and obstacles.

    The reasoning behind the main views of the movie are slightly shadowed, and in a way nothing unexpected. Still this seemed like a rather fresh take on an idea of people left stranded, abandoned by the rest of the world.
    Expand
  75. Mar 8, 2014
    0
    In three words; Staid, Pedestrian and Mawkish. This weekend was the first opportunity I've had to see my 11-year old son in three months. This film seemed as though it could deliver but failed miserably. This is an hour and a half that I will not get back with my son. Aggressive, dull and monotonous load of junk. Whoever bothered to pump money into this rubbish must have been thrown to theIn three words; Staid, Pedestrian and Mawkish. This weekend was the first opportunity I've had to see my 11-year old son in three months. This film seemed as though it could deliver but failed miserably. This is an hour and a half that I will not get back with my son. Aggressive, dull and monotonous load of junk. Whoever bothered to pump money into this rubbish must have been thrown to the ground during infancy. DO NOT WATCH THIS!!!!! Expand
  76. Oct 9, 2013
    6
    While undeniably stupid, Doomsday is actually kind of fun, if you're willing to look at it that way. The film is hardly meant to be taken seriously, anyway. Lose yourself in its absurdities and just enjoy its half-decent action sequences.
  77. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    If you like films with gory fight scenes and suspense-filled chase scenes that keep you on the edge of your seat, then you’ll love Doomsday.
    Doomsday is about a killer virus which spreads through Scotland in 2008 and now, 30 years later, its come back.
    In order to stop this virus from spreading to the rest of Britain, a wall was built along the English/Scottish border in 2008. At first
    If you like films with gory fight scenes and suspense-filled chase scenes that keep you on the edge of your seat, then you’ll love Doomsday.
    Doomsday is about a killer virus which spreads through Scotland in 2008 and now, 30 years later, its come back.
    In order to stop this virus from spreading to the rest of Britain, a wall was built along the English/Scottish border in 2008. At first this seemed to stop the virus from spreading but then in 2035 the virus came back and spread across London. Luckily survivors have been found in Scotland, which means there must be a cure. And now its up to a high ranking spy called Sinclair (Emma Cleasby) to lead a group of soldiers into Scotland to find this cure. But once inside Scotland, the survivors that the soldiers encounter aren’t very friendly and its not long before the group of soldiers are involved in a gory gun-fight, which leaves the viewer wondering not only if they’ll find a cure but also if they’ll make it out of Scotland alive.
    The film gets you interested right from the start by introducing the virus as horrific and gory when we see an infected person with horrible skin mutations. As well as introducing the virus in a great way, Sinclair is also introduced in a great scene which shows just how well trained a spy she is. The special effects in this scene make the gun-fights seem gory and blood-filled.
    My favourite scene in the film is the car chase at the end which is filled with comedy, action and gore. This is my favourite scene because it kept me on the edge of my seat and the special effects in this scene made the crashes look painful, realistic and explosive.
    I would recommend this film to anyone who loves gory action films with a bit of a funny side and I would rate this film 8/10.
    Expand
  78. Dec 22, 2015
    2
    Years after watching, I still remember this title as one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Everything is mixed in this movie in some retarded way - you get post apocaliptic degenerates, medival knights and loads of action that doesn't make any sense. Bad, lame movie.
  79. Jan 12, 2016
    9
    This is a highly underrated film. Brilliant storyline, fantastic actors and I only wish they'd do a sequel!

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-239-Doomsday-online-free
  80. Feb 15, 2016
    8
    This was an entertaining movie with a few surprises thrown in, just don't do any heavy thinking while watching it!

    Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-239-Doomsday-online-free
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 63
    Marshall delivers what he promises and Mitri makes for a cool, kick-arse heroine in the Ellen Ripley mold.
  2. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    40
    I still believe with all my heart that no movie with real car stunts, a tough-chick hero, and a severed head that thunks directly into the camera can be all bad. But this is pushing it.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Neil Marshall's flair for visceral action more than compensates for his script's lack of conceptual novelty in Doomsday. Principally South Africa-shot tale of a post-apocalyptic Great Britain cobbles together large chunks of "Escape From New York," "The Road Warrior," "28 Days Later" and "Resident Evil," but those with a taste for revved-up, splattery fantasy thrills won't be complaining.