Doubt

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 140

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    The film had good performances by everyone and the style of directing was interesting. The director made it fell like we were always eavesdropping and not suppose to hear what was taking place. But even with all the good performances it emerged as a strangely unsatisfying film which asked more questions than it answered.
  2. SteveB
    Jan 1, 2009
    5
    Great acting by all three leads, and a thought-provoking story, but no character development or insight into motivations of the characters makes for a shallow, disappointing experience. Could have been a much more engaging story. Abrupt unsatisfiying ending only underscres this. Proves again that great performance(s) don't necessarily make a great movie.
  3. Lizziebeth-1
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    Doesn't know how to end a talky yet bereft argument! Only 5/10 for this indie., 20 January 2009 This is still just a quickie based on 2 viewings. Clearly the filmmakers intended Doubt(208) to be at least self-referential for the audience, that is, they never had any intention of settling the priest's guilt with the plot. I went in expecting that. However it was a rude shock to Doesn't know how to end a talky yet bereft argument! Only 5/10 for this indie., 20 January 2009 This is still just a quickie based on 2 viewings. Clearly the filmmakers intended Doubt(208) to be at least self-referential for the audience, that is, they never had any intention of settling the priest's guilt with the plot. I went in expecting that. However it was a rude shock to see this perenially talky movie offer only homilies couched in a few sentences of priestly sermon about gossiping being a sin, and valuable truths being easily dissembled into flying feathers that you can never collect again. The topic isn't explored in more detail on film than it was on stage, and suffers not only from insufficient adaptation for the screen, but also from half-heartedly approaching its subject matter itself. This is a good one-note premise inadequately realised, with only one screaming match argument and one honest mother. Unfortunately, the film doesn't go anywhere, and then it ends. There is a little bit of throwaway hindsight in the shape of Meryl Streep's mother superior finally regretting (or being afraid of) her own unsupportable certainty; and the information that what happened in this case too was that the accused priest was just moved on but never dealt with. On the contrary he was promoted in another parish for having suffered her accusations. But of course nothing was decided then, nor is it in this movie; and its unenlightening jip is just too frustrating. The cast is universally very good, but Viola Davis blows Hoffman or Streep away as the Afr-Am tormented mother. She is just WONDERFUL as she cries about her bullied-at-home only son, who is suspected of being gay in a world that refused to understand. The 1960s period recreation is great, too, as many reviewers have remarked. However the unexamined possibilities of the other schoolboys' stories is INFURIATING. I have no patience for movies which deliberately hide certain points of view in order to set up their meagre case. It's playing "God" with the fourth wall, and I riled against this with Batman_Dark Knight as well (the grossly manipulative interrogation scene). I maintain that if the story remains this poorly developed in order to make its case, then it simply hasn't made it. None of us need or want this type of confusing, mired "vision" over such an already confused and brutal reality repeated on film for no good reason. If you're going approach this subject-matter at THIS late stage of the game, then you have to be prepared to reveal more. Scott Rudin and John Patrick Shanley (Writer/Director) - are just letting their fans down. Other reviewers seem to be upset at the critique of Catholic priests, which is just being defensive--the critiques need to happen and result in some wisdoms. But THIS ISN'T THAT WISDOM, despite its Golden Globes and Oscar noms. Deserves very little.(5/10) Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    Excellent performances by Streep, Hoffman and Davis still couldn't lift what emerged as a strangely unsatisfying film which asked more questions than it answered. As an adaptation of a stage play it had that faintly awkward, limited feel of a story that had been shrunk to fit the scenery.
  5. MarkC.
    Dec 29, 2008
    6
    Ill give them credit for not adhering to cliche intellectual takes on Catholicism (and/or Christianity), but in the end I felt like the movie was trying too hard to be open ended. No Country, last year, executed an irresolute ending marvelously. They might has well have had PSH say, "Did I touch the boy or didn't I?" Along with a few other ambivalent situations as well. Acting was Ill give them credit for not adhering to cliche intellectual takes on Catholicism (and/or Christianity), but in the end I felt like the movie was trying too hard to be open ended. No Country, last year, executed an irresolute ending marvelously. They might has well have had PSH say, "Did I touch the boy or didn't I?" Along with a few other ambivalent situations as well. Acting was solid. I felt liek the movie could have been better. Just a little too strident in its attempt to be ponderous. Expand
  6. JoeR
    Jan 12, 2009
    6
    Great performances by Hoffman and Streep, but this film lacks something that i just can't put my finger on.It just never takes off. When it felt like Shanley had finally found a rhythm to the film, the credits rolled.
  7. RobinR.
    Apr 14, 2009
    4
    Despite the many high ratings and high reviews I believe they are based on Meryl Streep's past works. However that fact that she can go from intensely angry to desperately sad within 5 seconds does not show off her acting skills. Doubt has no resolution and it does not end in a cliff hanger that makes you wonder and want more. It ends in a cliff hanger that makes you frustrated and Despite the many high ratings and high reviews I believe they are based on Meryl Streep's past works. However that fact that she can go from intensely angry to desperately sad within 5 seconds does not show off her acting skills. Doubt has no resolution and it does not end in a cliff hanger that makes you wonder and want more. It ends in a cliff hanger that makes you frustrated and also makes you feel like you wasted your time and money. Expand
  8. JeffO.
    Apr 21, 2009
    6
    Great acting by Streep, the rest of the movie is kinda flat and bland, despite being well done.
  9. AAM.
    Dec 27, 2008
    6
    Thoughtful and provocative. Some simplistic visual/sound effects.
  10. Feb 23, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hoffman is seemingly convincing as a good guy....and meril streep clearly has it out for someone I bet....you can tell by her face that shes mean....if this movie is sexual then I truly am going to stop even writing movie reviews and switch to porn reviews because thats clearly what people want......Amy Adams better be all the porn in this dam movie....i feel like there can't be a single movie ever without a hot girl the camera can capture being hot in the very way that she is hottest despite her eating something weird...Im feeling once again that i need to find an ugly person and just make sure that they don't show signs of having seen such things.....attractive people in the church is like ugly people giving a presentation at school.....it just doesn't add up....still i want in on this back story...."oh if they all turn you down you become a priest".....thats exactly what i wanted to hear...can't imagine that I'll have much more to say...ofcourse the person who said that will try to be discredited but i'm perfectly satisfied even if amy adams take a golden god **** all over father Flynn...i love the small talk between the super powers...i love how flynn asks for three sugars....ok i'm skipping ahead to see what hes done to that poor boy..........-JRA Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Shanley turns out to have dismayingly few original cinematic notions to back up the basic did-he-or-didn't-he hook in his study of conviction and compassion.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    50
    Doubt stirs up a lot of stormy theatrical weather, but the stolid transfer from stage to screen does Shanley's play no favors.
  3. 30
    Streep can do anything. She is, of course, wasted on this elephantine fable; if only Doubt had been made in 1964, shot by Roger Corman over a long weekend, and retitled "Spawn of the Devil Witch" or "Blood Wimple," all would have been forgiven