Miramax Films | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
117
Mixed:
17
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
GraziBDec 12, 2008
Very good acting and tone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Jan 10, 2009
Amazing movie. Enough said. Wait not enough said actually, one of the most thought provoking movies of all time. This is a movie classic that it is a mystery, drama and suspense rolled into one amazing movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Jun 1, 2009
An extremely well-acted film for audiences who are up to the challenge, "Doubt" lacks the power it had on the stage, but is nevertheless quite effective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FilipeM.Oct 3, 2009
The plot isn't that good; but with the perfomances of Streep, Adams, Hoffman and Davis, not even a lousy story like this turns to be a bad thing to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HollyCApr 20, 2009
Tightly written, wonderfully acted, well plotted and beautifully shot. Overall, definitely worth the rental if you haven't seen this already. Streep gives an amazing performance and of course, the story itself leaves you questioning Tightly written, wonderfully acted, well plotted and beautifully shot. Overall, definitely worth the rental if you haven't seen this already. Streep gives an amazing performance and of course, the story itself leaves you questioning what real virtue is (as it should). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MacD.Dec 30, 2008
A superb cast with the usual breathtaking performance by Meryl Streep. The plot keeps you involved right up to the very end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SParsonsJul 10, 2009
An engrossing and at times moving film carried by the performance of two of the acting world's finest talents in Hoffman and Streep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarolT.Dec 29, 2008
I loved this movie !. Exceptional acting plus more importantly it makes you question what is really going on here, the answer being different deopending on who you ask but of course I feel I really know for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 30, 2008
2nd favorite after Wall-E this year. The acting is flawless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillN.Jan 1, 2009
As satisfying as the play.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathyS.Jan 1, 2009
Outstanding performances from all, including Viola Davis, who plays the boy's mother. Needless to say, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Meryl Streep are always first-rate, but this time Streep has outdone herself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisC.Jan 2, 2009
Despite some minor missteps, this movie shines. It's a subtle examination of a complex issue, but also a terrific showcase for three amazing performers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EOJan 27, 2009
Meryl Streep, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and Viola Davis were all amazing, and the movie, more than any other I've seen this year, was an intellectual mystery that kept me thinking long after the credits. That said, the direction was Meryl Streep, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and Viola Davis were all amazing, and the movie, more than any other I've seen this year, was an intellectual mystery that kept me thinking long after the credits. That said, the direction was extremely over-the-top (slanted camera angles, thunderclaps at every dramatic moment) and Amy Adams was merely OK, definitely not Oscar-nom-worthy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSFeb 13, 2009
Not a simple black or white film by any stretch of the imagination. It is unique in its topic -- a topic which certainly needs covering -- but I suppose just as easily as one person finds it a very effective movie another viewer could be Not a simple black or white film by any stretch of the imagination. It is unique in its topic -- a topic which certainly needs covering -- but I suppose just as easily as one person finds it a very effective movie another viewer could be bored with its pace and methods. Strange in that just as the movie started becoming interesting instead of delving into the deep end it instead chose for an abrupt end. I guess without such an ending the movie couldn't be called "Doubt", but considering I had committed to the story I left the movie feeling incomplete and desired for a deeper inspection of the process and relationship(s) involved in the tricky topic that is this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackP.Feb 20, 2009
Not a perfect film, but a pleasant and yet strong film. Meryl Streep is an excellent screen presence. Also, let's not forget the three other great performances by Amy Adams, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Viola Davis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayHApr 2, 2009
Brilliant period detail and feel for the Catholic school experience of the time. The cast is incredible, they are all superb. Well written and directed. Excellent art direction and cinematography. Magnificent character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanL.Dec 13, 2008
Incredible acting and thought provoking!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevitivitySDec 19, 2008
This is NOT the simple minded Catholic bashing film you would expect from Hollywood. Great acting by Streep (as usual).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxwellHDec 26, 2008
Hoffman and Streep both play their roles spot on, among the rest of the very well chosen cast. There did seem to be something lacking, the movie a little flat in parts. However what was developed in the plot kept you second guessing. The Hoffman and Streep both play their roles spot on, among the rest of the very well chosen cast. There did seem to be something lacking, the movie a little flat in parts. However what was developed in the plot kept you second guessing. The movie's title was evident at the conclusion of the movie. How certain are we of what really happened? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveF.Dec 29, 2008
Terrific acting by the entire ensemble.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanG.Dec 30, 2008
It's sad that I've simply become so jaded that I assume who don't delve as obsessively into film as I do can't enjoy a movie like this; fortunately, I was proved wrong. Both of my fellow theater patrons enjoyed It's sad that I've simply become so jaded that I assume who don't delve as obsessively into film as I do can't enjoy a movie like this; fortunately, I was proved wrong. Both of my fellow theater patrons enjoyed 'Doubt' immensely. This is an intense, extremely well-acted and directed drama. It takes serious talent to pack such visceral emotion into a single scene without emotionally wringing-out the audience. This is one not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Jan 16, 2009
The nun (Streep) is a strict, cruel, no non-sense conservative heavy. The priest (Hoffan) is a likable liberal lead. What I like is in the end the nun might be the hero and the priest downright evil.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeM.Dec 17, 2008
Streep, Hoffman, and Viola Davis turn in terrific performances. (Davis goes head to head with Streep at a critical part that will be career making.) Amy Adams, not so much. Part of it is the role, most of it is she really doesn't Streep, Hoffman, and Viola Davis turn in terrific performances. (Davis goes head to head with Streep at a critical part that will be career making.) Amy Adams, not so much. Part of it is the role, most of it is she really doesn't understand why a woman would want to join a religious order and it shows. All the elements are there to portray a gripping story but you get the sense that it is an acting study rather than a movie. Still worth your $10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatSDec 19, 2008
For the most part, DOUBT recaptured the feel of parochial schools in the 1950s-1960s. Streep's character was finely drawn: underneath her bluff and authoritarian exterior is kindness and worldly wisdom. She is strict with the students For the most part, DOUBT recaptured the feel of parochial schools in the 1950s-1960s. Streep's character was finely drawn: underneath her bluff and authoritarian exterior is kindness and worldly wisdom. She is strict with the students because she cares that they succeed morally and intellectually. She tries to protect the blind nun and, in my opinion, her motivation in going after the priest is not based on a personal power struggle (as some critics have suggested), but out of concern for the young black boy. How much easier it would have been for her to let it go "unnoticed." Having been a principal in a Catholic school where abusive situations were taking place and having sought unsuccessfully for hierarchical involvement in remedying the wrong, I identify strongly with Sr. Aloysius. Her dilemma is so difficult because the evidence is so tenuous. Like her, I've had parents excuse clerical misbehavior. You cannot imagine how lonely it feels to fight for children whose parents won't (whatever the reason). The ambiguity is at the heart of this movie. How do we make a moral choice when the evidence is not conclusive and when any action (of omission or commission) has such horrendous consequences? All of the actors did a wonderful job; Steep, in particular, was superb in not caricaturing the authoritarian nun. What range she has! From Mamma Mia to this! Incredible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WexlerR.Dec 27, 2008
Shanley delivers his play to the screen intact and a great cast packs a wallop in scee after scene. As with the play, one leaves the theatre with much to discuss and each actor stays with us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Dec 28, 2008
I'ts been 26 years and 10 nominations since Meryl Streep last won an Academy Award, as Sister Aloysius in Doubt, she will undoubtably earn a record 15th acting nomination and join Katherine Hepburn, Walter Brennan, Ingrid Bergman and I'ts been 26 years and 10 nominations since Meryl Streep last won an Academy Award, as Sister Aloysius in Doubt, she will undoubtably earn a record 15th acting nomination and join Katherine Hepburn, Walter Brennan, Ingrid Bergman and Jack Nicholson in that select group of 3 time winners of acting Oscars. Don't believe some of the reviews out there, nobody steals this movie from Ms. Streep, the other actors are all very good but it is Meryl's movie from beginning to end credits - how could it not be, let's face it, she is the greatest actress of all time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryS.Dec 31, 2008
Brilliant film. Outstanding performances by Streep, Seymor-Hoffman and Adams and Great casting. Outstanding writing. A thought provoking film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
Critics got this film so wrong. Yes it does center around a controversional issue (sexual abuse by priests of the catholic church) but its a fantastic film. Its interesting from start to finish, The main cast is excellent, and it features aCritics got this film so wrong. Yes it does center around a controversional issue (sexual abuse by priests of the catholic church) but its a fantastic film. Its interesting from start to finish, The main cast is excellent, and it features a satisfying ending. Go watch this film now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eTurkeyFeb 20, 2012
"Doubt" is one of the better acted films I've had the fortunate opportunity of seeing for quite a while. Every single actor in this movie pulls off spectacular performances in each of their quite unique and different roles. Once again Meryl"Doubt" is one of the better acted films I've had the fortunate opportunity of seeing for quite a while. Every single actor in this movie pulls off spectacular performances in each of their quite unique and different roles. Once again Meryl Streep is the standout and her conduct is nothing short of spectacular. However more character development could have been further explored into the backgrounds of the three respective leads and the ending abruptly ended on somewhat of a cliffhanger without giving the audience closure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spadenxJan 5, 2012
A little controversial but without a doubt an amazing film that left me speechless. Meryl Streep and Phillip Seymour Hoffman give untouchable performances no doubt worthy of the highest of awards. The story was great. The emotional release IA little controversial but without a doubt an amazing film that left me speechless. Meryl Streep and Phillip Seymour Hoffman give untouchable performances no doubt worthy of the highest of awards. The story was great. The emotional release I got from this film reminded me of The Godfather. Truely an amazing and underrated film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
When a film challenges you to think and question from the very start to the end, you find yourself wholly invested in the theatrical warfare on screen. Superbly brought from the stage to the screen, the film goes where many films fear to. TheWhen a film challenges you to think and question from the very start to the end, you find yourself wholly invested in the theatrical warfare on screen. Superbly brought from the stage to the screen, the film goes where many films fear to. The stirring showcase of actors only adds to the perfection. One of Streep's finest late-career performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
Now this was a tense movie. Meryl was excellent. She was so funny and ruthless at the same time. Amy and Viola were at the top of their game adding such freshness to the film. And Seymour was was Seymour. He is always good. A wonderfulNow this was a tense movie. Meryl was excellent. She was so funny and ruthless at the same time. Amy and Viola were at the top of their game adding such freshness to the film. And Seymour was was Seymour. He is always good. A wonderful detective type film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 11, 2014
This one was definitely an actor's showcase. Philip Seymour Hoffman, Meryl Streep, and Amy Adams, were all absolutely marvelous. It is hard to pick a standout, since they all stood out. The film is very successful in large part because ofThis one was definitely an actor's showcase. Philip Seymour Hoffman, Meryl Streep, and Amy Adams, were all absolutely marvelous. It is hard to pick a standout, since they all stood out. The film is very successful in large part because of those actors, but not solely because of them. The film is slow at times, but never boring, as it manages to keep you hooked all the way through as you attempt to figure out whether the allegations are true or not. One of the films major successes is how it sets up its characters. All are very well developed in a short period of time and you feel like you begin to understand what is going on, but the film manages to keep the "Doubt" alive as the give little bits of information supporting both sides, allowing you to almost never truly figure out if the priest did as accused or not. Really, you find yourself picking sides at times, only to have the film throw you back into questioning once you think you figured it out. Director John Patrick Shanley certainly directed this one very well and while the performances of the three leads stand tall, the script and direction done by him were right there with the acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Seemingly testing what the audience knows just as much as what the characters do, "Doubt" effortlessly juggles provocative characters and ideas while seamlessly conjuring up some stellar storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersMay 23, 2013
Based on a play, Doubt unveils its story much like a play; nothing plot wise is expressed in an obvious way and allows the audience to join in interpreting what is happening. This in combination with 3 stunning lead performances make DoubtBased on a play, Doubt unveils its story much like a play; nothing plot wise is expressed in an obvious way and allows the audience to join in interpreting what is happening. This in combination with 3 stunning lead performances make Doubt one of the best films of 2008. Worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aasirriFeb 6, 2014
Watching the first sermon about doubt is without doubt liberating. I have enjoyed every moment of this film. The cast gave an outstanding performance. Top notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imilhoferDec 29, 2013
Doubt is a very slick film, being atmospheric and very good-looking, as well as masterfully written and then manipulated by John Patrick Shanley. Everything seems perfectly in place, apart from, of course, whodunit? This film is so cleverlyDoubt is a very slick film, being atmospheric and very good-looking, as well as masterfully written and then manipulated by John Patrick Shanley. Everything seems perfectly in place, apart from, of course, whodunit? This film is so cleverly layered that every viewer comes out with a different interpretation, which makes this a thought-provoking movie. However, the subtlety and impressively stark realism of the writing suggests that this film is 'not inviting a guessing game'. This film is more complex than 'who do you think did it', and has more to say, as shown by the morals preached at us by Philip Seymour Hoffman and the questions raised by Meryl Streep's remarkably acted character Sister Aloysius Beauvier. On the surface, everything about this film is slick, attractive, atmospheric and almost conventional, but underlying is a great sense of tension, meaning and dimension. This film makes us doubt our doubts? What are we supposed to be doubting? Who knows, but all I know is that I doubt you'll find a more thought-provoking film from that year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews