Downfall

Downfall Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A riveting re-creation of three world-changing collapses: those of the Nazi party, of militarized Germany as a whole, and of the Führer who guided them into self-destructive ruin.
  2. Reviewed by: James Wegg
    100
    As Hitler, Bruno Ganz ignites the screen with every appearance.
  3. 100
    Hirschbiegel and Eichinger, along with their large, brave and talented cast, have done something extraordinary for their generation of Germans, and for the world. They have willfully entered their grandparents' dirtiest, clammiest chamber of secrets.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Powerfully disturbing.
  5. Under the harsh lights of the meticulously re-created, claustrophobic bunker, that scrutiny is relentless.
  6. If I respect Downfall more than I was enthralled by it, that's because its portayal stops short of revelation. Once you witness Hitler's denial, the film has little more to say about him.
  7. 50
    Downfall may be grimly self-important and inescapably trivializing. But we should be grateful that German cinema is more inclined to normalize the nation's history than rewrite it.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 7 out of 81
  1. AllisonS.
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic portrayal of WWII from German side, being in hiters inner circle and the final days of his reign. Wonderful.
  2. Aug 7, 2015
    10
    Great movie depicting true unbiased facts, good or bad, about Hitler!
    People should be enlightened with the story of 'Young Follower' Traudl
    Great movie depicting true unbiased facts, good or bad, about Hitler!
    People should be enlightened with the story of 'Young Follower' Traudl Junge, braveness in beauty from Munich.
    Expand
  3. SamV.
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Excellent! Bruno Ganz as Hitler was perfect. Finally we have a movie showing what happened without worrying about cliches and everything that Excellent! Bruno Ganz as Hitler was perfect. Finally we have a movie showing what happened without worrying about cliches and everything that follows the movies about the World War II. Expand
  4. AndyH.
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Film-making doesn't get much better than this. The decision to portray the main protagonists as ordinary human beings makes the crimes Film-making doesn't get much better than this. The decision to portray the main protagonists as ordinary human beings makes the crimes perpetrated by the Third Reich even more horrific and incomprehensible than would have been the case if they had been portrayed as two dimensional monsters. The feeling of claustrophobia and impending disaster in Hitler's bunker is palpable, and the scene in which the Goebbels children are murdered by their mother is truly one of the most appallingly horrific and uncomfortable sequences you are ever likely to see, but it is used to underline just how much the Nazi philosophy had perverted the mindset of diehard fanatics, to such an extent that they were willing to kill their own children rather than have them live in a world without National Socialism. A classic of modern cinema. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic movie. I am learning German at school and this was just appealing to me.
    Bruno Ganz was an exceptional Hitler. I watched
    This is a fantastic movie. I am learning German at school and this was just appealing to me.
    Bruno Ganz was an exceptional Hitler. I watched this on a 10 hour flight. I watched it twice.
    The actors acted really well, the movie wasn't entirely based around violence like Inglorious Basterds was. Sure, some of the German Commanders blew their brain out...

    This is a masterpiece
    Expand
  6. simonP
    Oct 10, 2005
    8
    To criticise this film because you know the ending is foolish. After all, we know the outcome of any film based on historical fact! The two To criticise this film because you know the ending is foolish. After all, we know the outcome of any film based on historical fact! The two defining features of this film are a quite exceptional performance by Ganz as Hitler and (perhaps) the first contemporary portrayal of Hitler as a human being rather than a cartoon monster. That we see an attempt to portray (thought not excuse) the man behind the unspeakable acts of evil makes this film worth seeing alone. He was human like the rest of us which makes the terror that he perpretrated even more chilling. Recommended. Expand
  7. RobR
    May 14, 2006
    1
    An extremely tame and sanitised portrayal of Hitler's madness. Boring, absurd dialog, no passion, no intensity, not a hint of grit. Oh An extremely tame and sanitised portrayal of Hitler's madness. Boring, absurd dialog, no passion, no intensity, not a hint of grit. Oh wait, it has subtitles so it must be masterpiece! Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks

    Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks Image
    Published: April 16, 2010
    Oscar-winning foreign language film "The Secret in Their Eyes" arrives in American theaters this weekend. But it's not the best-reviewed foreign film of the past year, continuing the Academy's decade-long trend of selecting lesser titles. What films have they overlooked?
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  5. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.