Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2017
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 146 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
62
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
qamasterMar 21, 2018
An interesting idea, but very badly incarnate. A lot of unnecessary scenes, superfluous words. Events are unnecessarily long. The semantic part of the film is vaguely expressed, although the authors had more than enough possibilities forAn interesting idea, but very badly incarnate. A lot of unnecessary scenes, superfluous words. Events are unnecessarily long. The semantic part of the film is vaguely expressed, although the authors had more than enough possibilities for this. Equally frustrating is the director's work. many scenes look ridiculous and unnatural Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
pirMar 2, 2018
Unfortunately from a promising start this film devolved into a dull homily on "helping people is what matters". I could see so many promising avenues this could have explored based on the premise of shrinking people to lessen their impact onUnfortunately from a promising start this film devolved into a dull homily on "helping people is what matters". I could see so many promising avenues this could have explored based on the premise of shrinking people to lessen their impact on the environment, and it touches very lightly on a few of them (for example the inherent conflicts between the "smalls" and the "normals", the notion that repressive governments would use the technology in repressive ways, the problems of borders dealing with humans who come in pint size, the obvious issue that even in Leisure Land somebody needs to clean the toilets), but then it wastes time in a drug-induced trance, and loses its way entirely by meandering off into the original small colony in Norway reacting to a potential doomsday scenario that makes absolutely no sense (it does make sense to plan for it in the long run, but there's no reason at all for the darn hurry). Matt Damon is the most boring protagonist I can ever remember him being in any of his films, and even the always impressive Christoph Waltz and the bright newcomer Hong Chau couldn't pull the unfocused script back from the brink. I did like how Matt Damon's character came full circle (from taking care of his ailing mother at the start), that's a neat thematic viewpoint, but I really wanted this film to do a lot more with its premise and the big ideas that came with that. Heck, even just more of the interaction between tiny humans and the regular-sized world would have been more interesting, though that was the most superficial if funny aspect of the film. As usual, science fiction remains best left to actual science fiction writers. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
Rebecca31Jan 28, 2018
The most notable thing about Downsizing was I laughed a lot more than I ever expected to. I'm not about to urge you all to rush out and see this one. For one thing the trailer painted a slightly different picture than the one you end upThe most notable thing about Downsizing was I laughed a lot more than I ever expected to. I'm not about to urge you all to rush out and see this one. For one thing the trailer painted a slightly different picture than the one you end up getting. Not only that but there are a number of scenes that don't appear in the film at all. When a trailer about a topic as weird as this features a scene involving people 5 inches tall drinking out of a massive bottle of vodka and then doesn't appear in the film you can't help but notice that. It's not the best movie you'll see all year but it's so quirky and out there that you'll enjoy it in the moment and might even get some laughs out of it, I know I did.

In a world where overpopulation is an issue the only feasible solution apparently is to undergo a permanent procedure called downsizing. This will greatly benefit the environment etc but more importantly your money will get you a lot more so you can afford to live like millionaires in a little perfect town and a huge house. Matt Damon fed up with his life, experiencing money problems and unable to afford a house decides the best option for him and his wife is to downsize and live the life they've always wanted. Well things don't go according to plan for poor Matt Damon and that's about the point where the movie decides to take a sharp turn in another direction. I wasn't relishing the idea of seeing a depressed mini Matt Damon for 2 hours 15 minutes so the introduction of Christoph Waltz and Hong Chau was exactly what the story needed. So although I feel the second half of the movie differs so much in tone it does feel like you're watching a whole new movie I enjoyed Downsizing for the most part. For all its problems and lack of focus it makes up for it with unexpected and random bursts of hilarity. Not the easiest rating I've ever given, I didn't love it but I didn't hate it. A great idea, with a very good script so I can't help but feel like it should have been better. Recommended if you're looking for something a little bit different.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJan 4, 2018
In order to extend our planet's life span, a technique is invented that shrinks people down to 5", so their energy usage and waste is greatly reduced. Matt Damon plays the man caught in this tiny world after his wife abandons him. Once theIn order to extend our planet's life span, a technique is invented that shrinks people down to 5", so their energy usage and waste is greatly reduced. Matt Damon plays the man caught in this tiny world after his wife abandons him. Once the novelty of the small vs. large wears off, what's left is a forceful ecological lesson. Luckily, it includes his relationship with a Vietnamese woman (Hong Chau in a delightful and sometimes touching breakout performance). This adds a level of human responsibility and expands the message to compassion for one's fellow earthlings. There's virtually no humor, so what looks like it could be fun turns into a mildly involving drama and a heavy-handed tract on the foilables of human nature and the dangers of disregarding our planet's health. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
section20mi6Mar 20, 2018
What could've been an astounding social commentary piece ends up to be a multi-faceted disjointed disaster piece. Downsizing focuses on the good Samaritan character Paul Safranek as he ventures the downsized world with some realizations andWhat could've been an astounding social commentary piece ends up to be a multi-faceted disjointed disaster piece. Downsizing focuses on the good Samaritan character Paul Safranek as he ventures the downsized world with some realizations and disappointments without delving into any of the important societal issues, but simply stating them and moving into cliche stories of characters. Payne misses the mark with the great cast and occasional humor, ultimately dooming Downsizing the chance to become politically important. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
CriticFerJan 11, 2018
Yeah, the movie is disappointing but i don't think is bad. It has good acting, good jokes, the Visuals Effects of the tiny people are ok and the music is decent but the way is handle, how's the writing and which direction is going is reallyYeah, the movie is disappointing but i don't think is bad. It has good acting, good jokes, the Visuals Effects of the tiny people are ok and the music is decent but the way is handle, how's the writing and which direction is going is really mediocre and is like the three acts are just changing the story. The idea is great, it would be better if the movie would be a satire sci-fic comedy-drama that could work, but it couldn't for the direction that Alexander Payne goes and also the writing of Jim Taylor and Alexander Payne. It could be better, but they waste the oportunnity, that's why is disappointing, even more disappointing than LEGO Ninjago. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeJan 28, 2018
why did this happen..

Downsizing An idea isn't everything and this movie is a fine example of it. Yes, it has its heart in the center of it and has genuine effort in writing and direction but it completely fails on offering the audience
why did this happen..

Downsizing

An idea isn't everything and this movie is a fine example of it. Yes, it has its heart in the center of it and has genuine effort in writing and direction but it completely fails on offering the audience what they were promised. Surprisingly as we know, it has a premise of an animated feature and much like it, it is finely detailed as it had to create its own world (in a way) and this is the only note where the movie scores for these little amusing things are the only thing helping one survive this overlong script. Downsizing lacks a gripping screenplay, better editing, fast pacing and a particular palpable environment (it fluctuates a lot; the first act is completely different than the others, it doesn't quite fits in). Matt Damon and Christoph Waltz are equally good in it but surprisingly so is Hong Chau; she is perfect in her role. And in the end, Alexander Payne is the man responsible for all of it and as far his direction or execution is concerned he puts all his effort in each and every frame; one can completely see it, but on the writing part he fails to either surprise or entertain the audience. Downsizing is sweet and beautiful filled with hope (not for the viewers though) but has an overlong second act and a disappointing climax.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
SuncoastGuyJan 13, 2018
All over the place. It had 5 different major themes and should have focused much more.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
4
solitas777Mar 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a piece of crap. The first 50 minutes is decent. Matt Damon is an occupational therapist, who wants the good life. He's struggling with life and he's going through the hum drum of daily grind. There is no joy in this man's life, there are no smiles, just the world weariness of the unending grind. Downsizing, a process that allows people to get small and live a higher standard of life on the cheap. Throughout this process, is his passionless wife, a cutesy (but not pretty) plain jane, who abandoned him after he goes through the process. Now...this would be the perfect time and vehicle for the story to transition to a guy that only know mediocrity to find fun and passion in his life. A sex love story could have been introduced here with a happily ever after.

NOPE. There is a divorce where a guy that had $150000 assets, which equals $12.5 million dollars in the "little world". After a divorce he works at a call center and loses his awesome mansion with a crappy apartment. I feel like their math is bad because even if he kept 10% of the money after his divorce he's still have over a million dollars, so what gives? This movie is slow and boring. I won't bore you because once it transitions to his life post divorce it slowed down to a crawl. In fact, it's so boring I can't even continue to review it. This piece of garbage isn't even worth putting any more effort into.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
HorpSmileFeb 26, 2018
Great idea. But its the worst film i've ever seen after "War Planet Apes". But unfortunately,i've spend 2 hours of my life on this...
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleDec 3, 2017
The first third of this film is brilliant and hilarious stuff. It's most everything you see in the trailers. Unfortunately, it settles into much more mundane, tedious sequences which lack humor. The final few scenes are satisfying, butThe first third of this film is brilliant and hilarious stuff. It's most everything you see in the trailers. Unfortunately, it settles into much more mundane, tedious sequences which lack humor. The final few scenes are satisfying, but they're not enough to rescue the film. Damon is generally solid in his "every-man" role, and Wiig is great, though her role is brief. Incidentally, the funniest bit in the trailer - the tapping massive vodka bottle - didn't make the final cut, which is a bummer. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
blackmagicmarkrJan 2, 2018
This film was terrible. It lures you in with an interesting premise that is completely exhausted and ignored roughly 30% of the way in. What you are left with, is one of the most contrived spectacles I have ever had the misfortune to sitThis film was terrible. It lures you in with an interesting premise that is completely exhausted and ignored roughly 30% of the way in. What you are left with, is one of the most contrived spectacles I have ever had the misfortune to sit through. It takes a major turn for the worse around the same time Kristin Wig takes her leave. The dialogue at times is so ridiculously silly, it is literally painful to watch. What I can’t undertstand is out of all the people involved with this film, not a one of them spoke up and said “hey, this doesn't make a damn bit of sense” or “hey, this is probably some of the dumbest dialogue in the history of cinema. Where is the accountability? Matt Damon is a great actor and will rebound, but unfortunately I will forever see him as the main in this complete waste of resources and time. The writer and director as well as the producers should collectively be ashamed of themselves and especially Damon, whom I believe to know better than this. Each ticket should come with a complimentary cyanide capsule. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
wannabedirectorJan 3, 2018
The problem with Downsizing comes down to everything in the script. The dialogue is unnatural and makes the actors seem awful. The story is pretentious, cramming in 2 seconds worth of commentary on different kinds of "relevant" topics. TheThe problem with Downsizing comes down to everything in the script. The dialogue is unnatural and makes the actors seem awful. The story is pretentious, cramming in 2 seconds worth of commentary on different kinds of "relevant" topics. The only one that's important to the story is a "Save the Environment" message that's been done to death. The directing is on the level of an Adam Sandler film. The special effects are generic, the cinematography is uncreative, and the music makes me WANT blood to leak from my ears. I was hoping for something interesting in this movie, but all I found was a stupid, unamusing attempt at "meaningful" sci-fi. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
6
AcaciaDec 22, 2017
This movie is hard to describe. The premise is certainly interesting: miniaturizing people to save the planet. The first part of the movie is about the discovery of the process and the eventual selling of the concept as we see Paul (MattThis movie is hard to describe. The premise is certainly interesting: miniaturizing people to save the planet. The first part of the movie is about the discovery of the process and the eventual selling of the concept as we see Paul (Matt Damon) and wife Audrey getting the sales pitch for Leisure World, the place tou can live in a tiny mansion for a tiny amount of money. The next thing we see is Paul’s life in Leisure World and meet his obnoxious neighbor played by Christoph Waltz. At this point, the movie takes a left turn and becomes a whole different movie. And, we meet a Vetnamese woman (Hong Chau) who becomes an important character. There is het another plot twist before the end. At this point, it begins to sound like a ride at Epcot. Preachy and like a hippie love fest. It sort of lost me sometime around this part. It is entertaining, but not entirely enjoyable. It is too unfocused for my taste. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
TheGreatestShowJan 4, 2018
I love Matt, but good gravy this movie was the most banal and boring movie I have ever sat through.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
GreatGobblinJan 6, 2018
From The Bourne Identity to the The Boring Identity there is literally nothing redeeming about Damon or Downsizing aside from the basic concept. If you watch the trailer for this movie it promises you a fun, comedic jaunt about the trials andFrom The Bourne Identity to the The Boring Identity there is literally nothing redeeming about Damon or Downsizing aside from the basic concept. If you watch the trailer for this movie it promises you a fun, comedic jaunt about the trials and tribulations of being small in a big world. What you ended up with is a long-winded, boring guilt trip about being human and destroying the planet. I'm not sure how this movie was even listed as a comedy, as I can't recall a single laughable moment throughout the whole film. Everything from the storyline, to the dialogue, to the on-screen performances, felt like the cinematic equivalent of a valium induced coma. If you are considering seeing this movie, do yourself a favour, go down to the pet store, buy yourself a goldfish, and watch it swim around in its bowl for 2 hours. It will be far more entertaining and far less depressing. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
shonuffsheffDec 27, 2017
One of the most uninteresting movies of the year. So much wasted potential and a pretty solid cast who just drag their feet through the whole thing ultimately accomplishing nothing.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
francisrgoDec 24, 2017
For a critical acclaimed director, writer and producer, this film left me just puzzled and confused. There was no clear direction and the trailer essentially had nothing to do with the film! Matt Damon's performance was lackluster and justFor a critical acclaimed director, writer and producer, this film left me just puzzled and confused. There was no clear direction and the trailer essentially had nothing to do with the film! Matt Damon's performance was lackluster and just utter nonsense. And yeah sure, just let a Vietnamese-American actress play a stereotypical Vietnamese-American individual, nothing racist about that..... Downsizing is one of the worst film I've seen this year. I even prefer Jumanji over this. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
Poor_LenoJan 24, 2018
Really terrible film, recapping it to my friends made me realise how poor the overall plot was. Just a few things stuck together. The only good bit was when Paul took some drugs... honestly everything else was terrible.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Willyam_CarrDec 30, 2017
Downsizing is a solid, fun idea for movie. Sadly, the concept is better than the film itself. The first 40 minutes are downright boring, and the ending just felt odd. However, the concept is so strong that film makes you think about it for aDownsizing is a solid, fun idea for movie. Sadly, the concept is better than the film itself. The first 40 minutes are downright boring, and the ending just felt odd. However, the concept is so strong that film makes you think about it for a while. The biggest highlight of the film is Hong Chau's performance; she's one to look out for. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
DubeauDec 25, 2017
Downsizing had a good idea. The story starts well and is funny until half of it. After that it's more a semi drama. I really loved the romance in the second half. It was funny and a bit more realistic then usual. The problem with this movieDownsizing had a good idea. The story starts well and is funny until half of it. After that it's more a semi drama. I really loved the romance in the second half. It was funny and a bit more realistic then usual. The problem with this movie is that there is not treat to their lives in general, while almost everything would try to eat or attack them. Even the most aseptic of environments has failures. In that sens the movie only display some political, ethical, religion views of the situation but with no real danger...I give it a 60% because this was a great idea but the story in itself isn't very realistic and somewhat boring. Great acting from all the actors, I especially loved those actors/actress around Matt Damon. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 31, 2017
Disappointing, especially coming from Alexander Payne. I think it's the most unfocused film of his career and despite dealing with quite interesting topics, he never manages to make them resonant or flashy, therefore the film falls and onlyDisappointing, especially coming from Alexander Payne. I think it's the most unfocused film of his career and despite dealing with quite interesting topics, he never manages to make them resonant or flashy, therefore the film falls and only manages to stay on put because Matt Damon has enough charisma to avoid it, even on front his simple acting.

And to waste Christoph Waltz that way only adds fuel to the fire.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
OscarAdcockMar 2, 2018
What did I just watch. Downsizing looked so good, its trailer was great and the first 30 (give or take) minutes where genuinely really great. The premise was so unique and they could have gone so far with it. But, by about the 30/40 minuteWhat did I just watch. Downsizing looked so good, its trailer was great and the first 30 (give or take) minutes where genuinely really great. The premise was so unique and they could have gone so far with it. But, by about the 30/40 minute mark it completely loses all focus. Its like someone stood in an office with a bunch of executives and pitched them the concept of Downsizing but actually hadn't written a story that could back it up. The film ultimately leaves you confused to wear its going to go next and in the end its really not satisfying. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ProteusDec 23, 2017
Intensity. This movie has none. It needs some badly. Somewhere anywhere. Long slow paced mildly very mildly entertaining movie. Unfortunately mildly entertaining is very easy to find these days. If ever a movie was a 5 out of 10 this is it.Intensity. This movie has none. It needs some badly. Somewhere anywhere. Long slow paced mildly very mildly entertaining movie. Unfortunately mildly entertaining is very easy to find these days. If ever a movie was a 5 out of 10 this is it. You can probably do better. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeDec 22, 2017
Downsizing gives us the once-in-a-while size-changing theme and a very rare shrinking feeling to it but for the absolutely wrong reasons. That is much of a shame of what I just saw as the final film because I expected more to come out of thisDownsizing gives us the once-in-a-while size-changing theme and a very rare shrinking feeling to it but for the absolutely wrong reasons. That is much of a shame of what I just saw as the final film because I expected more to come out of this one hence the R rating. It makes everyone's promises come true but then eventually forgets where to put them in the finalized film. I was expecting an actual unforgettable adventure like what I have been experiencing with my dreams lately with this movie's theme and feeling but instead what I just got is too much drama put onto the film. Whenever it comes to films like these, I don't think drama is the best genre to aim for since it'll just make the finalized film worse than the promised film I was expecting. How many years do we have to wait until we get another film that focuses on size change? I sure hope not any longer than four because I would be so disappointed if that was the case. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
ledaumasDec 31, 2017
This movie is nothing like the trailer. The trailer makes you think it's a comedy and doesn't show anything about the Asian woman Matt Damon's character spends with after his wife Kristen Whig doesn't join him. It has its funny moments, butThis movie is nothing like the trailer. The trailer makes you think it's a comedy and doesn't show anything about the Asian woman Matt Damon's character spends with after his wife Kristen Whig doesn't join him. It has its funny moments, but mostly in the first half. The second half is thought provoking about what is important about live. In the end, the answer is that what's important in life is different for everyone. But I knew that. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
MaureenOSDec 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I assumed Downsizing would be light entertainment to kill a couple of hours before meeting friends in the food court. Instead, it riveted my attention from the beginning.The silly premise of people, en masse, shrinking down to five inches is the vehicle for an existential work of art more akin to Camus' The Plague, or Kafka's The Metamorphosis, than 'Honey, I Shrank the Kids'. To reduce the human carbon footprint, a scientist discovers a way to shrink people down to five inches. Not only will small people consume less but their personal wealth will increase in inverse proportion to their new size as their tiny houses and other necessities of life will now cost pennies on the dollar. This increase in wealth is the marketing tool used to entice customers to downsize. The movie opens at a scientific conference to announce the discovery of the transformational process. But the cutting-edge scientific tone soon shifts to a campy small town setting where the main character, Paul Safraneck, played by Matt Damon, is seen caring for his sick, aged mother. Both tone and settings kept ricocheting off in unexpected directions like marbles in a pinball machine. Worlds meld into worlds. A tunnel connects an idyllic small community to its dystopian counterpart of bleak carton-sized cement blocks of tiered units that house the poor and disenfranchized. Another tunnel is like the stuff of dreams, where the dreamer must choose to proceed one way or the other, forever sealing his fate depending on which way he goes. An Avatar-like forest filled with a lush extravagance of giant leaves and flowers seem magical from the perspective of people five inches tall. A scene of workplace banter among medical techs in a huge transformation plant seems mundane enough until a door opens and the giant head of a 'big' co-worker fills the doorway. But rather than feeling disjointed, the constantly shifting tone and settings are more like the whorls and eddies in a swiftly flowing mountain stream, with Paul a leaf floating Zen-like atop the ever-changing current. Matt Damon's acting talent shines as Paul is repeatedly thrust into bewildering circumstances and meets them with an expression of pure receptivity, the receptivity usually seen in children who find themselves in a perplexing adult situation and stand, transfixed, soaking everything up like a sponge. It's the receptivity to ever-changing circumstance and banishment of desires that's been timelessly advocated by Eastern mystics. I'd always assumed that by 'desire' these wisdom traditions meant desiring material things like cars and houses, or the more ephemeral desires of ambition and competition. But Paul not only has no interest in material wealth, which he shows by moving out of his tiny mansion into an apartment, neither does he have any 'What's in this for me?' or 'How do I get out of this mess?' personal agenda. He's neither self-pitying or rageful as his new small life goes unexpectedly wrong. He doesn't seem to desire anything - only to immerse himself in the flow of his new life, doing whatever is required of him in every shifting situation. I never knew what the Zen virtue of egolessness looked like before. Now I do. It looks like Paul Safranek. Paul has an unassuming presence. He runs like Forest Gump. His good nature is evident from the beginning when he rushes home from his job as an industrial occupational therapist to care for his sick mother. Only later do we learn the great sacrifice he made career-wise to move back home to care for her. A number of highly creative scenes are memorable, like when Paul struggles to carry a beautiful normal sized rose as a gift to a neighbor. Or the eerily real dialogue when trapped in a car with a stranger, he's forced to make polite conversation immediately after receiving a devastating loss. Or the visually surreal ballet without music as hundreds of still anesthetized newly made small people are adeptly scooped up onto spatulas and placed in carts for transport by giant techs with all the precision and repetitive motion of workers on an assembly line. A wordless backward glance at an old man in a wheelchair chomping down on a cold piece of chicken says everything necessary about who Paul is, and what motivates him. The only reason I didn't give Downsizing a 10 is because I found the role of Tran played by Hong Chou just a bit too abrasive. As the movie neared the end, something made me look away from the screen and around the darkened theatre. It was something odd I sensed. Only about a dozen other people were there with me. But there was no crinkling of candy wrappers, no shifting in seats. There was an atmosphere of deep silence, a collective of mental energy inwardly focused, like in a church where only a handful of people are sitting or kneeling, intent only on their prayers. Not surprising, since Downsizing is ultimately a deeply spiritual movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
TrevorsViewDec 28, 2017
You know those annoying one-sided political ads by progressive groups? Or maybe those Facebook users who always complain about global crises without taking initiative on the real issue? Downsizing is exactly that—a tedious political ad aboutYou know those annoying one-sided political ads by progressive groups? Or maybe those Facebook users who always complain about global crises without taking initiative on the real issue? Downsizing is exactly that—a tedious political ad about surface level issues.

Director Alexander Payne’s (The Descendants, Sideways) big premise conveys no excitement, consequently wobbling around a dark comedy in the start, a more Middle Earth-ish backdrop in the end, all tied together without a genre to pinpoint. You may notice these inconsistent tonal shifts too much to accept the social message, especially with an odd psychedelic acid trip thrown into the middle chunk. No clarity decides on whether to stay realistic or embrace a fantasy, since shrinking a person breaks the law of conservation of mass.

The casting decisions merely increases the number of wrong moves, primarily Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained, Inglourious Basterds), in his irritable, indistinguishable accent. Although lead actor Matt Damon (Good Will Hunting, The Martian) may not be an absolute pain to watch, his lack of enthusiasm brings out no inner ambition.

Except some cast members do try to make up for the scrambled material; attention particularly deserves to go to Thai actress Hong Chau’s (Inherent Vice) performance as a Vietnam escapee. Her motivated English-as-a-third-language speech patterns expresses an ambition to speak up in response to her origins.

So yes, potential lies about somewhere within this project; Payne’s visualization skills worked so well in the past (look at the simple monochrome cinematography in Nebraska), and now, his visuals illustrate the grandest of America’s wealth. For instance, stark white symmetrical rooms introduce the downsizing process, where behind the walls, people about to go small get their hair and teeth removed. Once shrunk down to action figure height, the new tiny city resembles the finest of America’s glory days. The journey eventually goes into the beautiful Norwegian landscapes, the mountains serving to remind us of our common smallness compared to true beauty away from the industries.

Both sides of the ultimate remedy to overpopulation mark fair arguments in some respects; the downsizing advertisements emphasize the unbelievably cheap diamonds sold in the small city, and later a regular sized saltine cracker comes in, fit to feed a whole shrunken family over a week. Plus, four years’ worth of the downsized population’s non-compostable waste can fill a single regular sized black trash bag! Likewise, the reality about a seemingly wonderful solution blows its horn: the downsizing community costs money and jobs for the regular sized folks.

Yet the terribly unbalanced moments still outweigh the good qualities; crucial beats rush past our attention, such as when the lead and his wife say goodbye to loved ones before they take on the permanent downsizing process. They share an empty relationship with one another, neither one motivated by anything to follow the societal trend to go green, just two cardboard flats cut in the shape of familiar celebrities to draw us into Paramount’s braindead pond. In screenwriting terms, there are two types of protagonists: an active protagonist and a passive protagonist. The writer wants to avoid the latter—it means events merely happen to the character, who then thoughtlessly accepts his fate, in turn boring down the story, as what happens here. The on the nose dialogue disrupts the situations’ believability, and the unnecessary time jumps don’t give the story the time it deserves to unveil in its full potential.

If Payne instead made the Vietnamese escapee the shoes we follow in the story, rather than some dull White American male, then an interesting experience could achieve the intended goal. Also, such an idea might work better in the format of a television series, since such a high concept needs exploration beyond a couple of hours. No other high hopes exist in Payne’s hollow technocratic machine, its downhearted look at the future simply says, “we’re meant for something bigger” but never defines that something. The word “selfie” is even said at one point, which caused me to question out of confusion whether I’m watching a potential future or an alternate present. If a director fails to notice the details, why should his credibility surpass our politicians?
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
5
BHBarryDec 24, 2017
“Downsizing” was directed by Alexander Payne who, with Jim Taylor, wrote the story and screenplay. The film stars Matt Damon, Christoph Waltz, Kristen Wiig and Hong Chau. I went to this film expecting to see an elaboration of a very tempting“Downsizing” was directed by Alexander Payne who, with Jim Taylor, wrote the story and screenplay. The film stars Matt Damon, Christoph Waltz, Kristen Wiig and Hong Chau. I went to this film expecting to see an elaboration of a very tempting trailer but, unfortunately, the best part of the film was, in fact, all in the trailer itself. What starts out with a very intriguing concept, i.e. shrinking human beings to a height of 5 inches with a proportionate environment around them, loses itself in the first 30 minutes and travels in a number of different directions, most of which involve the writer’s political statements about climate change and the harm humans are doing to the planet. Also, to add another negative to the film is the role played by Thailand actress Hong Chau and what has to be the worst attempt ever made at imitating a Vietnamese émigré. Simply stated, she ruins each scene in which she appears with this ‘chalk on a blackboard” dialogue. Couple all of this with plot changes and ideas that make no sense and you have a disappointing and uncomfortable 135 minutes. I give the film a rating of 6.02 because of what it started out to be, and could have been, but unfortunately went downhill in mid reel. In summary, all of Mr. Payne’s efforts as director and co-writer of this film came up short (pun intended). Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
ozymandias79Mar 14, 2018
Downsizing is original. It isn't a sequel, remake/reboot, or comic book movie, which dominate these days. There's an interesting/humorous concept and the acting is solid. The subtle humor is great. Not sure why people wouldn't likeDownsizing is original. It isn't a sequel, remake/reboot, or comic book movie, which dominate these days. There's an interesting/humorous concept and the acting is solid. The subtle humor is great. Not sure why people wouldn't like Downsizing. Could be a result of the Marvel conquest of cinema. Unlike those movies, Downsizing has a soul. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
VancomycinFeb 3, 2018
Plainly put, movies like this don't come around often enough. With a refreshingly adult take on the "Indian in the Cupboard" (and only marginally less-racist) this film will take you in for the entirety of it's runtime. Beautiful scenery, anPlainly put, movies like this don't come around often enough. With a refreshingly adult take on the "Indian in the Cupboard" (and only marginally less-racist) this film will take you in for the entirety of it's runtime. Beautiful scenery, an encouraging take on classes in society and plenty of humor make this a comfy escape for a few hours. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
frenesiFeb 9, 2018
Malísima esperaba encortar una película bien organizada de fantasía y esta llena de incoherencias y fallos en la escala de los objetos del mundo mini al normal
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
p_reinJan 17, 2018
The movie is proper entertainment. While it touches on some important topics such as environmental issues and overpopulation they are not the main theme. Actually, the main theme is hard to describe as it seems to change a few times but thatThe movie is proper entertainment. While it touches on some important topics such as environmental issues and overpopulation they are not the main theme. Actually, the main theme is hard to describe as it seems to change a few times but that doesn't ruin the movie at all.
I feel like people get some expectations based on the trailer and get them shattered during the movie, hence the low rating so far. I expected nothing more than good acting when I saw the cast and was not disappointed at all.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
joylitDec 25, 2017
I thought this movie was brilliant, a cult classic in the making. It uses a great sci-fi concept to mirror modern day society, offering a soberimg reflection on how easy social/political solutions are always bound to replicate old models,I thought this movie was brilliant, a cult classic in the making. It uses a great sci-fi concept to mirror modern day society, offering a soberimg reflection on how easy social/political solutions are always bound to replicate old models, creating bigger problems. It reminded me of Terry Gilliam's Brazil and Joe Vs. The Volcano. Hong Chau gives a funny and endearing performance. This is really Alexander Payne's version of "Make America Great Again". Very underrated film. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinDec 28, 2017
“Downsizing” is a perfect example of why not to read critics before you go to see a movie. Go to a movie because you like the cast or the genre of what you saw in the trailers or, maybe, even word of mouth.

Matt Damon’s last 2 movies bombed
“Downsizing” is a perfect example of why not to read critics before you go to see a movie. Go to a movie because you like the cast or the genre of what you saw in the trailers or, maybe, even word of mouth.

Matt Damon’s last 2 movies bombed at the box office—“The Great Wall” deservedly, “Suburicon” not—but “Downsizing” is a good movie.

I go to see any Matt Damon movie and, yes, he has made a few bad ones (Don’t see “The Great Wall”!) and, yes, the director Alexander Payne who also wrote the screenplay with Jim Taylor, doesn’t follow through on a few deep ideas but the premise is different, there are laughs, there are tears and just how they shrunk a 6 foot person to 5 inches and surrounded them with first the ‘tall world’ and then the ‘miniature’ world is in itself a reason to see the movie.

While the main theme is human survival and why downsizing people will help with that there is also the problem of punishing dissidents by downsizing them and making them poor immigrants to wait on the new wealthy. Paul Safranek (Damon) is the married American everyman who is just gets by and becomes intrigued the more he hears about the Norwegian doctor, played by Rolf Lassgard, that his project of shrinking humans is successful plus he hears from others including some old friends that he didn’t know had gone through the project and has nothing but raves about it. When Paul learns what little money he has would be worth about $12 million in Leisureland where this new species of humans live in a perfect world.

As Paul learns about this new world so do we and we follow him in his journey meeting his new friends two aging party guys, Christopher Waltz and Udo Kier, into booze, drugs, women playing and using them as if they were frat boys. One of the benefits of everything being small is made fun of with Kier owning a fully equipped yacht that he has Fedex’d where he goes to get there before him.

We eventually meet Ngoc Lan, played by Hong Chau, while she cleans Waltz's apartment, right above Paul’s, who at one time was a famous Vietnam dissident, who now lives in a tenement world of various Third World people who are sick and ill-equipped to take care of themselves. Ngoc wears a prosthetic device, is direct taking no nonsense and spending her time before, during and after cleaning places taking care of others.

Without giving away any spoilers Paul and Ngoc with her bossing him around and they eventually team up with Waltz and Kier going to Norway to hear about the next step in saving the world.

While not getting too deep into the world situation but explaining enough plainly the journey Paul takes from being the normal guy then going through the shrinkage steps, which provides a few laughs, becoming adapted to being rich, taking a dead end job and a decision he has to make near the end is the arc of drama of the film.

Matt Damon does an excellent job as Paul, Christopher Waltz and Udo Kier are a hoot as the two aging playboys but it is Hong Chau who steals the film and has a 4-5 minute bit using the ‘f’ word that, while funny also has a lot of feelings.

There are cameos by Laura Dern, Margo Martindale, Neil Patrick Harris, Jason Sudeikis, Maribeth Monroe and James Van Der Beek among others while the aforementioned Rolf Lassgard along with Kristen Wiig offers strong support.

“Downsizing” is the second film I have seen this week, the other being “The Greatest Showman”, that have been snubbed by the critics but which offer strong performances by the male lead, with the former also having an award worthy female lead, and is definitely worth seeing.

Rated R for language, drug usage and frontal nudity.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
EthanAnSequoyahFeb 20, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ethan's Review: Let me just start off by saying this is possibly the worst movie I have ever seen, the other movie that comes close to this movie by being the worst is "Mother", and that's saying something. The premise is what got me, along with Matt Damon. Who doesn't like Matt Damon? My friend Sequoyah after this movie (who will be typing his review after mine. Let's just say the only part of the movie I enjoyed was the Vietnamese character, only because of the racist stereotype that they show in this movie. To conclude, just don't watch this film. Don't even rent on redbox. Sequoyah's Review:If i could change history and choose between stopping 9/11 or stopping Matt Damon from acting in this movie, I would pick the latter in a heartbeat. This movie is like having pins shoved into my urethra and then someone poured lemonade on it, with nice salt and a garlic to finish it off. The only good thing about this movie is the philosophical question asked by the Vietnamese lady "What kinda **** you give me?", I spent 12.00 dollars on this... To sum it all up, this movie was terrible. Do not watch it. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
Aladdin718Apr 7, 2018
An original movie with a quirky premise that really grew on me and took me on a thoroughly enjoyable ride. In a field of cookie-cutter, predictable movies Downsizing was refreshingly original.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
ExistentialmanDec 23, 2017
I saw Downsizing last night and immediately after I would have given it a 6, but after letting it sink in, the film really resonated with me. At this point I will give it a 10. I'm going to make this a spoiler free review, in the hope thatI saw Downsizing last night and immediately after I would have given it a 6, but after letting it sink in, the film really resonated with me. At this point I will give it a 10. I'm going to make this a spoiler free review, in the hope that some people will see it based on my experience. The film speaks to issues of global warming and who we should be spending our life with knowing that we're destroying our environment and possibly destroying ourselves as a species. I really feel like I now have a better understanding of how I want to live my life in the face of climate change. It also feels like a feature film version of a Black Mirror episode. I love Black Mirror, so if you're a fan of that show you'll probably have a great time watching Downsizing. Expand
5 of 21 users found this helpful516
All this user's reviews
7
Arkham26Jan 27, 2018
To be honest, I was waiting for this movie for such a long time. The trailer itself suggested it's gonna be something very different. Among all the other tiny people movies we have watched so far such as Gulliver's Travel which focuses onTo be honest, I was waiting for this movie for such a long time. The trailer itself suggested it's gonna be something very different. Among all the other tiny people movies we have watched so far such as Gulliver's Travel which focuses on comedy but Downsizing focuses on the feelings and emotions. If you liked the trailer definitely you gonna love the movie as well. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
tennisracketproJan 2, 2018
sound interesting , can't wait to see it. sci-fi movie my thing, but Matt in this kind of genre ... i don,t see you shining here son. you're better of with action
1 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
6
mrdr4gonApr 7, 2018
I actually recommend watching on the basis of it being completely bizarre and constantly ridiculous alone.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
EludiumQ36Apr 12, 2018
Though couched in a scifi/fantasy trope of human miniaturization, make no mistake, this is a Hollywood lecture on climate change and how we're doomed in your lifetime, not some theoretically distant future. Matt Damon is no action hero hero,Though couched in a scifi/fantasy trope of human miniaturization, make no mistake, this is a Hollywood lecture on climate change and how we're doomed in your lifetime, not some theoretically distant future. Matt Damon is no action hero hero, more the middle-aged with spare tire love interest of a barely paraplegic Vietnamese who plays to stereotype. Don't think too hard about the miniaturization process and its world, there are MANY plausibility problems with it so it's not even worth criticizing in detail but the cinematic technique they use to show us this is of some interest. Kristen Wiig plays against her comic-type in a chicken-sh*t, heartless role which makes us hate her character so I guess she figures that works for her career as a diverse actress. Christolph Waltz was the only character of amusement making your sit-through somewhat tolerable. Rolfe Kent's whimsical accompanying music echoes John Williams' ET job and cast events in a lighter mood than they should've been so that was some weirdness. Disappointing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HealingToolbox1Feb 11, 2018
What interests me is how the script might have been changed given its strong premise. I'm struck with teh similarities with Damon's Elysium plot set up. Downsizing runs out of dramatic momentum I think because it picks a weak centralWhat interests me is how the script might have been changed given its strong premise. I'm struck with teh similarities with Damon's Elysium plot set up. Downsizing runs out of dramatic momentum I think because it picks a weak central conflict; and then, does not foreshadow Paul's decision to back out of the tunnel. What I suspect is the stronger script is skip the whole first act. It's smart but leads to no clear conflict. Jump into teh middle more. Set up the conflict between the low wage service workers and the bored-hedonistic smalls. Where does real humanity lie? This would make the plot even more like Elysium. I think a key here. I do honor Matt's and Hong Chau's performances. Matt has again demonstrated his amazing courage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
johnem95May 3, 2018
Gets aggressively uninteresting very quick. Between this and "Suburbicon", 2017 really was the year for Matt Damon movies with an identity crisis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jb1296Jun 22, 2018
Downsizing has an interesting premise but outside of this the film does nothing interesting with the concept. There are far more interesting stories that could have been told other than the one we got to see. The film has issues like theDownsizing has an interesting premise but outside of this the film does nothing interesting with the concept. There are far more interesting stories that could have been told other than the one we got to see. The film has issues like the writing and the special effects are awful, although this film has good reviews from critics this is a film which people shouldn't watch because you deserve to watch something that is entertaining, which this isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews