User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 174

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    4
    The overly-preachy attitude of The Lorax overshadows any actual storyline, leaving you with a good message but no entertainment. They didn't even try to hide the message they are trying to get across with a believable plot and cute characters, instead they created an excessively bland quest with annoying characters riddled with atrocious dialogue. The only good aspects of this butcheringThe overly-preachy attitude of The Lorax overshadows any actual storyline, leaving you with a good message but no entertainment. They didn't even try to hide the message they are trying to get across with a believable plot and cute characters, instead they created an excessively bland quest with annoying characters riddled with atrocious dialogue. The only good aspects of this butchering of a classic is the art and animation, which is superbly done. But it looks so nice I kind of feel bad for the 3D modelers and animators since the writers and directors destroyed their hard work. I can't even imagine a kid enjoying this, unless they really only do want bright colors, because The Lorax certainly succeeds in that field, a little too much I might add. The jokes aren't really jokes at all, they just consist of supposedly funny dialogue that in reality is just awkward and usually doesn't even make sense. I honestly think the writers of this movie either have never talked to an actual person before, or just plain don't care. When it's all said and done, we walk away from The Lorax with two things: The blatantly obvious message of saving the environment, and the fact that to make a lot of money, you really do only need to have nice graphics. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    The story of The Lorax by self-proclaimed author Dr. Seuss falls a little short this time. I walked into the theater with no expectations what so ever and I am happy for that because if I did I would've been majorly disappointed. I would suggest maybe renting it for a day because if I were you I would rather save $15 and watch it when it comes out to rent
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    First, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my oldFirst, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my old copy of The Lorax and read it to them. They both agreed that the book was much better. Expand
  4. May 15, 2013
    4
    The Lorax is a film that would have worked great as twenty-thirty minute cartoon but instead is forced into a half and hour flick. The added characters and story are not that interesting and are only there to stretch out the plot. Also, by doing this the film takes focus away from the real story. The film is further hurt by the replacement of rhyming with poor dialogue that sounds moreThe Lorax is a film that would have worked great as twenty-thirty minute cartoon but instead is forced into a half and hour flick. The added characters and story are not that interesting and are only there to stretch out the plot. Also, by doing this the film takes focus away from the real story. The film is further hurt by the replacement of rhyming with poor dialogue that sounds more modern than something from a Dr. Suess world. Plus, the songs in the film are lame and forgettable. If the film had focused on the story of the book and kept things in rhyme and closer to the actual story I would have liked it ok. However, the lack of focus on what made the book such a classic, pointless additions, and lame dialogue create a film whose only saving graces are its animation and the fact that this is meant for little kids. Unless, you’re an adult with little kids who want to see the film than I would say this is a definite skip. And if you have not read The Lorax to them yet than please do that before they see the movie because it is a messy adaptation of a Dr. Suess classic. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    My least favorite animation of all time. Unfunny, mean and doesn't make any sense. The characters are annoying and cliched, the whole plot is one big positive message executed badly. I just hate "Dr. Suess' The Lorax" it is one of my least favorite movies of all time.
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    Its all just about what I expected, Except for a movie whos focus was the enviorment, I was suprised by,how one-sided it could be, telling us we should hate industry,all together like its evil, coupled with the fact it tries to hard to shove the message down our throat, its just more worth skipping this one
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the single biggest disappointment for a kids movie I have ever seen. It carries a flagrantly political motive which I might have been able to tolerate if the movie itself had been any good. lot's of eye candy to be sure, but the story is disjointed and so incredibly blatant in its political message that it was overwhelming.

    If you are looking for a good movie for your children go to something else. If you want them to see a political ad for the radical environmentalist movement, this movie is for you.
    Expand
  8. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    CGI is a wonderful thing in cinema. If only "the Lorax" could do it justice. But with ludicrous songs, childish tones, and a jumbled plot, it's only justice is Danny DeVito's Lorax. Everything else is utter
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    2
    I love "The Lorax." It's personally my most favorite of Dr. Seuss's book and the 30 minute animated film. But I was so angry that the film industries are gonna make a CG 1.5 hour remake. I'm not a fan of the Dr. Seuss ridiculous remakes. I will give credit with "The Grinch", it was okay but I hate the changes they made. Then they made "The Cat in the Hat" and "Horton Hears a Who" which II love "The Lorax." It's personally my most favorite of Dr. Seuss's book and the 30 minute animated film. But I was so angry that the film industries are gonna make a CG 1.5 hour remake. I'm not a fan of the Dr. Seuss ridiculous remakes. I will give credit with "The Grinch", it was okay but I hate the changes they made. Then they made "The Cat in the Hat" and "Horton Hears a Who" which I honestly didn't enjoy. So I gave this movie a chance, and....I really didn't like it. They completely SH*T on Dr. Seuss's legacy. When the credits said "Based on the book of Dr. Seuss" my reaction was "NOT EVEN CLOSE!!!" Only 15% of the film was based on the book/animated movie, the 85% is made-up just to make box office dollars. It was seriously hard for me to sit through the whole movie. Also, some scenes from the original were changed, that made me disappointed. Right when the movie ended, I went home and watched the original animated film on VHS just to forget the remake I just saw. However, I do like the animation it looked just like Dr. Seuss's artwork and Danny DeVito was pretty good as the Lorax, but the rest was a complete mess. Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2012
    3
    While I enjoyed Danny Devito as the Lorax, and the animation was good, the movie as a hole was pretty terrible. The makers decided they needed to add a completely new story line with Zac Efron and Taylor Swift trying to save the world from an evil businessman who sells clean air now that trees are not around to produce it. Furthermore, the movie adds in a few gimmicky songs with poorWhile I enjoyed Danny Devito as the Lorax, and the animation was good, the movie as a hole was pretty terrible. The makers decided they needed to add a completely new story line with Zac Efron and Taylor Swift trying to save the world from an evil businessman who sells clean air now that trees are not around to produce it. Furthermore, the movie adds in a few gimmicky songs with poor lyrics and gives Ed Helms an electric guitar to make him look "cool." Kids may like this movie, but it is definitely not for adults. Collapse
  11. Mar 11, 2012
    2
    At one point the Lorax shouts "You've got to stop! This is BAD!" and I couldn't help but chuckle at the irony. This film is annoying, screechy, monkey-written and completely hollow... basically everything that Dr. Seuss WASN'T! Theodor Geisel would roll in his grave if he knew his life's work was being mutated into one horrendous movie project after another. For shame!
  12. KJJ
    Mar 9, 2012
    1
    Shrill, one-sided, and preachy, and only about 40 years too late - like in 2012 we never heard any of this before? No subtlety at all (like maybe real world environmental issues?), but getting hit over the head with a 2 by 4.
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    3
    While 'The Lorax' certainly has its visuals going for it, I doubt that anyone over the age of eight won't find it a little too cutesy and dumbed down to be a fitting adaptation of the book. It was really my personal favorite Dr. Seuss work because it was quiet, solemn, impacting, and so morally simple that anyone of any age could receive the message just as strongly. However, theWhile 'The Lorax' certainly has its visuals going for it, I doubt that anyone over the age of eight won't find it a little too cutesy and dumbed down to be a fitting adaptation of the book. It was really my personal favorite Dr. Seuss work because it was quiet, solemn, impacting, and so morally simple that anyone of any age could receive the message just as strongly. However, the adaptation of 'The Lorax' betrays all of those traits and settles for being fluffy, silly, and unambitious. I understand that with any adaptation of such short material that there is padding needed to take up time in a feature length film, but what they used is just so maddeningly against the book. The filmmakers crammed most of the movie with bombastically stupid musical numbers that are unmemorable and cute little side characters that are meant to resemble a little side treat similar to the minions in Despicable Me. Certainly, a better adaptation was due here, and it wasn't given. It's really a shame. Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    "The Lorax", a movie that teaches the kids to be hippies. "It's for the environment, man". Yeah, I get it, Global Warming. Oh, and there's music too so does that make it better? No.
  15. Jan 14, 2013
    3
    A mess! Not the worst animated film I've watched, but it's a bit harsh in the delivery of its message; it's also annoying at times. I probably liked the opening musical number way more than I should have though.
  16. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    As a movie considered strictly on its own merits, The Lorax is passable but unmemorable, except for its catchy music. The movie maintains a mostly very Seussian art style, much to its credit, which offers a better sense for the whimsy of the thing. As an adaptation, however, The Lorax is almost insulting, misinterpreting the original work's moral of "overconsumption is bad and destroys theAs a movie considered strictly on its own merits, The Lorax is passable but unmemorable, except for its catchy music. The movie maintains a mostly very Seussian art style, much to its credit, which offers a better sense for the whimsy of the thing. As an adaptation, however, The Lorax is almost insulting, misinterpreting the original work's moral of "overconsumption is bad and destroys the environment, which is also in itself bad" into "trees are awesome and corporations are evil". One of the most important elements of any adaptation is the feel of the adaptation versus the feel of the original, and when your adaptation doesn't play fast and loose with the source material there's a need to adhere very closely with your feel, but this movie doesn't even try to succeed at that. It's a very cynical movie, with a cynical sense of humor that is admittedly quite funny when considered on its own merits, but feels mean in context, and with an almost sarcastically naive moral, and yet I feel like all of this was done as a means of playing it safe on the studio's part, which is ironic when you think about it because cynical approaches to childhood classics seem like they would be the opposite of safe. The movie feels like an underachieving teenager, deliberately withholding effort because it's easier to excuse a flop as "I wasn't trying anyway" than to face the possibility that someone might not like your best work. The movie's crippling fear of rejection causes it to lose the earnestness that could have served it so well as a Dr. Seuss adaptation, instead choosing to constantly act like it's too cool for itself. It's a rare thing when all of a movie's flaws proceed so cleanly from a single source, but this really is the wellspring that it all pours from: the Lorax was too afraid you wouldn't like it if it gave 100%, so it decided to only give something like 70%. If you want to see some great art design and hear some fun songs, by all means rent/borrow it, but if you actually want to get the story, read the book or watch the old half-hour cartoon special. Expand
  17. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    "The Lorax" from Illumination Studio doesn't really provide much, and just turns an old Dr. Suess book into an animated movie. While there is no depth and no care towards the book, it's okay. The characters in the movie did however anger me, as they added the main character Ted, who is just selfish due to the fact that he just does what he does to impress a girl. In the end, while he saves"The Lorax" from Illumination Studio doesn't really provide much, and just turns an old Dr. Suess book into an animated movie. While there is no depth and no care towards the book, it's okay. The characters in the movie did however anger me, as they added the main character Ted, who is just selfish due to the fact that he just does what he does to impress a girl. In the end, while he saves his town, Ted is truly just any other annoying kid who wants to flirt with a girl. The side romance is somewhat irritating, but bearable. The story with the Lorax is okay, but nothing great. The environmental messages barely get through, and after watching it, when I was watching television, I saw a commercial of Illuminations advertising the movie with a car and immediately gawked. While this will not affect the films score, I thought that was totally unnecessary considering that this film is trying to tell an environmental message. Nice going Illuminations. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Jul 23, 2012
    60
    Lovely to look at and with some fun material not of Seuss' invention, but it's too hectoring, like reading an environmental textbook with jolly pictures.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Fake plastic trees, fake plastic entertainment? The Lorax is immensely colourful, catchy and cheery. Then again, it's also gaudy, bland and recycled. You can do better.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.