User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 179
  2. Negative: 43 out of 179
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    The Lorax is entertaining, visually beautiful, funny and very sweet. Yet it isn't as deep as we really want it to be. Still, overall it is solid family entertainment. I give this movie 88%.
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    Entertaining, charming, funny but not of the better adaptions of the Dr. Seuss books(though still better then crap like the Cat in the Hat).
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    7
    A good, wholesome family movie. It's very funny, has a sweet story, and teaches kids a lesson about protecting the environment. It's all backed by fantastic animation and voice acting. Older audiences might not enjoy it that much, but will appreciate it for not being mind-numbingly dull, and kids will love it.
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    At first glance this movie almost looks too cartoony even for theaters, but the charm, cute characters, a handful of funny moments, colorful visual style, and a decent storyline make this a fun to watch animated film. It'll probably stir a lot of controversy because of its nature vs. business plot but its still fun. Don't expect a fantastic ending though.
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue to enjoy his lively fun stories.
  6. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    I honestly don't know what the angry reviews are about. I loved the movie and so did my 5 year old daughter. I could have done without the musical numbers, but the entire book is almost recited line by line in the movie. The acting was great, and for all the complaints about Taylor Swift, she played such a minor role I don't know what people were complaining for. The movie stays trueI honestly don't know what the angry reviews are about. I loved the movie and so did my 5 year old daughter. I could have done without the musical numbers, but the entire book is almost recited line by line in the movie. The acting was great, and for all the complaints about Taylor Swift, she played such a minor role I don't know what people were complaining for. The movie stays true to the heart of the story, (which I have been reading every night to my daughter for the last month). Good movie, great message. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    An awesome film, the cast is wow, I remember that when I´m young, my mother read me all the night this incredible book of Dr. Seuss, and the film is wow, funny, colorful, is really sorpresive. The Lorax is incredible.
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I can not even begin to stress how important it is that this movie has come out at this particular time. Despite what seemed like extreme hyperbole in 1971 when the book was written, every single bad aspect depicted within the pages is being witnessed all over the world. And it's only when we stop closing our eyes to the truth everywhere, open them, and stop believing the lies told to usI can not even begin to stress how important it is that this movie has come out at this particular time. Despite what seemed like extreme hyperbole in 1971 when the book was written, every single bad aspect depicted within the pages is being witnessed all over the world. And it's only when we stop closing our eyes to the truth everywhere, open them, and stop believing the lies told to us by greedy dirt bags, that we can begin to start making positive changes for our environment, when we need it the most. There are so many trees we need to plant, so many species we need to save, and we need to protect our own health to. Humans "are" a cause of Earth pollution, but we can also be a part of the cure for the Earth health solution. This isn't just a film for kids, it's a film for the family, and for everyone to see. Because clean air, a healthy environment, and trees, are the things that everyone truly does need. (Okay, those last two rhymes were truly unintentional, but I think I've made my point!) Take the time to see this movie, and become enlightened today! Collapse
  9. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The Lorax is wonderful! I dodged axes, laughed a lot and nearly cried at the end and so did my 8 year old daughter. I strongly suggest seeing this in 3D.
  10. Mar 5, 2012
    8
    The Lorax is everything that is fun put into an hour and a half movie. The story is beautiful and it really opens your eyes to nature, the visuals were gorgeous, the voices were picked perfectly for the chracters. This movie truly shows what our future could result in being, maybe not to the point where we buy air in bottles obviously, but a majority of the story is pretty accurate. ThisThe Lorax is everything that is fun put into an hour and a half movie. The story is beautiful and it really opens your eyes to nature, the visuals were gorgeous, the voices were picked perfectly for the chracters. This movie truly shows what our future could result in being, maybe not to the point where we buy air in bottles obviously, but a majority of the story is pretty accurate. This movie was fun, sad and then happy. The Lorax himself was hilarious and Danny Devito was perfect for his voice. The songs were unnecessary but they were catchy and they added to the fun of the film. I had an absolute blast with this movie and im 19 years old. If you don't enjoy this movie then you must either be really uptight and wayy too serious about your movies, or you just can't have fun in your life. The Lorax is pure joy and a wonderful story. I for sure had a very good time while watching it. I wouldn't say its worthy of a 10/10 but it was at least worth a 8/10. Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie about making a difference. This is not a movie you would rent. This is a movie you would BUY! Do so when it comes out. Will be in the collection as soon47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie about making a difference. This is not a movie you would rent. This is a movie you would BUY! Do so when it comes out. Will be in the collection as soon as possible. (pft! ... 47 out of 100!) Expand
  12. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    I was hoping the Lorax would be better than this, but it wasn't. I really liked the animation, and the acting was good. However, this is really the kind of movie you should only see if you have a kid with you. The movie is very cliched, and the songs are utterly forgettable. For the record, this movie is not a bad movie. It's just not the movie it could have been. I wanted to loveI was hoping the Lorax would be better than this, but it wasn't. I really liked the animation, and the acting was good. However, this is really the kind of movie you should only see if you have a kid with you. The movie is very cliched, and the songs are utterly forgettable. For the record, this movie is not a bad movie. It's just not the movie it could have been. I wanted to love this movie, but it unfortunately just like it. This movie pales in comparison to Pixar if you ask me. Expand
  13. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Dr. Seuss' The Lorax (2012) Is A Large Big Huge Ultra Topest Super Duper Greatest Goodest Movie in the world. It So Great and Good, I Love This Movie, About Tress and Also I Love this Theme Song "Let It Grow" (Celebrate the World) by Ester Dean
  14. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When a Classic book is made into a screenplay, my emphasis is not on the quality of the movie, but how well it delivers the book's original message. As a short children's book is stretched to a feature length movie, I expect a healthy amount of Hollywood to be added, and the movie of course did that. The movie is fun, with a message. In contrast I feel the book delivers a message in a fun way. Overall, I believe the movie carries the books message. The only reason I did not rate it higher is the way the movie initially uses testosterone, instead of genuine concern, as the main force to leave the status-quo. Expand
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Just saw it with my mom and my kids. Three generations who love the book. We all enjoyed the movie. Yes, it is different from the book; to fill an hour and a half they had to add to the story. The message is still there, the style is definitely Seuss, the 3-D really popped (for the price, it better), worth seeing on the big screen.
  16. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Nice idea...but the execution could have been better. It came across as a little choppy. Also, it seemed to preach a little bit and that lost some of its entertaining aspect.
  17. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonor belongs to The Cat in the Hat). It's very cute and the spirit of the book is still there. Like the book, the movie version does present the book'sI honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonor belongs to The Cat in the Hat). It's very cute and the spirit of the book is still there. Like the book, the movie version does present the book's message, which is clearly explained in Seuss' memorable quote "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing's going to get better, it's not". I was a little surprised that they gave The Once-ler a face, seeing as he isn't given one in the book or in the 1972 animated version, but I can see why the filmmakers would give him a face here (clearly an effort to make him more a more wide eyed and sympathetic young man with good intentions). I can also see why the filmmakers expanded the book's setting (making the small town that is only mentioned once in the book this gigantic cultural center that believes that a nature-less society is the only way to live). This movie is supposed to be 90 minutes long after all. One thing I really loved about this movie was the humor. Most humor found in family and kid flicks nowadays relates to the toilet. Toilet humor is NOT funny!! The humor in this movie mainly comes from in jokes, wordplay, and the genuinely funny lines that the characters say (or in the case of the humming fish, sing). This is one of those adaptions that I recommend going into with an open mind. You need to be aware that the setting and original characters from the book were indeed expanded, some new characters are introduced, and other elements were changed (every movie adaption has changes after all). If you want a 100% faithful telling of the story, no expansion, and no new characters, then this isn't the movie for you (in fact, I'd recommend the 1972 version if that's the case), but if you're like me, and you want an adaption that at least tells the story and has genuinely funny moments, then you'll like this movie fine. Is it a masterpiece, not really no. Does it try to be good, yes it does. I'm an adult and I very much enjoyed this and I'm certain that all age groups can get something out of this movie. Take it for what it's worth. Expand
  18. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that. In a nutshell, it's a movie that will just Cute you out.
  19. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    I think The Lorax is movie that can be used to teach kids about our environment. One way to teach children to be more sensitive to plants and nature is to have them grow the most sensitive plant of all - the TickleMe Plant. Though itâ
  20. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    the lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. thethe lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. the son let it grow would have to be my favorite because all the people of thneedville rose up and gave trees a shot and fought the power. i thought the movie was beautiful in so many different ways i loved it and im sure that anyone who sees it will too. Expand
  21. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed the movie! the tress were beautiful i loved the story of the city and how it came o be. I most definitely loved the Lorax and his mustache all the forest animals the visuals were excellent and the ending made me tear up.. my Favorite character was the grandma!
  22. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    this film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to be different that's just the way things are...not much to be changed there.but to a surprising effect besides the book it was really done quit well. i givethis film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to be different that's just the way things are...not much to be changed there.but to a surprising effect besides the book it was really done quit well. i give this a 9 really loved it. good work on this one :) Expand
  23. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    An amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it also had a good message. Why can't we all just be good for the environment. Think about your grandchildren, who will never see a polar bear, or a tiger.An amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it also had a good message. Why can't we all just be good for the environment. Think about your grandchildren, who will never see a polar bear, or a tiger. Anyway Five stars., it was a very good movie. Expand
  24. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I'm not sure what movie everyone else was watching but my family and I absolutely love The Lorax!
    We constantly find ourselves singing the catchy tunes or talking about the funny moments of the film. My kids love the colorful and vibrant characters and this film has a message within the story that everyone should be thinking about.
  25. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring aThis colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring a smile to your eyes, and hopefully face. The story does fall short a little through building depth, but that is made up through the movies amazing animation and the warm atmosphere that the movie is set in. Overall, The Lorax is something to watch :) Expand
  26. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    esta película tiene un mensaje claro y en toda la película lo repiten ademas de eso tiene una banda sonora exquisita y aunque no es la mejor adaptación de los libros del dr seuss es tierna flexible película excelente
  27. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Though there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was the fact that The Once-ler was a human. That would've been fine, but why was he the only wearing the gloves? In the book his entire family wore them. TheyThough there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was the fact that The Once-ler was a human. That would've been fine, but why was he the only wearing the gloves? In the book his entire family wore them. They could've stayed true to the book if they would've just noticed that detail. But it overall an entertaining, cute and moving film that made me watch it five times in theaters. Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great movie. If you hate The Lorax, you're silly as J Bieber. The storyline is good, and my favourite part is when the chase happened at the end trying to get the seed. The huge guy and a North Korean looking midget versus This kid (forgot his name) and grandma, etc. Also, why did they have to inspect the house? Why did they get out of control over a tree seed? And I almost cried a little when A HORDE of Lorax's "people" ran or walked away. Why did this idiot chop down all of the tree? Many "why" in this movie but still a good film. The plot was pretty good. The characters are okay despite how strange they are. I got a little "mad" when the two on the bedboat almost fell down. The Lorax is a VERY great movie and I would recommend anyone to watch it. I also thought that this 1 family showed who's boss when they took down this wall. Expand
  29. Mar 13, 2015
    7
    The Lorax is the kind of family-friendly film that young viewers will love no matter what. The animation is bright and colorful, the music is catchy and upbeat, and the all-star voice work is undeniably impressive. It's a great film to entertain the little ones. However, coming from the perspective of a lifelong Dr. Seuss fan, The Lorax is a bit of a disappointment when compared to theThe Lorax is the kind of family-friendly film that young viewers will love no matter what. The animation is bright and colorful, the music is catchy and upbeat, and the all-star voice work is undeniably impressive. It's a great film to entertain the little ones. However, coming from the perspective of a lifelong Dr. Seuss fan, The Lorax is a bit of a disappointment when compared to the book it's inspired by. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Jul 23, 2012
    60
    Lovely to look at and with some fun material not of Seuss' invention, but it's too hectoring, like reading an environmental textbook with jolly pictures.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Fake plastic trees, fake plastic entertainment? The Lorax is immensely colourful, catchy and cheery. Then again, it's also gaudy, bland and recycled. You can do better.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.