Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 2, 2012
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 207 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
109
Mixed:
49
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
heyitsmegrif4Mar 2, 2012
The Lorax is entertaining, visually beautiful, funny and very sweet. Yet it isn't as deep as we really want it to be. Still, overall it is solid family entertainment. I give this movie 88%.
16 of 20 users found this helpful164
All this user's reviews
10
lrbohnertOct 28, 2016
I love The Lorax is a dr. seuss movie. Calvyn got blu ray of lorax we watched already, but I like Horton Hears a Who!, The Grinch and The Cat in the Hat.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewCriticMar 9, 2012
Entertaining, charming, funny but not of the better adaptions of the Dr. Seuss books(though still better then crap like the Cat in the Hat).
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
8
reetu416Mar 27, 2012
I really enjoyed the movie! the tress were beautiful i loved the story of the city and how it came o be. I most definitely loved the Lorax and his mustache all the forest animals the visuals were excellent and the ending made me tear up.. myI really enjoyed the movie! the tress were beautiful i loved the story of the city and how it came o be. I most definitely loved the Lorax and his mustache all the forest animals the visuals were excellent and the ending made me tear up.. my Favorite character was the grandma! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Monstr92Nov 2, 2012
This colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda,This colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring a smile to your eyes, and hopefully face. The story does fall short a little through building depth, but that is made up through the movies amazing animation and the warm atmosphere that the movie is set in. Overall, The Lorax is something to watch :) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
The Lorax is the kind of family-friendly film that young viewers will love no matter what. The animation is bright and colorful, the music is catchy and upbeat, and the all-star voice work is undeniably impressive. It's a great film toThe Lorax is the kind of family-friendly film that young viewers will love no matter what. The animation is bright and colorful, the music is catchy and upbeat, and the all-star voice work is undeniably impressive. It's a great film to entertain the little ones. However, coming from the perspective of a lifelong Dr. Seuss fan, The Lorax is a bit of a disappointment when compared to the book it's inspired by. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 20, 2016
I love the Dr Suess books, and the movies are good too, super fun and cute.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2417523-Lorax-online-free
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
A lot more charming than 2000's "How the Grinch Stole Christmas!" movie and actually works unlike 2003's "The Cat in the Hat" movie. It's not Despicable Me, but it's pretty much works for a non-Despicable Me installment.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Feb 7, 2016
A delightful animated feature with special appeal for tree lovers.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-24e373-Lorax-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerSep 4, 2012
A good, wholesome family movie. It's very funny, has a sweet story, and teaches kids a lesson about protecting the environment. It's all backed by fantastic animation and voice acting. Older audiences might not enjoy it that much, but willA good, wholesome family movie. It's very funny, has a sweet story, and teaches kids a lesson about protecting the environment. It's all backed by fantastic animation and voice acting. Older audiences might not enjoy it that much, but will appreciate it for not being mind-numbingly dull, and kids will love it. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 2, 2012
An awesome film, the cast is wow, I remember that when I´m young, my mother read me all the night this incredible book of Dr. Seuss, and the film is wow, funny, colorful, is really sorpresive. The Lorax is incredible.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
werecarMar 4, 2012
I honestly don't know what the angry reviews are about. I loved the movie and so did my 5 year old daughter. I could have done without the musical numbers, but the entire book is almost recited line by line in the movie. The acting wasI honestly don't know what the angry reviews are about. I loved the movie and so did my 5 year old daughter. I could have done without the musical numbers, but the entire book is almost recited line by line in the movie. The acting was great, and for all the complaints about Taylor Swift, she played such a minor role I don't know what people were complaining for. The movie stays true to the heart of the story, (which I have been reading every night to my daughter for the last month). Good movie, great message. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
ZilcellAug 22, 2012
At first glance this movie almost looks too cartoony even for theaters, but the charm, cute characters, a handful of funny moments, colorful visual style, and a decent storyline make this a fun to watch animated film. It'll probably stir aAt first glance this movie almost looks too cartoony even for theaters, but the charm, cute characters, a handful of funny moments, colorful visual style, and a decent storyline make this a fun to watch animated film. It'll probably stir a lot of controversy because of its nature vs. business plot but its still fun. Don't expect a fantastic ending though. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
conboydudeMar 2, 2012
This movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue to enjoy his lively fun stories.
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
10
foxie1976Mar 11, 2012
The Lorax is wonderful! I dodged axes, laughed a lot and nearly cried at the end and so did my 8 year old daughter. I strongly suggest seeing this in 3D.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
7
cub317Mar 3, 2012
I was hoping the Lorax would be better than this, but it wasn't. I really liked the animation, and the acting was good. However, this is really the kind of movie you should only see if you have a kid with you. The movie is very cliched,I was hoping the Lorax would be better than this, but it wasn't. I really liked the animation, and the acting was good. However, this is really the kind of movie you should only see if you have a kid with you. The movie is very cliched, and the songs are utterly forgettable. For the record, this movie is not a bad movie. It's just not the movie it could have been. I wanted to love this movie, but it unfortunately just like it. This movie pales in comparison to Pixar if you ask me. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
justlookinMar 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When a Classic book is made into a screenplay, my emphasis is not on the quality of the movie, but how well it delivers the book's original message. As a short children's book is stretched to a feature length movie, I expect a healthy amount of Hollywood to be added, and the movie of course did that. The movie is fun, with a message. In contrast I feel the book delivers a message in a fun way. Overall, I believe the movie carries the books message. The only reason I did not rate it higher is the way the movie initially uses testosterone, instead of genuine concern, as the main force to leave the status-quo. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Knicksfan7Mar 5, 2012
The Lorax is everything that is fun put into an hour and a half movie. The story is beautiful and it really opens your eyes to nature, the visuals were gorgeous, the voices were picked perfectly for the chracters. This movie truly shows whatThe Lorax is everything that is fun put into an hour and a half movie. The story is beautiful and it really opens your eyes to nature, the visuals were gorgeous, the voices were picked perfectly for the chracters. This movie truly shows what our future could result in being, maybe not to the point where we buy air in bottles obviously, but a majority of the story is pretty accurate. This movie was fun, sad and then happy. The Lorax himself was hilarious and Danny Devito was perfect for his voice. The songs were unnecessary but they were catchy and they added to the fun of the film. I had an absolute blast with this movie and im 19 years old. If you don't enjoy this movie then you must either be really uptight and wayy too serious about your movies, or you just can't have fun in your life. The Lorax is pure joy and a wonderful story. I for sure had a very good time while watching it. I wouldn't say its worthy of a 10/10 but it was at least worth a 8/10. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
mystampstoreMar 6, 2012
Just saw it with my mom and my kids. Three generations who love the book. We all enjoyed the movie. Yes, it is different from the book; to fill an hour and a half they had to add to the story. The message is still there, the style isJust saw it with my mom and my kids. Three generations who love the book. We all enjoyed the movie. Yes, it is different from the book; to fill an hour and a half they had to add to the story. The message is still there, the style is definitely Seuss, the 3-D really popped (for the price, it better), worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
4EverGreenMar 7, 2012
I can not even begin to stress how important it is that this movie has come out at this particular time. Despite what seemed like extreme hyperbole in 1971 when the book was written, every single bad aspect depicted within the pages is beingI can not even begin to stress how important it is that this movie has come out at this particular time. Despite what seemed like extreme hyperbole in 1971 when the book was written, every single bad aspect depicted within the pages is being witnessed all over the world. And it's only when we stop closing our eyes to the truth everywhere, open them, and stop believing the lies told to us by greedy dirt bags, that we can begin to start making positive changes for our environment, when we need it the most. There are so many trees we need to plant, so many species we need to save, and we need to protect our own health to. Humans "are" a cause of Earth pollution, but we can also be a part of the cure for the Earth health solution. This isn't just a film for kids, it's a film for the family, and for everyone to see. Because clean air, a healthy environment, and trees, are the things that everyone truly does need. (Okay, those last two rhymes were truly unintentional, but I think I've made my point!) Take the time to see this movie, and become enlightened today! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
kidsgardenerMar 10, 2012
I think The Lorax is movie that can be used to teach kids about our environment. One way to teach children to be more sensitive to plants and nature is to have them grow the most sensitive plant of all - the TickleMe Plant. Though itâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
rategirlMar 18, 2012
the lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and describedthe lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. the son let it grow would have to be my favorite because all the people of thneedville rose up and gave trees a shot and fought the power. i thought the movie was beautiful in so many different ways i loved it and im sure that anyone who sees it will too. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
gkbos1Mar 23, 2012
Nice idea...but the execution could have been better. It came across as a little choppy. Also, it seemed to preach a little bit and that lost some of its entertaining aspect.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
RickzsRock3D4Mar 31, 2012
Dr. Seuss' The Lorax (2012) Is A Large Big Huge Ultra Topest Super Duper Greatest Goodest Movie in the world. It So Great and Good, I Love This Movie, About Tress and Also I Love this Theme Song "Let It Grow" (Celebrate the World) by Ester Dean
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
RedMoonApr 12, 2012
this film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to bethis film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to be different that's just the way things are...not much to be changed there.but to a surprising effect besides the book it was really done quit well. i give this a 9 really loved it. good work on this one :) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
shimano6000Apr 13, 2012
47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie about making a difference. This is not a movie you would rent. This is a movie you would BUY! Do so when it comes out. Will be in the collection as soon as possible. (pft! ... 47 out of 100!) Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
lightening816Aug 16, 2012
I honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonorI honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonor belongs to The Cat in the Hat). It's very cute and the spirit of the book is still there. Like the book, the movie version does present the book's message, which is clearly explained in Seuss' memorable quote "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing's going to get better, it's not". I was a little surprised that they gave The Once-ler a face, seeing as he isn't given one in the book or in the 1972 animated version, but I can see why the filmmakers would give him a face here (clearly an effort to make him more a more wide eyed and sympathetic young man with good intentions). I can also see why the filmmakers expanded the book's setting (making the small town that is only mentioned once in the book this gigantic cultural center that believes that a nature-less society is the only way to live). This movie is supposed to be 90 minutes long after all. One thing I really loved about this movie was the humor. Most humor found in family and kid flicks nowadays relates to the toilet. Toilet humor is NOT funny!! The humor in this movie mainly comes from in jokes, wordplay, and the genuinely funny lines that the characters say (or in the case of the humming fish, sing). This is one of those adaptions that I recommend going into with an open mind. You need to be aware that the setting and original characters from the book were indeed expanded, some new characters are introduced, and other elements were changed (every movie adaption has changes after all). If you want a 100% faithful telling of the story, no expansion, and no new characters, then this isn't the movie for you (in fact, I'd recommend the 1972 version if that's the case), but if you're like me, and you want an adaption that at least tells the story and has genuinely funny moments, then you'll like this movie fine. Is it a masterpiece, not really no. Does it try to be good, yes it does. I'm an adult and I very much enjoyed this and I'm certain that all age groups can get something out of this movie. Take it for what it's worth. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
mrmonsterAug 26, 2012
An amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it alsoAn amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it also had a good message. Why can't we all just be good for the environment. Think about your grandchildren, who will never see a polar bear, or a tiger. Anyway Five stars., it was a very good movie. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OzzymorphSep 9, 2012
I'm not sure what movie everyone else was watching but my family and I absolutely love The Lorax!
We constantly find ourselves singing the catchy tunes or talking about the funny moments of the film. My kids love the colorful and vibrant
I'm not sure what movie everyone else was watching but my family and I absolutely love The Lorax!
We constantly find ourselves singing the catchy tunes or talking about the funny moments of the film. My kids love the colorful and vibrant characters and this film has a message within the story that everyone should be thinking about.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Luv67Jan 12, 2013
I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that.I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that. In a nutshell, it's a movie that will just Cute you out. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
diego9901Feb 3, 2013
esta película tiene un mensaje claro y en toda la película lo repiten ademas de eso tiene una banda sonora exquisita y aunque no es la mejor adaptación de los libros del dr seuss es tierna flexible película excelente
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MrsBBagginsDec 29, 2013
Though there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was theThough there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was the fact that The Once-ler was a human. That would've been fine, but why was he the only wearing the gloves? In the book his entire family wore them. They could've stayed true to the book if they would've just noticed that detail. But it overall an entertaining, cute and moving film that made me watch it five times in theaters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BeastprogamerApr 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great movie. If you hate The Lorax, you're silly as J Bieber. The storyline is good, and my favourite part is when the chase happened at the end trying to get the seed. The huge guy and a North Korean looking midget versus This kid (forgot his name) and grandma, etc. Also, why did they have to inspect the house? Why did they get out of control over a tree seed? And I almost cried a little when A HORDE of Lorax's "people" ran or walked away. Why did this idiot chop down all of the tree? Many "why" in this movie but still a good film. The plot was pretty good. The characters are okay despite how strange they are. I got a little "mad" when the two on the bedboat almost fell down. The Lorax is a VERY great movie and I would recommend anyone to watch it. I also thought that this 1 family showed who's boss when they took down this wall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 11, 2015
The flashback scenes with The Lorax get an 8 out of 10. But the parts in the present day (apart from the ones with the once-ler) are a 5 or 6. See, the problem is that Some of the present day scenes are occasionally a bit cheesey. I mean, howThe flashback scenes with The Lorax get an 8 out of 10. But the parts in the present day (apart from the ones with the once-ler) are a 5 or 6. See, the problem is that Some of the present day scenes are occasionally a bit cheesey. I mean, how does Ted's Grandmother even know about the Once-ler and that he knows a lot about trees? Would O' Hare really have let that kind of information go around for a free thinking citizen to pick up and investigate? But nonetheless, Danny DeVito is simply brilliant as the Lorax. He steals every scene he's in and you feel relieved whenever he comes on screen. Watch it for him, I advise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ceb1031Sep 25, 2016
The Lorax is incredible film of the year. Dr. Seuss animated movies about Horton Hears a Who! starring Jim Carrey and Steve Carell. But now they're making the Dr. Seuss movie How the Grinch Stole Christmas will be come out November 2018.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
edeFeb 20, 2017
Personally, I think The Lorax is a wonderful movie. It's good entertainment while showing the problems with what cutting down trees does to the environment. I know that Dr. Suess hated capitalism, and he obviously shows that through thisPersonally, I think The Lorax is a wonderful movie. It's good entertainment while showing the problems with what cutting down trees does to the environment. I know that Dr. Suess hated capitalism, and he obviously shows that through this movie. The animation is absolutely wonderful and pleasing to the eye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews