Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: October 13, 2000
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 80 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
7
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
ChrisH.Aug 17, 2006
funny during a couple times but all and all it was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. [***SPOILERS***] How did he end up in Mexico? Dallas is about 500 miles from Mexico and a tornado couldnt throw you more than 5 miles. too normal to funny during a couple times but all and all it was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. [***SPOILERS***] How did he end up in Mexico? Dallas is about 500 miles from Mexico and a tornado couldnt throw you more than 5 miles. too normal to have that unrealistic of an ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FrankO.Feb 2, 2006
Okay romantic comedy..too many characters, too many plots and subplots; really liked it until the end which I though was quite hokey..much better him just leaving in rain soaked cadillac going to nowhere
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JaredSSJan 17, 2006
Very sad, being as Robert Altman is my favorite American filmmaker of all-time. I think he did a terrific job, for the most part, it was the story that just wasn't very appealing. It came off as thinking it was more intriguing and Very sad, being as Robert Altman is my favorite American filmmaker of all-time. I think he did a terrific job, for the most part, it was the story that just wasn't very appealing. It came off as thinking it was more intriguing and unique than it actually was. The final two minutes of the film dropped this a point and a half. I got it, but it was too out there for a film this "normal". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanZ.Mar 13, 2005
I usually love Altman films but this is a real dog. I was surprised that it was written by a woman because it is very anti-woman. Dr. T is presented as the only sensible person in a world of hysterical, talkative, troubled women. Don't I usually love Altman films but this is a real dog. I was surprised that it was written by a woman because it is very anti-woman. Dr. T is presented as the only sensible person in a world of hysterical, talkative, troubled women. Don't waste any time on this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IBAug 18, 2002
I like it because i live in DALLAS, TX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonC.Jun 9, 2002
I don't understand how people call this a mysoginistic film. Robert Altman and the female who wrote the story create complex roles for women that normal Hollywood movies dont' try to. So they have problems, alot of women do, but I don't understand how people call this a mysoginistic film. Robert Altman and the female who wrote the story create complex roles for women that normal Hollywood movies dont' try to. So they have problems, alot of women do, but none are either all good or all bad, as Gere says in the movie they are indivuals. This is something Hollywood normally forgets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Aug 31, 2001
Okay, hate me if you want to, but truly the thing that's so amazing about this film is that Altman never steps wrong. Through two hours of what looks like one of the most audience hated film of all-time, he never makes a wrong turn. And Okay, hate me if you want to, but truly the thing that's so amazing about this film is that Altman never steps wrong. Through two hours of what looks like one of the most audience hated film of all-time, he never makes a wrong turn. And that is genuine filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Jun 29, 2001
I wish I could unsee this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DeniseB.Mar 2, 2001
Too degrading to women to be enjoyed as a fantasy. Richard Gere can't act his way out of a paper bag. He moves around aloof, apart from those around him, never engaged--just the victim. The costuming was the only fun and enjoyable Too degrading to women to be enjoyed as a fantasy. Richard Gere can't act his way out of a paper bag. He moves around aloof, apart from those around him, never engaged--just the victim. The costuming was the only fun and enjoyable reason to see the movie. Mr. T's crazy office and life is a monster of his own creation, yet portrayed as the victim we are supposed to like and sympathize?? I don't think so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AprilV.Feb 25, 2001
I only gave this movie a "1" rating because I did enjoy looking at handsome Richard Gere! Other than that, I wouldn't waste my money even on a rental. It was stupid movie with a ridiculous ending!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomFeb 24, 2001
Wish I could get paid for doing nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Feb 24, 2001
A total waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JesseH.Feb 9, 2001
I really enjoy quirky, unique movies...but this movie was a big disappointment. I kept waiting for the various plot points to be wrapped up, but was simply left hanging. I'm just glad I didn't waste my money when it was in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful