Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 877 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
666
Mixed:
92
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
csw12Aug 19, 2012
This movie was quiet weird. It started off okay but in the final half and hour i don't know what happened. The movie went from high standard to worse than a syfy movie. The main character is completely unrealistic in her response to what isThis movie was quiet weird. It started off okay but in the final half and hour i don't know what happened. The movie went from high standard to worse than a syfy movie. The main character is completely unrealistic in her response to what is going on. Drag me to hell is complete crap and the movie made me wishing i was being dragged to hell while watching this so called horror film. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Aug 27, 2012
I am truely in disarray at what the critics thought was so great about this film. It was the furthest thing from scary, and the so called funny moments where unrecognizable. Boring and pretty stupid overall.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
1
axelkochAug 14, 2013
How can any reasonable human being give this movie a good rating? I abhorred every second of Drag Me to Hell and despite admitting that it wasn’t badly made in terms of set design, cinematography, or editing, for example, it suffers from aHow can any reasonable human being give this movie a good rating? I abhorred every second of Drag Me to Hell and despite admitting that it wasn’t badly made in terms of set design, cinematography, or editing, for example, it suffers from a director who can’t seem to decide if he wants to make a parody on horror movies or an actual horror movie and ends up making one of the hugest pieces of in recent years (I could, in fact, re-use all of these words when writing a review for The Cabin in the Woods, another outrageously overrated rubbish). Limiting himself to a PG-13 rating, Raimi at least spares the audience more atrociously surrealistic CGI gore effects, but the 3rd highest as well as lowest of MPAA classifications still leaves space for idiotic dialogs, shameless copying from other horror flicks, and blatant predictability. I’m not saying that I wasn’t frightened by parts of it, yet for most of the time, I was offended and disgusted by this ghastly made movie. Critics that call it ironic or even hilarious just have to be paid by Universal Pictures since there is no other valid explanation for entitling a movie ‘ironic’ when it obviously isn’t aware of how stupid it is. And now don’t come to me with “it’s only for the purpose of entertainment” besides all of that it’s still a dull and dreary movie that is laden with tons of clichés. Drag Me to Hell? Drag me out of the cinema! Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJul 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really just disgusting and that's all that can be said about this horrible flick. The opening scene was bad, and usually, a movie doesn't get any better after that. The whole premise is fairly ridiculous to start out with. The main character obviously is a good person, why would she be cursed ? She had no control over the situation the old woman was in, and she was not responsible. The entire film is filled with senseless dialogue and actions that don't make any sense. It could be a comedy, a bad one, something like 'Revenge of the repossessed homeowner'... Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
0
RvwFromUpHereJun 22, 2016
This movie is a lot like church. Seemingly endless, full of people that don't belong in it, and it made me think about crucifying myself the whole time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
jppl1999Jul 13, 2015
You can always try to overthink stuff, and in this case, a movie. Then, the real problem lies on why do critics think this as a horror movie deserves an 83. Sometimes I think about it and I kind of understand the reason, because the majorityYou can always try to overthink stuff, and in this case, a movie. Then, the real problem lies on why do critics think this as a horror movie deserves an 83. Sometimes I think about it and I kind of understand the reason, because the majority of them say it is funny, or comedic, or hilarious, etc... And yes! It gets to be funny, but I just don't see it as a "Thriller, Horror" film worth 83 over 100. I just don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JoellemmNov 19, 2016
Have people watched a different movie? Its not funny, or scary. Plot is simplistic, yet still done poorly. How is there plot holes when the plot is essentially just a collection of what has already been done. Sam Raimi's The Evil Dead wasHave people watched a different movie? Its not funny, or scary. Plot is simplistic, yet still done poorly. How is there plot holes when the plot is essentially just a collection of what has already been done. Sam Raimi's The Evil Dead was overrated, and this is way worse than that (didn't know he directed this till I had watched it so not biased). The acting is poor, its cheesy, and the tone changes every moment. This film is for idiots, I am sure of it. It spells everything out; where is the subtlety? I couldn't stop rolling my eyes. It does what it sets out to do so its quite hard to criticise, but that just means it was flawed from the start. Please tell me big budget horror has more to offer than this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RyanLopezNov 5, 2010
This f*****g movie is full of s**t i hate it, it's disgusting, I usually like horror movies but this one goes to far, it's awful, i have never given a movie this bad a review.
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
3
HyperboleJan 17, 2012
It's a bad movie. Not in a good Sam Raimi way either. It is just boring and not serious scary or funny scary. It's an hour and 39 minutes long but feels a good 40 minutes longer. Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi and a crazy old gypsyIt's a bad movie. Not in a good Sam Raimi way either. It is just boring and not serious scary or funny scary. It's an hour and 39 minutes long but feels a good 40 minutes longer. Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi and a crazy old gypsy woman....how did this go wrong. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
Watermelon789Jul 22, 2011
Kinda weird in my case to rate a negative score to a positive movie, anyway, expecting something scary isn't the right thing in here. Drag me too hell is stupid, and idiotically funny, i felt that it wasn't taking the main theme seriously,Kinda weird in my case to rate a negative score to a positive movie, anyway, expecting something scary isn't the right thing in here. Drag me too hell is stupid, and idiotically funny, i felt that it wasn't taking the main theme seriously, while it does some creepy sound effects, it isn't entertaining or tense as other Horror movies. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
2
Psyco6Mar 18, 2012
I saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed theI saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed the entire movie. The acting is bad, the lines are cheesy,and the plot is even more dumb. At one part she's getting attacked and for some reason she has an anvil tied to a string above the spot where her attacker is, and just happens to have an ice skate next to the rope. The end is the worst part of all. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
0
honestabbySep 26, 2010
I will give this movie and the positive reviews the benefit of the doubt and assume it was much better in theatres. However, I watched it on HBO and it was frustratingly bad. The dialogue was superficial, seemingly written just to stringI will give this movie and the positive reviews the benefit of the doubt and assume it was much better in theatres. However, I watched it on HBO and it was frustratingly bad. The dialogue was superficial, seemingly written just to string together the story in between the screaming and supernatural events throughout. From the moment the the old women appears on screen in that trying-too-hard-to-be-creepy garb, I predicted that she was going to curse the main character. Everything that happens to the main character after that is just confusing and random. Many of the disturbances that plague the main character are, of course, not pleasant, you would not want them to happen to you. BUT finding a scarf in your throat and having to pull it out is not that terrifying. This and many other similar things happen just as fillers.

The pace is ridiculous. The beginning is slow and drawn out yet it fails to establish an eerie vibe or build any suspense. When the random disturbances really start, they are almost non-stop until right before the ending. It is such overkill.

The CGI effects are too cheap and unrealistic to be scary but not obviously cheesy enough to be funny. Whether it was meant to be funny/ cheesy or realistic/ scary, it did not look intentional. The girl is being taunted by a cartoon shadow. Seriously.

The characters were total idiots with no substance. There is some random back story for the main character thrown in, more as a side note, toward the middle of the movie but it is irrelevant because that information is never really brought up again. She goes from young soft-spoken girl in business attire to flighty and confused to screeching one liners like "That's yours **** and I don't believe any of it. The boyfriend character is just there to react to the girl's changing behavior by brushing it off until he finally sees something himself and is proven wrong. Again, very original. I could go on and on. Seriously, it was insulting.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
venyNov 30, 2011
i cant believe this is critic acclaimed !!!first of all flying handkerchief ,possessed guy dancing around the table,talking goat,and so called cheap gross COMEDY is seriously not scary,waste of time and the lamest movie i've ever seeni cant believe this is critic acclaimed !!!first of all flying handkerchief ,possessed guy dancing around the table,talking goat,and so called cheap gross COMEDY is seriously not scary,waste of time and the lamest movie i've ever seen ever.this is the worst acclaimed movie ..they even call the ending a surprise and seriously just spell the movie and just be done with it.the only surprise and scary is how the rating is so high. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
1
SlizzoMay 25, 2013
I gave up on this movie 1 hour in.. Horribly boring and predictable movie. Really one of the worst movies i have ever seen. Not a single scary moment, just a ridiculous amount of pathetic attempts.. And really? A goat that yells outI gave up on this movie 1 hour in.. Horribly boring and predictable movie. Really one of the worst movies i have ever seen. Not a single scary moment, just a ridiculous amount of pathetic attempts.. And really? A goat that yells out Really?... :S This movie is pure crap. The lead actress was not convincing at all. I want my hour back... Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
2
bombermann64Aug 1, 2015
I thought this movie was going to be very good so I was never biased against it. I watched it alone in the dark so that wasn't the problem. This movie is just an abysmal movie. It was never really scary. It had some jump scares but they rangeI thought this movie was going to be very good so I was never biased against it. I watched it alone in the dark so that wasn't the problem. This movie is just an abysmal movie. It was never really scary. It had some jump scares but they range from very slightly startling to laughable. Some of the special effects in the movie are so bad that they take you out of the experience. If they are trying to be comical that didn't work either. If they didn't have the budget for the kind of special effects they needed they shouldn't have tried to do them anyway. The character is pretty annoying as well. There aren't really any redeeming qualities. Watch something else. I wish I had. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CapoRegimeOct 14, 2009
The film is proclaimed as a horror movie, but right at the start I'm starting to feel that they got it wrong. Drag me to hell is a comedy, directed by someone who's weird enough to make fun of putting or spraying something on the mouth.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
jonbOct 15, 2009
Seriously, has anyone ever read Thinner? Seriously?
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
McGreaseOct 17, 2009
I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a leather seat and it echoed through the room. This is cheese. String cheese. I dont even think blaggy would have eaten this cheese. Raimi has made the most greasy, skunk, and diarrhea filled horror movie in years. I seriously could of taken a dump on a camera lens that people would rather see than this trash. I would rather have my fingernails pulled off with pliers or be forced to smell a used diaper filled with Indian food. Get em next Raimi ... McGrease out. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
2
ChrisW.Jun 12, 2009
I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
benjaminpJun 1, 2009
This movie smells...Bad...Exremely BAD..I hope this movie takes a shower and does the get shot dance in the middle of the free way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MattMJun 2, 2009
This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly in theaters at Dance Flick will laugh loudly at his movie too. IT's not clever, it's not scary, it's not anything. Seriously insulting, Raimi lost it after Spiderman 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KevinL.Nov 2, 2009
I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are blatantly obvious to everyone in the audience. This movie is an unintentional parody of itself, watch it with that in mind. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
FrankPOct 25, 2009
"Exorcist" meets "Pee Wees Big Adventure" as imagined by a drunk third-grader. The only redeeming value of watching this movie was that I get to finally bump down "Romeo and Juliet" starring Leonardo DiCaprio as my worst movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
jesssOct 30, 2009
After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i highly advise you not to watch this as a horror fan but more of a comedy "shaun of the dead" type fan, not that it's that good. So disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NickS.Jun 15, 2009
wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not suspenseful - just bad. Give me Evil Dead, Dead Alive or Saw any-day over this nonsense of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisHJun 15, 2009
I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right after that?Terrible movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LJun 1, 2009
Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Movie 5... and this movie should be placed in a "Comedy" category, not in a "Horror/Suspense". Please drag this movie to hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheoneJun 20, 2009
Horror?!? How on earth critics & many people rate this film so high. Do u guys live in La La land?!? Those guys who created this film should have donated the money to poor rather making this film. It should be in top 3 of the top 10 worst Horror?!? How on earth critics & many people rate this film so high. Do u guys live in La La land?!? Those guys who created this film should have donated the money to poor rather making this film. It should be in top 3 of the top 10 worst movie in history. I would give -10, as it is not possible so I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveBJun 4, 2009
Oh my god. I walked out on this movie. Absolutely horrible, horrible, horrible. The parts that were supposed to be scary were, at best, funny in a pathetic way. I expected so much more from Sam Raimi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ManekiNJun 4, 2009
This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and nothing that happened after that changed my mind. Worst film I've seen at the cinema since Phantom of the Opera. Give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful