Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 876 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
665
Mixed:
92
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PhilipJun 14, 2009
Pure entertainment! Every aspect of the film is made for that one purpose and it works beautifully! It's 40% horror and 60% comedy - but that's what you'll love about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JordanJun 18, 2009
was a great movie till the ending, really, there was no need for that dammit! to me if you want to really enjoy this movie, just don't watch the last minute of it, and it will be amazing, but that last minute almost ruins the entire movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerDrainvilleJun 26, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is a disgusting, clever, and suspenseful roller coaster of terror. Its over-the-top grotesque scenes will have you cringing and leaving the theater in complete satisfaction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HCraneJul 19, 2009
I'm gonna say that the people who rated this poorly are people who were looking for a serious horror movie and something completely different. Also I'm guessing they've never seen Evil Dead or Army of Darkness. Whoever said I'm gonna say that the people who rated this poorly are people who were looking for a serious horror movie and something completely different. Also I'm guessing they've never seen Evil Dead or Army of Darkness. Whoever said that the Grudge is better than this needs to be punched hard in the mouth, because that movie is trash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlistairM.Jul 22, 2009
This is the best kind of horror movie. It makes you jump not because of fright but of the unexpected. It makes you laugh because it's absurd and it makes you squirm because it's pretty gross. MY GOD I LOVED THIS MOVIE!! as did the This is the best kind of horror movie. It makes you jump not because of fright but of the unexpected. It makes you laugh because it's absurd and it makes you squirm because it's pretty gross. MY GOD I LOVED THIS MOVIE!! as did the rest of the cinema since we all laughed groaned and yelped in unison. Welcome back Sam! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickBJul 24, 2009
This movie is incredibly unique and brilliant in its own way. To fully appreciate this movie, you must be aware that this film is not only a horror movie, but a dark comedy as well. Without knowing, you may think, as many do, that this is This movie is incredibly unique and brilliant in its own way. To fully appreciate this movie, you must be aware that this film is not only a horror movie, but a dark comedy as well. Without knowing, you may think, as many do, that this is only a ridiculous horror film when it is so much more. Before seeing this film, I had never seen the Evil Dead Trilogy despite hearing much about them. However, because I loved this film so much, I saw them only was able to appreciate Drag Me to Hell even more. The acting, though not award worthy, suits the movie perfectly, and all the details are there. The directing is excellent, the score is chilling, the special effects are wonderfully, (and intentionally) cheesy, and even the sound mixing adds to the experience. Overall, if you love campy movies and can appreciate a film that is funny and yet terrifying, see it as soon as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvinCAug 11, 2009
Cool film. Not much of a buyer though.The scenes did scare the crap out of me though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinDAug 12, 2009
This movie was supposed to be terrifying? I can't be too critical because I honestly did like it to an extent. It's a charming, fun film with solid acting and a fast pace, but I can't honestly say that it was the scarefest This movie was supposed to be terrifying? I can't be too critical because I honestly did like it to an extent. It's a charming, fun film with solid acting and a fast pace, but I can't honestly say that it was the scarefest I'd been hoping it would be. That said, it's still nice to see Raimi go back to his roots for a change, and that in itself makes this movie better than most of the recycled tripe to come out as of late. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleFeb 26, 2016
Drag Me to Hell is a horrifically terrifying horror film that has a way of infesting itself in your mind and possessing your thoughts after you finish watching it. It can be a touch predictable at times and can be a little silly, but neitherDrag Me to Hell is a horrifically terrifying horror film that has a way of infesting itself in your mind and possessing your thoughts after you finish watching it. It can be a touch predictable at times and can be a little silly, but neither of those detract much from the overall product, which is a truly scary film that chills, thrills, and flat out scares the viewer with glee. Director Sam Raimi creates a thoroughly unsettling atmosphere and a great accompanying score and sound effects really help to create that mood. Drag Me to Hell was heavily criticized upon its release for being too silly and not being scary enough. I disagree on both accounts. Obviously I thought it was scary, but I never found any of it comedic. There were moments that broke the tension and were kind of funny, but that happens in every movie. Here, the few funny moments were intended and the scary moments were effective. This is not some cheesy horror-comedy mash-up, this is just regular old horror and a creepily unsettling one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 9, 2015
Drag Me to Hell has pretty good acting, an interesting story and plausible characters(Not all but the main 2).But, the special effects were not that good the story is cliché and I know it is supposed to be a comedy at the same time but someDrag Me to Hell has pretty good acting, an interesting story and plausible characters(Not all but the main 2).But, the special effects were not that good the story is cliché and I know it is supposed to be a comedy at the same time but some scenes are just stupid. If you want to make a horror/comedy movie at least assume it and don't throw like 2-3 "funny scenes." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Oct 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Holy crap, this one surprised me! I don't think a horror comedy has worked so well since... well, ever. This movie was as funny as it was scary and disgusting, and it truly felt like what I'd expect from a Raimi film. The acting was great, the cinematography was so crisp and nice to look at. The story was also pretty disturbing and creepy. I also liked how it poked fun at a few horror cliches like the bleeding nose thing. The ending, though, was so shocking and unexpected. I'm glad it wasn't another Hollywood ending where everything is alright because I love huge twists like that! I really loved this movie. I jumped and laughed and cringed too many times to count. I haven't had this much fun watching a movie in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HotelCentralFeb 20, 2017
This is an entertaining horror flick, which, though never truly gripping, or terrifying, does deliver a few mild shocks while at times bordering on campy. Our heroine is generally endearing, ably played by Alison Lohman, and the whole castThis is an entertaining horror flick, which, though never truly gripping, or terrifying, does deliver a few mild shocks while at times bordering on campy. Our heroine is generally endearing, ably played by Alison Lohman, and the whole cast performs their roles well. The dialog is well crafted and gives us a turn or two which I did not see coming -- and I am so used to spotting every twist and turn ten miles ahead of schedule that I must admit to feeling delighted by the surprises.

Drag Me To Hell, despite its foreboding title, will probably never be regarded as a horror classic simply because it's a lightweight bit of fun. Whether it will come to be seen as a "cult favorite" only time will tell. Meanwhile, I recommend it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
Drag me to Hell , a frightening film , which shows the true curse before going to hell , all horror movies so that waste and criticize bad , this is the best I saw and attacked me in every scene fear, without doubt, the best horror movie I'veDrag me to Hell , a frightening film , which shows the true curse before going to hell , all horror movies so that waste and criticize bad , this is the best I saw and attacked me in every scene fear, without doubt, the best horror movie I've seen in my life! God save me from hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Hawk321Dec 26, 2015
Wow, a real perl amon the horror movies. Logical story, cool effects, no nonsense and some comedian stuff included.

Who says that a horror movie needs to be ultra violent?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
santipkJun 19, 2017
la pelicula es entretenida y muy buena pero no le pongo el 10 por que no tiene tanto carisma silvya ganush que es la que le pone la maldicion y no sale tanto y podia haber tenido mucho mas juego con la pelicula ese personaje por lo demas esla pelicula es entretenida y muy buena pero no le pongo el 10 por que no tiene tanto carisma silvya ganush que es la que le pone la maldicion y no sale tanto y podia haber tenido mucho mas juego con la pelicula ese personaje por lo demas es perfecta salvo eso pero no tiene muchos puntos que se podian mejorar pero en si es una pelicula buenisima y muy entrenida recomendada si quieres una pelicula de terror buena Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews