Dragonfly

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MaritaF.
    Mar 7, 2004
    8
    I thought it was a very good movie. The end surprised me, but made everything come together. I rarely ever watch a movie twice, but I have this one. It's not a run-of-the-mill, fogettable movie like many others.
  2. RodR.
    Nov 21, 2003
    8
    A good story line, with a surprise ending, mixed with suspense and thrills in between.
  3. Werner
    Oct 20, 2002
    10
    SUPER FILM!
  4. Ana
    Mar 1, 2002
    9
    I thought it was a GOOD movie ... it was sad, and some parts were scary.
  5. EricS.
    Aug 10, 2002
    8
    "Dragonfly" is no "Exorcist" or "Ghost," but it's very good. Tom Shadyc's films are always panned ("Patch Adams," for one) but that's because reviewers are missing the point. His films are not about getting petty details right, utilizing good actors (although they certainly do) but are made to provide gleams of optimistic hope for the world. It was refreshing to see a movie "Dragonfly" is no "Exorcist" or "Ghost," but it's very good. Tom Shadyc's films are always panned ("Patch Adams," for one) but that's because reviewers are missing the point. His films are not about getting petty details right, utilizing good actors (although they certainly do) but are made to provide gleams of optimistic hope for the world. It was refreshing to see a movie like this. Puke all you want, Rolling Stone, was this was a good one. Hopefully more people will see it when it comes to video. Expand
  6. RenéH.
    Aug 10, 2002
    9
    Kevin Costner was great!!
  7. ColleenL.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Definately an orginal plot. Couldn't then and still can't get enough of it. I have recommended the film to many family and friends and they all agree and have also purchased the movie.
  8. DebbieJ.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    I love this movie and how he never gave up looking for what his wife was trying to tell him with her signs. "Trust and Have Faith And It's The Belief That Gets Us There." That's the best morale of a movie. Thanks.
  9. IsilC.
    Aug 15, 2002
    10
    It was the best movie i've ever watched in my life and i can't understand why people give 0 points to this film while they're giving high points to other meaningless movies.
  10. JustinP.
    Aug 27, 2002
    8
    An entertaining suspense film that effectively explores the issue of near death experiences and how people dedicated to rational thought grapple with them. A refreshingly strong performance by Costner in a supernatural mystery obviusly owing much to the Sixth Sense. The films rabid reviews are extremely unfair. A strong mystery film with good star and supporting performances. Too An entertaining suspense film that effectively explores the issue of near death experiences and how people dedicated to rational thought grapple with them. A refreshingly strong performance by Costner in a supernatural mystery obviusly owing much to the Sixth Sense. The films rabid reviews are extremely unfair. A strong mystery film with good star and supporting performances. Too feel-good and conventional for critics who tend to admire the dour and avant garde. Expand
  11. Apr 14, 2016
    10
    Costner's best film ever. A real tear jerker of an ending, but in a good way.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2197-Dragonfly-online-free
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 22 out of 33
  1. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Chris Kaltenbach
    38
    Painstakingly painful.
  2. Dragonfly has more plot than a figure-skating competition, and just about as much credibility.
  3. 20
    Awash in cheap shocks and corny sentiment, Dragonfly aspires to be an inspirational thriller about one man's spiritual journey, but it takes little time for him to reach his destination. All that's left for him and the audience to do is solve a riddle unfit for the back of a cereal box.