Dream House

Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 1, 2011
    50
    70 minutes into the 90-minute process, I was engaged. Then it all collapsed.
  2. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Oct 1, 2011
    42
    The film's ambitions are woefully small and familiar.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 1, 2011
    42
    This suburban gothic is a logy, convoluted mess.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Oct 3, 2011
    40
    The director is going through the motions, and he doesn't display the cinematic skill, at least in the release version, to bring off an exercise in either Hitchcockian or Shyamalanian suspense.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Oct 2, 2011
    40
    Impressive as the combination may seem on paper, having Sheridan direct this sort of genre fare reps a clear miscasting of helmer and subject, as he displays no particular feel for the material and is unable to overcome the story's generic approach, lack of striking psychological ideas, and literal-minded denouement.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    This crackpot thriller from the usually competent Jim Sheridan leaves only one mystery unsolved: what on earth was he thinking?
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    With its telegraphed twists and clunky pacing, the film would be unbearable were it not for the fine trio of Craig, Weisz and Naomi Watts, all more or less slumming.
  8. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    Despite the A-list talent involved, this haunted house tale is a thrill-deprived, inert misfire.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    Dream House is the full magilla, with imaginary images, sanity questions, peek-a-boo startles and the usual are-they-real-or-not? characters.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    Don't listen to the critics, it may be a bit predictable but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Not t he greatest movie out there, but it gives me hopeDon't listen to the critics, it may be a bit predictable but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Not t he greatest movie out there, but it gives me hope for good movies in the future. It's a bit similar to a title called "Shutter Island", which is a much better movie in my own opinion. Is it great? Not really. Should you watch it? Yes. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The fact that this movie tells you everything halfway makes it that much more compelling. It isn't a thriller in the sense of what is going toThe fact that this movie tells you everything halfway makes it that much more compelling. It isn't a thriller in the sense of what is going to happen to next but rather it allows you to believe that such a scenario could happen to anyone and they will have no clue. The character is the story. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I loved the movie, caught me since the beginning until the end of the movie. Don´t hear everything people will say. See forI loved the movie, caught me since the beginning until the end of the movie. Don´t hear everything people will say. See for yourself and make your own conclusions. Full Review »