Dream House

Dream House Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Some say that all houses have memories. For one man, his home is the place he would kill to forget. Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz and Naomi Watts star in "Dream House," a suspense thriller about a family that unknowingly moves into a home where several grisly murders were committed...only toSome say that all houses have memories. For one man, his home is the place he would kill to forget. Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz and Naomi Watts star in "Dream House," a suspense thriller about a family that unknowingly moves into a home where several grisly murders were committed...only to find themselves the killer's next target. Successful publisher Will Atenton quit a job in New York City to relocate his wife, Libby, and two girls to a quaint New England town. But as they settle into their new life, they discover their perfect home was the murder scene of a mother and her children. And the entire city believes it was at the hands of the husband who survived. When Will investigates the tragedy, his only lead comes from Ann Paterson, a neighbor who was close to the family that died. Will and Ann piece together the disturbing puzzle. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Sep 30, 2011
    75
    It's painful to watch a movie like Dream House - well-acted, beautifully shot and directed with extraordinary care and attention to craft - only to realize that the story, the alleged backbone, is absurd.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 1, 2011
    50
    70 minutes into the 90-minute process, I was engaged. Then it all collapsed.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 1, 2011
    42
    This suburban gothic is a logy, convoluted mess.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    Dream House is the full magilla, with imaginary images, sanity questions, peek-a-boo startles and the usual are-they-real-or-not? characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    With its telegraphed twists and clunky pacing, the film would be unbearable were it not for the fine trio of Craig, Weisz and Naomi Watts, all more or less slumming.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Oct 1, 2011
    30
    The story unfolds briskly in the polished mode of a classic horror movie, then tanks after a plot twist at the midpoint alters the mood and slows the pace. Jim Sheridan (My Left Foot, In the Name of the Father) directed an ill-conceived screenplay that could have worked only as camp.
  7. 10
    The real problem is, when the film blindsides us with a mystery we didn't know existed, we're already too busy not caring about mystery we knew was there.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The fact that this movie tells you everything halfway makes it that much more compelling. It isn't a thriller in the sense of what is going toThe fact that this movie tells you everything halfway makes it that much more compelling. It isn't a thriller in the sense of what is going to happen to next but rather it allows you to believe that such a scenario could happen to anyone and they will have no clue. The character is the story. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I loved the movie, caught me since the beginning until the end of the movie. Don´t hear everything people will say. See forI loved the movie, caught me since the beginning until the end of the movie. Don´t hear everything people will say. See for yourself and make your own conclusions. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2016
    8
    Dream House is not the film it was advertised as, but beyond the wonky finale, reshoots, and strange editing there is an interesting tale toDream House is not the film it was advertised as, but beyond the wonky finale, reshoots, and strange editing there is an interesting tale to be told here.

    Watch this movie for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-24490d-Dream-House-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    5
    I expected more but it was still good. The actors were ok. It is predictable but i liked it. However if oyu want to watch it it's not thatI expected more but it was still good. The actors were ok. It is predictable but i liked it. However if oyu want to watch it it's not that bad. If you don't watch don't you wont lose a masterpiece Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2012
    4
    The film tells the story of an executive of a publishing house, who abandons his job to spend more time with his with family, moving into theThe film tells the story of an executive of a publishing house, who abandons his job to spend more time with his with family, moving into the house of his dreams ... he discovers there, after a few events, that five years before, there was a massacre inside the house. The performance of Rachel Weisz and Naomi Watts (especially) are the best of the film: Daniel Craig can give dramatic air in the later parts of the film, but in scenes that he show more emotion as a father (happy ones), the thing is a little awkward. The script is well written in the early suspense parts of the film, from the middle to the end, especially in the last one is weird, and rushed - the movie would have the potential to be a good movie, if he hadn't "lost his breath" and finished so abruptly, out of nowhere (and a brief scene with any connection to the main story appear at the beginning of it, to explain the end). Although I think it is a unpretentious distraction as a movie, with and a story a bit unusual. My score: 4.0 / 10.0. Collapse
  6. Mar 5, 2016
    4
    Despite a promising cast, Dream House falters due to a bland and generic narrative that becomes the film become less interesting than what itDespite a promising cast, Dream House falters due to a bland and generic narrative that becomes the film become less interesting than what it could have been. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    Not much in the way of redeeming qualities, Dream House is full of obvious plot twists, predictable dialogue, and miscast actors. I expectedNot much in the way of redeeming qualities, Dream House is full of obvious plot twists, predictable dialogue, and miscast actors. I expected so much more Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  5. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.