Dreamcatcher

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 86
  2. Negative: 26 out of 86

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JacobB.
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    How did my favorite Steven King book turn into this crap, the ending was a slap in the face?
  2. JustinS.
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    By far and away the worst experience of my life. 134 minutes just completely drained down the toilet, which according to this movie contains aliens that come and enter my ass. I have never been more irritated and unsatisfied as I was at the end of this movie. I went in thinking a movie starring Jason Lee, Morgan Freeman and Tom Sizemore based on a Stephen King would be a can't miss. By far and away the worst experience of my life. 134 minutes just completely drained down the toilet, which according to this movie contains aliens that come and enter my ass. I have never been more irritated and unsatisfied as I was at the end of this movie. I went in thinking a movie starring Jason Lee, Morgan Freeman and Tom Sizemore based on a Stephen King would be a can't miss. WRONG. In fact I have never been more wrong; the down syndrome/ alien Donnie Wahlberg angle was the most misconceived subplot I have ever seen in a movie and I saw Gigli and Longshot. I threw my remote at the TV after this and it literally ruined my whole day. If you are really considering seeing this movie call me first I will personally shove a snake up your rearend and kick you in the family jewels while I tell you your were supposed to be an abortion and your parents feel they made the wrong decision. I am putting everyone that had anything to do with this movie on a temporary timeout. Expand
  3. AdamR.
    Nov 28, 2004
    0
    I would rather eat broken glass than watch this again.
  4. JeremyB
    Apr 16, 2008
    0
    Quite possibly the worst movie ever made!
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    1
    Recommended only to those few sadistic people who enjoy watching aliens pop out of butt-holes and bite off human genitalia, complemented by poorly animated martians with british accents. Artistically bankrupt. Pathetic acting. Avoid at all costs.
  6. JimmyA.
    Apr 20, 2003
    0
    The trailers for "Dreamcatcher" want you to believe that it's a psychological thriller combined with science fiction aliens. The movie is, sadly, not the case. "Dreamcatcher" is not a "Signs". It is a spectacle of vomiting proprotions...[Potential spoiler deleted]. Not only that, it is a poor adaptation full of cliches and pathetic acting. The military aspect of the movie was The trailers for "Dreamcatcher" want you to believe that it's a psychological thriller combined with science fiction aliens. The movie is, sadly, not the case. "Dreamcatcher" is not a "Signs". It is a spectacle of vomiting proprotions...[Potential spoiler deleted]. Not only that, it is a poor adaptation full of cliches and pathetic acting. The military aspect of the movie was emphasised on too much and I found the storyline about the Down-syndrome kid a bit disturbing. Expand
  7. EricC.
    Apr 6, 2003
    2
    The only reason to see this movie is to watch the Animatrix short (which was alright.) I stuck around for about 30 minutes of this movie, but I couldn't stand the stupidity of the script. How many ways can you adjust the f-word anyway? This film had some terrible acting from actors who looked pretty good. Dreamcatcher lost me twenty minutes into the story, and I don't want to The only reason to see this movie is to watch the Animatrix short (which was alright.) I stuck around for about 30 minutes of this movie, but I couldn't stand the stupidity of the script. How many ways can you adjust the f-word anyway? This film had some terrible acting from actors who looked pretty good. Dreamcatcher lost me twenty minutes into the story, and I don't want to figure it out anyway. (And no one complained about Lord of the Rings because it was GOOD.) Expand
  8. JonB.
    Sep 30, 2003
    1
    Quite possibly the worst movie, I have ever seen in the theater. A promising start but the movie falls apart on every level after about a half hour.
  9. fg
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    This film works FAR better as a book. They should have never adapted it for the screen. Many of the inner voice dialouges that worked so well in the novel just don't work in a movie like they were meant to be, and the movie often feels like a bad joke. Along with horrible acting, storytelling and plot development, Dreamcatcher is also horrible at entertaining the viewer. The CGI was This film works FAR better as a book. They should have never adapted it for the screen. Many of the inner voice dialouges that worked so well in the novel just don't work in a movie like they were meant to be, and the movie often feels like a bad joke. Along with horrible acting, storytelling and plot development, Dreamcatcher is also horrible at entertaining the viewer. The CGI was overbearingly fake looking and the awful performances from the usually decent actors did nothing to rectify it. Two thumbs WAAAAYYYY down! The only reason i gave it a 1 is because my sister and I got SUCH a laugh out of this bad film that it was at least worth viewing once. Expand
  10. HereComesGilbertMulroneycakes
    Mar 29, 2003
    3
    Aw, nuts. And it looked like it was going to be great from the previews. It starts off pretty good, but degenerates into a chase-the-monster movie. And not a very good one. I hope Damian Lewis finds something great, and soon, because he's a very fab actor. And so's Freeman. Find something better to do, both of you, before you die.
  11. Sleepingwithghosts
    Apr 18, 2003
    2
    As bad as "Jeepers Creepers" and "Urban Legends Final Cut". King surely had diarrhoea after watching this film.
  12. LuisR.
    Apr 18, 2003
    0
    This movie is silly, incoherent, and a complete insult to the intelligent viewer. Not to blame Kasdan and Goldman alone, King also deserves recognition for having written such an awful book, which inspired a ridiculous script and consequently a horrible movie. Going from humour to 'horror,' this is a movie that expects the audience to laugh at crude fart jokes, and be scared at This movie is silly, incoherent, and a complete insult to the intelligent viewer. Not to blame Kasdan and Goldman alone, King also deserves recognition for having written such an awful book, which inspired a ridiculous script and consequently a horrible movie. Going from humour to 'horror,' this is a movie that expects the audience to laugh at crude fart jokes, and be scared at aliens that burst from our asses. Despite the good performances by the actors, this movie cannot be saved from the awful script it has. Expand
  13. MarkM.
    Mar 22, 2003
    0
    Despite being penned by William Goldman and directed by Lawrence Kasdan, Dreamcatcher is, perhaps, one of the worst films ever made. After the first twenty minutes, the story derails into a frenzied, disconnected series of all-but-random scenes. Something happens with slug-like aliens, a red fungus, a military operation, a crashed spaceship, and a quartet of immature life-long friends ... Despite being penned by William Goldman and directed by Lawrence Kasdan, Dreamcatcher is, perhaps, one of the worst films ever made. After the first twenty minutes, the story derails into a frenzied, disconnected series of all-but-random scenes. Something happens with slug-like aliens, a red fungus, a military operation, a crashed spaceship, and a quartet of immature life-long friends ... but nothing worth watching, and certainly nothing worth paying for. These are mucked together with every cliche from every Stephen King novel ever written, from the small group of psychic friends in IT to The Mentally Disadvantaged Man Who Saves the World from The Stand. Not even Morgan Freeman, who must be slumming around in this stinker as a way of paying off the mortgage on his Cleveland, MS, restaurant, Madidi, can drag a shred of narrative coherency from this turgid wreck ... so he spends the better part of the last of the film waggling a bad pair of fake gray eyebrows, pounding down liquor, and gunning folk down with helicopter-mounted machine guns. Add to this King's penchant for stilted, juvenile dialogue ("Scooby-dooby-doo, we got some work to do," our hero sighs, barely able to keep a straight face) and over-the-top sentimentalism (as she sends her retarded son off to, well, save the world, his mother whispers, "You go save the world, baby."), and you get a movie that's about as enticing as two hours at the oral surgeon's office. How ... how ... how do movies like this get made? I'll never doubt MetaCritic again. Expand
  14. MikeM.
    Mar 27, 2003
    2
    The only reason this movie got a 2 is because the Matrix short was before it. Good cast and bad script amount toa horrible movie. King must have really been on medication when he wrote the book because its a mish mash of crappy scenes that dont amount to anything scary or entertaining.
  15. JonathanP.
    Mar 27, 2003
    1
    Quite honestly the worst movie I've ever had the displeasure of viewing. Not only is the whole thing just an utterly painful experience to watch, it's entirely too long and needed to have about 45 minutes of its length trimmed. Avoid at ALL COSTS.
  16. Sam
    Mar 16, 2004
    0
    It was dull and bad. And it didn't make any sense.
  17. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sci-Fi / Horror genere has been always my favorite so naturally i'll try to get involved into it. Idea of movie was all i could desire but it wasn't perfect tough. Needless to say i enojyed watching it. I wasnt really happy with the cast plus characters were dull and boring but they did their job. I wasnt really satisfied with the enviroment either, there was nothing but snow so it was also dull and boring. Story was great in the other hand. With more effort and bigger budget this movie would have been awesome. Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    I think roughly 99% of the people that watched this movie did so to catch the 10 minute Animatrix movie before hand. Dreamcatcher was terrible. Morgan Freeman's eyebrows almost poked my eyes out.

    I did learn that you develop an English accent after having your body taken over by an alien. That was interesting.
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 38
  2. Negative: 16 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    30
    Overlong and unwieldy grab-bag of vintage monster-movie elements starts intriguingly as a snowbound deep-woods chiller, but gradually dissolves into a mess of other-worldly invasion and military counter-offensive.
  2. 20
    Perhaps due to the talent of everyone involved, Dreamcatcher moves with an oddly exhilarating awfulness that sets it apart from more run-of-the-mill horror films, which lack the imagination and budget to be so thoroughly misconceived.
  3. 40
    A really illogical and silly movie.