DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 15, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 258 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
176
Mixed:
44
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
michaelinpersonDec 14, 2016
An expressive film supported by its outstanding actress Jennifer Hudson clearly magnifies an important part to her role. An accurate depiction of realistic cruelty, betrayal, sadness, selfishness, and etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMar 4, 2016
Dreamgirls is fantastic. A realistic portrayal of the music industry and the struggle faced by up-and-coming musicians, the film's an authentic feeling film with phenomenal musical numbers. Dreamgirls plays out like any musical should with aDreamgirls is fantastic. A realistic portrayal of the music industry and the struggle faced by up-and-coming musicians, the film's an authentic feeling film with phenomenal musical numbers. Dreamgirls plays out like any musical should with a decent plot and fantastic music, except what elevates it is the absolutely phenomenal performances from Jamie Foxx, Beyonce, Eddie Murphy, and Jennifer Hudson. Wow, they are all phenomenal and Hudson in particular is radiant in her role here. The direction from Bill Condon is fantastic and helps the film as a whole with its seamless and fast pace. While the plot is a little typical, I enjoyed the fresh take on music and R&B, as well as the personal struggles of the actors enough. Personally, I preferred this to Chicago, because the performances and plot are both improvements, as well as better music (though Chicago is strong across all of those as well). Dreamgirls is a lively, enjoyable musical that has fantastic set pieces, fantastic acting, and magnificent music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
What to expect with Dreamgirls is that Eddie Murphy's in it which means he's not in his comedic side for now until his next film comes around in 2007 where it's so horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
thefishslapFeb 20, 2015
Too many rich black people for me to understand what was going on.....................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
It takes substantial blood, sweat and tears to turn a successful Broadway musical into a successful Hollywood masterpiece. Dreamgirls is one of the lucky ones - you can thank Bill Condon, Beyoncé Knowles and Jennifer Hudson for starters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJJun 22, 2014
Superb soundtrack! Amazing vocals! Great acting! Inspiring story! I am really impressed and would difenitely watch it again! 8/10 is my final score!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
A very good film. A bit overrated in my opinion because 8 Academy Award nominations is very generous. However this film delivers on all levels. Great performances all around, drama, brilliant cinematography, fantastic music....it's good. TheA very good film. A bit overrated in my opinion because 8 Academy Award nominations is very generous. However this film delivers on all levels. Great performances all around, drama, brilliant cinematography, fantastic music....it's good. The music is definitely the highlight of the film for me though, particularly because of Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson. They both give great performances musically and theatrically. A very good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
This was a dazzling movie. I was seriously impressed with all the music and acting....that includes Beyonce. It was quite a spectacle and was very stylishly and artistically done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerMay 15, 2012
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
liamconnorJan 21, 2012
this is an amazing musical. yes it has its problems, but it has its amazingness. Jennifer Hudson's performance is the best out of the lot. she sang her best and acted pretty well. eddie murphy did well, a unique and different role for him, tothis is an amazing musical. yes it has its problems, but it has its amazingness. Jennifer Hudson's performance is the best out of the lot. she sang her best and acted pretty well. eddie murphy did well, a unique and different role for him, to me jamie foxx and beyonce were the least satisfactory in the film. he could have really been the guy u want to punch, but he wasnt, beyonce was. her want to have the spotlight shone when she sang listen, it was her try at trying to take the spotlight from jennifer. you can't beyonce, she out sand and acted you, deal with it. great musical, good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
myselfandIOct 24, 2007
The worst biopic I've ever seen. Actually, I only liked the costumes. They said it tries to tell the Supremes' story!!!! I don't think so. The music is NOT motown sound at all, it's Beyonce's sound instead; and there The worst biopic I've ever seen. Actually, I only liked the costumes. They said it tries to tell the Supremes' story!!!! I don't think so. The music is NOT motown sound at all, it's Beyonce's sound instead; and there are too many stupid songs which are good and with good voices. But it is not motown, and people who really like 60's and soul music know that. Was it really so expensive to pay Motown for royalties? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeeR.Sep 8, 2007
Loved it, loved it, loved it. trying to find dress or pattern for dress Jennifer wore when performing "I am Changing". Where?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethM.Aug 19, 2007
My favorite movie it made me cry but it was worth it and is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Jun 26, 2007
An only mediocre stage musical has been turned into a considerably better film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RedlightJun 5, 2007
I really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent herI really loved it, even though it has sugarcoated what actually happened in real life and has an uber-happy ending that didn't occur in real life. In real life, Florence Ballard (who Effie White (Jennifer Hudson) represents) spent her last years living in poverty before she died of coronary thrombosis. also before the supremes achieved mega stardom, she was raped at knifepoint by a friend of her brother's. Tragic. Apparently, Diana Ross (who Deena Jones (Beyonce) obviously represents) offered her help financially but I don't know if there's anything concrete to suggest that being true. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
WilliamW.May 27, 2007
The music and acting were good but the plot, script writing was terrible. I feel like I just wasted two hours of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Amazing, excellent movie musical with Beyonce, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx and ex-american idol Jennifer Hudson. Strong and deeply touching performance, cool soundtrack. The movie definetely should have got an oscar (Jennifer Hudson got only Amazing, excellent movie musical with Beyonce, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx and ex-american idol Jennifer Hudson. Strong and deeply touching performance, cool soundtrack. The movie definetely should have got an oscar (Jennifer Hudson got only the best supporting actress). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ConnieG.May 9, 2007
Bad acting and bad music. Would have been a little better if they used the real songs done by the Supremes. Should have left the idea of a musical on broadway. I thought I was going to be watching a movie. Don't waste your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 5, 2007
One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. I felt this movie. The singing was speakin volumes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LenR.May 5, 2007
Great performances with otherwise mundane music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinG.Apr 15, 2007
A black movie made for a white audience. Souless, corny, bad songs while lip singing. People who gave this a 10 have absolutely no taste. I lasted one hour because I plugged my ears most of the time. This was pure torture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamMar 19, 2007
Despite the rather dull middle-section, the movie flows on at a steady pace and Ms. Hudson's performance requires a standing ovation, much like what happened at most of the movie theaters across the country.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JB.Mar 14, 2007
Great job Jennifer Hudson--bad script. I thought I would get my life back at the end of the Billy Holiday song. but noooooo like 8 more songs after that with "shaft music". Alot of the lights and props and computer graphics looked to be from Great job Jennifer Hudson--bad script. I thought I would get my life back at the end of the Billy Holiday song. but noooooo like 8 more songs after that with "shaft music". Alot of the lights and props and computer graphics looked to be from 2000 also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
A film that was way too constrained by its theatrical origins. Unlike just about everyone else, I thought the music was sort of OK (not brilliant, but acceptable Motown pastiche) and that Jennifer Hudson overacted and oversang a bit. I got A film that was way too constrained by its theatrical origins. Unlike just about everyone else, I thought the music was sort of OK (not brilliant, but acceptable Motown pastiche) and that Jennifer Hudson overacted and oversang a bit. I got well and truly sick of the Aretha affectations when Jennifer got dumped from the group, that's for sure. In fact, I ended up with a lot of sympathy for the others kicking her out. She was a pain, even if she could belt out a few blues and gospel tones - especially in the early numbers. We also learn that Jamie Foxx can't sing, and to compound the error he sort of missed the point in his role as well, which was somewhat disappointing. Eddie Murphy was good though. Overall the film ran out of steam at just about the same stage that Motown did in real life (mid 70's). And the Diana Ross character came out of it somewhat more sympathetically than any of us might ever have expected. But that's showbiz - and Motown was all about showbiz, rather than soul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VeraR.Mar 10, 2007
Thoroughly enjoyed it! I love musicals, I love music, I love singing ... therefore I enjoyed the movie. The cast was great. Eddie Murphy was great in his role, cannot believe it is Jennifer Hudson's first acting role. I enjoyed the story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DagnyD.Mar 8, 2007
Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Despite minor flaws (too long production numbers, Deena character wanting low life role instead of Black Cleopatra) the cast was robbed of the best movie Oscar it deserved to be nominated for (instead of "Little Miss Sunshine"). Foxx, Murphy, Beyonce, Rose, all deserved best supporting actor noms. Hudson deserved Best Actress nomination but would have lost to Helen Mirren, so I'm thriled for her well deserved Best Supporting Actress Oscar. "Dream Girls" now ties with my all-time favorite musical, "Chicago". My vote is actually a 9.8, for almost a masterpiece, but definitely a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyLCMar 4, 2007
This movie was disappointing. The original music was poor. Why not spend money and use Supremes songs? I dislike the conversations that were done in song. Hudson was the biggest disappointment. Her singing was actually screaming. Very unpleasant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PaulD.Feb 24, 2007
The music was neither remarkable nor authentic; the characters were poorly developed; the direction and writing was somehow sloppy. The casting and acting was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanC.Feb 21, 2007
Some good performances, but the music is extremely weak. It's hard to buy into the emotion of the story when it's premised on the incredible power of the music of Motown, but fails utterly to capture that music. For more than a few Some good performances, but the music is extremely weak. It's hard to buy into the emotion of the story when it's premised on the incredible power of the music of Motown, but fails utterly to capture that music. For more than a few numbers, I couldn't wait for the singing to stop. The story itself is not particularly compelling. Jennifer Hudson is certainly a standout, but the movie itself is anything but. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkBayerFeb 15, 2007
It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" It's sad that much of the current discussion involving this picture centers on how its snub in the Best Picture Oscar nominations indicates the end of the overly agressive, "we'll tell you what the best film is, it's ours" approach to Academy Award promotions and campaigning. While it's comforting (if ultimately self-defeating) to believe that modern-day equivalents of The Alamo, Cleopatra, Doctor Doolittle and The Towering Inferno no longer stand a chance in the top race, the truth in this case remains that occasionally the publicity machine turns out to be right, that the Academy's adolescent nose-thumbing in favor of movies with lower-key stealth campaigns resulted this year in honoring such unworthy contenders as the admittedly well-made but seemingly endless globe-trotting depress-o-thon and the likable but wildly overrated National Lampoon's Vacation clone, and that, except for United 93, Dreamgirls IS the best film of 2006. In fact, it's the best American nonanimated musical movie since Cabaret. (Not that there's been much real competition: Rent was clunky, The Producers clunkier, Moulin Rouge! plain obnoxious, Grease accurately labeled by Pauline Kael as a "klutzburger", and Chicago...well, more about that later.) Writer-director Bill Condon, adapting Tom Eyen's and Henry Krieger's Broadway hit roman a clef dealing with the rise of pop/ R&B girl group The Dreams (based of course on You-Know-Who and The You-Know-Whats, despite all the denials) brings the same incredible roller-coaster pacing and propulsion that made his 2005 film biography of Dr. Alfred C. Kinsey so powerful (OK, maybe this has a couple of montages too many, but why complain about too much of a good thing?) giving this movie not only an epic feel but also making it one of the fastest two-hours-plus I've ever spent in a theater. Jamie Foxx, as The Dreams' boundlessly unscrupulous manager, proves to be such an effectively despicable movie slimeball that I genuinely fear that his performance here will effectively limit some of his future choices of roles; Anika Noni Rose provides delightful comic relief as the "third" member; Beyonce Knowles as the cagily-promoted lead singer not only proves that she really CAN act (which The Pink Panther and Austin Powers in Goldmember certainly didn't) but her courage in allowing herself to be described in a certain way at a key moment is, in light of her ongoing musical success, remarkably admirable. Oscar DID get the movie's two acting nods right: Eddie Murphy, as the record label's brilliant but mercurial and immature male star, displays depths of talent and versatility that all the Norbits and Pluto Nashes in the world can't erase. And Jennifer Hudson, as The dreams' rightful lead singer, who's unjustly shunted aside for (to put it crudely but frankly) being too fat and singing too Black, is a force of nature whose power isn't at all limited to her breathtaking, already legendary rendition of "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going"; the hugely emotional and demonstrative response she received from the mostly White patrons at my showing indicates that this is a performance whose richness cuts across all racial barriers. Dreamgirls' abrupt, mid-movie shift from being an "organic; movie musical (in which the characters only sing in situations that would realistically call for it) to a traditional one (in which they burst into song at any given moment) has been the source of much criticism but to me is one of its greatest strengths: after the Condon-written Chicago's gambit of hedging its bets by placing all the musical numbers "inside Roxie's head" it's a joy to watch a musical that proudly and fearlessly admits it IS one. And while it's fun to identify all the real-life musical references (James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Donna Summer and even Jim Morrison among many others are catalogued) Dreamgirls also provides the sobering reminder of a truth that we pop culture fans so often forget: thar every successful record, movie, TV show or other endeavor is the result of somebody getting hurt or excluded. 2006 has seen a lot of mainstream advocacy filmmaking, but most of it has consisted in my case of preaching to the choir: I don't drive a car or buy jewelry so An Inconvenient Truth and Blood Diamond caused me to change very little of my behavior because I was already doing what they wanted. But Dreamgirls, because of its power and passion (and in particular that of Murphy's and Hudson's work) has gotten me to make one very significant change: since seeing it I've been listening to my Motown anthologies a little bit less and my Stax compilations quite a bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelB.Feb 11, 2007
One of the best singing movies. Jennifer Hudson, what a singer. I would like to highlight Eddy' Murphy's role, amazing. Should be seen on a wide screen - home theatre. Bravo - more - more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NadieFeb 11, 2007
It started as a drama and ended as a musical. It started with one leading actress and ended with Beyonce. Looks like they change the director in the middle of the shooting. Some of the songs are really too long!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoseO.Feb 9, 2007
It has its flaws, yes but it still compelling and well acted. Hudson is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieW.Feb 8, 2007
In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When In the current trend of movie producing, directing, editing, etc., Dreamgirls hits the mark when viewed in regards to each teamplayer to create this tremendously fast moving epic of the world of show business in its respective setting. When one mind is opened you cannot help not to give credits to all of those in the finalization of this excellent movie. One thing that I want put out is the work of Fatima Robinson. In spite of the tremendous challenge that she has faced in this business her personal challenges have been a catalyst in how if your "Dream" and stay focus, you can still overcome life's tragedies. After all, saying goodbye a close friend on a shoot and next finding out that she has perished in a airplane crash is no words to describe. Fatima is a trojan. The chorography, particulary, "Steppin' To The Bad Side", et al., capped the success of the movie. It has been such an inspiration to me that I had to learn how to use my computer to make sure that my words were set out. The hard work, the focus, the love of the business makes me love Debbie Allen and her work in this field, along with Michael Bennett and the other choreographers that have been overlooked. Fatima Robinson certainly deserves more attention for her fine work from past to present. "Get At Me, Girl". I'm crusading for the choreographers, since everybody loves dancing. Let's do something about this overlook category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.Feb 7, 2007
Loved the movie and the music. Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson are worth the price of admission.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FloRFeb 5, 2007
The main reason I gave it an 8 is because of the awesome performance by Jenifer Hudson & Eddie Murphy. Without her presence this film would have been a flop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeannieFeb 4, 2007
An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was An over-long movie worth seeing if you can tolerate continuous high-energy loud singing of mediocre music. Kudos to Ms. Hudson, altho I agree her songs went on and on, and she hardly needed to screech so much. On American Idol that was Fantasia's forte, not Jennifer's. And her character, Effie, should have been allowed some softness and vulnerablitiy rather than a surfeit of puzzling touchiness and anger. We want to love Effie, empathize with her. Fascinating operatic-like segment when Effie is replaced in the trio--each character sings their lines in the American idiom rather than Italian, etc. Wow. "Tour de force" comes to mind. Eddie Murphy's slimy character is made memorable by his shocking downfall, an unexpected collapse of a life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaHFeb 4, 2007
Best movie I have seen for a long time. Fanastic performance by Jennifer Hudson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobinT.Jan 28, 2007
Very good musical. Needs about 15 minutes edited out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyM.Jan 27, 2007
This move was the best I ever saw ! All of the actors and actresses were great! I don't know how people could not like this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
Based on the Broadway musical that loosely tells the story of the Supremes, this fast-paced, glitzy, Hollywood production features wonderful performances by Beyonce Knowles, Eddie Murphy, Jamie Foxx, Danny Glover, and newcomer Jennifer Hudson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanF.Jan 27, 2007
It was way to long! The scenes where Hudson was belting here lungs out were too long, the love scenes were too long!! Long long long long long!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MicheleC.Jan 26, 2007
The movie was uneven in many spots and the ending contrived, but I enjoyed the movie for the most part. Jennifer Hudson's voice and Beyonce Knowles' beauty alone make this a must see film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KimC.Jan 24, 2007
Too much pre-hype. Major let down. Hudson is great and deserves all the attention she is receiving. When she isn't on screen the film becomes long and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeC.Jan 22, 2007
Why the critics like this movie is beyond me... Went with my wife and daughter, we all wanted to leave about 1 hour into the movie. This 2 hour movie seems more like 5 hours. Music sounds like they are singing the same song, over & over & over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MecheleC.Jan 21, 2007
A lot of people are putting Beyonce down just because Jennifer Hudson blew her out the waters. She did a great job just like everyone else in the movie did a terrific job. Every single person in the movie pulled it all together doing the A lot of people are putting Beyonce down just because Jennifer Hudson blew her out the waters. She did a great job just like everyone else in the movie did a terrific job. Every single person in the movie pulled it all together doing the best that they could do to make this movie THE BEST MOVIE IN 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JossalynnM.Jan 21, 2007
This movie was phenomenal! I enjoyed every actor's performance, however, I thought Jennifer Hudson's performance was stellar. I am impressed with her acting as well as her powerhouse singing and look forward to seeing more of her This movie was phenomenal! I enjoyed every actor's performance, however, I thought Jennifer Hudson's performance was stellar. I am impressed with her acting as well as her powerhouse singing and look forward to seeing more of her on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NancyH.Jan 21, 2007
The razzle dazzle is all in the trailers, and the movie doesnt do that great a job with filling it in between. Jennifer Hudson is impressive for a new comer but sometimes she hesitates her 'divaness' and it seems like she falls out The razzle dazzle is all in the trailers, and the movie doesnt do that great a job with filling it in between. Jennifer Hudson is impressive for a new comer but sometimes she hesitates her 'divaness' and it seems like she falls out of character. Jaime Fox is terrible. Eddie Murphy is the real winner hear and well deserved Golden Globe honor. One thing that was jarring was a third into the movie, the individual actors break into song (up until then we heard the songs from stage performance settings), weird. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Jan 21, 2007
In the end credits, after Jennifer Hudson is given her well-deserved props (her big number will make even straight men cry), Eddie Murphy should be specifically cited with the title "Re-introducing", because his performance as a David In the end credits, after Jennifer Hudson is given her well-deserved props (her big number will make even straight men cry), Eddie Murphy should be specifically cited with the title "Re-introducing", because his performance as a David Ruffin-type is equally show-stopping. Crappy movie ("The Haunted Mansion"); really crappy movies("Daddy Day Care"); dubious women ("It's a man, Eddie; it's a man!"), it never happened. "Dreamgirls" is a watershed moment for African-American cinema, and the best studio film of 2006. If you know your rock-and-roll history, it's all there; the Pat Boonization of rhythm-and-blues, the payola, and most insightful of all, the film perfectly captures how black artists tried to reach white America. My only bone to pick with this exemplary musical is that the artist Beyonce Knowles portrays probably wouldn't give a damn about stonewalling a friend's comeback. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeCJan 20, 2007
Excruciating. The songs are so terribly cheezy making the movie an utter cringe-fest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChipL.Jan 17, 2007
Watered down and middle of the road, with only Jennifer Hudson showing any true connection with the audience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KerryD.Jan 16, 2007
As a lover of soul and R&B for 40 years, this movie was a souless, pointless, gutless cliche from start to finish. How is it possible to have a musical without ONE GOOD SONG? I was ashamed for every actor in this piece of dreck. Save your As a lover of soul and R&B for 40 years, this movie was a souless, pointless, gutless cliche from start to finish. How is it possible to have a musical without ONE GOOD SONG? I was ashamed for every actor in this piece of dreck. Save your money and go out and buy Smokey Robinson and the Miracles greatest hits Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Jan 15, 2007
Absolutely miraculous entertainment. One of the best movie musicals in recent memory, "Dreamgirls" sends viewers on a fabulous roadtrip through the ups and downs of fame. Hudson is nothing less than spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KathleenO.Jan 15, 2007
I saw the cast on Oprah and it was not made clear to me that this was a musical. I don't like musicals and the movie was ruined for me when they sang when I really, really believed the words should have been said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
chriswichJan 13, 2007
Screamgirls is more like it. Could this film have been any more grating? Am I the only one who thought this was a complete disaster? The editing, lip-synching, score, and acting (except for Eddie Murphy, who was fabulous) were so so sub-par Screamgirls is more like it. Could this film have been any more grating? Am I the only one who thought this was a complete disaster? The editing, lip-synching, score, and acting (except for Eddie Murphy, who was fabulous) were so so sub-par as to be amateurish. The vocal chops were there, alright, but Beyonce is Beyonce is Beyonce, and Jennifer Hudson's diaphragm-crushing, foghorn shrieking nearly made my brain hemhorrage. I'm sorry, but this is not "acting". And since when is Jamie Foxx a boring actor? The songs were interchangeable and sounded like a white-washed broadway mock-up of Motown, the real-life drama of the Supremes was sugar-coated, and the darn thing JUST WOULDN'T END!! Has the world gone silly?? This thing is a train wreck! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MelissaM.Jan 13, 2007
I can't believe the hype. I thought the movie was slow and boring! Without Jennifer Hudson it would only have lasted a week in the thearter. I was watching my watch to see how much longer I had to suffer through the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EnriqueJan 12, 2007
Good performances and the movie has its moments, but becomes quite tedious after awhile. A real disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeonardP.Jan 11, 2007
A badly conceived film musical by a truly un-talented director. Bad costumes, bad art direction, bad songs. The only reason to see this is for Eddie Murphy and Jennifer Hudson who do their best .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
2roadsJan 10, 2007
The actors did the best they could with what they had to work with. . . but all in all it was desperately missing the Weinstein brothers' touch of excellence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevynS.Jan 9, 2007
I saw the Original Broadway Production back in the early eighties, and I never got the chills I did from Miss Hudson's Performance. Bravo Miss Hudson! Your Our Dreamgirl and your performance and voice have made you a Star! Kudos to I saw the Original Broadway Production back in the early eighties, and I never got the chills I did from Miss Hudson's Performance. Bravo Miss Hudson! Your Our Dreamgirl and your performance and voice have made you a Star! Kudos to Murphy, Knowles, and of course Mr. Foxx. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarryP.Jan 9, 2007
Uneven. When it's good, it's brilliant, but, it sags, largely because of the changes made to the original Broadway production. It could use a 20 minute cut. Oh yes, I thought Hudson's squallathon is surpassed by her renditon Uneven. When it's good, it's brilliant, but, it sags, largely because of the changes made to the original Broadway production. It could use a 20 minute cut. Oh yes, I thought Hudson's squallathon is surpassed by her renditon of "I'm Changing". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DonaldR.Jan 7, 2007
Jennifer Hudson has made her mark. Great. Eddie Murphy was terrific. Greater still. Beyonce Knowles channelled Diana Ross. Ho hum. The others did well and served their roles accordingly. But the film as a whole, despite being handsomely Jennifer Hudson has made her mark. Great. Eddie Murphy was terrific. Greater still. Beyonce Knowles channelled Diana Ross. Ho hum. The others did well and served their roles accordingly. But the film as a whole, despite being handsomely produced and attended, was bloated, full of wind and repitition, and the characters never really came to life. Some of it dazzled but after awhile all the glizt proved to be boring. By the time Loretta Devine started singing, I wanted to scream at the screen "ENOUGH ALREADY...JUST LET THIS FILM END!" Really tedious. The stage version was quick, fast, riveting and after what Condon did with CHICAGO I expected more. A lot more. I was very disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
scottsJan 7, 2007
Stunningly mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandallRomsdahlJan 5, 2007
This is a magnificent movie music, African American opera with amazing music, and fine acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YolandaP.Jan 4, 2007
For there to be two new actress in this movie, one would never be able to tell. All of the cast did a wonderful job, but Beyonce and Jennifer were outstanding for them not to have all of the acting years and ability as the others. Bravo, Bravo
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToeSJan 4, 2007
The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie The most exciting, enthralling first hour I've experienced in a long time in a movie that isn't a Lord of the Rings or James Bond type of film. Some of the songs rocked but most were boring, but isn't that the point? Jamie Foxx's character stripped the soul from R&B to make it Pat Boone marketable. The movie would suffer if a post-Effie Dreamettes or post-sellout Earley sounded awesome. A risky move, but I appreciate the committment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AngelydaCECEJan 3, 2007
I was so excited to finally be able to see the film today. I went to see it with an open mind even when I was doubtful with Beyonce in the cast. Beyonce has definitely improved with her acting, BUT and that is a big BUT..she still has a long I was so excited to finally be able to see the film today. I went to see it with an open mind even when I was doubtful with Beyonce in the cast. Beyonce has definitely improved with her acting, BUT and that is a big BUT..she still has a long long way to go. I just can't see her as the Diana Ross-like character..I kept seeing Beyonce and not Deena. Great actors can make you forget who they really are like Eddie Murphy, I forgot he was Eddie Murphy!! When she sings, it was Beyonce not the character Deena, who was supposed to have weak vocals that catered to white audiences but Beyonce was oversinging in some of the songs especially Listen. If it wasn't for Jennifer Hudson's I'm telling You I'm Not Going and One Night Only, I would've rated lower. Bad casting for Deena and Curtis character, not that Jamie was bad, it wasn't the right role for him. Everyone else was superb. And Jennifer Hudson is the lead character, not Beyonce, so why are they promoting the movie like she is lead????? Jennifer Hudson is supposed to be first on the flyers. I have to be honest, don't want to be mean, but Beyonce killed the movie for me, although I give her props for being able to give the spotlight to someone else for a change. Deena character was annoying in that the movie portrayed her as being so so nice with NO flaws and last time I checked, Divas aren't this nice. Lastly, Deena and the rest abandoned Effie, but when Deena and Effie finally met each other again after so many years, Effie was so so quick to forgive Deena. The director should've made this scene between the two a really dramatic one, but it didn't turn out that way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AquaBabeJan 3, 2007
Honestly..I went into this movie expecting to be swept off my feet, but that didn't happen. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves all the acclaim she's been getting and even more. The movie came alive with soul when she was on stage. Honestly..I went into this movie expecting to be swept off my feet, but that didn't happen. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves all the acclaim she's been getting and even more. The movie came alive with soul when she was on stage. Eddie Murphy was awesome. Jamie Foxx's lackluster performance definitely did not match Ray. Then the almighty Beyonce. Damnnnn the girl should stick to singing, and by that I mean singing off screen. Her performance was painful...she was acting while trying to act. Jennifer Hudson definitely has stage presence...love love her now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveAJan 3, 2007
I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great I loved the movie for the first half, when it was a drama about music. Then, towards the middle, it turned into a musical, and the movie lost steam for me. The last half was also long and seemed to meander some. Hudson gave a great performance, but I thought her character was unpleasant (she just seemed like a bully to me). Everyone else in the movie did well, also. I'm hoping this isn't Beyonce's Evita. Despite crappy acting in the past, she shows a lot of growth and potential in this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewC.Jan 2, 2007
Jennifer Hudson--Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. I have seen this movie and only this movie four times in eight days at the theater and I'm sixty-one years old. Bill Condon is a top-notch director and screenwriter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BK.Jan 2, 2007
Best movie I've seen in awhile... strong performances across the board, particularly by Hudson. If it didn't fall into the Musical category, it would be a real contender for Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimGDec 31, 2006
Very enjoyable film. Hudson's vocal performances are great, but her acting has been way overrated. And in here singing performance, her gestures seem forced and incongruous as she goes to dramatic too early. The orchestrations here Very enjoyable film. Hudson's vocal performances are great, but her acting has been way overrated. And in here singing performance, her gestures seem forced and incongruous as she goes to dramatic too early. The orchestrations here unfortunately are overproduced, presumably to make the soundtrack sound unified, but it would have been nice to hear orchestrations appropriate to respective venues (how about the detroit theater sound in the detroit theater, rather than a full blast overproduced broadway sound). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulL.Dec 31, 2006
Surprisingly, it was better than I thought it would be, but also left a bit to be desired. I thought the pacing was off. In the second half of the film, it was almost every moment was going to break out into song. Was this suppose to be a Surprisingly, it was better than I thought it would be, but also left a bit to be desired. I thought the pacing was off. In the second half of the film, it was almost every moment was going to break out into song. Was this suppose to be a musical about the emergence of Motown? Or just about these girls? Or was it a spoof/satire of Motown/music industry? Wasn't sure. Nevertheless, it is entertaining and my foot was keeping pace with the beat of the music. But one note, in particular: If you pay close attention, the so-called musicians in the film don't know how to hold their instruments. That's rather embarrassing for a so-called musical being hailed by critics as one of the best musicals of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CynthiaF.Dec 30, 2006
Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy were exceptional in Dreamgirls! Beyonce was really good; Keith Robinson was excellent; Jamie Foxx was really great! The entire movie was nicely done; I have seen the movie twice already and purchased the Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy were exceptional in Dreamgirls! Beyonce was really good; Keith Robinson was excellent; Jamie Foxx was really great! The entire movie was nicely done; I have seen the movie twice already and purchased the soundtrack. I plan on seeing the movie one more time, which is very unusual for me...the movie is just that outstanding!! I rate it 10 Stars!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeM.Dec 30, 2006
I have NEVER been to a movie where everyone clapped so much! It was so much fun and a great movie. It's remarkable to watch a star being born in front of your eyes (Jennifer Hudson). MUST SEE!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigM.Dec 30, 2006
It is absolutely amazing, a transcendental experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SpongeeeDec 30, 2006
Average film. Lots of info to tell but reallly never tells anything. Good songs, Hudson is strong, but overall, could have been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieCDec 29, 2006
I was prepared not to like it. I was prepared for it to be mediocre. But honestly, I was mesmerized. Jennifer Hudson is that good. Her voice pierces your soul. and while it's Jennifer's move, proper acknowlegement must be given to I was prepared not to like it. I was prepared for it to be mediocre. But honestly, I was mesmerized. Jennifer Hudson is that good. Her voice pierces your soul. and while it's Jennifer's move, proper acknowlegement must be given to Eddie and yes, even Jamie. I think she's a great entertainer, but Beyonce is no actress. Everyone should see dreamgirls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvetteT.Dec 29, 2006
Anyone who does not agree that Dreamgirls is an excellent movie is not a true movie buff. They probably sit home and watch bootleg movies. Jennifer Hudson is fantastic as Effie, and the all star cast gets their props for their part in Anyone who does not agree that Dreamgirls is an excellent movie is not a true movie buff. They probably sit home and watch bootleg movies. Jennifer Hudson is fantastic as Effie, and the all star cast gets their props for their part in creating such a great movie from the actors to the director, producers and all involved. Excellent. Siimply excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JudyT.Dec 29, 2006
Jennifer Hudson is great. You go girl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraQ.Dec 29, 2006
The performers, the sets, the costumes, the times - all brought back to life for me the days of Motown in its glory, and in its pain. As a white girl growing up 5 miles from the epicenter of the burning city during the '67 riots, I The performers, the sets, the costumes, the times - all brought back to life for me the days of Motown in its glory, and in its pain. As a white girl growing up 5 miles from the epicenter of the burning city during the '67 riots, I experienced all of the pleasure of Motown Records, and very little of the pain that inspired that violent revolutionary time. It is gratifying to see the actors in this movie given all of the juicy roles and the showcase for their tremendous talents. Jennifer Hudson was all heart and kept the story real, even in all of its Hollywood production. Haven't enjoyed a movie this much in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanC.Dec 29, 2006
Best movie musical since Moulin Rouge! It's technically not as polished as Chicago, but it's ten notches higher on entertainment value and pure fabulousness! Jennifer Hudson sizzles in a stand-ovation performance. I don't Best movie musical since Moulin Rouge! It's technically not as polished as Chicago, but it's ten notches higher on entertainment value and pure fabulousness! Jennifer Hudson sizzles in a stand-ovation performance. I don't remember the last time I was at the movies and saw people actually applauding mid-movie! It was nuts! I knew this girl wasn't done when she got eliminated on American Idol. Eddie Murphy was also fantastic in probably his best performance of his career. And to the person who said a "77" score is a "racist C+", stop throwing the race card out at everything. "77" is considered a very good Meta Critic score. It's more equivalent to a B+ or A- if you're talking grades, if you consider the fact that there are only a few movies that get higher than 90. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SoniaFDec 29, 2006
This movie is absoulutely terrific, I'm not really a movie going fan, but I will be back in the theatre to see this movie second time. Jennifer Hudson deserves to win the best supporting actress award for this part. She is amazing, go This movie is absoulutely terrific, I'm not really a movie going fan, but I will be back in the theatre to see this movie second time. Jennifer Hudson deserves to win the best supporting actress award for this part. She is amazing, go see the movie. And Eddie Murphy amazing, great perfomance a wonderful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
hollycDec 29, 2006
Wow, what a disappointment this movie was--overhyped to say the least. I've never seen the musical--or heard the soundtrack---but from the way the reviews here look, it seems fans of the broadway musical might like this film. But, to Wow, what a disappointment this movie was--overhyped to say the least. I've never seen the musical--or heard the soundtrack---but from the way the reviews here look, it seems fans of the broadway musical might like this film. But, to me-- as a film on its own merits, it's really sort of lost (and horribly long). The dialogue is terrible--and sort of awkward in a lot of places--same as a good portion of the songs. From the pre-movie hype, I thought Jaime Fox & Beyonce were the main focus in the movie--but neither characters were really. Jennifer Hudson was easily the best part of the film--and the main focus (her character Effie). The "Oscar buzz" surrounding this movie is laughable at best--or just good marketing. Its really odd to see how much went into overhyping this movie given how shoddy it is. I hope at least Jennifer Hudson gets more work after it--she is really the only good thing about it. Wait for DVD, unless you loved the musical, Dreamgirls is (paola) overhype at its worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisFDec 29, 2006
Amazing cast, amazing voals, amazing sets, jennifer hudson amazing...well worth the $10 ticket! GO SEE DREAMGIRLS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianFDec 29, 2006
If you like movie musicals, you'll love it. If you don't, it probably won't convert you. That said, Jennifer Hudson's performance is absolutely a must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EDDec 29, 2006
WOW!! The music on this movie is amazing!! Jennifer Hudson takes the rug right out from under Beyonce. SHE IS AMAZING! i have never seen an audience give a standing O DURING the movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J.G.Dec 28, 2006
Everyone except for Jamie Fox stepped up their game for this movie. Yes even Beyonce. Forget her attempts before to being a good character actress which she failed miserably. This movie she takes her time and stretches the emotions for our Everyone except for Jamie Fox stepped up their game for this movie. Yes even Beyonce. Forget her attempts before to being a good character actress which she failed miserably. This movie she takes her time and stretches the emotions for our viewing pleasure. Though, Beyonce got top billing in this movie. Jennifer Hudson is the movie without her we would have screenshots and a video or two. Jennifer's acting debut leaves you with your chin on the floor and a tissue in your hand. Many wonderful singers have tried but no one absolutely no one has been able to match Jennifer Holiday's original recording "I'm not going" with the same passion and pain until this movie. Jennifer Hudson hit every note with the emotion this is her last breath and you will hear her. Bravo. Bravo. She deserves every complement, praise and high five. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
phylliss.Dec 28, 2006
Jennifer Hudson deserve all praise and more, Eddie Murphy is great. They are the best of the best. The rest are back-up for them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
keithb.Dec 28, 2006
At the risk of sounding racist, the music is so white it's laughable. It's a disgrace to Motown and everything they accomplished which you can still heard today all over the radio. Each and every song is so bland as to be instantly At the risk of sounding racist, the music is so white it's laughable. It's a disgrace to Motown and everything they accomplished which you can still heard today all over the radio. Each and every song is so bland as to be instantly forgettable. The lyrics are so simple I thought I was watching a high school production. It's also a blatant ripoff of the lives of the Supremes and Berry Gordy. Appalling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MightyMickDec 28, 2006
This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the This movie was absolutely breathtaking. The music, especially the songs delivered by Jennifer Hudson, stay with you and rock you at your core. Hudson unequivocallly steals the entuire show even from Beyonce, the great! I immediately saw the movie again the next day and as I found myself still singing the songs the following day, I rushed to a store last night for the soundtrack which my husband and I have already listened to multiple times. All of this since the movie opened this week! I cannot tell you how moved I was. Don't let racial stereotyping dissaude you from missing the movie event of the year. If you do, you will miss something great! MM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnL.Dec 27, 2006
Hudson was great. To Franklin C. - you must have been Barry Gordy in another life, complaining about Hudson's weight, stretch marks, blah, blah, blah. Missed the point entirely. Anyway, the audience was clapping at each of Hudson's Hudson was great. To Franklin C. - you must have been Barry Gordy in another life, complaining about Hudson's weight, stretch marks, blah, blah, blah. Missed the point entirely. Anyway, the audience was clapping at each of Hudson's performances - I haven't seen that kind of response since the opening concert scene of "Purple Rain". They stayed through the credits and clapped again when she came up. Fox's role was thin, as well as Beyonce's, beyond her solo performance which met with polite applause. But the *fact* that the audience clapped in a movie theater - a musical no less - proves the film, though not perfect, did move the audience in a way I haven't seen in a generation! We loved it. And we're only in our 30's! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MaxS.Dec 27, 2006
Overhyped and characters lacked their star power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrookeC.Dec 27, 2006
An absolute nightmare. Amateurish, bad acting and cliches abound in this bore-fest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyM.Dec 27, 2006
The movie was GREAT on all counts including the stellar performance of Jennifer Hudson
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NieceyG.Dec 27, 2006
This was an outstanding movie, Jennifer Hudson shine (can you believe she was voted off American Idol)? When she sung I am telling you, it brought tears to my eyes the theatre went wild. Beyonce was great pretty as usual, when she did her This was an outstanding movie, Jennifer Hudson shine (can you believe she was voted off American Idol)? When she sung I am telling you, it brought tears to my eyes the theatre went wild. Beyonce was great pretty as usual, when she did her solo I have never seen her do it with so much passion. Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy did there thing. This movie was truly worth the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KellyN.Dec 27, 2006
The musical score in this movie has outshone any other movie in recent years. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves recognition for her role and Eddie Murphy has tapped into the inner talent we all knew he had!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobC.Dec 26, 2006
The only good thing I can say about this movie is the costumes were good...other than that I want my 2 hrs of my life back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Dec 26, 2006
Dreamgirls is a big razzle-dazzle Broadway Musical that comes to the screen with a mega-million dollar budget and a roster of A-list stars, but lets get right to the point- this is Jennifer Hudson's movie from the second she opens her Dreamgirls is a big razzle-dazzle Broadway Musical that comes to the screen with a mega-million dollar budget and a roster of A-list stars, but lets get right to the point- this is Jennifer Hudson's movie from the second she opens her mouth and walks away with the whole thing. It is the most electrifying musical screen debut since Barbra Streisand belted out "I'm the Greatest Star" in Funny Girl and we knew she was! When Hudson sings "And I'm telling you I'm not going" we know right away that she is here to stay and she will be going to the podium of the Kodak Theatre to accept a most deserved Oscar for Best Supporting Actress in February. And I wouldn't be suprized if she is joined by Eddie Murphy, who gives a carreer defining performance as James "Thunder" Early. Dreamgirls is a near perfect movie musical with two, absolutely perfect, history making-standing ovation performances!! BRAVO to all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DantaW.Dec 26, 2006
Best musical in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful