Dredd

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 970 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 970

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 7, 2016
    6
    Yikes! Dredd got away with an universal acclaim user score. That's a bit too much, don't you think? I tried to enjoy it too because Dredd got an user score it never deserved in the first place, but it never worked anyways. It's just plainly okay.
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed the look and style of the film, but by the end I was beginning to become bored. Clearly better than the original even though that's not saying much. Overall it's not a bad watch, but nothing special.
  3. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    This movie has some good action and good special effects but I didn't care for Karl Urban playing Judge Dredd. It would've been nice to see a more well known actor playing this hero. I liked the effects that they showed for people that were on drugs. Dredd 2 is likely a possibility.
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    I was just bored by the better part of this film. Olivia Thirlby and the character they wrote for her are both terrific, and they save the film, but the lead actor and Lena Heady are wasted. There are just so many films similar in construction that are so much better. For some reason, I was thinking of Raid: The Redemption and Equilibrium at several points during the movie - both greatI was just bored by the better part of this film. Olivia Thirlby and the character they wrote for her are both terrific, and they save the film, but the lead actor and Lena Heady are wasted. There are just so many films similar in construction that are so much better. For some reason, I was thinking of Raid: The Redemption and Equilibrium at several points during the movie - both great films. I just have a feeling that standards for comic book flicks have been lowered so greatly over the last few years that anything decent will be fawned over. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    I have never read the comics so I can't judge Dredd from that perspective, no pun intended. I have seen the original film and now this one so I have judged both of them as stand alone movies. The original movie had a few main weaknesses and I thought this one addressed all of those. I thought the weaknesses of Stallone's Dredd were the lazy writing, the cheesy 1980's styling, and theI have never read the comics so I can't judge Dredd from that perspective, no pun intended. I have seen the original film and now this one so I have judged both of them as stand alone movies. The original movie had a few main weaknesses and I thought this one addressed all of those. I thought the weaknesses of Stallone's Dredd were the lazy writing, the cheesy 1980's styling, and the numerous plot holes. Karl Urban's Dredd kept the high entertainment value, well done action sequences, and unique setting that is Mega-City One and with the corrected flaws, you would think it would be a much better movie. Not so much. While it lost the cheesy 1980's effects, it replaced them with possibly worse made-for-3D cinematic effects that do nothing for the movie and only drag out a not-so-interesting plot. The gore factor was also a bit high. While I am never one to have any issues with violence or anything, I thought this movie was overdone and felt unnecessary. An analogy would be profane language versus a little teenage boy who feels like he has to use profanity to look cool. I don't have a problem with profanity but when it feels forced, it's just stupid. The overly graphic nature of some of the scenes in this film are like that. They felt forced at times and took away from the movie. The plot is also very, VERY different from the original. Essentially they kept the setting and the protagonist and stripped everything else away and just expanded upon the initial sequence from the first film enough to make an entire movie out of it. While I think they did a good job with it, the oversimplified approach wasn't entirely engaging. Urban and Olivia Thirlby do a solid job as the main characters, though, and the film is entertaining so I'd still suggest checking it out if you get a chance. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    6
    Well, Karl Urban may be the right choice to play Judge Dredd in 3-D. He hasn't get a lot of credit over the years from misfires like "Priest" and "Pathfinder." But I still love his roles from "The Bourne Supremacy" and "Star Trek." Dredd 3D is kinda decent but an average good movie. I agree with the critics with the mixed reception and the film just had a little bit of twists and turns. IWell, Karl Urban may be the right choice to play Judge Dredd in 3-D. He hasn't get a lot of credit over the years from misfires like "Priest" and "Pathfinder." But I still love his roles from "The Bourne Supremacy" and "Star Trek." Dredd 3D is kinda decent but an average good movie. I agree with the critics with the mixed reception and the film just had a little bit of twists and turns. I am little worried if this film is gonna be a big disappointment for Lionsgate because I find it a little too risky to reboot a 1995 bad Sylvester Stallone movie. Some say it will be a box office bomb because of the poor publicity including commercials and WWE promoting the movie might be rubbish enough. But I should see it next week. "Dredd 3D" may not be a good reboot, but a fantastic film to wind down the sluggish September curse. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2013
    4
    Yes, it sucks. Other film fans may think that it's a masterpiece or a cult hit but it's not. While it is more faithful to the comics, Dredd reminds me of another comic adaptation that doesn't work: The Punisher. Worst still, it has the exact same plot as another film released that year, Raid, Redemption. That film on the other hand shows you what visceral action feels like. This oneYes, it sucks. Other film fans may think that it's a masterpiece or a cult hit but it's not. While it is more faithful to the comics, Dredd reminds me of another comic adaptation that doesn't work: The Punisher. Worst still, it has the exact same plot as another film released that year, Raid, Redemption. That film on the other hand shows you what visceral action feels like. This one feels so generic, and the bad thing is the original comic book has a lot of potential. It's violent sure, but feels so pedestrian. One of the year's most disappointing film. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2012
    4
    Dredd is visually stylize, fast-paced bloody action pack. The industrial score wins. But for being The Raid remake, it suffers most Hollywood movies, it never work. Oh, please I try being sarcastic.
  9. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    Been there, done that, bought the comic. Awesome intro. Gets lost in its own logic, but who needs logic when you have unlimited clips of ammo. Lame excuse for keeping the girls hair exposed for viewers because two Judges walking around in helmets would be even more emotionless and bland.
  10. Oct 7, 2014
    5
    Having seen the Stallone Judge Dredd, I was curious to see what Karl Urban could do with it. And, well THANK YOU, KARL URBAN. Dredd has been resurrected and is far better than before. Everything about his character that is important and relevant to the task at hand is addressed, no need to dig too deep, just watch him tear it up. It's a action dream for sure. However, I think it didHaving seen the Stallone Judge Dredd, I was curious to see what Karl Urban could do with it. And, well THANK YOU, KARL URBAN. Dredd has been resurrected and is far better than before. Everything about his character that is important and relevant to the task at hand is addressed, no need to dig too deep, just watch him tear it up. It's a action dream for sure. However, I think it did overstep some boundaries at least with the gore and graphic scenes what seemed just overboard and plain unnecessary for a movie meant simply to entertain, what didn't tank this movie is that it didn't revel in that. Hard-nosed and brutal justice against criminals is the name of the game. Of which it delivers. With this portrayal, I think Judge Dredd has become a new favorite comic hero of mine. The rating is low due to the bloodiness that steps too far out and the feel of a sequel setup due to a very simple plot and small scale. But hey, i like it. Definitely not without its charm. Adult? Strong stomach? Action addict? Worth a watch. Expand
  11. Sep 28, 2012
    5
    Earlier this year, an incredible and inventive action flick came out entitled The Raid: Redemption. It featured a team of police officers fighting through floor after floor of an apartment complex, showcasing a stunning masterpiece of editing and martial arts. Guns were used very little in the film, which gave it a more personal touch, and utilized music to build up fight sequences, whichEarlier this year, an incredible and inventive action flick came out entitled The Raid: Redemption. It featured a team of police officers fighting through floor after floor of an apartment complex, showcasing a stunning masterpiece of editing and martial arts. Guns were used very little in the film, which gave it a more personal touch, and utilized music to build up fight sequences, which could last for about 10 minutes. Delivering suspense, expert editing, impressive choreography, and some brutal violence, the film quickly rose to critical success and is one of my favourite action films I Expand
  12. Jun 7, 2013
    4
    Awful movie. There is no message here, just an American action film, which is not what Judge Dredd is. Karl Urban is a downright horrible actor, or maybe Dredd as a character is just hollow. Lena Headey is fun to watch, but even her character is so paper thin you really have nothing to say about her. The annoying slow-mo affects felt masturbatory and amateur. It was just bad from the startAwful movie. There is no message here, just an American action film, which is not what Judge Dredd is. Karl Urban is a downright horrible actor, or maybe Dredd as a character is just hollow. Lena Headey is fun to watch, but even her character is so paper thin you really have nothing to say about her. The annoying slow-mo affects felt masturbatory and amateur. It was just bad from the start to the end. If you're into pointless, gratuitous violence then this is right up your alley. If you want something deeper from your movies, or clever, then move on. Dredd was pretty bad. Expand
  13. Sep 10, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Dredd" is your typical die-hard-type movie following multiple well-known cliches throughout the story. It features a guy who takes on a crime mob alongside his poorly-developed female sidekick/character, eventually hinting to the issues of corruption within his own structure, and a Hollywood ending. I mean, you can't be typical and stereotypes than that today. However, I won't say that I totally hated the movie. There were some quite enjoyable punchlines delivered by Dredd, whose reticence and sharp wit are somewhat vaguely reminiscent of Batman's. Plus the shooting of the action scenes was rather good. Overall, it's a one-night-stander in terms of cinema that you could watch when you're bored, have a laugh or two (graphic scenes warning!) and forget about completely the next morning. Expand
  14. Sep 23, 2012
    6
    Im a gore fan.But i also like a realistic action story.This movie was plausible,not so great.The best were the deaths (holy sh** they cant get more violent than this)so,if you want to see a movie when you only care for the blood,and not story,you will find this movie the best ever.
  15. Jan 22, 2015
    5
    Dredd stands out amongst it's other film adaptations as the least worst, an achievement equal to standing out as the least frequent public mastabator. The film is simple but enjoyable, abandoning any attempt at an engaging or involving plot for a buffet of somewhat connected action sequences. Dialogue is completely superfluous and only helps the movie spell out what basic task Dredd isDredd stands out amongst it's other film adaptations as the least worst, an achievement equal to standing out as the least frequent public mastabator. The film is simple but enjoyable, abandoning any attempt at an engaging or involving plot for a buffet of somewhat connected action sequences. Dialogue is completely superfluous and only helps the movie spell out what basic task Dredd is turn into an action scene next.

    Characters are about videogame tier, you got Dredd who was told to scowl constantly to be more like the comic but instead looked **** stupid in real life, then you got attractive blonde rookie who's supposed to be a sympathetic female lead that acts like a normal human to contrast all the **** up junkie fodder for Dredd to murder and lastly you got the antagonist mama who just says stuff to characters that dont matter and then dies. So you got two characters that **** matter and one that could be replaced by post it note with "Kill Dredd, ps: not all at once"

    Enjoyable for dumb action but lacking in soul and wit
    Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2012
    6
    This movie is an action movie, and nothing more. I usually hate action movies with no plot, but I was surprised that I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It is fun and Dredd delivers a few one liners that show how much of a bad-ass he is.
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    4
    This Dredd movie had very good special effects in comparison to the 1995 Judge Dredd movie, but used them very obnoxiously. Practically half of the movie was slow motion, and in scenes where it was totally unnecessary. I had to stop myself from fast forwarding through the annoying slow mo scenes of people blowing smoke.

    The plot was more believable than the plot in the 1995 version, but
    This Dredd movie had very good special effects in comparison to the 1995 Judge Dredd movie, but used them very obnoxiously. Practically half of the movie was slow motion, and in scenes where it was totally unnecessary. I had to stop myself from fast forwarding through the annoying slow mo scenes of people blowing smoke.

    The plot was more believable than the plot in the 1995 version, but it was ridiculously simple.
    Right before I watched Dredd I watched Event Horizon, and it had negative reviews by critics for having ridiculous volumes of blood spilling everywhere, this movie had the same sort of unbelievable gore.
    Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2014
    5
    Great action movie. Not to see if violence and gore isn't your thing. However, the lack of scenario at all and some incoherences makes it a bit funny. Not to see in France for the voices are terrible.
  19. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised by Dredd's ability to keep my attention throughout the entire film. A fun popcorn flick, Dredd presents a tense dystopian future with plenty of action at a decent and steady pace. Karl Urban is unable to bring the magic and depth of his performance in Star Trek to Dredd, However I hold the writing at fault and not the acting. On the whole, an entertaining actionI was pleasantly surprised by Dredd's ability to keep my attention throughout the entire film. A fun popcorn flick, Dredd presents a tense dystopian future with plenty of action at a decent and steady pace. Karl Urban is unable to bring the magic and depth of his performance in Star Trek to Dredd, However I hold the writing at fault and not the acting. On the whole, an entertaining action experience. Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    After the debacle that was Stallone's incarnation of Judge Dredd, I came into this one expecting another shoddy effort. Thankfully I was pleasantly surprised. As a fan of 2000AD and Judge Dredd growing up I was pleased that this movie (somewhat) managed to capture the grittiness of the dystopia that is Mega City One (something that the Stallone effort did not even attempt). I am not a fanAfter the debacle that was Stallone's incarnation of Judge Dredd, I came into this one expecting another shoddy effort. Thankfully I was pleasantly surprised. As a fan of 2000AD and Judge Dredd growing up I was pleased that this movie (somewhat) managed to capture the grittiness of the dystopia that is Mega City One (something that the Stallone effort did not even attempt). I am not a fan of Karl Urban, but his portrayal of Dredd was palatable due in large part to him never removing his helmet and the terseness of the script. By no means a masterpiece, but as far as action movies go these days Dredd is an inoffensive and visually pleasing way to spend 90 mins. As usual, be very sceptical of those handing out 10's and 0's in their reviews. Expand
  21. Sep 23, 2012
    4
    Excellent visuals and acting can't save this plodding film. No story other than "Shoot bad guys", hard to get behind a film that asks us to cheer for a corrupt police state. If you like gory shoot-em-ups or are a fan of the original comics, see this film. Otherwise, if you don't see it, you're not missing anything.
  22. Mar 30, 2014
    6
    Apparently a fair amount of people liked this movie and I really wanted to like it myself. Something was missing for me though. It's a pretty derivative movie, bleak future, ultra violent, drugs, gangs etc.... and an anti hero. Done right this can make for a great movie, done wrong can make for well .... this. Just another Hollywood over the top high on action, low on story time waster.Apparently a fair amount of people liked this movie and I really wanted to like it myself. Something was missing for me though. It's a pretty derivative movie, bleak future, ultra violent, drugs, gangs etc.... and an anti hero. Done right this can make for a great movie, done wrong can make for well .... this. Just another Hollywood over the top high on action, low on story time waster. I wouldn't say it's bad but it's just not that good. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    78
    Absolutely, 100% kickass. Now would someone please get busy on the "Tank Girl" do-over, please?
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Sep 22, 2012
    70
    Dredd 3-D places you firmly in an unreal, dreamlike world and rouses you with its unexpected grace and its rhythms and its movement. The plot ceases to matter after a certain point: This is a great big beautiful music video, and there's nothing really wrong with that.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Sep 21, 2012
    75
    This, finally, is the Dredd movie comic book readers have been anticipating.