Lionsgate | Release Date: September 21, 2012
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1065 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
967
Mixed:
74
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
Lena Headey She is one hell of a good actress. Her American accent in this film for a start is really convincing! Her best role ever in my opinion is Cersei from Game of Thrones. Such a vast difference between Cersei and Ma Ma, and she playsLena Headey She is one hell of a good actress. Her American accent in this film for a start is really convincing! Her best role ever in my opinion is Cersei from Game of Thrones. Such a vast difference between Cersei and Ma Ma, and she plays both roles to absolute perfection. Truly remarkable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
rastapastaOct 8, 2012
This film is not one that tries to teach the moral lessons of law, punishment, whats right or wrong. The plot is supposed to be a straightforward affair. Judge Dredd's character does not change. He isn't supposed to. So instead of offering aThis film is not one that tries to teach the moral lessons of law, punishment, whats right or wrong. The plot is supposed to be a straightforward affair. Judge Dredd's character does not change. He isn't supposed to. So instead of offering a lesson on what you believe is realistic/right/wrong, Karl Urban's Dredd embodies the executioner from the comics with all the unstoppable fury of a Juggernaut. For anyone who loved the comics, wants to see Judge Dredd for the character he really is, and can appreciate a well crafted and wonderfully done action flick with plenty of water-cooler moments, Dredd delivers. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
drunkenmuseNov 1, 2012
If you can stomach a strong focus on violence and borderline gore porn, Dredd is a great and solid action movie. Although some changes has been made from the comic, the movie still holds up for both fans and non fans.

In the movie however,
If you can stomach a strong focus on violence and borderline gore porn, Dredd is a great and solid action movie. Although some changes has been made from the comic, the movie still holds up for both fans and non fans.

In the movie however, Mega City One is not depicted as crazy and culturally corrupt as in the comics - which might make the judges seem unjustified to those unfamiliar with the IP, having them question their almost fascist demeanor.

That said, aside from a couple of weird script moments (all movies has them) it's still a great action movie and pretty accurate depiction of Dredd and the changes/choices that has been made to characters such as Anderson works great.

Now repeat after me; "Stallone Dredd? Never heard of it.."
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Longbottom94Apr 25, 2013
A great solid action gem, with entertaining set pieces, wry humor and surprisingly low key, subtle performances from the cast help elevate this film from its potential (and honestly expected) mediocrity. Maybe through fan support or a highlyA great solid action gem, with entertaining set pieces, wry humor and surprisingly low key, subtle performances from the cast help elevate this film from its potential (and honestly expected) mediocrity. Maybe through fan support or a highly ambitious kick starter event we can see a return to Mega City 1 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ZenRobotOct 14, 2012
this is an absolutely mind glowingly awesome picture. it's eyegasm after eyegasm strung together by a story full of bad ass little moments. the scope is fairly small, but it fleshes it out so well that you will allow it. just pray we onethis is an absolutely mind glowingly awesome picture. it's eyegasm after eyegasm strung together by a story full of bad ass little moments. the scope is fairly small, but it fleshes it out so well that you will allow it. just pray we one day get a sequel. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFJan 26, 2013
This film took risks, but they certainly paid off.
Perhaps it wasn't a box office success, but its difficult to reboot something that was so awful first time around, whatever the reason, Dredd deserves to get a cult status in more wyas than
This film took risks, but they certainly paid off.
Perhaps it wasn't a box office success, but its difficult to reboot something that was so awful first time around, whatever the reason, Dredd deserves to get a cult status in more wyas than one.
Set in a post-atomic age where the remaining humans live in 'mega-cities', the city is maintained through the law of 'judges', motorbike riding officers who deal with the overwhelming crime on the streets.
Among the Judges is the most famed and feared of all...Dredd (Karl Urban).
It has touches of Blade Runner and Terminator rolled into this hour and half action flick.
Urban does a fantastic job as the lead character, conveying his emotion brilliantly, all the while while having to wear the helmet.
Joining Dredd is rookie judge Anderson (Olivia Thirlby) who is also a psychic, Thirlby holds her own here, relatively unknown to most in terms of the action genre.
On the other side of the coin is is Game of Thrones Lena Headey playing disturbed drud lord Ma-Ma, who is distributing a new drug Slo-Mo into the city.
Dredd doesn't waste time trying to correct mistakes of its own genre, its goes full throttle into the film and doesnt hold back on blood, guts and all around gore...
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Mazmorrero47Sep 28, 2012
Dredd is one of the most entertaining movies of 2012. The great thing about it is that it embraces itself as what it is: a simple popcorn film that only pretends to show crazy over the top violence and a badass hero. But at the same time, itDredd is one of the most entertaining movies of 2012. The great thing about it is that it embraces itself as what it is: a simple popcorn film that only pretends to show crazy over the top violence and a badass hero. But at the same time, it has its own essence, a great production design and is far from the average generic and uninspired action movie. Karl Urban did a great job as Dredd. His lines and his Batman-esque voice made him very enjoyable to watch. Same thing for Lena Headey, who is what you expect from a villain of this sort: an evil woman who you want to see suffer. Dredd was a very pleasant surprise. If you like good action, go and see it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
SandrickOct 18, 2012
The most fun that I have had watching an action movie in the theater since T2. A tightly paced thrill ride that combines great characters with great acting. The world is also very well conceived and I cannot wait for the inevitable sequel toThe most fun that I have had watching an action movie in the theater since T2. A tightly paced thrill ride that combines great characters with great acting. The world is also very well conceived and I cannot wait for the inevitable sequel to take us back there again. I feel legitimately sorry for those people that are not seeing this film because they are basing their opinion of it off of the Stallone version that came out decades ago. For me, this was the biggest cinematic surprise of the year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nanowerxJan 18, 2013
Wow, this one took me by surprise. In fact, had multiple friends not told me to see it, I would have avoided it completely, as the original (Judge Dredd) was quite a crap fest. This is exactly what an action movie should be...gritty, violent,Wow, this one took me by surprise. In fact, had multiple friends not told me to see it, I would have avoided it completely, as the original (Judge Dredd) was quite a crap fest. This is exactly what an action movie should be...gritty, violent, intriguing, and scant on backstory. Too many action films take up too much time trying to give me a history lesson on the protagonist when all I want is some mindless action and violence. The movie delivers such in droves. It was very tasteful, but full of realistic violence that really draws you in. Very rare is it that a sequel can exceed the original by a long shot, but this movie does it and does it well. I cannot believe that the metacritic score is so low, this is a 10/10 all day long! Goes to show that critics never quite "get it." If you like action films, then you will be doing yourself a disservice by passing up Dredd, the most unexpected his of 2012. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
batlantern_87Sep 26, 2012
This is the best Shoot'em Up movie I've seen in a long time! It doesn't set out to do something other than give us a great action movie based on a great character. Lately action movies have taken to being preachy and have politicalThis is the best Shoot'em Up movie I've seen in a long time! It doesn't set out to do something other than give us a great action movie based on a great character. Lately action movies have taken to being preachy and have political undertones. This movie just puts good guys in a situation where they have to fight bad guys and they did it right. The action feels fresh and original, the pacing is fantastic; there's never a dull moment, and Urban is fantastic as the title character Dredd. If you love movies you owe it to yourself to see this movie, if we have any hope of another one of these movies being made then go see this GREAT action movie!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CLUTCHMay 1, 2013
This was a Judge Dredd film done right. The Stallone movie was an insult to the comics, this one actually managed to capture the spirit of the comics and the characters well. I really enjoyed it, and would love to see another one made.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
HunterZolomonOct 17, 2012
Dredd is an exceptional film and very true to its origins. The satire is there, the black humor, the brutality. The economy of it all and the simplicity of the story only plays to its strengths. The final slo-mo scene is sublime, almostDredd is an exceptional film and very true to its origins. The satire is there, the black humor, the brutality. The economy of it all and the simplicity of the story only plays to its strengths. The final slo-mo scene is sublime, almost surreal and a beautiful ending to the film. And the score, just amazing. You immediately forget about expensive CGI since they nail the essence and atmosphere of Dredd and MC-1 so well. But most of all the three leads are impressive. Urban, Thirlby and Headey are perfect in their respective roles. It's a brutal, yet hugely entertaining action film with a distinctly old school feel. 9/10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
snakeoilJan 28, 2013
This is definitely destined to be a cult classic. The film is gritty yet beautiful. In HD it is outstanding. Worth the buy and definitely the rent. I loved it for what it was ... FUN.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Mobius_PCJan 23, 2013
Awesome movie, captures everything that I expect a dredd movie to have in it, I just hope that they make another movie with the 18 cert in it, way better than the Comedy that was released all those years ago with stalone in it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
nidzaJan 1, 2013
I loved it,the action was plenty-some the acting was descent and the plot was ok,all in all a watchable movie as long as you prepare yourself for what it seemed a never ending sequence of cgi content.

I would put this movie above
I loved it,the action was plenty-some the acting was descent and the plot was ok,all in all a watchable movie as long as you prepare yourself for what it seemed a never ending sequence of cgi content.

I would put this movie above transformers but below Ironman which I'm not sure if it's a good thing.

Limited expectations make this a good movie to watch,once.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
darkcolaDec 31, 2012
I have had the displeasure of living through bad adaptations since the late 70's. I have almost never seen a comics adaptation that was worth watching on the silver screen because good characters die there along with a bevy of bad uselessI have had the displeasure of living through bad adaptations since the late 70's. I have almost never seen a comics adaptation that was worth watching on the silver screen because good characters die there along with a bevy of bad useless cameos and the attempt to take 20-60 years worth of story arcs and put them in three acts in under 2 hours- usually including an origin story.

However, the dream of- simply take the established comic character and make the movie one adventure in the life of said character- has come to fruition in this movie. The acting is superb and unsettling with the askance visage of the villain. Dredd is played to his comic book perfection, or perhaps I would say some better than the stereotype version of himself he had become in later issues/graphic novels. Anderson is played in a very different way than her comic book counterpart and it isn't as a sex bomb psychic, but a fragile-seeming fractured innocent whose strength becomes clearly displayed in climactic ferocity towards the film's end.

The movie is full of violence, seemingly random and punishing. However, I dare say it decries violence completely. It truly shows in this apocalyptic setting how the innocent are in the crossfire and do suffer, and exhibits a painful helplessness of the civilians trapped in mega-tower societies. There are enough sub plots and subtle character dynamics/interactions that make this a joy to watch a few times over- plot and character development through subtle glances, grimaces, or psychic flashes. If that is not enough, then the visuals- some of the most colorful and pleasantly shocking slo-motion sequences I've encountered in either movie form or video game form.

Long story short- it is true to the comic, it is visually stunning- giving a very realistic presentation of the environment of megacity one after an apocalypse, provides admirable uncompromising heroes and detestable villains and a fun and entertaining dynamic between the insufferable Dredd and his new rookie.

Please- go see and support this movie, hopefully they'll do another one, or at least take another comic and do it --- Justice.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ThanegJan 30, 2013
"Oh god, here we go again with the superheroes, I wonder if I manage to sit through the entire movie". Were my initial thoughts. Boy was I wrong, best movie of 2012.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AmacfaJan 28, 2013
I never write reviews, I just read all the user reviews (not the critics) to make my decision on whether I should watch a movie or not. I am really glad I decided to see Dredd, this is one of the coolest movies I have seen in the past fiveI never write reviews, I just read all the user reviews (not the critics) to make my decision on whether I should watch a movie or not. I am really glad I decided to see Dredd, this is one of the coolest movies I have seen in the past five years, I did not expect the movie to be as gripping as it was. Awesome action, perfect amount of 'badass', great gore, and a very beautiful movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
Awful movie. There is no message here, just an American action film, which is not what Judge Dredd is. Karl Urban is a downright horrible actor, or maybe Dredd as a character is just hollow. Lena Headey is fun to watch, but even her characterAwful movie. There is no message here, just an American action film, which is not what Judge Dredd is. Karl Urban is a downright horrible actor, or maybe Dredd as a character is just hollow. Lena Headey is fun to watch, but even her character is so paper thin you really have nothing to say about her. The annoying slow-mo affects felt masturbatory and amateur. It was just bad from the start to the end. If you're into pointless, gratuitous violence then this is right up your alley. If you want something deeper from your movies, or clever, then move on. Dredd was pretty bad. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
TaalenNov 15, 2012
The movie's poor reception in North America is a real surprise, considering the movie is significantly above average where action movies are concerned. I knew practically nothing about Judge Dredd and had no expectations when I went to seeThe movie's poor reception in North America is a real surprise, considering the movie is significantly above average where action movies are concerned. I knew practically nothing about Judge Dredd and had no expectations when I went to see the movie and I walked out having seen one of the best movies I've seen in the last couple of years. Highly recommended if you don't shy away from a little more than average red on the screen, whether or not you're familiar with the franchise.

Quite possibly the best comic book to film adaptation made to date.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
siedemOct 20, 2012
In a world where only a thin line separates right from injustice and there is no time and resources to maintain order in the gentle way. The person responsible for this movie must have been raised in such world to express it the way he did.In a world where only a thin line separates right from injustice and there is no time and resources to maintain order in the gentle way. The person responsible for this movie must have been raised in such world to express it the way he did. It was a movie in which simply every single second catched my whole attention. I felt like as if I could have watched it for 4 hours and wouldn't get bored. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
nightblade00Feb 19, 2013
A well done and true adaptation of a comic book. Karl Urban delivers as the gruff and no nonsense Dredd. The story plays out almost perfectly as a comic book storyline---minus any and all background story. Its a perfect popcorn and rewatch movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Jan 4, 2013
When I saw the reviews I knew this would be good but I wasn't expecting it to be absolutely frikkin awesome. Everything about this film screams cool. The thumping futuristic music, the guns, the blood. Perfect in every way. One of the bestWhen I saw the reviews I knew this would be good but I wasn't expecting it to be absolutely frikkin awesome. Everything about this film screams cool. The thumping futuristic music, the guns, the blood. Perfect in every way. One of the best sci fis I've seen. It has the feel of a cult classic. Totally blew me away Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
dharmaFeb 16, 2013
Yes, it sucks. Other film fans may think that it's a masterpiece or a cult hit but it's not. While it is more faithful to the comics, Dredd reminds me of another comic adaptation that doesn't work: The Punisher. Worst still, it has theYes, it sucks. Other film fans may think that it's a masterpiece or a cult hit but it's not. While it is more faithful to the comics, Dredd reminds me of another comic adaptation that doesn't work: The Punisher. Worst still, it has the exact same plot as another film released that year, Raid, Redemption. That film on the other hand shows you what visceral action feels like. This one feels so generic, and the bad thing is the original comic book has a lot of potential. It's violent sure, but feels so pedestrian. One of the year's most disappointing film. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
PaganostaghettiSep 28, 2012
Earlier this year, an incredible and inventive action flick came out entitled The Raid: Redemption. It featured a team of police officers fighting through floor after floor of an apartment complex, showcasing a stunning masterpiece of editingEarlier this year, an incredible and inventive action flick came out entitled The Raid: Redemption. It featured a team of police officers fighting through floor after floor of an apartment complex, showcasing a stunning masterpiece of editing and martial arts. Guns were used very little in the film, which gave it a more personal touch, and utilized music to build up fight sequences, which could last for about 10 minutes. Delivering suspense, expert editing, impressive choreography, and some brutal violence, the film quickly rose to critical success and is one of my favourite action films I Expand
5 of 26 users found this helpful521
All this user's reviews
8
Bo33yDec 22, 2012
A high octane rollercoaster ride which is ultra -violent, gritty, surreal, and raw in true comic book adaptation. This films lowish production values show true inspiration instead of the hogwash which sometimes comes from those withA high octane rollercoaster ride which is ultra -violent, gritty, surreal, and raw in true comic book adaptation. This films lowish production values show true inspiration instead of the hogwash which sometimes comes from those with over-exaggerated budgets. While quite rough in places and might have had a better polish in certain parts. It is a must see for those who appreciate this genre. I have given this film a lesser rating because when watching this film I am reminded of The Raid Redemption another great film, although this being different in its effect I believe it to have burrowed some of it's idea's from. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
1
diehard-gamerJan 28, 2013
Its an OK action movie. Sparse plot, filled out by sickeningly cruel violence - but aren't they all these days. Problem is, its just not the Judge Dredd of the comic books. Where are the juves, the fatties, the droids, the muties, the futziesIts an OK action movie. Sparse plot, filled out by sickeningly cruel violence - but aren't they all these days. Problem is, its just not the Judge Dredd of the comic books. Where are the juves, the fatties, the droids, the muties, the futzies ...... ok, the laughs? I had great expectations for this film after watchmen, avengers and the recent batman movies. I'd hoped someone could do Dredd some justice (pun intended), but not this time around apparently. The best Dredd movie is still Stallones. Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
5
analogkid280Sep 24, 2012
Been there, done that, bought the comic. Awesome intro. Gets lost in its own logic, but who needs logic when you have unlimited clips of ammo. Lame excuse for keeping the girls hair exposed for viewers because two Judges walking around inBeen there, done that, bought the comic. Awesome intro. Gets lost in its own logic, but who needs logic when you have unlimited clips of ammo. Lame excuse for keeping the girls hair exposed for viewers because two Judges walking around in helmets would be even more emotionless and bland. Expand
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
4
asthobaskoroOct 18, 2012
Dredd is visually stylize, fast-paced bloody action pack. The industrial score wins. But for being The Raid remake, it suffers most Hollywood movies, it never work. Oh, please I try being sarcastic.
1 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
4
American_EmpireSep 23, 2012
Excellent visuals and acting can't save this plodding film. No story other than "Shoot bad guys", hard to get behind a film that asks us to cheer for a corrupt police state. If you like gory shoot-em-ups or are a fan of the original comics,Excellent visuals and acting can't save this plodding film. No story other than "Shoot bad guys", hard to get behind a film that asks us to cheer for a corrupt police state. If you like gory shoot-em-ups or are a fan of the original comics, see this film. Otherwise, if you don't see it, you're not missing anything. Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews