User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 6 out of 50

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    Drillbit Taylor is funny and it's good acted. Owen Wilson's character is pretty funny because he's really awkward and he can be really funny. For the kids who plays in the movies are pretty good actors
  2. May 26, 2013
    7
    Una muy buena pelicula de comedia de Owen Wilson, poniendose en el papel de un vago, esta pelicula es muy divertida y muy graciosa; no es la mejor pelicula de owen wilson, pero para mi, esta pelicula vale la pena verla.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    The film's lead is entertaining and likable, but the film overall seems too artificial to be taken seriously.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    If you're like me, diluted Apatow is still better than no Apatow at all.
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    A hilarious movie that deals with the internal struggles of the high school losers (like myself). Owen Wilson is hilarious and so are the kids. a lot of the films funniest moments happen when the four of them are on the screen together. If your looking for a hilarious movie look no further. You will laugh.
  6. May 25, 2012
    8
    It is very funny and Owen Wilson is great here. While the story isn't quite top notch, there are a lot of exciting moments.
  7. Aug 10, 2011
    4
    This is full of cheesy dialogue, bad performances (even from the usually funny Owen Wilson) and comes together for an overall unoriginal and weak comedy
  8. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    I simply don't understand the bad reviews this movie has revieved. In my opinion, it is mostly laughs in the film. The combination of a fat kid, a geeky, skinny kid and a wimpy midget really made this movie destined for hilarity, which it achieved to some extent. The three make it easy for bullies to pick on them, enter Owen Wilson. Wilson plays his part really well and juggles trying to keep his identity hidden and protecting the kids to perfection. A good movie, but could have been destined to something a whole lot funnier. Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This movie is freaking awesome, it is so funny, the best movie i have seen in a while!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Drillbit is so funny in this movie. I hope they make a sequel
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. A failing-grade comedy about the wishful triumph of high school dorks over high school bullies.
  2. Rare is the star vehicle that is as poorly matched to its star as Drillbit Taylor, which casts Owen Wilson as a homeless Army deserter and con man, able to fool people into believing he's both a substitute teacher and a master of hand-to-hand combat.
  3. 30
    Much to my dismay this is not an unauthorized sequel to Abel Ferrara's 1979 East Village art-world freakout "Driller Killer." This is instead a dispiritingly mediocre tweener comedy from some very talented people who appear to be experiencing a delayed sophomore slump.