Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Luke and Kate are co-workers at a Chicago brewery where they spend their days drinking and flirting. They're perfect for each other, except that they're both in relationships. Luke is in the midst of marriage talks with his girlfriend of six years. Kate is playing it cool with her music producer boyfriend Chris. But you know what makes the line between "friends" and "more than friends" really blurry? Beer. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Drinking Buddies, Joe Swanberg’s nimble, knowing and altogether excellent new film, refuses to dance to the usual tune.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 22, 2013
    88
    Writer-director-editor Swanberg should actually get first billing, as it’s his touch that makes Drinking Buddies something special.
  3. Reviewed by: Catherine Bray
    Oct 29, 2013
    80
    It can be very funny, but there’s a bittersweet streak underpinning even the lightest moments.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 30, 2013
    75
    We knew Livingston, Kendrick and Johnson (“Safety Not Guaranteed”) would work in this setting. But Wilde adds to the growing repertoire she showed off in “Deadfall” and “Butter,” films no one saw but which revealed that she’s a lot more than a pretty face.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    All the actors are strong, but Wilde is particularly good as the impetuous Kate, who doesn’t realize how incredibly selfish she has become. The actress’ great beauty could have been a distraction, but her performance is so complex and alive that she blends right into this world of ordinary, working-class people with modest aspirations who are trying to find happiness but often go about it in all the wrong ways.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 3, 2013
    60
    It's an intriguing and distinctive story, soberly told.
  7. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Aug 23, 2013
    25
    Watching Drinking Buddies is like being the designated driver for a most uninteresting bunch of drinkers.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Plot: Luke and Kate are co-workers at a Chicago brewery, where they spend their days drinking and flirting. They’re perfect for each other, except that they’re both in relationships. Luke is in the midst of marriage talks with his girlfriend of six years, Kate is playing it cool with her music producer boyfriend Chris. But you know what makes the line between “friends” and “more than friends” really blurry? Beer. Drinking Buddies (2013)
    Now this right here, is what I call a true indie. The whole thing is stunning and marvelously done. Now this isn’t your typical romantic comedy film, this is very realistic and focused on a lot more than just two characters and love but more focused on the friendships and work. The characters are really brought to life by the fact that the whole film is improvised. No script, just a synopsis of what the movie was about and let me tell you these wonderful actors did a phenomenal job! I really felt like I was right there with them, with the laughs, camera setting’s, the emotional stuff, all of it. I almost cried at how well this film was made and produced. I highly recommend watching it, it’s realistic, cute, funny, beautiful and just a brilliant film. You also get to see the actors (Anna Kendrick, Ron LIvingston, Olivia Wilde, & Jake Johnson) in a different view, because everything that they’re saying is coming from them, not a script, them. And it’s just mind-blowing and I can’t wait too see more from Joe Swanberg. Watch this very brilliant, stunning, beautiful film. You will laugh, cry, and just fall in love with these characters and actors. Also in this film they really are getting drunk, that just shows how talented they truly are. In my opinion this is the best of 2013.

    Rate:10/10

    Rated: R (profanity throughout film)

    Film Directed and Written by: Joe Swanberg
    Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Solid acting from the four leads, but it sagged in a few places. It was an interesting story, the writing was solid, but I wasn't thoroughly engaged throughout. But it was still enjoyable and unique, at least. Collapse
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Drinking Buddies is one of the biggest sorprises of this year, the story could be familiar, but the development is really great (ok, sometimes falls into the known), the script is really smart, and the performances are wow, incredible, Anna Kendrick, Olivia Wilde, Jake M. Johnson and Ron Livingston do a good job. Great movie. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    'Drinking Buddies' is a lethargic look at what happens when platonic friends tip-toe the line between friendly and flirty; that they drink is merely a device in which we're given to understand their commonplace. While the plot is essentially aimless for the first three-quarters of the movie, the actors hold your attention by slowly and gently stroking the tension, which comes to a head when Johnson's Luke helps Wilde's Gate move between Chicago apartments. Ultimately, the stars of 'Drinking Buddies' give us some fun-enough characters to hang out with for 90 minutes. The true feelings and prerogatives of the main characters are reserved but for a few meaningful moments, of which many are apparent to the audience only. Despite (and perhaps because of) the creative control the actors were given in terms of improvised dialogue, there's a lot of people not saying what they're thinking in this movie. It's that frustrating passive aggression that makes this film feel as authentic and at times as too-close-to-home hitting of any of Swanberg's films to date. Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2014
    5
    Drinking Buddies suffers from a plot too simplistic with characters that are beautifully portrayed but sadly, don't have much to do in this occasionally boring film that attempts to delve deeper into human emotions but only sometimes does it accomplish its goal. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    3
    Watch this on Sunday when you are extremely tired, so that when you fall asleep you have not wasted any of your time in this incredibly boring, pointless movie. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst movie I've seen during 2013. The best part is when the male lead broke his hand.

    I hanged myself after I watched this movie. If you wanna kill your husband or boyfriend, tell him to watch this movie.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers