User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1108 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    As the camera scuds between twinkling skyscrapers in downtown LA, credits of the hottest pink light up a widescreen sky of the blackest velvet and a Euro-electro score pulses, pulses, pulses.

    This, immediately, is the world of ’80s Michael Mann movies, of A-game Walter Hill pictures, of William Friedkin’s style-drenched neo-noir To Live And Die In LA. Post-credits, Drive hits the
    As the camera scuds between twinkling skyscrapers in downtown LA, credits of the hottest pink light up a widescreen sky of the blackest velvet and a Euro-electro score pulses, pulses, pulses.

    This, immediately, is the world of ’80s Michael Mann movies, of A-game Walter Hill pictures, of William Friedkin’s style-drenched neo-noir To Live And Die In LA.

    Post-credits, Drive hits the ground cruising as Ryan Gosling’s wheelman glides through an asphalt jungle in a classic Motor City machine, toothpick jutting from clenched teeth.

    On the radio, a basketball game blips and burbles – a seemingly incidental detail that will prove key to the action. Driver (for that is the only name he’s given) works the gear shaft and feeds the wheel; his knuckles flex, his leather gloves creak.

    Composed and confident, laconic and iconic, he’s about to prove he’s the best getaway driver in town…

    Night and the city

    Long considered a talented maverick whose spiky sensibility could never fit into square old Hollywood, Danish filmmaker Nicolas Winding Refn (The Pusher Trilogy, Bronson) has here made an explosive action movie that got Cannes critics whooping in the aisles.

    But don’t be fooled: a Cannes critic’s guilty ‘mainstream’ pleasure is a multiplex viewer’s art movie, and any jolting violence is cushioned by lush, low-key longueurs comprised of geometric cityscapes, abstract tableaux, striking camera angles, calibrated light and shadow, reflective surfaces, empty corridors and terse, economic exchanges full of syncopated beats.

    There is, of course, a girl, and she even lives next door. Irene (Carey Mulligan) cares for her young son (Kaden Leos) while her husband (Oscar Isaac) does time. Driver, naturally, finds himself not only gravitating towards her but breaking all of his own rules to protect her.

    It is for Irene, circuitously, that he takes on a pawn-shop heist that goes inevitably wrong, and she is the baggage that weighs down our previously unburdened, unemotional crim as he feels the heat around the corner.

    Clichéd? Sure, only Refn and screenwriter Hossein Amini, adapting James Sallis’ book, play out the de rigueur romantic sub-plot in unexpected ways: Driver and Irene communicate largely in silence, their bond forged through shifting gazes and meaningful half-smiles (DoP Newton Thomas Sigel maps the human face as closely as downtown LA); and the film’s most swooningly romantic flourish precedes its most violent set-piece.

    Star vehicle

    It’s this clashing of moods and subverting of stereotypes that sets Drive’s engine purring, with Refn swerving between blazing daylight and silky night, between staple set-ups and offbeat outcomes, between familiar faces and surprising character traits (funnyman Albert Brooks ices blood as a Hollywood producer/ gangster), between glimmering helicopter shots and tyre-squealing ground-level chases, between crushed skulls and synth pop, between classic movies and Refn’s unique worldview.

    It makes for a film both archetypal and fresh and, as such, it’s hard to put a pin through. Gosling wasn’t kidding when he described Drive as a mix of Blue Velvet and Purple Rain…

    The cast is strong, from Mulligan’s serenely stoical princess (Drive can be read as an urban fairytale) to Bryan Cranston’s mechanic/fixer to Ron Perlman’s intimidating henchman.

    But it is Gosling, along with Refn’s meticulous, dynamic direction, that is the star of the show, his tight-lipped turn evoking the cool charisma of Steve McQueen in Bullitt or Alain Delon in Le Samouraï.

    Dressed in aviator shades, driving gloves and a satin racing jacket emblazoned, tellingly, with a scorpion, his Driver may be a blank-faced cut-out deprived of the barest hint of backstory, but he’s an intriguing, mesmerising blank-faced cut-out – the kind of amoral, dysfunctional anti-hero that so often becomes a poster boy.

    Might he register as this generation’s Man With No Name, their Travis Bickle? Perhaps that’s going too far, but Gosling’s Hollywood-stuntman-by-day, getaway-driver-by-night is the stuff of fantasy, and his mysterious dispensation towards dishing Gaspar Noé levels of violence is exactly what got the Cannes viewers cheering.

    The only thing to say is that Drive feels like some kind of masterpiece---it's as pure a version of the essentials as you're likely to see.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    By day, ‘Driver’ (Gosling) is a Hollywood stunt man, but by night he makes his real money in the criminal underworld as a top-flight getaway driver. When pretty but very married next-door neighbour Irene (Mulligan) is menaced by hoods, he steps in to protect her and her little boy, only to find himself in an escalating conflict between the local thugs and the Mafia.

    The only thing to
    By day, ‘Driver’ (Gosling) is a Hollywood stunt man, but by night he makes his real money in the criminal underworld as a top-flight getaway driver. When pretty but very married next-door neighbour Irene (Mulligan) is menaced by hoods, he steps in to protect her and her little boy, only to find himself in an escalating conflict between the local thugs and the Mafia.

    The only thing to say is that Drive feels like some kind of masterpiece---it's as pure a version of the essentials as you're likely to see.

    Our hero is nameless; as played by the ever-impressive Ryan Gosling, this tightly contained Hollywood stunt driver, sometimes called "the kid" by garage boss Bryan Cranston, is a closed book. All you really need to know about him comes in his first conversation with a married neighbor (Mulligan): "I drive," he states, the barest hint of a flirtation.

    hen not strapped into his crash car, the guy also moonlights as a getaway wheelman---the film is about the moment when his luck begins to run out, via some bad company (Brooks, a stunningly potent villain) and a melting heart. Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn (Bronson) has taken the opportunity to work in America and pushed it to delirious limits; his effort, a foreigner's impassioned take on '80s-synth-scored romance and highway mayhem, plays like the work of a student graduating with highest honors.

    One of the best films ever made!
    Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    By day, ‘Driver’ (Gosling) is a Hollywood stunt man, but by night he makes his real money in the criminal underworld as a top-flight getaway driver. When pretty but very married next-door neighbour Irene (Mulligan) is menaced by hoods, he steps in to protect her and her little boy, only to find himself in an escalating conflict between the local thugs and the Mafia.

    Refn’s skills are
    By day, ‘Driver’ (Gosling) is a Hollywood stunt man, but by night he makes his real money in the criminal underworld as a top-flight getaway driver. When pretty but very married next-door neighbour Irene (Mulligan) is menaced by hoods, he steps in to protect her and her little boy, only to find himself in an escalating conflict between the local thugs and the Mafia.

    Refn’s skills are not limited to artfully conceived bloodletting: an opening sequence in which our hero practises his trade, transporting a pair of thieves from their place of business to safety, dodging, parking and reversing, is a masterclass of cutting in which the precision of the editing matches that of the driving (and actually it’s far more exciting than the more conventional car chase later in the movie). Meanwhile Newton Thomas Sigel’s sheeny cinematography delivers gorgeous chopper shots of the neon-flecked night-time streets of LA and moody renderings of asphalt car parks, race-tracks and diners. The cumulative and exhilarating sensation is that Walter Hill or William Friedkin made an urban noir sometime back in 1986 and somehow you missed it (and it’s easily as good as The Driver or To Live And Die In LA).

    stylish, ultra-violent fun one of the best films ever made!
    Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the camera scuds between twinkling skyscrapers in downtown LA, credits of the hottest pink light up a widescreen sky of the blackest velvet and a Euro-electro score pulses, pulses, pulses.

    This, immediately, is the world of ’80s Michael Mann movies, of A-game Walter Hill pictures, of William Friedkin’s style-drenched neo-noir To Live And Die In LA.

    Post-credits, Drive hits the ground cruising as Ryan Gosling’s wheelman glides through an asphalt jungle in a classic Motor City machine, toothpick jutting from clenched teeth.

    On the radio, a basketball game blips and burbles – a seemingly incidental detail that will prove key to the action. Driver (for that is the only name he’s given) works the gear shaft and feeds the wheel; his knuckles flex, his leather gloves creak.

    Composed and confident, laconic and iconic, he’s about to prove he’s the best getaway driver in town…

    Night and the city

    Long considered a talented maverick whose spiky sensibility could never fit into square old Hollywood, Danish filmmaker Nicolas Winding Refn (The Pusher Trilogy, Bronson) has here made an explosive action movie that got Cannes critics whooping in the aisles.

    But don’t be fooled: a Cannes critic’s guilty ‘mainstream’ pleasure is a multiplex viewer’s art movie, and any jolting violence is cushioned by lush, low-key longueurs comprised of geometric cityscapes, abstract tableaux, striking camera angles, calibrated light and shadow, reflective surfaces, empty corridors and terse, economic exchanges full of syncopated beats.

    There is, of course, a girl, and she even lives next door. Irene (Carey Mulligan) cares for her young son (Kaden Leos) while her husband (Oscar Isaac) does time. Driver, naturally, finds himself not only gravitating towards her but breaking all of his own rules to protect her.

    It is for Irene, circuitously, that he takes on a pawn-shop heist that goes inevitably wrong, and she is the baggage that weighs down our previously unburdened, unemotional crim as he feels the heat around the corner.

    Clichéd? Sure, only Refn and screenwriter Hossein Amini, adapting James Sallis’ book, play out the de rigueur romantic sub-plot in unexpected ways: Driver and Irene communicate largely in silence, their bond forged through shifting gazes and meaningful half-smiles (DoP Newton Thomas Sigel maps the human face as closely as downtown LA); and the film’s most swooningly romantic flourish precedes its most violent set-piece.

    Star vehicle

    It’s this clashing of moods and subverting of stereotypes that sets Drive’s engine purring, with Refn swerving between blazing daylight and silky night, between staple set-ups and offbeat outcomes, between familiar faces and surprising character traits (funnyman Albert Brooks ices blood as a Hollywood producer/ gangster), between glimmering helicopter shots and tyre-squealing ground-level chases, between crushed skulls and synth pop, between classic movies and Refn’s unique worldview.

    It makes for a film both archetypal and fresh and, as such, it’s hard to put a pin through. Gosling wasn’t kidding when he described Drive as a mix of Blue Velvet and Purple Rain…

    The cast is strong, from Mulligan’s serenely stoical princess (Drive can be read as an urban fairytale) to Bryan Cranston’s mechanic/fixer to Ron Perlman’s intimidating henchman.

    But it is Gosling, along with Refn’s meticulous, dynamic direction, that is the star of the show, his tight-lipped turn evoking the cool charisma of Steve McQueen in Bullitt or Alain Delon in Le Samouraï.

    Dressed in aviator shades, driving gloves and a satin racing jacket emblazoned, tellingly, with a scorpion, his Driver may be a blank-faced cut-out deprived of the barest hint of backstory, but he’s an intriguing, mesmerising blank-faced cut-out – the kind of amoral, dysfunctional anti-hero that so often becomes a poster boy.

    Might he register as this generation’s Man With No Name, their Travis Bickle? Perhaps that’s going too far, but Gosling’s Hollywood-stuntman-by-day, getaway-driver-by-night is the stuff of fantasy, and his mysterious dispensation towards dishing Gaspar Noé levels of violence is exactly what got the Cannes viewers cheering.

    Next up for Refn and Gosling is a re-run of 1976 action-sci-fi flick Logan’s Run. A $200m blockbuster? Just don’t expect it to play by studio rules…
    Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2015
    8
    A raw performance by Ryan Gosling that will strip you away from his other heartthrob personality, Drive is a graphic tale of crime and redemption and responsibility of those around you with a stylish atmosphere that almost matches that of Ridley Scott's Blade Runner but not that close.

    Nicholas Winding Refn does a great job mushing his previous directing talent as shown in Bronson and
    A raw performance by Ryan Gosling that will strip you away from his other heartthrob personality, Drive is a graphic tale of crime and redemption and responsibility of those around you with a stylish atmosphere that almost matches that of Ridley Scott's Blade Runner but not that close.

    Nicholas Winding Refn does a great job mushing his previous directing talent as shown in Bronson and makes a much stylish LA neo-noir drama of the modern age with lots of stellar driving and action sequences as well as a dark comeback performance by Albert Brooks
    Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fresh in my mind....I like how it almost seemed like the robber running out with the money would have to climb that fence....not sure why....Nice how the beginning chase isn't long and he walk right past them casually.....once again great song to end on and pretty cool overall feel to it....sorry that's all i h ave to say for now...- JRA Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2015
    0
    If intended as a piece of art could be even appreciated, but the idea that in almost 100 minutes of movie people barely talk is at least insane.
    Great actors but no plot whatsoever and a director that believes to be Stanley Kubrick.
    This movie is painfully slow, but it would like to be an action movie as well; the style with which it has been edited is simply mental: splatter, slow
    If intended as a piece of art could be even appreciated, but the idea that in almost 100 minutes of movie people barely talk is at least insane.
    Great actors but no plot whatsoever and a director that believes to be Stanley Kubrick.
    This movie is painfully slow, but it would like to be an action movie as well; the style with which it has been edited is simply mental: splatter, slow motion, panoramas, a 50 minutes sunset scene, few seconds of action mixed all together creating the impression of an everlasting hiccup.
    Why?Why?Why would you create something like this? Classic movie that the critic will generally enjoy even if it does not say anything and it is completely self-indulging.
    Full Metal Jacket is a masterpiece, this is just pretentious crap.
    Expand
  8. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    Drive is a mashup of cool 80's music, car chases that simply wow and powerhouse art styles. It is a masterful creation. A rendering of the game Hotline Miami, but better. Ryan Gosling was spectacular in the lead, he played a quiet driver, who is in love with his neighbour, Irene played by Carey Mulligan in a great performance, who is married to a sadistic man, played by Oscar Issac. TheDrive is a mashup of cool 80's music, car chases that simply wow and powerhouse art styles. It is a masterful creation. A rendering of the game Hotline Miami, but better. Ryan Gosling was spectacular in the lead, he played a quiet driver, who is in love with his neighbour, Irene played by Carey Mulligan in a great performance, who is married to a sadistic man, played by Oscar Issac. The amount of greatness is limited when writer Hossen Amini, doesn't put much in the movie, it is very short and falls low on many story elements. The graphic violence is unexpected and could have been layered, but it is a Refn joint anyway. Drive is a cool movie, it is a vibe of pop culture mixed with great star cast including, Christina Hendricks, Bryan Cranston and Ron Pearlman. Watch it. Expand
  9. Feb 5, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't Make a Brain Omelete

    Cheap-night Tuesday and the theatre is mostly empty. This won't have the legs to run two weeks. People walk out. Some can't wait to leave. This ain't no disco. This ain't no date movie. The worst piece of garbage I ever saw, someone mutters. Cold, brutal violence madly erupts from a sluggish plot. This ain't no party. This ain't no Notebook. Not a lot of so-called entertaining violence here. You can't cheer on the brutality. It's not fun. It's ugly and disgusting and still unreal. This ain't no fooling around. And when the driver, Goseling, an anti-social psychotic, maniacally stomps on the hit-man in the elevator to the song "Skull Crushing", then we see, as does his turned-on/horrified woman friend, just how compulsive, abject and contagious the violence is. This is a revenge movie without the romantic heroics. This is an insult to mindless escapism and to intelligence alike. And, although it delivers some interesting imagery and exceptional acting, it is ultimately a swollen-headed exercise in futility. Disingenuous and undignified. It could have been fa-fa-far better.
    Expand
  10. Feb 3, 2015
    9
    One of the best movies of the decade so far. Rehn director of the pusher trilogy, takes his grittiness and combines it with techno pop flare to create this bloody neon dream scape. Take its cue from another great movie about a man on the edge of the law, Thief, this movie says so much with out saying much. From the perfect beginning sequence to the movie to the great Albert Brooks asOne of the best movies of the decade so far. Rehn director of the pusher trilogy, takes his grittiness and combines it with techno pop flare to create this bloody neon dream scape. Take its cue from another great movie about a man on the edge of the law, Thief, this movie says so much with out saying much. From the perfect beginning sequence to the movie to the great Albert Brooks as the villain, this movie has so many great ideas its amazing. While I will admit it isnt perfect. Im still not a huge Gosling fan and Perlmen's character never really gels right, but this movie is a beast. 9 out of 10 Expand
  11. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    Probably one of the best movie I have ever seen.Ryan Gosling is a great actor and he proves it in this movie.There is not a lot of action and this is not one of the best story for a movie but it was really good.
  12. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    This was a really interesting movie that covered a lot of territory genre-wise. It felt like it was part-romance, part-chase movie, part mob-movie, and the last part was an intense revenge plot. We ended in a very different place than what I was expecting, which was satisfying. The use of silence was amazing, as neither Ryan Gosling nor Carey Mulligan were talkative characters, butThis was a really interesting movie that covered a lot of territory genre-wise. It felt like it was part-romance, part-chase movie, part mob-movie, and the last part was an intense revenge plot. We ended in a very different place than what I was expecting, which was satisfying. The use of silence was amazing, as neither Ryan Gosling nor Carey Mulligan were talkative characters, but they still managed to communicate so much during their scenes together. Expand
  13. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    Effortlessly cool with some of the best directing in the last 10 years, Drive is a film to go back to again and again. Similar to the also excellent 'Nightcrawler', in this film LA is normal during the day, yet seedy and dirty at night. Potentially the most stylised film I've watched, Drive drags you through a story of betrayal, greed and love that grabs attention throughout. The tensionEffortlessly cool with some of the best directing in the last 10 years, Drive is a film to go back to again and again. Similar to the also excellent 'Nightcrawler', in this film LA is normal during the day, yet seedy and dirty at night. Potentially the most stylised film I've watched, Drive drags you through a story of betrayal, greed and love that grabs attention throughout. The tension throughout is palpable and is constantly rising, with a main character in 'The Driver' is who expertly portrayed by Ryan Gosling in his best ever role. A true delight. Expand
  14. Dec 13, 2014
    0
    boring, tepid fatuousness. Gosling is seriously psycho, in this unneccessarily violent film, that ultimately drives no one any where except around the bend. And then a lame love interest end act that is formulaic and redundant and made me think what the hell movie the critics were salivating over, because this surely wasn;t it. Terrible
  15. Nov 30, 2014
    9
    This movie was among the best I have ever seen. Not because it develops a carefully crafted story around a man with no name, have some good action scenes here and there or the acting is great. It has all this but most importantly, the atmosphere is fantastic. The representation of darker Los Angeles, great soundtrack in the background combined with glaring visuals makes it an instant classic.
  16. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    Forget about Mr. Sexiest Man Alive, forget about the good looking boy from The Notebook. This Is Ryan Gosling at his best, his performance in Drive is intelligent and very underappreciated. They casted this film very well for the supporting roles, Nicholas Winding Refn is one of Europe's most underrated filmmakers. Some people complain about the violence but I think that it made the filmForget about Mr. Sexiest Man Alive, forget about the good looking boy from The Notebook. This Is Ryan Gosling at his best, his performance in Drive is intelligent and very underappreciated. They casted this film very well for the supporting roles, Nicholas Winding Refn is one of Europe's most underrated filmmakers. Some people complain about the violence but I think that it made the film look more realistic Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    Drive is marvelous!A truly misunderstood and meticulously crafted film full of incredibly lovable moments.With a beautiful soundtrack that captures the powerful emotions and the fantastic screenplay,this movie is nothing more than a masterpiece.
  18. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    A unique demonstration of entertainment through art, thrills and a whole lot of killer acting. Drive is an epic emotional tale that manages to take its audience on a ride much more memorable than most. Aside from exemplary direction from Nicolas Winding Refn, Ryan Gosling finds himself at his best as well.
  19. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    Whilst this movie is gripping from start to finish, the almost unbearable silence of Ryan Gosling's character does bring the movie down. He's mysterious, he gets the job done and speaks no word of it, but sometimes movies need dialogue. With boring character names such as "Standard" and "Irene" and a straightforward plot, there isn't much for them to talk about. However with a fantasticWhilst this movie is gripping from start to finish, the almost unbearable silence of Ryan Gosling's character does bring the movie down. He's mysterious, he gets the job done and speaks no word of it, but sometimes movies need dialogue. With boring character names such as "Standard" and "Irene" and a straightforward plot, there isn't much for them to talk about. However with a fantastic soundtrack and tantalizingly gory fight scenes, the movie is enjoyable to watch. Expand
  20. May 22, 2014
    9
    To me Drive is the sort of unique movie I prefer, but I realise that not everyone is of the same opinion, as many who saw this film in cinemas were expecting more intense action.

    Prior to its release the film was said to be the ideal combination of art house and action but audiences were torn, either hating its lack of thrills or loving its iconic simplicity. I personally think the ‘80s
    To me Drive is the sort of unique movie I prefer, but I realise that not everyone is of the same opinion, as many who saw this film in cinemas were expecting more intense action.

    Prior to its release the film was said to be the ideal combination of art house and action but audiences were torn, either hating its lack of thrills or loving its iconic simplicity. I personally think the ‘80s retro tone caters perfectly to the iconic style the director was clearly going for, but that doesn’t change the fact that this film was mistakenly advertised as a blood-pumping thriller. There are only two car chases and a handful of deaths which is surprisingly low for a supposed thriller lasting an hour and a half. In reality its slow pacing, artistic camera visuals and iconic aesthetic make it an artsy neo-noir throwback.

    This is all the more enhanced by its ideally suited features and symbolic nature. The soundtrack for instance is almost completely ethereal Electro, feeding that ‘80s retro theme throughout and showing that paced visuals combined with correctly selected music can work equally as well as lengthy dialogue, adapting the film’s tone to the state of the characters onscreen as a means of unconventional storytelling.

    Despite the lack of dialogue however, the characters and the relations between are interesting and not without proper progression. Gosling’s character as a simple but violently deadly driver was strangely appealing but unnerving as the movie goes on. I thought the most refreshing relationship in the film was the relationship between Gosling’s character and the love interest’s son. Even with the Driver’s apparent lack of depth as a person, he is shown to greatly care about his neighbour and her son and willing to risk his life for them. Whilst caring for the love interest is nothing particularly unique, the fact that this film focuses a little more on the protagonist caring for a boy is surprising at the least, especially considering the movie’s neo-noir aim. It gives me the impression that the director really wanted to make a film as iconic and gritty as it is uniquely soothing.

    The fact that this film was not the extreme action-packed thrill ride it was advertised to be was annoying for many at release but perfectly fine by me, as what we got instead was a visually appealing tale of vengeance and grit, tailored for fans of the neo-noir genre.
    Expand
  21. May 2, 2014
    9
    "Drive", from Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn, feels like a love letter to film noir and crime thrillers of years past. It is an unabashedly entertaining thrill ride, free of pretensions. Refn displays an astonishing talent behind the camera. The way in which he executes violence is brilliant; the film features more than its fair share of noirish gore, both audaciously stylized and"Drive", from Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn, feels like a love letter to film noir and crime thrillers of years past. It is an unabashedly entertaining thrill ride, free of pretensions. Refn displays an astonishing talent behind the camera. The way in which he executes violence is brilliant; the film features more than its fair share of noirish gore, both audaciously stylized and subdued. There is enough substance to match the style. Ryan Gosling, Carey Mulligan and Albert Brooks give high grade performances; Gosling proffers his character with a uniquely laconic charisma, Mulligan is softly poignant and Brooks is a chilling evocation of ruthless cunning and dastardly cowardice as the antagonist. Its storyline accomplishes being sleek and aloof, yet also quite involving; this is largely, in my opinion, down to the nostalgic feeling with which Refn instills proceedings, lending the film an eerily tender heart amid its thrills and gore. I loved "Drive". I'd definitely recommend it. Expand
  22. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    A decent, ultraviolent film. The plot was a bit confusing, but Gosling's acting is excellent and the fim features great car chases and heartfelt moments. Still a bit boring though.
  23. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    Drive is a masterpiece, Its one of the best directed movies, Its beautifully shot and its very well acted, And has deeper meanings that the average viewer might miss, This is my favourite film of all time.
  24. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    Watched this for the first time recently. An absolute masterpiece, music, setting, story, script, dialogue (wonderfully and deliberately understated) and the 'action' scenes have a very Michael Mann (Collateral-Heat).

    Don't get me wrong: this film bears little resemblance to either movie except for it's approach to dialogue. For example the chase scene at the start features a whole 3
    Watched this for the first time recently. An absolute masterpiece, music, setting, story, script, dialogue (wonderfully and deliberately understated) and the 'action' scenes have a very Michael Mann (Collateral-Heat).

    Don't get me wrong: this film bears little resemblance to either movie except for it's approach to dialogue. For example the chase scene at the start features a whole 3 lines of dialogue, but the suspense is incredible. This movie really understands that to build tension you don't need the world at stake or ever-bigger explosions: it's all about perspective, pauses and consequences.

    Also the film is filled with symbolism and metaphor that is mostly quite subtle and cues you in as to the character's emotional state: for example the Scorpion on the back of his 'working' jacket ties into the old parable about that creature and the Frog. There's also this wonderful moment in the elevator just prior to a brutal, violent murder where you can just see the character start to come apart visibly. The violence is brutal, almost B-movie (ish) but all again for a purpose there are no 'gratuitous' violent scenes: all serve a purpose.

    Gosling is perfectly cast in this, and the art / style direction is meticulous and poignant at every turn: nothing, NOTHING is done accidentally in this movie or 'just because'. I found myself re-watching 2 more times after the first, seeing it with new eyes and picking up on all the little bits. All the critic awards and accolades it won it deserves and more. I for one will be closely watching the future projects of all involved.

    Almost forgot: the soundtrack is incredible. Some will rail against the 80's feeling it has to it, but again it's both perfectly fitting to what happens on-screen and furthermore all the song lyrics tie into the characters. The writing of the 'bad guys' was great also: little is done 'just because', they feel like people with their own problems and issues, and don't simply go after the Driver because 'they're evil' or any such nonsense that we've come to expect from cinema.

    My ONLY criticism is this: the chase scenes are fantastic, but they are just too short / not enough of them. I'm not expecting them to turn it into a massive long scene, and I wouldn't want them to compromise quality for quantity, but a few more seconds apiece would be great.
    Expand
  25. Mar 3, 2014
    3
    Very, very slow paced movie and overall very boring to watch. A few good scenes here and there are not enough to save this movie from being tedious to watch.
  26. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    "You have five minutes. " Gosling is simply the best nowadays, in cinema. This movie is good made. The story is witty and brilliant one. Very very nice film. Everybody has to watch it. Everybody has to wath Drive!!
  27. Jan 1, 2014
    6
    It's not the action film the trailer promised but that's not really bad as Drive has smoothly timed violence, great performances and an amazing soundtrack. People might be put off by the pacing though.
  28. Nov 15, 2013
    3
    Overrated, too slow, predictable, tries too hard, and even the acting was poor. There was nothing good except for the first scene. Terrible movie.
  29. Sep 15, 2013
    0
    Overly violent without cause, and with a clunky script, Drive is a bad movie disguised as a masterpiece. This love-it-or-hate-it movie could've been so much better. And one question: did Ryan Gosling every move a facial muscle in this movie???
  30. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    Drive is a unique and unforgettable action-drama. The film uses beautiful cinematography, minimal dialogue, subtle acting and shockingly graphic violence to create something truly special. On paper, it should just be a run-of-the-mill action B-movie. But ascendant vision has turned it into a dignified, cathartic masterpiece. Drive ranks right up there with the likes of Alien and The CrowDrive is a unique and unforgettable action-drama. The film uses beautiful cinematography, minimal dialogue, subtle acting and shockingly graphic violence to create something truly special. On paper, it should just be a run-of-the-mill action B-movie. But ascendant vision has turned it into a dignified, cathartic masterpiece. Drive ranks right up there with the likes of Alien and The Crow in the category of 'movies that should have been bad but are somehow unbelievably great'. Expand
  31. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I first heard about this movie at the beginning of 2012 and have wanted to see it ever since. And after seeing it, my expectations were fulfilled entirely. The romance between the driver and his neighbour is rather touching, and it really made wish for a happy ending. The driving scenes are just as good as they get, high speeds, crashes, it's got everything. But what I didn't quite expect was how this movie could go from touching to disturbing in an instant. But that just makes it that much more of an interesting film. The music was also very good and made it feel as it was almost an 80s action or crime movie. A touching, gory, action-packed movie that I believes deserves more credit than its earned. Expand
  32. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    Drive is an incredibly stylish, brutally violent and beautiful made art-house action film that, in my opinion, is definitely overrated but it is still one great film. The acting is great, the soundtrack is hypnotic and the script is well-written and the film is definitely beautiful to look at, but my problem with the film is that I felt unsatisfied with its conclusion and I wanted a bitDrive is an incredibly stylish, brutally violent and beautiful made art-house action film that, in my opinion, is definitely overrated but it is still one great film. The acting is great, the soundtrack is hypnotic and the script is well-written and the film is definitely beautiful to look at, but my problem with the film is that I felt unsatisfied with its conclusion and I wanted a bit more with the film. Overall, Drive is fantastic. Expand
  33. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Incredibly stylish, brilliant acting and a strong plot. Unique, yet recognizable. It has some very memorable scenes and a great soundtrack, and is truly the best film of 2011.
  34. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The movie is silent however shows intense scenes throughout it without many words. Ryan Gosling, Bryan Cranston, and the grandpa from weeds is in it, i forgot his name lol Great Movie!
  35. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This film is a classic for me already. Gosling is superb here and he doesn't even speak that much throughout the whole movie. He makes an impact with emotion not words. The opening scene has to be one of the best I've seen in a movie in a LONG time. The soundtrack is also great. Overall this movie has something magical about it and that kind of magic is missing from most films today.
  36. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    I always rate movies by their genre, and this one deserves a 6.5 or 7. The direct did a great job and the cast did a great job. The movie is very slow starting off but it has this compelling characteristic to it. You just know the whole time, that SOMETHING is going to happen and you are so willing to wait for it. When the action starts, it doesn't stop until its all over. Pretty coolI always rate movies by their genre, and this one deserves a 6.5 or 7. The direct did a great job and the cast did a great job. The movie is very slow starting off but it has this compelling characteristic to it. You just know the whole time, that SOMETHING is going to happen and you are so willing to wait for it. When the action starts, it doesn't stop until its all over. Pretty cool movie overall. I also really appreciated the sound track, super well done. I am giving high scores on the audio work, music, casting, acting, directing, and compelling quality the movie had. Expand
  37. Jun 15, 2013
    1
    The cinematography is great and Refn is very skilled with it, but the plot was like watching paint dry, Gosling was painful to watch, and even worse, the violence was grotesque and far beyond needed. A good idea (and opening sequence) gone horribly awry in this film. Would definitely not recommend to those with weak stomachs.
  38. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Stunt performer and part-time getaway driver a man known only as ‘The Driver’ (Gosling) finds himself falling for his cute next door neighbour Irene. Soon he is forced to protect her by helping her ex-con husband pull off a robbery. Of course things fail to go according to plan and ‘Driver’ finds himself in deep with notorious local gangsters.

    From the slick opening scene Drive
    Stunt performer and part-time getaway driver a man known only as ‘The Driver’ (Gosling) finds himself falling for his cute next door neighbour Irene. Soon he is forced to protect her by helping her ex-con husband pull off a robbery. Of course things fail to go according to plan and ‘Driver’ finds himself in deep with notorious local gangsters.

    From the slick opening scene Drive maintains a well measured narrative pace that only serves to make the movies scenes of action and (graphic) violence all the more powerful. Gosling’s restrained performance alongside ever reliable performers such as Bryan Cranston, Christina Hendricks and Ron Pearlman also further serve to make an effortlessly cool and fantastically watchable film.
    Expand
  39. Jun 8, 2013
    2
    A very bad cowboys movie with a script at best uninteresting a beautiful cinematography and a horrible soundtrack. Just realized this movie looks in fact like a celebrity of our decade nice looking, nothing to say, bad taste.
  40. May 28, 2013
    10
    I have noticed (and take it from me, I have been listening) that the people who dislike this film prefer movies such as 'the fast and furious' or even the usual stallone or van damn movie. They deem those movies to be true action flicks. I disagree. This film is paced to leave each hit painful and the soundtrack keeps the watcher engulfed in the world of the driver. A great film, I haveI have noticed (and take it from me, I have been listening) that the people who dislike this film prefer movies such as 'the fast and furious' or even the usual stallone or van damn movie. They deem those movies to be true action flicks. I disagree. This film is paced to leave each hit painful and the soundtrack keeps the watcher engulfed in the world of the driver. A great film, I have seen it enough times to be sure it deserves a ten. Expand
  41. May 28, 2013
    8
    Drive is an extremely artsy semi noir movie that entertains to no end. I loved the move, its plot was amazing and its actors were flawless. The only thing I can take away from this movie is its ultra violence which at points seems unessassary. But all in all, the movie is exciting as hell and a truly amazing thrill ride. If you don't like violent movies however, you may want to pass onDrive is an extremely artsy semi noir movie that entertains to no end. I loved the move, its plot was amazing and its actors were flawless. The only thing I can take away from this movie is its ultra violence which at points seems unessassary. But all in all, the movie is exciting as hell and a truly amazing thrill ride. If you don't like violent movies however, you may want to pass on this one. I loved it! Expand
  42. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    An amazing, beautiful, dreamlike movie. So good that it pinned me down to my seat and got me captivated the whole time. Personally, everything was perfect, from the music tracks, script, story line, acting & ending. It's like a roller coaster ride, you get anxious, scared, shocked, sad, touched and happy all at once. What a journey! Ryan Gosling and the rest of the casts were simplyAn amazing, beautiful, dreamlike movie. So good that it pinned me down to my seat and got me captivated the whole time. Personally, everything was perfect, from the music tracks, script, story line, acting & ending. It's like a roller coaster ride, you get anxious, scared, shocked, sad, touched and happy all at once. What a journey! Ryan Gosling and the rest of the casts were simply amazing. They were just so real and into characters. I believed everything that's happened. A non cliche, different & outstanding movie. A must watch for all! Expand
  43. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Drive is a perfect film. From the acting to the look of the film to the soundtrack this film is one of my favorites of the year. I appreciate the art house feel, but I also appreciate that there is the perfect amount of action as well.
  44. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    One of the stylistically greatest films of all time. The cinematography, colors, theme and music fit together to create a picture that could be easilly summed up in one word: Mirage. With the style being the movies biggest asset and the many memorable scenes the biggest flaw are the characters. None of them are given much focus exscept for Ryan Goslings character. We are supposed toOne of the stylistically greatest films of all time. The cinematography, colors, theme and music fit together to create a picture that could be easilly summed up in one word: Mirage. With the style being the movies biggest asset and the many memorable scenes the biggest flaw are the characters. None of them are given much focus exscept for Ryan Goslings character. We are supposed to interpret them ourselves but it feels like they simply fall short and could have been given more screen time. Also worth mentioning is the Tarantino-esque violence, it's simply awesome to watch. Expand
  45. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Commonly mistaken as a testosterone-driven film by the trailer, Drive is a beautifully crafted art house film that creates a genre of it's own. Although it takes place in modern day, Drive gives off a very strong 80s vibe. The soundtrack, the cinematography, and Ryan Gosling make this one of the best movies to ever come out in the last ten years. Drive is definitely a movie most art andCommonly mistaken as a testosterone-driven film by the trailer, Drive is a beautifully crafted art house film that creates a genre of it's own. Although it takes place in modern day, Drive gives off a very strong 80s vibe. The soundtrack, the cinematography, and Ryan Gosling make this one of the best movies to ever come out in the last ten years. Drive is definitely a movie most art and film students will be studying in the near future. Be careful though, if you expect a Transporter style movie, you will come up short. Expand
  46. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    One scene that defines the stylish and disciplined vigor of "Drive" transpires inside a slim, narrow elevator. Our heroes enter the elevator; the doors slam shut. By the time they open again, we have been taken through a hint of suspense, a moment of intimacy, and finally, a burst of ultra-violence. That the movie was able to depict and contain three different moods in a limited space andOne scene that defines the stylish and disciplined vigor of "Drive" transpires inside a slim, narrow elevator. Our heroes enter the elevator; the doors slam shut. By the time they open again, we have been taken through a hint of suspense, a moment of intimacy, and finally, a burst of ultra-violence. That the movie was able to depict and contain three different moods in a limited space and time astounds me. This is the rare kind of movie that fully values its existence, using every second of its running time for its benefit.

    "Drive" stars Ryan Gosling, the Oscar-nominated actor who was given more international appreciation in his previous work as Jacob Palmer in "Crazy, Stupid, Love". Here, a name eludes him as promotions only refer to his character as "Driver". The inquisitive effect of a screen name like Driver reminds us of Edward Norton's character in Fight Club, who was only identified in the credits as "Narrator". Both evoke the same aura of ambiguity, although the Gosling character is more subtle and composed.

    Driver's professional and personal life is centered around cars. He occupies the role of a stunt driver for the movies. He also works as a mechanic, fixing cars when he's not flipping them on set. Beyond that, he also participates in robberies by agreeing to be the getaway driver. Driving seems to keep Driver occupied. He hardly ever speaks. Ask him a question, and his words halt after the answer is given. There are not more than two instances in the entire film where he speaks three sentences in a row. His quiet nature strays away from conventional personalities and takes us to a person so perplexing, even his fellow characters join the audience in trying to understand him.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/drive-movie-review/
    Expand
  47. Apr 10, 2013
    2
    Had a hard time watching it. So slow and boring, endless scenes with background music. It looks like and independent film, if you hate these, please don't watch it.
  48. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    'Drive' puts aside fairy-tale plots, and excessive CGI and in-turn replaces them with 'real' characters, and a real-life, believable story; and still succeeds. Accompanied by an incredible soundtrack, 'Drive' is a movie as close to perfect, that you are ever likely to see.
  49. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    This film oozes 80's from the very beginning with great music and titles setting the tone of the film and telling you this is gonna be a great looking film. The direction is amazing in every way the romance seems genuine, there is clear tension on screen when the plot calls for it. The driving scenes wouldn't look out of place in a hollywood blockbuster and the physical scenes are brutallyThis film oozes 80's from the very beginning with great music and titles setting the tone of the film and telling you this is gonna be a great looking film. The direction is amazing in every way the romance seems genuine, there is clear tension on screen when the plot calls for it. The driving scenes wouldn't look out of place in a hollywood blockbuster and the physical scenes are brutally graphic with fantastic use of slow motion in each used to great effect. I felt the direction and the driver character are intertwined; very reserved for the most part then losing control for brief periods of time. The entire film is just great not needing to have constant exposition or explanation and simply having characters share a look instead. The story is devilishly simple yet so enthralling whilst not necessarily having to speed the plot along to the resolution too fast.
    Rating 10 out of 10
    It is in this films nature to be fantastic
    Expand
  50. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    The dynamic and visual punch of this film hits hard as we see the Driver make his way through the concrete-laden streets of Los Angeles. The cinematography in this movie is on another level as well is the soundtrack. Nicolas Winding Refn formulates an interesting mix of silence and violence throughout the movie that works surprisingly well. The hard-hitting gritty violence fusesThe dynamic and visual punch of this film hits hard as we see the Driver make his way through the concrete-laden streets of Los Angeles. The cinematography in this movie is on another level as well is the soundtrack. Nicolas Winding Refn formulates an interesting mix of silence and violence throughout the movie that works surprisingly well. The hard-hitting gritty violence fuses exceptionally well with the score courtesy of Cliff Martinez. The flaws presented with the Driver as well throughout the film just resonate with not only the type of person he is but also what this film has become: a real hero. Expand
  51. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best movies I have watched. It offers everything from romance to car chases and brutal violence. I mean how much can you ask from motion picture? I have watched this two times now.
  52. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Drive ditches the dramatic flash and the over the top action for a smooth, small but fine piece of cinema that surprised me after it ended, leaving a smile ear to ear.
    Ryan Gosling stars in a very unique lead role, this guy barely says a word the entire film, seriously, like five or six sentences this man speaks, but its his actions which, in this case, speak louder than words.
    Gosling
    Drive ditches the dramatic flash and the over the top action for a smooth, small but fine piece of cinema that surprised me after it ended, leaving a smile ear to ear.
    Ryan Gosling stars in a very unique lead role, this guy barely says a word the entire film, seriously, like five or six sentences this man speaks, but its his actions which, in this case, speak louder than words.
    Gosling plays an unnamed driver, who is a Hollywood stunt driver by day, and a hired getaway driver by night. He leads a very lonesome and care free life, that id until he meets Irene (Carey Mulligan) who lives in the same apartment block as him, he soon takes on a job from Irene's convicted husband, Standard, after a man Standard owes money to threatens Irene and her son.
    Bryan Cranston clocks in a small yet very different (from Walter White) role as mechanic Shannon, who the driver works for, he sets the driver up with a job offering his services to Bernie (Albert Brooks) and Nino (Ron Perlman), mob bosses.
    Drive will not appeal to everyones style or taste, but it is certainly a different sort of film that is difficult not to appreciate, slow paced, yes, but with good reason, why should it go out and copy all the the action flicks with no brain, this film has plenty of brain and thought-provoking scenarios, the first scene involving a getaway, most films would go with the high speed car chase along the highway, Drive, on the other hand, deals in the low key affair of evading where possible, flicking the lights off and pulling in behind another parked car etc.
    The film makes no attempt to bel flashy and go for glitz, and this is truly a welcome change to a familiar concept, Gosling is a cold yet calculating anti-hero, never attempting to break form his routine life, he is simplistic in his delivery but willing to get his hands dirty when the time comes.
    There are moments in the film that are just silence, and silence is golden, as these scenes truly outline the capability of of these young stars, Irene never seems to be truly sure of the driver, yet trusts him at every turn, and Shannon sees him as a son, again never really knowing just what he is capable of, it plays with the human insecurity of trusts, and hits it head on with the unnerving stare of the driver.
    A grounded yet sophisticated crime film, with all the realism and gritty scenarios of LA, Drive is certainly one of the most underrated films to appear in the last several years, and is a truly powerful story of power and love.
    Expand
  53. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely the best film of 2011! I just finished watching this movie for the second time, after almost a year in between. I purposely delayed a second viewing, thinking there was no way it could stand up to the sheer exhilaration I felt the first time I watched it, but I was wrong.
    This movie is unlike anything else I have ever seen. The opening sequence of Driver performing his job,
    Absolutely the best film of 2011! I just finished watching this movie for the second time, after almost a year in between. I purposely delayed a second viewing, thinking there was no way it could stand up to the sheer exhilaration I felt the first time I watched it, but I was wrong.
    This movie is unlike anything else I have ever seen. The opening sequence of Driver performing his job, has a perfect musical score, and the way that the entire sequence follows the plays of the baseball game on the radio, up to and including the first of many beautiful and unexpected moments mini-climaxes are the first indications of this movies graceful, almost shy, but still intense perfection. Many have called Driver (the unnamed protagonist) emotionless, but they clearly lack any understanding of the subtle shyness and think first speak later mentality that comes from being a lonely hermit. Driver is a true hero, as the beautiful musical score states. He is an archetype sorely missing in today's era of morally relative anti-heroes. Not that I don't love the typical anti-hero, but despite the multiple grisly murders that Driver performs throughout the second half of the film, there is never any doubting his purity and heroic nature. In the end, this is a film of contradiction. A gritty violent crime drama mixed with a subtle, shy, and tender love story. Brief but explosive action mixed into moments of pure serenity. Slow detail oriented drama building to a climax of murder, mayhem, and old school cowboy heroics. I simply don't understand how anyone could find this masterpiece of modern cinema to be anything short of perfection. Drive is the closest thing to perfection you are likely to find on Netflix or Blu-Ray any time soon, so just go watch it. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  54. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    "Drive" is style over substance, but it's great style! The plot is not to complex, but the cinematography, camera, score, atmosphere, pacing and actors are absolutely fantastic. Every scene is so intense, you practically feel the movie. "Drive" is perfectly edited and paced, building up tension out of thin air. If it escalates, it really escalates, and makes you jump out of your seat. A"Drive" is style over substance, but it's great style! The plot is not to complex, but the cinematography, camera, score, atmosphere, pacing and actors are absolutely fantastic. Every scene is so intense, you practically feel the movie. "Drive" is perfectly edited and paced, building up tension out of thin air. If it escalates, it really escalates, and makes you jump out of your seat. A stylish, dense, violent crime drama you just have to see. The second the credits rolled, I wanted to watch it again. Expand
  55. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    ryan´s performance is the best. In my opinion this is the best thriller drama of 2011. the movie is slow but it's exciting and tense and the chemistry between Carey and Ryan is the best
  56. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Do you know that feeling when you barely know anything about the film you are going to watch because nobody has told you anything and because from the trailer you don´t know what to expect, if greatness or mediocrity... and then the result is an excellent film? Do you know that feeling? This is what happens with Drive. From the first minute I knew I was going to like it. With justDo you know that feeling when you barely know anything about the film you are going to watch because nobody has told you anything and because from the trailer you don´t know what to expect, if greatness or mediocrity... and then the result is an excellent film? Do you know that feeling? This is what happens with Drive. From the first minute I knew I was going to like it. With just the first 10 minutes (some car scenes and the credits) I was in. I loved it. Perfect pace. Great performances. Funny how these films with quiet characters say more than many other films with lots of dialogue. Ryan Gosling is perfect in the film. I give it a 8/10 Expand
  57. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    This movie is one of the best movies of 2011 i've ever seen. There is a good story and very good cast.
    I give drive a nine because I found the beginning very slowly, But it is a nice movie :-)
  58. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    After watching this film I realized that this guy really knows how to make an action film. The scenes were timed perfectly,Ryan Gosling & Albert Brooks & Bryan Cranston had good performances,and after awhile youy forget what the plot even is.
  59. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    "Drive" seamlessly shifts from first into fourth gear, just a bit slow out of the gate, and never quite kicks into fifth. "Drive" is the story of a Hollywood stunt driver (Ryan Gosling) by day, who offers his specialized abilities as a getaway driver-for-hire in the criminal underworld by night. He finds himself a target after agreeing to aid the husband of his beautiful neighbor, Irene"Drive" seamlessly shifts from first into fourth gear, just a bit slow out of the gate, and never quite kicks into fifth. "Drive" is the story of a Hollywood stunt driver (Ryan Gosling) by day, who offers his specialized abilities as a getaway driver-for-hire in the criminal underworld by night. He finds himself a target after agreeing to aid the husband of his beautiful neighbor, Irene (Carey Mulligan). When the job falls apart, the only way he can keep Irene and her son alive is to do what he does best-Drive.
    "Drive" is a fine action/thriller film that is light on the storyline and dialog (which isn't necessarily a bad thing), and heavy on highly-stylized action scenes with intense moments of violence. Ryan Gosling is fantastic as usual, but I cannot get past Albert Brooks part as a complete miscast. Perhaps expectations were too high going into the viewing, because outside of Ryan's performance, I just don't think there is anything really special here.
    Expand
  60. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A perfect motion picture. It's not about a serial killer, it's about a mysterious man who gets involved into a crime that makes him to a (very brutal) serial killer. This guy seems abstracted, somewhat even retarded, but Ryan Gosling plays him condignly human. These moments when he stares into blankness are stunning, just because of the beautiful cinematography and the awesome soundtrackA perfect motion picture. It's not about a serial killer, it's about a mysterious man who gets involved into a crime that makes him to a (very brutal) serial killer. This guy seems abstracted, somewhat even retarded, but Ryan Gosling plays him condignly human. These moments when he stares into blankness are stunning, just because of the beautiful cinematography and the awesome soundtrack (this is one of the best movie scores of all time, for what it's worth). Drive captivates you ab initio and doesn't even stop after the movie is finished. It makes you think about beguilement and the craziness of people and that gets exhibited radically explicit. But on the other hand the movie isn't specialized on character sketches or telling long rigmaroles, it only shows you what is absolutely necessary. Oscar nominations for cinematography, production design, score, original song and maybe also editing would have been just. And not to forget the acting, which is also great and absolutely fits the film. I personally love Drive and I can't find anything that disappoints me with this movie. Expand
  61. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    Drive pulls off a successful blend of intense violence and an artistic style of filmmaking. Not your average action flick.
  62. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Conciseness is often a form of skill, and "Drive" is the epitome of that. Take a movie like the Godfather, cut it in half, make it more coherent and artistic and this is what you get. "Drive" is the greatest crime movie ever made, it hangs on the edge of presenting a story so black and white, yet contains elements conveying the complexity of the characters. Too much use of dialogue makes aConciseness is often a form of skill, and "Drive" is the epitome of that. Take a movie like the Godfather, cut it in half, make it more coherent and artistic and this is what you get. "Drive" is the greatest crime movie ever made, it hangs on the edge of presenting a story so black and white, yet contains elements conveying the complexity of the characters. Too much use of dialogue makes a film seem scripted, and an obviously structured piece of media, "Drive" removes those cliches, and in offering much less, gives so much more. The lack of speaking allows you to fill in the pieces using common sense as the characters are so empathetic and so human. The casting itself mirrors that of the dialogue, no A-list celebrities are used, but we see familiar talented faces; this gives us the same sense of distancing that the dialogue gave us, but just enough there's a previous connection built to help us relate. One could go on and on about the soundtrack as well, the best I've heard in almost any movie. While almost being an action movie, "Drive" busts out stunts and intense action scenes to change the pace, however it's not blatant mainstream action at all, violence is far and few between, but so hard hitting it makes your stomach queasy, reminding you of the brutality people can live in real life. The simplicity of the movie is its strongest quality; and it doesn't need to be marked as "artsy" or "European", "Drive" is a breath of fresh air being a like a basic painting that allows your imagination to interpret it your own way like true art does. Expand
  63. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    No complications, simple & been done plenty of times. The basic plot is the same as loads of films yet this stands head over heals better than them all. It's beautiful yet violent, Gsling in magnificent & has proved himself to be one of Hollywoods best & brightest & could eventually be in the same league as De Niro & co. this film is a classic & one of my all time favourites.
  64. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Stylish and unique! One of the absolute best films of 2011. Robbed in virtually every category at the Oscars last year. A cult film that's sure to be a modern classic in time.
  65. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    Hyper stylized can be done well with real purpose. Unfortunately, in regards to Drive, it can be done so wrong that it becomes laughable. I was unconvinced by the characters motives and feelings and honestly didn't care about any of them. The plot had a good structure, but was really blown to bits by the director's ego. The cinematography was wonderful though so at least it had somethingHyper stylized can be done well with real purpose. Unfortunately, in regards to Drive, it can be done so wrong that it becomes laughable. I was unconvinced by the characters motives and feelings and honestly didn't care about any of them. The plot had a good structure, but was really blown to bits by the director's ego. The cinematography was wonderful though so at least it had something going for it. Expand
  66. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    "Drive" proves to be a brutal drama, featuring a great performance from Ryan Gosling and carrying a uniquely slick and quiet, yet fierce atmosphere.
  67. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    With elegant backdrops, focused camera-work, an amazing soundtrack, and immensely slow, but intense, moments; Drive is definetly an "artsy" film. However, this is not a typical artsy-fartsy film. It doesn't stop short by only providing the previously mentioned characteristics, it uses them as a foundation and builds upon them. Ryan Gosling does a great job at playing a perplexingWith elegant backdrops, focused camera-work, an amazing soundtrack, and immensely slow, but intense, moments; Drive is definetly an "artsy" film. However, this is not a typical artsy-fartsy film. It doesn't stop short by only providing the previously mentioned characteristics, it uses them as a foundation and builds upon them. Ryan Gosling does a great job at playing a perplexing character that you are never quite sure of. The gentle and caring nature conveyed by Gosling really makes you want to root for him as a hero(anti-hero), however, there is a explosive violence bottled in him that makes you step back and wonder how far he would/could really go. These outbursts provide for some very intense scenes that quite memorable. All of the supporting actors are great and play their roles well. There's a definite "cool" factor to the movie that is just hard to explain, but get a hold of the soundtrack and cruise through town to it and you'll catch my drift - just don't break any laws! :) There are some long pauses in dialogue between the Driver and the love interest, but I was not turned off by it and found it to actually be more convincing of that awkward true love moment than how others interpret it. Also, if you don't know or understand the fable The Scorpion and the Frog, then you're might be missing the integral part of the story. I actually was unaware of this fable, but I had a feeling that a key scene where the Driver mentions it had more meaning then was blatantly conveyed, so I looked it up afterwards. I recommend reading the fable before seeing the movie as it summarizes the tortured nature of the Driver. I almost wish they would have showed the fable in text at the very beginning of the movie. Expand
  68. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    Artistically, the film is impressive. However, I wouldn't recommend watching it with friends as a casual movie night thing. It's more of a film to be appreciated for its cinematography rather than its plot.
  69. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Drive is how action films should be. It's quiet, elegant, and then it floors you. Ryan Gosling delivers a stone cold and determined performance without saying a word.
  70. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    Drive is a rare film; one beautiful in cinematography, rich in atmospheric sound (its soundtrack being one of the greatest in filmmaking history), graphic in its portrayal of violence and utterly unique in its abstract direction. The storyline is simple (yet utterly compelling) and, in the hands of Nicholas Winding Refn, it is transformed into an artform, devoid of many words but rich inDrive is a rare film; one beautiful in cinematography, rich in atmospheric sound (its soundtrack being one of the greatest in filmmaking history), graphic in its portrayal of violence and utterly unique in its abstract direction. The storyline is simple (yet utterly compelling) and, in the hands of Nicholas Winding Refn, it is transformed into an artform, devoid of many words but rich in character. Expand
  71. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    All the people saying they did not like this film were expecting a stupid action movie which is not what this is. If you thought The Avengers was the greatest movie ever made, then this is not for you because it requires an actual brain to watch it. Must see.
  72. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Drive will have haters as all films do, yet it's hard to deny the sheer style on display here. Neon nights and steady gazes take up a sizeable chunk of the film and those looking for an action laden thriller may find the film's cruising pace more than a little bit frustrating. But Drive is not fot those people. Those looking for a stylish, shocking and slick thriller will find plenty toDrive will have haters as all films do, yet it's hard to deny the sheer style on display here. Neon nights and steady gazes take up a sizeable chunk of the film and those looking for an action laden thriller may find the film's cruising pace more than a little bit frustrating. But Drive is not fot those people. Those looking for a stylish, shocking and slick thriller will find plenty to enjoy in Drive and it would not be going too far as to lable it one of the finest examples of stylish film making that audiences are likely to see this decade. And whilst the ultra violent second half may repulse many, it's hard to deny that by the time the film reaches this point, the character, and his story, are truly imbedded in our hearts. Expand
  73. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Drive is, in my opinion, the best film of the past couple of years. Better yet is that I wasn't expecting it... at all. With a title like Drive, and a pretty-boy star like Ryan Gosling (whom I had greatly underestimated until this film - poor judgment on my part), one would expect this to be a Hollywood blockbuster action movie with lots of cool chase scenes. Well it's not. In fact, thereDrive is, in my opinion, the best film of the past couple of years. Better yet is that I wasn't expecting it... at all. With a title like Drive, and a pretty-boy star like Ryan Gosling (whom I had greatly underestimated until this film - poor judgment on my part), one would expect this to be a Hollywood blockbuster action movie with lots of cool chase scenes. Well it's not. In fact, there are only two chase scenes in the film, and while one is rather exciting and fits the standard bill, the other is a masterpiece. This chase opens the film, and it's not at all what you're expecting. It is slow, deliberate, and suspenseful; a driver attempts to avoid the police, on the moonlit streets of LA, not with speed and skill (though he does possess them), but with cunning. This scene sets the tone for the rest of the film: a cool, calculated, character-driven story, which doesn't say as much as it does - much like its protagonist.

    Lack of a name and lack of words make the driver a very mysterious character. We get absolutely no sense of who he was, or how he arrived at his current situation - no time lost to an over-complicated backstory. In a way, we are offered more of a description of his character than most movies would provide, but only through his actions. Stanley Kubrick was a huge believer in the importance of watching a film. It is evident in 2001: A Space Odyssey (10/10 in my book) that he urges his audience to watch rather than listen. In case you haven't seen it, the very first dialogue occurs about 25 minutes into the film, and the rest is sparse to say the least. Drive director Nicolas Winding Refn does the same, telling most of his story through body language, facial expressions, and brilliant camera work.

    Let me stop here and say that the cinematography in this film is among my favorite ever. This is possibly the most masterful aspect of the story: it unfolds so beautifully on screen.

    Refn also displays some brilliant qualities of another director, and this claim may be a bit unexpected: it's Quentin Tarantino. I'll have to clarify what I mean here. The great majority of a Tarantino film like Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, or Inglourious Basterds is character development. Tarantino accomplishes this with very long and seemingly inconsequential dialogues. The rest of the movie is generally violent; by this I mean sudden, shocking, sometimes appalling violence. This effectively makes a Tarantino film very gritty, when in fact a huge portion of it is friendly dialogue about Big Macs in France, for example. The character development in Drive is very different, because it is so visual. But the rest of the movie is, like Tarantino's, extremely gritty. Folks, this is some of the most disturbing violence out there, because the realism is so great, and because the camera does not shy away. I'm not trying to say it's a gore fest. It's nothing like that, in fact. It's just so real that it hurts. I happen to think it is superb, but it definitely makes me cringe. I'm warning you right now that some of it may not be pleasant - but that's the point.

    For a much more lengthy and in-depth review, see my blog at kofdrops.blogspot.com.
    Expand
  74. Sep 19, 2012
    6
    Tension is the word. Every single scene in the movie is embedded with a high level of tension. This is good, it's what kept me interested in it, and this is all thanks to how greatly the acting cast did their jobs. I liked the music/sound in Drive as well. Still, even with all the tension and great acting and good music, I felt bored at times, I could not relate well to the plot. I cannotTension is the word. Every single scene in the movie is embedded with a high level of tension. This is good, it's what kept me interested in it, and this is all thanks to how greatly the acting cast did their jobs. I liked the music/sound in Drive as well. Still, even with all the tension and great acting and good music, I felt bored at times, I could not relate well to the plot. I cannot tell exactly what it is that Drive lacks, but when I look at the ratings and critic reviews, it's clear to me that the movie is overhyped. Definitely worth watching, though. Expand
  75. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    No review here, just a **** you to the 0/10's.
    Great movie, great soundtrack, great characters, watch it, love it, rate it. Just filling up these characters.
  76. Sep 4, 2012
    4
    This movie was really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, boring. Stupid 150 characters.
  77. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    A very clever film that is perhaps too 'arty' for me to love. It is paced extremely slowly but is saved by Mulligan and Cranston who are superb. Still I enjoyed myself but I can't imagine me every watching this film again.
  78. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Drive is a movie for smart people who know that it doesn't take explosive action or over-the-top stunts to make a good movie. It is a film that is devoted to characters and storytelling rather than shoving action into the viewer;s face. While there is some action here and there, the film is built around developing the characters and using silence to build a mood that I haven't seen or feltDrive is a movie for smart people who know that it doesn't take explosive action or over-the-top stunts to make a good movie. It is a film that is devoted to characters and storytelling rather than shoving action into the viewer;s face. While there is some action here and there, the film is built around developing the characters and using silence to build a mood that I haven't seen or felt much in other movies. Ryan Gosling doesn't say much in the film, but his performance and attitude is what makes the film. Everyone else is either good or great, but Gosling steals the show. Overall, a great movie that should not be seen as what the trailers have shown. Expand
  79. Aug 13, 2012
    6
    The actors are good, the soundtrack is better, and the cinematography is masterful. The movie sets its self up very nicely but slowly becomes a dull thriller. The gore is so over the top, distracting, and unnecessary. The solemnity of the performances vanish every time Refn extends a scene into jarringly violent territory. Ryan Gosling is great and I really want to see more work from RefnThe actors are good, the soundtrack is better, and the cinematography is masterful. The movie sets its self up very nicely but slowly becomes a dull thriller. The gore is so over the top, distracting, and unnecessary. The solemnity of the performances vanish every time Refn extends a scene into jarringly violent territory. Ryan Gosling is great and I really want to see more work from Refn for the most part but for right now I'm very disappointed in this movie. Violence has never affected my enjoyment for a movie as much as it did in Drive. Expand
  80. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    A gritty, grisly film, this was one of the best movies (and scripts) I saw in 2011. Gosling does so much with so little dialogue, as nothing is wasted in his performance, with the direction and writing were top-notch. This film was more than worthy of an Oscar nomination.
  81. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    I was entranced by this film. It was hypnotic from the beginning. All of the actors deliver and it is not as violent as some of the critics have said. Ryan Gosling can do no wrong and he proves it for this director. Albert Brooks is a thrill as a thug. Great movie and comment on being a loner.
  82. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Drive was my favorite movie of 2011. A superbly stylish movie with some incredible direction and a wonderful cast. Gosling and Mulligan are engaging in the lead roles, with Albert Brooks turning in one of the most surprising incredible villain performances in recent memory. Nicolas Winding Refn is one of the most interesting young directors working today, and I eagerly await more from him.
  83. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Drive is perfectly executed for the type of movie that [in my opinion] it aimed to be. I can't find fault in it on any level and I believe that if one did not enjoy this movie it was probably due to the subject matter or graphic scenes.
  84. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best films of 2011. The opening 5 minutes of Drive are simply extraordinary: zero music and virtually no dialogue, just the Driver outrunning the cops after a burglary. If you aren't instantly drawn in by the opening chase sequence, your favorite movie is most likely Transformers and you do not deserve to see the greatness this film beholds. This raw and realistic film isEasily one of the best films of 2011. The opening 5 minutes of Drive are simply extraordinary: zero music and virtually no dialogue, just the Driver outrunning the cops after a burglary. If you aren't instantly drawn in by the opening chase sequence, your favorite movie is most likely Transformers and you do not deserve to see the greatness this film beholds. This raw and realistic film is falsely advertised by its trailers; they make it seem like a hardcore action flick, but it turns out to be an intensely character driven story with very minimal, but effective, dialogue that progresses the story at a continuously entertaining pace. The cinematography is some of the best I've seen in years: it seems effortlessly smooth and endlessly creative. The plot is simple, but Refn's execution is, in part, what makes the film ultimately stand out. Another crucial part to what makes this film so enticing is its ruthless depiction of violence. I KNOW that some (actually, a lot of) people are turned away, or dislike, Drive solely because of its graphic violence. These people are dumb; IT'S A MOVIE (not real). The violence is as realistic as it gets, without being over-exaggerated to the point of blood spraying 10 feet into the air in all directions when someone gets stabbed. There ARE some very graphic scenes, but I feel that it's a reflection of the characters (especially Albert Brook's and Ryan Gosling's characters). Most of the film is actually absent of action/violence, in which i was pleasantly surprised by. It's probably a 75/25 split. Overall, if you have any appreciation of good film, you definitely need to see this film. It's amazing and should win a handful of Oscars.

    +1
    Expand
  85. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    (I've rated this on more of a personal level, and this review is written as such.) An emotional, quiet but surprising movie. A slow movie for a large part, but instead of being a downside, it is rather integral to the overall experience. Acting was convincing. The soundtrack was beautiful and emotionally moving. The viewer is left emotionally touched after watching. The overall story is(I've rated this on more of a personal level, and this review is written as such.) An emotional, quiet but surprising movie. A slow movie for a large part, but instead of being a downside, it is rather integral to the overall experience. Acting was convincing. The soundtrack was beautiful and emotionally moving. The viewer is left emotionally touched after watching. The overall story is fairly entertaining, but isn't too special, but the movie really shows itself on an "emotional" level. Again, the soundtrack plays a large part. Lastly, the viewer likely will either like it or dislike it. Expand
  86. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Drive is a very well made thriller. It features an excellent cast, great cinematography, and some of the most compelling scenes of recent memory. Ryan Gosling stars as the Driver, who does not seem to have a name. Tellingly he drives. He works as a Hollywood stuntman during the day, moonlighting as a getaway driver for various criminals. Gosling's performance is anchored in the Driver'sDrive is a very well made thriller. It features an excellent cast, great cinematography, and some of the most compelling scenes of recent memory. Ryan Gosling stars as the Driver, who does not seem to have a name. Tellingly he drives. He works as a Hollywood stuntman during the day, moonlighting as a getaway driver for various criminals. Gosling's performance is anchored in the Driver's harsh reality; he deals with life and death situations on a routine basis with no real identity. He slowly opens up when he is getting to know his neighbor (Mulligan) and her son (Leos); he does not talk much, but is genuinely kind. Mulligan's husband (Isaac) returns home from prison and is soon threatened for owed protection money. The Driver decides to offer his help, which is when the film shifts from a slow-building character study to a pulse-pounding thriller. Also involved in the proceedings are Bryan Cranston as the Driver's mentor of sorts, and Albert Brooks and Ron Perlman as two mob bosses. Each actor breathes a unique life into his or her respective character. Most are given surprising amounts of depth. Nicolas Winding Refn's direction deserves praise as well; the film captivates in just about each and every scene. Though the meandering first half clashes with the abrupt ending, Drive ultimately manages to be a satisfying and thrilling experience. Expand
  87. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best movie I have ever seen if not THE best. It is so refreshing to finally see something different. There is a lot of silent moments in the movie and all of them are pure gold. Here, pictures are more important than words. Gosling plays a character that you care about even if he barely speaks. The story is simple but, as I always say; what matter isn't the story but,This is one of the best movie I have ever seen if not THE best. It is so refreshing to finally see something different. There is a lot of silent moments in the movie and all of them are pure gold. Here, pictures are more important than words. Gosling plays a character that you care about even if he barely speaks. The story is simple but, as I always say; what matter isn't the story but, the way you tell it. Don't watch that movie thinking it will be a fast and furious clone because you will end up posting a 0/10 review on metacritic. Everyone have their opinion BUT, it doesn't mean that your opinion is true. If you don't like the movie, fine, enjoy fast and furious #56. Drive is a piece of art from start to finish. Watch it with your mind completely open and I am sure that it will be blown away. Expand
  88. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    Modestly entertaining premise, but let down by comically gratuitous violence and awkward (some will say artsy) dialogue. The incongruous soundtrack over cliched, subtle-as-a-brick scene shooting doesnt help. Felt as though it'd been put together by precocious teenagers. If so, definitely worth a GCSE.
  89. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Driving, a cult film and majestic, so I can categorize this piece of art is perfect, action, mystery, music, everything ... Nicolas, you've got a very good movie, never forget this, and everything is very, very exciting!
  90. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    If anyone has not seen Drive yet, please go to your nearest RedBox and rent this movie. Gossling does a fantastic job playing the lead roll as get-away/stunt driver in California. Gosslings character, who is referred to only as "the kid" does not say much throughout the movie, which only adds to this unique film.
  91. May 29, 2012
    5
    I tried to give this movie a chance. I like films that do something different. The first five minutes were great. Then, the rest of the movie happened. The main character was so unrealistic when it came to human interaction it was painful to watch. It was like he was mentally handicapped or stunted, and that is to put it lightly. I am glad that I didn't pay to see this film in theaters.I tried to give this movie a chance. I like films that do something different. The first five minutes were great. Then, the rest of the movie happened. The main character was so unrealistic when it came to human interaction it was painful to watch. It was like he was mentally handicapped or stunted, and that is to put it lightly. I am glad that I didn't pay to see this film in theaters. The action was so-so, but I was just glad it was only 100 minutes. I found myself almost asleep thirty minutes in. How this movie got critical acclaim is beyond me, and I am a movie guy who likes quirky films. Expand
  92. May 19, 2012
    3
    I found this movie to be highly overrated. It is decent to begin with and makes you wonder who the main protagonist is, but it slowly turns into a bland, boring, and way too long movie. The main problem I had was that the main character doesn't speak. You can't build a connection with him. There was also an excessive use of blood. I love action movies with blood, but this is way overboard.I found this movie to be highly overrated. It is decent to begin with and makes you wonder who the main protagonist is, but it slowly turns into a bland, boring, and way too long movie. The main problem I had was that the main character doesn't speak. You can't build a connection with him. There was also an excessive use of blood. I love action movies with blood, but this is way overboard. The only reason people watched it was because all girls go crazy over Ryan Gosling. Expand
  93. May 15, 2012
    9
    This movie was great. I love how it was directed and the story that was show was very well written. Gossling played his character top notch. If your are expecting an all out action packed movie this isn't it. This is a story driven movie. Well worth the watch. This has made it into my top 5 favorite movies.
  94. May 12, 2012
    9
    Stylish,Violent,Fast Paced and Entertaining.With a great cast and Stunning performance by Ryan Gosling this movie lives up to expectations. A classic crime Thriller movie reminding of old hero type characters and villain. Carey Mulligan is so charming,Bryan Cranston is great ,Ron Perlman is good as always but the best in Supporting role is Albert Brooks with his heart wrenchingStylish,Violent,Fast Paced and Entertaining.With a great cast and Stunning performance by Ryan Gosling this movie lives up to expectations. A classic crime Thriller movie reminding of old hero type characters and villain. Carey Mulligan is so charming,Bryan Cranston is great ,Ron Perlman is good as always but the best in Supporting role is Albert Brooks with his heart wrenching performance. one of the best action movie of 2011. Expand
  95. May 8, 2012
    10
    Silence is golden. And a saying that has never been more appropriate. 'Drive' is a magnificent movie. From the very beginning you are seduced by it's sublime silence and then you simply strap yourself in and enjoy what proves to be a cool, compelling, low-key,smart and sophisticated film to the very end. Ryan Gosling is dazzling as Driver. It's almost effortless from Gosling in what is hisSilence is golden. And a saying that has never been more appropriate. 'Drive' is a magnificent movie. From the very beginning you are seduced by it's sublime silence and then you simply strap yourself in and enjoy what proves to be a cool, compelling, low-key,smart and sophisticated film to the very end. Ryan Gosling is dazzling as Driver. It's almost effortless from Gosling in what is his finest performance to date, he oozed star quality in delivering such a calm yet intense display whilst managing to convey such authority. Carey Mulligan is charming in the role of Irene and portrays her role as the ordinary, sweet next neighbour with such an ease. The supporting class are also a credit to this film. Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad)has always been a firm favourite and yet again he is ever dependable and despite not being in the film throughout he plays an integral role and is great in doing so, Ron Perlman (Hellboy) is also amongst the supporting cast aswell as a notable appearance by the gorgeous Christina Hendricks. The film in so unique and eligant but it's plot is simple. Driver is a stuntman, car mechanic - working for Shannon (Cranston) and 'Driver' getting clients from A to B but never works for the same person twice. However, when he runs into neighbour Irene (Mulligan) and her son Benicio, things quickly change for him. Eventually he meets her husband, Standard, upon his release from jail and after he is attacked he agrees to help him pay off his debts. The heist backfires and Standard is killed leading Driver to believe it was a set-up and as a result sets out to find those responsible whilst ensuring Irene and Benicio's safety. It's a film before it's time with a noir feeling depicted from the opening sequences and it certainly seems to take inspiration from the 80's/90's with the likes of Pulp Fiction and Risky Business elements relevant. The cinematography is excellent and showcases Nicolas Winding Refn's talents in abundance, its impressive work. 'Drive' has been criticized by some for the violence shown within the film however its not as severe as you may think, yes there's some gritty moments but its a more realistic depiction of events compared to what you see in other films. All in all, 'Drive' is an exhilarating experience and without doubt one of the must see movies of modern times, i've never enjoyed such a neat and stylish work of art, utterly unmissable! Spectacular. Expand
  96. May 8, 2012
    8
    I think you love it or you hate this movie. I really love this movie. Ryan Gosling is a very good actor and I love to look at him. But not just Ryan acts well also Carey Mulligan does. The music is so good I actually already downloaded the soundtrack. Not just the music is good also the cinematography is beautiful. They have done it differently.
    I didn't really know what would happend next
    I think you love it or you hate this movie. I really love this movie. Ryan Gosling is a very good actor and I love to look at him. But not just Ryan acts well also Carey Mulligan does. The music is so good I actually already downloaded the soundtrack. Not just the music is good also the cinematography is beautiful. They have done it differently.
    I didn't really know what would happend next in this movie and i loved that. I hope you guys will see this movie.
    Expand
  97. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    WORST MOVIE EVER! Gosselings character was portrayed as mentally retarded. The love story, as well as the ridiculousness of virtually every scene was laughable. If you liked this movie even a little, your a complete idiot who knows nothing about cinema.
  98. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing. The mise en scène [lighting in particular] were on point. My favorite movie of the year, even beating out Harry Potter and Fast Five. Worth watching; God forbid you prefer Transformers to this.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Drive works as a great demonstration of how, when there's true talent behind the camera, entertainment and art are not enemies but allies.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 19, 2013
    83
    Combing a memorably gritty Ryan Gosling performance with the breakneck tempo of the getaway cars his character handles for hire, Refn churns out a hyperactive love letter to road rage with unapologetic glee. It's a total blast.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Jul 19, 2013
    80
    Buckle up; it's quite a ride.