Earth to Echo

Earth to Echo Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: After a construction project begins digging in their neighborhood, best friends Tuck, Munch and Alex inexplicably begin to receive strange, encoded messages on their cell phones. Convinced something bigger is going on, they go to their parents and the authorities. When everyone around themAfter a construction project begins digging in their neighborhood, best friends Tuck, Munch and Alex inexplicably begin to receive strange, encoded messages on their cell phones. Convinced something bigger is going on, they go to their parents and the authorities. When everyone around them refuses to take the messages seriously, the three embark on a secret adventure to crack the code and follow it to its source. But taking matters into their own hands gets the trio in way over their heads when they discover a mysterious being from another world who desperately needs their help. The epic, suspenseful and exciting journey that follows will change all of their lives forever. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Osmond
    Jul 21, 2014
    80
    Does for "E.T." what "Super 8" did for "Close Encounters." As lovably '80s as Reece's Pieces and pop socks.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jul 1, 2014
    75
    Green and his cast deliver a wonderful surprise. Echo himself, a generically precious alien, is the least of it. The funny, moving, authentic bond among the kids in the movie is the unadvertised draw.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jul 8, 2014
    70
    The filmmakers wanted to broaden the formula a little, make it more inclusive, do something a little adventurous. Kinda like Earth to Echo's tween heroes.
  4. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Jul 1, 2014
    60
    It's no "E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial." (What is?) But on its own modest terms, the alien adventure Earth to Echo is a lively and likable knockoff that should divert, if not exactly enthrall, tweens and young teens.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 2, 2014
    58
    All in all, Earth to Echo is passable family entertainment, neither unforgettable nor particularly bad.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 2, 2014
    50
    This isn't a family-friendly film - anyone over the age of about 8 will immediately recognize that significant chunks of the story don't make sense.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 1, 2014
    25
    Even at a cramped and frenetic 82 minutes, the movie feels long. That’s what happens when the audience can guess everything that’s going to happen in advance.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 42
  2. Negative: 22 out of 42
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    This was the best movie ever. I saw the bad reviews and thought it would be boring, but when I saw it I literally said and thought toThis was the best movie ever. I saw the bad reviews and thought it would be boring, but when I saw it I literally said and thought to everybody around me, "who could think this is boring?" This was the bets movie of all time, and I like it better than even Disney, and I am a Disney fan. No chance I'm ever going to see a better movie. I loved Earth to Echo, brilliant movie!!! Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Earth to Echo incorporates movies like Cloverfield, Super 8 and E.T., and does each of those movies justice. I found it to be enjoyable,Earth to Echo incorporates movies like Cloverfield, Super 8 and E.T., and does each of those movies justice. I found it to be enjoyable, sincere and at the same time highlighting an important theme, friendship. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2015
    6
    Is it a great movie -- well that may depend on your age and how well you can handle all the cliché's and similarities to other sci-fi flicks.Is it a great movie -- well that may depend on your age and how well you can handle all the cliché's and similarities to other sci-fi flicks. But other than that is it still an okay movie, and that's mostly due to the great characters, solid plot and somewhat okay actors. Yes the plot isn't original by a long shot, but it's still works in its own way. The story is somewhat unique and there are some entertaining (but also boring) moments. But it doesn't feel that exciting as what it could have been. It started a bit slow but it ascalated greatly in the second and the third act. The aspect that really stands out in Earth To Echo is the cinematography, it's unique but somewhat shaky and annoying. But is it worth watching -- I would say that's it's a 50 % chance that you would find it okay, so it's up to you. But I wouldn't take those odds.

    6.5/10
    Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2014
    3
    Why another remake this movie is, The Goonies . E.T. The Lost Boys. The Monster Squad. Super 8. Chronicle , every year the remakes areWhy another remake this movie is, The Goonies . E.T. The Lost Boys. The Monster Squad. Super 8. Chronicle , every year the remakes are coming strong in hollywood , read more books hollywood there are great storys out there. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2014
    3
    I can tell they won't have the same spark that the kids from the others classic kids movies had. You can also tell that the kids acting are beI can tell they won't have the same spark that the kids from the others classic kids movies had. You can also tell that the kids acting are be bad ,the truth is this movie is crappy. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    3
    Elliott! Elliott!, Phone Home. i like Earth to Echo, but is not good as the others kids movies of the 80's ,and the Super 8 is better. E.T.!Elliott! Elliott!, Phone Home. i like Earth to Echo, but is not good as the others kids movies of the 80's ,and the Super 8 is better. E.T.! E.T.! E.T.! Be good. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2014
    1
    There is something rotten in Denmark when I keep seeing loads of professional and user reviews that tout how great awful movies are on sitesThere is something rotten in Denmark when I keep seeing loads of professional and user reviews that tout how great awful movies are on sites like this one and many others like it. I'm starting to wonder if movie studios are not paying people to come on sites like this to praise terrible movies like Earth to Echo. After seeing this with the wife and daughter and a bunch of her friends I felt compelled to take over the movie selection of my daughter's slumber party and show them E.T which they absolutely adored after they got past the 70/80's clothes, home furnishings and products. Let me just say when a bunch of 11 year old girls call a movie like this one crap, it is truly CRAP! Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.