Easy Money

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jul 18, 2013
    60
    A story stretched thinly between two many characters, without the dynamism or momentum to keep itself charging onwards.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    May 20, 2013
    60
    There's plenty here to show why director Daniel Espinosa caught Hollywood's eye, even if this pre-Safe House crime drama holds few surprises.
  3. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jul 10, 2012
    60
    It's obvious from Easy Money why Espinosa would be going places. So long as he takes Kinnaman with him, the gentleman can have our hard-earned cash.
  4. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    Easy Money takes its time telling us how all the fortunes of all three men intersect, and the movie's failing - or at least its significant imperfection - is that when the stories and lifelines do converge, the results just aren't satisfying.
  5. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Betrayals will occur and loyalties will be tested, but it's the audience that ends up ripped off.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    I won't spend a ton of time on this review other than to say I anticipated this film extremely highly. I'm a fan of Joel Kinnaman from TheI won't spend a ton of time on this review other than to say I anticipated this film extremely highly. I'm a fan of Joel Kinnaman from The Killing and Safe House, and the story looked terrific. Unfortunately, even though the acting is terrific (including the outstanding Serbian lead), the story just does NOT come together. Too many threads, not enough focus. I would have loved to have seen the writers give it another shot before they started filming. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    This is a very disappointing movie that amazingly is made somewhat tolerable by the commanding presence of lead actor Joel Kinnaman. HisThis is a very disappointing movie that amazingly is made somewhat tolerable by the commanding presence of lead actor Joel Kinnaman. His portrayal of the naive chancer is so deserving of a better film. The story lacks context and focus and is surprisingly quite a drag lacking in any real tension,pace or cohesion. The last 20 minutes or so kick things into high gear, but for a two hour plus film it really is a case of too little too late. Full Review »
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    There's a lot I like about this gritty thriller based around the Serbian Mafia. You get an interesting insight into that world. The acting isThere's a lot I like about this gritty thriller based around the Serbian Mafia. You get an interesting insight into that world. The acting is fine, the characters are believable, but none of them are really likeable, even if you get shown that they have a human side. I suppose I'm old fashion and I like rooting for someone in a film. It's very full on, violent and intense with slick production and good music but a bit silly and contrived. Some odd moments that just make you laugh out loud. Like some guy in a room screaming in slow motion because he's had such a bad day Full Review »