Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 17, 2012
    88
    One of the most involving of the many first-rate thrillers that have come recently from Scandinavia.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 13, 2012
    83
    Character is action, Scott Fitzgerald once wrote. It certainly is here.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 11, 2012
    100
    Easy Money is not merely an early-career curiosity. It's one of the best underworld films I've seen in years, and Kinnaman gives a fantastic performance in it.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 11, 2012
    83
    While overlong and occasionally too reliant on a formulaic set of motives to drive the action forward, Easy Money retains its suave composure right through the engrossing finale.
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jul 12, 2012
    90
    This jazzy crime melodrama is engrossing and exhilarating because of Espinosa's impressive command of a wide range of filmmaking skills.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jul 26, 2012
    88
    An English-language remake is in the works, but why wait for the Hollywood knockoff? Easy Money is the real thing: a great gangster pic.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 12, 2012
    100
    Easy Money may well be the crime film of the year, or the decade.
  8. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jul 13, 2012
    90
    Easy Money's big heist scene is the only action set piece so far this year that was so suspenseful I could feel my heartbeat in my ears.
  9. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Jul 25, 2012
    83
    Swims forward with tenacious shark-like energy and therefore is sleek, efficient and utterly engaging.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    I won't spend a ton of time on this review other than to say I anticipated this film extremely highly. I'm a fan of Joel Kinnaman from TheI won't spend a ton of time on this review other than to say I anticipated this film extremely highly. I'm a fan of Joel Kinnaman from The Killing and Safe House, and the story looked terrific. Unfortunately, even though the acting is terrific (including the outstanding Serbian lead), the story just does NOT come together. Too many threads, not enough focus. I would have loved to have seen the writers give it another shot before they started filming. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    This is a very disappointing movie that amazingly is made somewhat tolerable by the commanding presence of lead actor Joel Kinnaman. HisThis is a very disappointing movie that amazingly is made somewhat tolerable by the commanding presence of lead actor Joel Kinnaman. His portrayal of the naive chancer is so deserving of a better film. The story lacks context and focus and is surprisingly quite a drag lacking in any real tension,pace or cohesion. The last 20 minutes or so kick things into high gear, but for a two hour plus film it really is a case of too little too late. Full Review »
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    There's a lot I like about this gritty thriller based around the Serbian Mafia. You get an interesting insight into that world. The acting isThere's a lot I like about this gritty thriller based around the Serbian Mafia. You get an interesting insight into that world. The acting is fine, the characters are believable, but none of them are really likeable, even if you get shown that they have a human side. I suppose I'm old fashion and I like rooting for someone in a film. It's very full on, violent and intense with slick production and good music but a bit silly and contrived. Some odd moments that just make you laugh out loud. Like some guy in a room screaming in slow motion because he's had such a bad day Full Review »