Edge of Darkness

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 106
  2. Negative: 11 out of 106
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    Edge of Darkness is a dark and gritty crime thriller, based on a 1986 British Mini-series of the same name. The story was actually pretty good, filled with twists, turns, crosses, and double crosses, but the problem was that it was all too familiar. Murdered daughter, angry father looking for justice, Mel Gibson on a crazy rampage....and why are these things always in Boston? DoesEdge of Darkness is a dark and gritty crime thriller, based on a 1986 British Mini-series of the same name. The story was actually pretty good, filled with twists, turns, crosses, and double crosses, but the problem was that it was all too familiar. Murdered daughter, angry father looking for justice, Mel Gibson on a crazy rampage....and why are these things always in Boston? Does Hollywood have some secret underground bet about who will have the worst accent? That being said, Gibson, (minus the accent), was terrific. Say what you will about him as a person, but when it comes to a dark, action thriller, there is still no one better than Mel Gibson. His character was very reminiscent of Porter in Payback, intense, strong, and smart as a whip. As I said before, this is a good story, made even better by Gibson, but it's a familiar story that's been done to death! Edge of Darkness is very entertaining and has some nice twists, but ultimately it's not much different from a dozen other films with a similar tagline. Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    7
    Com uma super atuação de Mel Gibson,de volta Mel chega arrasando com seu talento,o filme não é incrível na ação,sem explosões nem muito tiroteio,porém é inteligente e bem executado. Com um final satisfatório para o telespectador
  3. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Mel Gibson is a fantastic director, actor and producer he is uncompromising when it comes to his films such as" Gallipoli"(1981), " Lethal Weapon"(1987), "Ransom" (1996),or his Academy award winning film " Braveheart"(1991). Gibson has proved repeatedly why he is one of Hollywood's best and most powerhouse actors, after having a career that spans almost thirty years Mel Gibson hadMel Gibson is a fantastic director, actor and producer he is uncompromising when it comes to his films such as" Gallipoli"(1981), " Lethal Weapon"(1987), "Ransom" (1996),or his Academy award winning film " Braveheart"(1991). Gibson has proved repeatedly why he is one of Hollywood's best and most powerhouse actors, after having a career that spans almost thirty years Mel Gibson had seemed to slip into obscurity after making his two last films. One of them being the massive box-office success "Signs" the other the Vietnam ward drama "We Were Soldiers" both coming out in 2002. It seemed like Gibson had had his finally hour as a Hollywood leading man. Until it was announcer back in mid 2009 that Mel Gibson would be heading a new film called "Edge of Darknessâ Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. edge of darkness is worth watching, even though the plot of the story has been used many times before this movie it stills delivers with some good acting (execpt the accents) and some timely plot twists. The only thing that bothered me was the flashbacks of his daughter and hearing her voice through out the movie some of it didnt make sense to me and the ending could have been better. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    You realize how much as an audience we have missed the volatile intensity of Gibson and his ability to elevate over-plotted genre material into something genuinely engaging. Assisted by a privately amused Ray Winstone who works as a detached counterpart to Gibson's grief stricken Boston cop.
  6. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    Mel Gibson was fantastic in this drama thriller. When his daughter is shot dead on his front porch by a masked gunman, A personal search begins to unveil the killer as well as the reason behind the murder of his daughter. An intricate conspiracy begins to unravel as Mel finds clue after clue leading to the truth. Gibson's acting and his Boston accent were both very authentic. He reallyMel Gibson was fantastic in this drama thriller. When his daughter is shot dead on his front porch by a masked gunman, A personal search begins to unveil the killer as well as the reason behind the murder of his daughter. An intricate conspiracy begins to unravel as Mel finds clue after clue leading to the truth. Gibson's acting and his Boston accent were both very authentic. He really held the movie together well. The movie overall was similar to 'Taken' in many ways. I think i slightly prefered Taken a bit more, just because of the level of action compared to 'Edge'. "Edge" was a bit more realistic, but i liked how badass they made Liam Neeson in Taken. Mel was pretty hard, but he also shows signs of fatigue and wear as an older detective. The story plays out nicely and never shows to be too predictable. Overall an interesting and tense movie. It's good to see Mel Gibson still doing roles like this. Ray Winstone (Beowulf, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull) plays a sleek "Organizer" fellow who assists Gibson along the way. The movie was nicely directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale, Goldeneye) who properly films the realistic crime thriller in Boston, Massachussetts. Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    I just recently saw this movie, and although it is has alot of character dicussion in it, it helps to build up the excitement when something finally happens. The scenes wer life like unlike alot of cop movies these days. Not wuite as good as the Departed, but a great movie
  8. MaryL
    Feb 9, 2010
    7
    I like it alot. Sure it was cliched and it was like watching mel Gibson all over again in the Patriot adn Braveheart, but for a good, enjoyable move, if you didn't think about it too much, it was great! But one question, can anyone tell me how Mel Gibson's character got the radiation?
  9. KkevinW.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Great movie....Mel in his element.. A bit chatty at one point but that was the only speed bump. Great ending....IF you a Mel fan you will not be disappointed.
  10. LyndaF.
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    Slow start, but well worth the wait. Craven donning a Columbo raincoat uncovers clues leading to the truth of his daughter's murder. Passionate dad, Mel, won't give up and the resemblance to "Taken" flickers throughout until the end. Ah the joy of revenge! A must see.
  11. Pete
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Enjoyed the whole movie, great action through out.
  12. BillyO
    Mar 5, 2010
    8
    Although the the theme of revenging your child, or stopping at nothing to make sure your daughter/son is safe has been used in many films such as Taken. I feel this movie presented a different look. It portrayed a believable character that would stop at nothing to find who killed his daughter without killing everyone, or fighting 5-6 guys at a time and winning. The way mel gibson's Although the the theme of revenging your child, or stopping at nothing to make sure your daughter/son is safe has been used in many films such as Taken. I feel this movie presented a different look. It portrayed a believable character that would stop at nothing to find who killed his daughter without killing everyone, or fighting 5-6 guys at a time and winning. The way mel gibson's character solved his daughters murder using common police tactics and only spilling blood once he knew for certain who killed his daughter all while keeping the pace of the movie far from stagnate was really impressive. Overall I enjoyed this movie, good job Mel. Expand
  13. RobertI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    Astringent drama, a dry tonic to all the treacle out there, this hyperbolic tale of loss and vengeance brings a bracing tang to the well-worn genre. Kudos for an entertainment cocktail with a dash of bitters..
  14. EdL.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Excellent thriller,with an emotional aspect not often seen in a shoot em up movie. Has the ability to choke you up at times. I loved it!!
  15. LesleyM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    Very suspenseful. But more than that it was a scary look at back room world politics at work with US companies manufacturing nuclear weapons for third world countries. What if it's true? Are senators also involved? It follows the theme if Bourne series. highlighting IS corruption.
  16. Tony
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    Good movie- i thought it was goin to be more action personally but - as is it was a good movie. Mel does look like he's aging hence the lack of action.
  17. RichardK.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    An excellent film with wonderful dialogue and many genuine surprises. I loved it!
  18. Seanismyname
    Feb 3, 2010
    8
    Mel is back. I appreciated that this film respected the audience's intelligence enough to avoid the traditional Hollywood BS happy ending. It made the rest of the standard Hollywood action more tolerable. The story line provided substance, thrills and suspense in equal measure.
  19. JustinP.
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    when I heard about this movie I knew critics would oh so predictally do everything in their power to find its flaw... but this movie punches you in the gut repeated times until awarding you with a somewhat happy ending.... girlier critics are bashing this movie because in the end it turns into a die hard kind of thing... maybe they were expecting a big romantic moment where mel gibson when I heard about this movie I knew critics would oh so predictally do everything in their power to find its flaw... but this movie punches you in the gut repeated times until awarding you with a somewhat happy ending.... girlier critics are bashing this movie because in the end it turns into a die hard kind of thing... maybe they were expecting a big romantic moment where mel gibson kisses the bad guy in the end?? Expand
  20. Jackson
    Jun 13, 2010
    8
    Mel Gibson is a great actor in this heart pounding thriller.
  21. AaronP
    Jun 3, 2010
    9
    Was really happy with this movie. Intelligent, coherent plot. Slightly predictable mystery, but the way it plays itself out is expertly handled. Great performances, excellent conclusion. Critics had the fix in on this one from the start.
  22. BibliotechaS.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Excellent film! I'd say it's THE best film of the first decade of the 21st century. The obvious assassination attempts on Gibson's real life personal character, or maybe even life, are obvious in the snide reviews by so-called "critics" who, I believe, really didn't even sit down and Watch the movie. This was reminiscent of, and dare I say, quite better than, The Excellent film! I'd say it's THE best film of the first decade of the 21st century. The obvious assassination attempts on Gibson's real life personal character, or maybe even life, are obvious in the snide reviews by so-called "critics" who, I believe, really didn't even sit down and Watch the movie. This was reminiscent of, and dare I say, quite better than, The Departed, which won numerous Oscars. Come Oscar time, this excellent movie will not get recognition, because you-know-who controls who wins, who gets nominated, and who gets shunned, i.e. anyone who is FREE and speaks the truth about the evil that pervades our world, and country. Expand
  23. ChadS.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    Got masochism? This film has got Mel Gibson, so the question is largely a rhetorical one. But just for the record, of course, "The Edge of Darkness" has got it. Prostrated again, the torture that greets Thomas Craven can't compete with the crucifixtion rehearsal in "Braveheart", or the damage to the toe that a sledgehammer can cause in Brian Helgeland's "Payback", but being Got masochism? This film has got Mel Gibson, so the question is largely a rhetorical one. But just for the record, of course, "The Edge of Darkness" has got it. Prostrated again, the torture that greets Thomas Craven can't compete with the crucifixtion rehearsal in "Braveheart", or the damage to the toe that a sledgehammer can cause in Brian Helgeland's "Payback", but being handcuffed to a metal stretcher while suffering, both from acute radiation poisoning, and the memory of his daughter being gunned down in cold blood, is more than a little torturous; is no picnic, and is quintessential Mel, who specializes in self-righteous rampages following in the wake of his own victimization. Emma(Bojana Novakovic), cut down in a drive-by shooting, never gets the chance to die slowly from radiation poisoning. Nobody shares the torture spotlight with this controversial actor(a good one)/filmmaker(a great one); he's no Jane Alexander. His character's testament to Emma, a show of vengeance against her killers, seems more like an act of self-love than parental love, since the moviegoer has seen this song and dance before. The daughter's bloodied body serves as a platform, an excuse, in which Thomas can play vigilante with the full endorsement of the moviegoer. Rendered in grisly detail(there's also a violently horrific car on pedestrian incident involving a female victim), all that spilled blood and exposed guts demands that the wronged police detective serve such obvious monsters their comeuppance. "The Edge of Darkness" makes judicious use of the flashback(the filmmaker is complicit), in which Thomas' memories of Emma are limited to her childhood, the period when his grown daughter needed daddy's protection. As the moviegoer finally gets a fleeting glimpse of her real life(on video), we're shocked, because Emma is not the same woman we met before the fatal shooting. The button-down, middle class she projects is for daddy's eyes only. That's because the father never truly respected the woman that Emma had become, so in effect, his vigilantism has an overbearing aspect which reeks of condescension. But hey, Gibson's misogyny rocks! Expand
  24. AaronN.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Just got back from the theater. Critics are really bashing this a bit hard. It's a fun enjoyable detective-thriller. Maybe not for everyone, but definitely for me.
  25. RobR
    Feb 13, 2010
    7
    I never really fully believed in the bad guys, but I was never really bored either.
  26. Lynn
    Feb 15, 2010
    9
    I quite liked it! It was a thinking movie with enough suspense to keep me interested. I'd see it again.
  27. JamesH.
    Feb 16, 2010
    7
    The theme of the movie (man seeks revenge) has been done countless times (Clint Eastwood movies even Law Abiding Citizen from this year and many more) but this one is done well. There are a few eye-rolling unbelievable moments but overall very entertaining.
  28. TomC.
    Feb 16, 2010
    8
    Very stylish and intelligent film, slow in parts but will keep you hooked.
  29. JamesD
    Feb 18, 2010
    7
    A surprising flick with some surprising action sequences but it overuns quite a lot.
  30. bobr
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    Excellent movie that keep you on the edge of your seat. Great twist and turns! Would recommend to most.
  31. ZeeZeeM
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Agree critics are being harsh on this one, - maybe because of Mel. i enjoyed it and so did the crowd i watched it with!
  32. GavinG
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    Great film! Loved the twist of the dying CIA operative.
  33. NavA
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    Mel Gibson is a gifted actor and director. Forget the biased reviews from critics with a political axe to grind regarding Mel. The movie is excellent entertainment. Highly recommended.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. An intense Mel Gibson performance anchors this brutally effective crime thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Campbell's topnotch production team yields predictably polished results, but the director's decision to revisit the late Troy Kennedy Martin's teleplay, finally, feels lacking.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    70
    Onscreen much of the time, thicker and more creased than you remember, Gibson can make this rather unshapely movie seem taut.