Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1066 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Lt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the sameLt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the same brutal combat over and over, fighting and dying again…and again. But with each battle, Cage becomes able to engage the adversaries with increasing skill, alongside Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (Emily Blunt). And, as Cage and Rita take the fight to the aliens, each repeated encounter gets them one step closer to defeating the enemy. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Edge of Tomorrow is the ultimate metaphor about Tom Cruise’s career. You can’t kill this guy. He’ll just keep coming. And he remains arguably the biggest movie star in the world for a reason. He brings it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    The movie has an organic intelligence and a sense that it, too, exists outside of linear time. It seems to be creating itself as you watch it.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    A furiously time-looping joy ride and the smartest action film of the early summer season.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    I'm not sure Edge of Tomorrow holds much repeat viewing potential among teenage movie consumers, since the movie's a self-repeating entity to begin with. But once is fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    In Edge of Tomorrow, Mr. Liman brings Mr. Cruise’s smile out of semiretirement and also gives him the kind of physical challenges at which he so brilliantly excels.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Edge of Tomorrow is slick, but once its fancy plot dressing takes form, it has little more to offer aside from a few impressive action sequences and the infallible grin of its nimble lead.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 259
  1. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    Christopher McQuarrie is back again with a great script adaptation from the manga. I thought this was one of the best sci fi films I haveChristopher McQuarrie is back again with a great script adaptation from the manga. I thought this was one of the best sci fi films I have scene in a long time. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventuallyI was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    Not a great fan of Tom Cruise but he plays the part perfectly, his and Blunt chemistry are very good and the script and directing are topNot a great fan of Tom Cruise but he plays the part perfectly, his and Blunt chemistry are very good and the script and directing are top notch. What they did wrong in Oblivion here they did rigth. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    A movie about a day being relived tens of times may seem boring, but honestly, the execution is fantastic. Tom Cruise, Emily Blunt andA movie about a day being relived tens of times may seem boring, but honestly, the execution is fantastic. Tom Cruise, Emily Blunt and director Doug Liman delivers what a summer blockbuster spectacle should be: smart, thrilling, fun, and full of explosions. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the scene where Emily kisses Tom before sacrificing herself as the decoy... though she only met him for less than two days, she knows that Tom is in love with her just by the way he stares at her (Tom Cruise delivered a masterful performance in an action film, as usual)...

    because she herself has done her fair share of looping, by getting to the Omega lair, she's cognizant of the fact he has already spent a lifetime with her, fighting and dying beside her, over and over again... she empathizes how difficult it was watching a loved one die, like she had done more than 300 times... it takes a lot of will power to start the day over from scratch to anticipate another failure, and she gets it... she's the only other human who does...

    her final kiss reveals how she's touched by it all, despite trying to avoid getting him emotionally vested by appearing cold all the time... they both know it might be their last time together... after all, she dug him at first sight by her expression every time Cruise walks in on her training routine when they first meet... maybe seeing her back alive after a restart is what drives Tom Cruise to get back up on his feet to face another death... no longer was he motivated by survival, but by love...

    It's these emotional nuances in films or tv shows audience can connect with that makes them worth watching.
    Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2015
    8
    Há algum tempo que não via um filme de ficção científica legal como esse. Não acho que seja melhor filme de 2014 como alguns falaram, mas achoHá algum tempo que não via um filme de ficção científica legal como esse. Não acho que seja melhor filme de 2014 como alguns falaram, mas acho que ficou entre os melhores sim. O filme é legal, tem um ritmo legal. Gostei!! Só espero que não venha nenhuma continuação no futuro!!! Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2015
    2
    This is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen in my entire life. If I am playing a video game and I am stuck and have to play the sameThis is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen in my entire life. If I am playing a video game and I am stuck and have to play the same part over and over it gets ANNOYING. To the point that either I beat it pretty quick or I quit playing the game because it ceases to be entertaining, or fun at that point. So if a movie was going to emulate that concept why the heck would I want to watch it.

    This movie was so bad I had to fast forward through most of it, and not surprisingly, I was able to "foresee" what was going to happen in almost every scene I fast forwarded through to get to the ending which also so boring, cliche, and happy hollywood predictable. Trying to watch this movie was literally painful to the point that I could not take seeing the same stupid thing repeated agian and I have no idea how dumb much of the population must be to actually think this film was remotely enjoyable.

    2/10 Most over-rated film of 2014, and one of the worst films of the last half-decade. Horrible.
    Expand

See all 259 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June Image
    Published: June 3, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in June, including 22 Jump Street, Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, and more.