Samuel Goldwyn Company, The | Release Date: August 8, 2008
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
16
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MargaretG.Aug 11, 2008
Powerful. Beautiful. Intense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnC.Aug 2, 2008
Excellent Penelope Cruz! Amazing film by one of my favorite filmmakers: Isabel Coixet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianneApr 30, 2009
A stunning film,I cried throughout,the acting is superb and the story really is so lovely yet very deep and emotional.I'm really wanting to go and read the book now.This film deserves way more advertisement then it got.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlbertOct 11, 2008
Penelope Cruz and Patricia Clarkson, they are the best of this movie. But it isn't the best movie by Isabel Coixet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnM.Aug 10, 2008
A good movie. Cruz's performance is the best of it. Nice for romantic people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryW.Sep 2, 2008
What a beautifully acted, photographed, edited, intelligently movie. A little heavy, but if you are a grown up you can't miss it. The acting alone is spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxLSep 9, 2008
Performances are what made the movie watchable. Storywise, it's old and well-travelled already. Patricia Clarkson should be mentioned along Cruz and Kingsley as giving the movie life. Otherwise, it's a real downer as it goes on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClaireM.Aug 9, 2008
Lovely film and terrific performances by Penelope Cruz and Ben Kingsley.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcyS.Sep 20, 2008
This is an excellent movie...great acting, directing, producing, etc. We were shocked that we had not heard more about it before seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NoelTJan 22, 2009
A beautiful reflection on life, love, mortality, relationships and yes, sex. At first I feared it was just another "Lolita" story (older man/ much younger girl) but I was so wrong. It is a story of passion, love, trust, honesty, fear, A beautiful reflection on life, love, mortality, relationships and yes, sex. At first I feared it was just another "Lolita" story (older man/ much younger girl) but I was so wrong. It is a story of passion, love, trust, honesty, fear, regret, loss and discovery. A movie for a mature viewer, maybe someone who has experienced some of the trials of living. Gimmicky movie? I think not! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MauriceDec 7, 2009
Brilliant performances and enough memorable quotes and moments to stimulate conversation long after viewing. This is not a popcorn movie, it's a red wine movie, for those who care for the latter on occasion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasM.Dec 23, 2008
A great film about the most basic fear most of us carry deep within--the feeling that we are not worthy of love. Contains one of Sir Ben's greatest performances with stunning cineamatography. A sad, honest, and beautiful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HeidiBAug 23, 2008
Loved this film. I rarely cry at movies but this one just hit me in a way that many don't. Penelope Cruz was fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethKDec 5, 2009
What a sad and beautiful film set in pure simplicity. It's such an honest film. Excellent acting by both leads. Finally! A film not only worth seeing, but seeing again. It makes you think, cry, wonder, question who you are and your own What a sad and beautiful film set in pure simplicity. It's such an honest film. Excellent acting by both leads. Finally! A film not only worth seeing, but seeing again. It makes you think, cry, wonder, question who you are and your own life. Now I need to read the book! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
smiyamotDec 26, 2015
An interesting character study of a May December romance. And what does his best friend advise? And what does his estranged son want to talk to him about? There's a lot more going on around these two lovers and that makes the movie enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews