Open Road Films | Release Date: September 21, 2012
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 313 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
264
Mixed:
34
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
Lambo442Jan 27, 2013
I found these two cops quite annoying with their lame, childish banter. The acting is fine but the dialouge seems a little unrealistic in parts. Not as gritty as it could be. I got bored and switched it off. Doesn't come close to a singleI found these two cops quite annoying with their lame, childish banter. The acting is fine but the dialouge seems a little unrealistic in parts. Not as gritty as it could be. I got bored and switched it off. Doesn't come close to a single episode of the Shield. Dissapointing Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroDec 13, 2012
This movie is so bad, it is beyond bad. It is basically unwatchable. When every second word in the script is the F word, it makes you want to turn off the sound. The script seems to have been written by a 14 year old. The acting is atrocious.This movie is so bad, it is beyond bad. It is basically unwatchable. When every second word in the script is the F word, it makes you want to turn off the sound. The script seems to have been written by a 14 year old. The acting is atrocious. The photography is nauseating. How can anyone sit through the entire length of this shameful attempt ? Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
1
gfnyOct 5, 2012
Weak story line, poor photography, mellow dramatic glorification of cops and gangs. It has been done many times before and done better. Nothing new here and nothing like the Movie Trailer. Absolute waste of time
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
chambolinskiJan 21, 2013
this jerky camera crap was old with blair witch; unless you're 13 or enjoy that nonsense, give this film a skip. oh and if the excuse is "hey it's cause they're video-taping themselves" then get a camcorder and go out and make your own film;this jerky camera crap was old with blair witch; unless you're 13 or enjoy that nonsense, give this film a skip. oh and if the excuse is "hey it's cause they're video-taping themselves" then get a camcorder and go out and make your own film; you couldn't do any worse than this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
SantiagoMAKiiNAOct 7, 2012
There's been much noise out there about this piece of filmmaking cinematic history. I actually read somewhere a mention of "Training Day" in the same sentence as "End of Watch." Well, let's put our two cents out there... Even, both filmsThere's been much noise out there about this piece of filmmaking cinematic history. I actually read somewhere a mention of "Training Day" in the same sentence as "End of Watch." Well, let's put our two cents out there... Even, both films share the same scribe, This is not, in any way shape or form, remotely in the category of "Training Day", and all that noise about this film, well, let's save it for something else worth barking about.
I was actually baffled to find myself reacting this way to this movie, since David Ayer has a long list of cool movies to his credit. I guess everyone missed a home run here and there. And, then again, this is just my two cents...
Swimming somewhere deep in the current idiotic trend to shoot movies with video cameras the filmmakers found what barely passes for inspiration as a visual theme. Bring a bottle of Advil with you. The camera work is in deed that bad.
But if the imagery wasnt bad enough of an insult to the audience's intelligence, don't waste your time finding any character development or plot evolution. This is a linear one way ride into what can be best described as an exercise in boredom.
And, no, shooting Mexicans for the same tired old reason we've all seen before, and exchanging a never ending repartee of pointless dialogue in a patrol car, does not pass for creative thinking.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
BevetSSep 30, 2012
This movie is horrible. It starts out as a ripoff of the movie "Colors" and then the plot scatterbrains down different paths from there. Predictable, trite, inconsequential, unimportant, and annoying are some of the adjectives that come toThis movie is horrible. It starts out as a ripoff of the movie "Colors" and then the plot scatterbrains down different paths from there. Predictable, trite, inconsequential, unimportant, and annoying are some of the adjectives that come to mind when describing this awful attempt at cinematography. There are a few chuckles mixed among the ridiculous garbage. Don't waste your time on this nonsense. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
1
OroiaelNov 14, 2012
You know how Training Day was a gritty well written neo-realistic law enforcement drama....well End of Watch isn't. It falls short, real short. Honestly, I fell asleep in the movie. Combination of bad writing, horrible cinematography, tiredYou know how Training Day was a gritty well written neo-realistic law enforcement drama....well End of Watch isn't. It falls short, real short. Honestly, I fell asleep in the movie. Combination of bad writing, horrible cinematography, tired scenes of LA, and too much popcorn. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
th4nat4t002Jun 3, 2015
truly sad theres noone outthere who sees behind this whole bull. this movie is all about "OK WE COPS DID A BAD JOB KILLING A FEW NEGROS THE DAYS BUT LOOK HOW TOUGH THIS JOB CAN BE!!!" Its truly the worst kind of propagandha-trash ive evertruly sad theres noone outthere who sees behind this whole bull. this movie is all about "OK WE COPS DID A BAD JOB KILLING A FEW NEGROS THE DAYS BUT LOOK HOW TOUGH THIS JOB CAN BE!!!" Its truly the worst kind of propagandha-trash ive ever seen. even goebbels himself would have bad dreams about it. this is so amazing stupid and simpleminded, i cant understand how anyone gets brainwashed with stuff like this. the critics, however, show it works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DraykorOct 16, 2016
This was just bad...really very little except the acting to enjoy about this film. So bad I signed up and wrote my first review, its only just about watcheable if you're desperate to waste 100 minutes of your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews