Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 19, 2013
    88
    It sounds like rom-com hell. And it would be if Gandolfini and Louis-Dreyfus weren't such an appealing pair of misfits. It's a pleasure just to watch them spar.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    You could argue that Gandolfini doesn’t have enough screen time, but what’s there is, as they say, cherce. The scenes in which Albert and Eva get to know each other are delightful miniatures of emotional intimacy, two bruised romantics amazed to find someone still on their wavelength.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Sep 26, 2013
    90
    I can't say enough about the way Enough Said keeps its scintillating sense of humor as it grows deeper and more affecting.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 18, 2013
    90
    One of the pleasures of Enough Said is watching Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini, two well-known performers only Holofcener would think of putting together, come alive both as individuals and the two halves of a relationship.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 17, 2013
    100
    It's clever, farcical and offers wry social commentary. With its heartfelt performances, intelligent writing and subtle humor, this is easily one of the most perceptive and engaging movies of the year.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    The first date that James Gandolfini and Julia Louis-Dreyfus embark on in Enough Said - has to be one of the great getting-to-know-you encounters in movie history.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 17, 2013
    100
    Line for line, scene for scene, it is one of the best-written American film comedies in recent memory and an implicit rebuke to the raunchy, sloppy spectacles of immaturity that have dominated the genre in recent years.
  8. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Sep 17, 2013
    90
    Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini are lovely together, though her character is the sharper-edged of the two. It's Gandolfini's Albert, soft-hearted and soft-bellied, who suffers more. Gandolfini takes the movie's small, offhand jokes and intensifies them.
  9. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Sep 26, 2013
    83
    The result is one of the most honest recent comedies about romances that flourish, marriages that totter and the difficulties of raising children with the right blend of respect, discipline and support.
  10. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    Feisty, funny, fizzy and deeply wise, Enough Said sparkles within and without, just like the rare gem that it is.
  11. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 26, 2013
    90
    You may or may not be surprised by developments here, but it doesn’t really matter. What does is the honesty of the characters and the absolute delight it is to spend time with them.
  12. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Sep 26, 2013
    83
    There seems to be less acting going on and more being, which not only makes this an enormously affecting penultimate performance (Gandolfini’s final film, “Animal Rescue,” will be released next year), but reinforces the brilliance of the darker work for which he will no doubt remain best known.
  13. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Sep 26, 2013
    88
    If only more romantic comedies played out as charmingly and perceptively as this one.
  14. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 17, 2013
    91
    Gandolfini deserves an Oscar for Enough Said not because it's the culmination of everything that came before it but rather because it goes in a completely different direction. And his least characteristic achievement is also one of his best.
  15. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    It's a movie that approaches novelistic richness. [7 Oct. 2013, p. 89]
  16. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Sep 25, 2013
    83
    The role of Albert in Nicole Holofcener's Enough Said is closer to who the man was, and who the actor seldom got the chance to play: bearish yet soft-spoken, a self-confessed slob with a soul bigger than his gut. There's warmth pouring from those slitted eyes, loosening up guarded smiles as Albert takes a chance on love again.
  17. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 26, 2013
    88
    Gandolfini is effortlessly, quietly great.
  18. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 13, 2013
    83
    Enough Said is another tremendously well crafted, intelligent dramedy about people, with complicated lives, who make bad decisions trying to do the right thing.
  19. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Sep 11, 2013
    91
    It shows us how rare love is — and how we need to grab it and not let it go.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I alsoJulia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I also enjoy) and shows a vulnerable side which is touching. Gandolfini is solid and serves his purpose, but it's not his movie. Keener also goes through the motions here and does her standard nice work. I want to call out Ben Falcone, who is hilarious in this film, and the greenlighters need to put him in a starring role. Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2015
    8
    "You all knew James Gandolfini the actor. I was lucky enough to know Jim the man for 10 years as his close colleague and his pretend life"You all knew James Gandolfini the actor. I was lucky enough to know Jim the man for 10 years as his close colleague and his pretend life partner, and for many more years as his friend. And it’s Jim the man, the very dear man, that I will miss most of all." - Edie Falco at the Emmy's for James tribute.

    The story is about a divorced woman thinks she has finally found a new man she can share her life with... the only problem is he turns out to be the ex-husband of her new friend.

    Enough Said is a lot different then I expected it to be before seeing the film. I was expecting the same romance cliche movie with the long fallout and the women or man start to feel bad and towards the end they both realize that they idiots so they get back together, riding off into the sunset. Enough Said has some of those cliches but took a much different turn and for the best, because Enough Said is both a great comedy, good romance movie and realistic movie viewing relationships and people's chemistry today.

    Now I already did a tribute to the late great James Gandolfini in my The Drop review but in that movie he pretty much played a nasty mob type of guy that's a little bit like Tony Soprano without the angry problem, but in this his a big heart guy that's so sweet and lovable it makes me sad that James is really gone because James Gandolfini pretty much plays himself, a big lovable human being. James Gandolfini did a magnificent performance in this movie and a performance worth remembering for.

    Julia Louis-Dreyfus was also great in the movie as she plays the funny, always smiling wife that screw's up a couple of times in the movie, basically real life. It's not like she's the bad guy here (or women if you must) as every time she tries to do something right when it comes to problems she somehow makes it ten times worse and every time this happens I can see the look of destroyed failure in her eyes and that's due to the brilliant acting from Julia Louis-Dreyfus, she really fitted the character so well that she gives her character ark that worked brilliantly.

    The chemistry between James and Julia was both cute, charming, interesting and straight up adorable. I think the writing and the directing is the real reason why the chemistry worked because every time these two talked they will always have something to make me and probably everyone else to smile at are adorable together.

    Now for the problems: I don't have problems with the movie to be honest, but I'm not going to give it a best rating I got because I don't really think this movie is on the level of amazing or groundbreaking, but it's still a sweet little movie.

    Overall Enough Said is a great movie with great performance from everyone and brilliant directing and writing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    This story really rang true with me. It felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the bestThis story really rang true with me. It felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the best decisions, but who ultimately just want to be loved. And I, in turn, loved this movie. It had great heart, was thoughtfully done, and portrays candid emotions that we all go through in love and loss. I loved Julia Louis-Dreyfus and adored James Gandolfini in it. It also was a very funny movie, I laughed out loud several times. It was actually that funny. Rave reviews, highly recommend it. Full Review »