Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Eva, a divorced single parent, spends her days enjoying work as a masseuse but dreading her daughter's impending departure for college. She meets Albert - a sweet, funny and like-minded man also facing an empty nest. As their romance quickly blossoms, Eva befriends Marianne, her new massage client. Marianne is a beautiful poet who seems "almost perfect" except for one prominent quality: she rags on her ex-husband way too much. Suddenly, Eva finds herself doubting her own relationship with Albert when she learns he's Marianne's ex-husband. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    The first date that James Gandolfini and Julia Louis-Dreyfus embark on in Enough Said - has to be one of the great getting-to-know-you encounters in movie history.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 17, 2013
    91
    Gandolfini deserves an Oscar for Enough Said not because it's the culmination of everything that came before it but rather because it goes in a completely different direction. And his least characteristic achievement is also one of his best.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 26, 2013
    90
    You may or may not be surprised by developments here, but it doesn’t really matter. What does is the honesty of the characters and the absolute delight it is to spend time with them.
  4. 80
    This is one of the last Gandolfini performances, and it’s the ultimate proof that he could change his look and sound and rhythm without losing the source of his power: the connection to that inner baby ever starved for love and nourishment.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    The film also drags a bit toward the end, but neither of these is a major flaw in a movie with more funny lines than in most of Allen’s movies these days — not to mention a saner, clearer moral perspective.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Sep 18, 2013
    75
    Sharp as the dialogue is, it’s hard to imagine any of this working as well without the late, great Gandolfini.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 18, 2013
    38
    Enough can't be said about how the late James Gandolfini comes so close to saving writer-director Nicole Holofcener's latest articulation of white suburban anxieties.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This movie made my laugh, cry, and remember that life is short. Mr. Gandolfini will be missed.
    But this is a fantastic last movie, and Julia
    Louise Dreyfuss puts in an excellent performance that is worthy of an Oscar. Great little movie. Moved my heart like "Beginners." We need more magic movies. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    I'm a psychologist in my day job (when I'm not reviewing movies, ha!) and have to say that the story really rang true with me. It just felt really authentic, about people who are human and have quirks and don't always make the best decisions, but who ultimately just want to be loved. And I, in turn, loved this movie. It had great heart, was thoughtfully done, and portrays candid emotions that we all go through in love and loss. I loved Julia Louis-Dreyfus and adored James Gandolfini in it. It also was a very funny movie, I laughed out loud several times. Like, it was actually that funny. Rave reviews, highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Look, I'm not a fan of rom-com's, but this for sure is the best one I've ever seen. Overall, James Gandolfini, you will be missed. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Collapse
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I also enjoy) and shows a vulnerable side which is touching. Gandolfini is solid and serves his purpose, but it's not his movie. Keener also goes through the motions here and does her standard nice work. I want to call out Ben Falcone, who is hilarious in this film, and the greenlighters need to put him in a starring role. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It’s been three years since Nicole Holofcener last released a film, and it’s been fifteen years since Julia Louis-Dreyfus appeared on screen. The latter’s previous appearance was in a Woody Allen‘s Deconstructing Harry, so it’s quite fitting that her return would be in a film by the former. Though Holofcener’s career is much younger than Allen’s (and not nearly as prolific) her work feels right at home next to the typical Allen film. Instead of intricate plots, both directors prefer more open-ended explorations of the privileged middle and upper classes, and the various hijinks in which they dabble. And even though Enough Said’s style and structure occasionally feel like that of a network sitcom, it is ultimately a highly enjoyable comedy, albeit one that operates at a broader level than Holofcener’s previous work.

    Having directed episodes of TV’s Parks and Recreation and Enlightened in the years since her last film (the wonderful Please Give), it’s not entirely surprising that some sitcom-y tendencies have slipped into Holofcener’s authorial bloodstream. With its abundance of characters and hazily sketched subplots, Enough Said does have a tendency to feel like something of a pilot episode. Some of the comedy arrives in fits and starts, and some dialogue exchanges feel a too artificial for their own good. Under different circumstances, these traits would become large, painful thorns in a film’s side.

    Enough Said, thankfully, has the low-key level of craft and acting that elevates its material into territory that is entirely pleasurable, rather than grating. That elevation comes largely from Ms. Louis-Dreyfus as protagonist Eva, and the late James Gandolfini as love interest Albert. The pair of TV titans (Louis-Dreyfus is close to beating Lucille Ball‘s record amount of Emmy wins) seem like an odd match at first glance. And, in fairness, it’s kind of hard to picture Elaine or the Veep going for Tony Soprano. They appear to agree. When the two divorcees meet at a party, they both dryly comment that there’s no one at the even they find attractive. Yet that first shared sentiment turns out to be a hidden sign. After a surprisingly enjoyable first date, Eva and Albert’s relationship starts to grow in ways they never expected.Of course, there are complications. If you’ve seen the trailer, you know how Eva’s relationship with new client Marianne (Catherine Keener, Ms. Holofcener’s muse of sorts) throws a wrench in everything. Yet whether or not you have foreknowledge of the film’s surprise, it’s hardly likely to affect your perception of the film. Holofcener keeps the pacing brisk, never allowing the more dramatic undercurrents of the story to suck the fun out of the film as a whole. At first, that makes Enough Said seem rather slight. And, truthfully, Enough Said is a modest, unambitious character-based comedy. Yet even among the sitcom-y scenes and situations, there remains a remarkable attention to detail when it comes to the characters. The ensemble is close to being overstuffed (with friends, ex-husbands, daughters, and clients), yet seeing Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini play against type is more than enough to give the film some intrigue. Watching the former handle less misanthropic and neurotic humor, and watching the latter be funny at all, proves to be the film’s secret weapon.With the amount of time TV stars spend in a role, they tend to become associated with a certain persona, and are thus more vulnerable to being typecast. And even though Louis-Dreyfus retains some facial tics from her Seinfeld days, by the time Enough Said rolls into its final reels, there’s no mistaking Eva for Elaine. The maternal compassion and hesitant romantic longing that the actress finds, without going overboard, is a delight to watch. For such a simple set up, Enough Said pulls its leading lady in a surprising number of directions. Individually they may seem plain, but the combination that Holofcener and Louis-Dreyfus come up with here somehow feels fresh.
    More subdued, though just as enjoyable, is Mr. Gandolfini, in one of his last roles. While his untimely passing is tragic, he could still be alive, and his portrayal of Albert would be no less delightful. A self-professed slob, Albert remains good at heart. In situations where Tony Soprano would have lost his cool and started throwing punches, Albert keeps a level head and internalizes his feelings of anger and disappointment. It culminates in one of the film’s best scenes, that also happens to be one of the few dramatic ones in the entire 90 minute run time. And even though Enough Said is broader than Holofcener’s previous work, it still has her keen ability to use character-based comedy to touch on deeper emotional truths. Jordan Baker for FMR.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    I have to confess: romantic comedies are not my type. But there was so much hype about it that I decided to give it a try. I was quite satisfied with all the characters. Except one, the main one: Eva. Not exactly sure what I did not like about her, whether it was the script or directing (both by Nicole Holofcener) or maybe the casting did not quite match with her. As a famous Russian theatrical director once said, "I do not believe it!". And then that awful scene where all three main characters got together, Eva, Marianne and Albert. I nearly left the theater, it was *that* awkward. But enough negativity, overall the movie was quite watchable and sometimes enjoyable. Maybe I should just avoid rom-coms... Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    I must be totally out of sync with what this film is purported to be...although I am almost the exact demographic target for it. I look for movies about people and where nothing explodes.
    How was this a rom-com? Where were the laughs? And I do not see any thing like tears either...although I admit I nodded off at least 3 times! This was NOT as "Good as it Gets."
    What was this movie about and why should I care? Basically, to me, it's a movie about nothing. You can not compare it to Woody Allen, where at least there are loads of subplots and underplots. Even when his efforts fail there is a lot to look at even if it's just great scenery. There's not even scenery in this dud..
    I do think the interest in this movie has more to do with wanting to see Gandolphini's last work and that is coloring the responses. There was nothing that stood out in Enough Said. I don't even know what that title means. There was no interesting direction, no production values, no quirkiness or revelations. It was almost horrifically blah.
    Finally, I am done with critics who duped me into see the tedious Amour with their rave reviews.
    I am just so grateful I didn't drag my husband to this promising it would be a lot better than he thought. What a bore.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.