Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Eva, a divorced single parent, spends her days enjoying work as a masseuse but dreading her daughter's impending departure for college. She meets Albert - a sweet, funny and like-minded man also facing an empty nest. As their romance quickly blossoms, Eva befriends Marianne, her new massageEva, a divorced single parent, spends her days enjoying work as a masseuse but dreading her daughter's impending departure for college. She meets Albert - a sweet, funny and like-minded man also facing an empty nest. As their romance quickly blossoms, Eva befriends Marianne, her new massage client. Marianne is a beautiful poet who seems "almost perfect" except for one prominent quality: she rags on her ex-husband way too much. Suddenly, Eva finds herself doubting her own relationship with Albert when she learns he's Marianne's ex-husband. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    The first date that James Gandolfini and Julia Louis-Dreyfus embark on in Enough Said - has to be one of the great getting-to-know-you encounters in movie history.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 17, 2013
    91
    Gandolfini deserves an Oscar for Enough Said not because it's the culmination of everything that came before it but rather because it goes in a completely different direction. And his least characteristic achievement is also one of his best.
  3. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 18, 2013
    90
    One of the pleasures of Enough Said is watching Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini, two well-known performers only Holofcener would think of putting together, come alive both as individuals and the two halves of a relationship.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A wry and moving look at a time in life that tends to get short shrift in U.S. cinema.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Enough Said confirms filmmaker Nicole Holofcener’s status as one of America’s best stealth satirists.
  6. 75
    Apparently at Holofcener’s urging, Dreyfus just tends to overwhelm the movie with her regular, if charming, bag of tricks, as if that’s enough. And it isn’t.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 18, 2013
    38
    Enough can't be said about how the late James Gandolfini comes so close to saving writer-director Nicole Holofcener's latest articulation of white suburban anxieties.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    " a delight ". So far its just romantic , funny and amusing it just is. thank you director/writer Nicole Holofcener. Grade" a delight ". So far its just romantic , funny and amusing it just is. thank you director/writer Nicole Holofcener. Grade A+...................................................... Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    From the director who always portray women's perspective of stories. Sadly, it was one of the final movie of James Gandolfini. He just cameFrom the director who always portray women's perspective of stories. Sadly, it was one of the final movie of James Gandolfini. He just came and go in his movie that I did not noticed him till 'Welcome to the Riley'. I praised his performance in that flick and again he was so great in this movie, I totally impressed. This movie is about the divorced parents and their second chance to commit in a relationship. Very nicely and realistically told story which had plenty of humor.

    Eva, a middle aged single mother who works as a masseuse meets a divorced man, Albert at a party. It all starts as a casual meeting, then they begin to find similarities. Especially whose first marriage was broke and now they regret for that. So cautiously move their relationship to the next level who are desperately looking to work it out. In the end, every relationship got faults and how they are going to keep it going patching all the flaws is what the story explains.

    ‘‘I know this sounds corny... But you broke my heart.’’

    I found it so good. When there are no popular actors, then it must be a B movie or television movie, but in this case it is hard to differentiate. It was top class in all the category. A specially made flick for middle aged people. It was a romantic-comedy, but make us contemplate back to our life. The lead pair was excellent together, perhaps chemistry between them worked out. This kind of low budget with not so popular actors won't do great commercial business, but get appreciated in a small circle gives a fine support for future similar projects.

    Beside Gandolfini, Julia Louis-Dreyfus as well enchanted with her spellbind performance. She can make a good actress with story like this than being only a television star. She's not too far from taking a fine position like what Julia Roberts, and others doing now. I would love to see her again in a major flicks. This movie is not for everyone and I don't think teens (not every teen) would enjoy it than adults. It speaks about the life, the modern life crisis who faced divorce unintentionally. In one word, it is a beautiful portrait.
    Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Look, I'm not a fan of rom-com's, but this for sure is the best one I've ever seen. Overall, James Gandolfini, you will be missed. Be sure toLook, I'm not a fan of rom-com's, but this for sure is the best one I've ever seen. Overall, James Gandolfini, you will be missed. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I alsoJulia Louis-Dreyfus is REALLY good in this movie. She dials back the extreme version of herself that she trots out for Veep (which I also enjoy) and shows a vulnerable side which is touching. Gandolfini is solid and serves his purpose, but it's not his movie. Keener also goes through the motions here and does her standard nice work. I want to call out Ben Falcone, who is hilarious in this film, and the greenlighters need to put him in a starring role. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It’s been three years since Nicole Holofcener last released a film, and it’s been fifteen years since Julia Louis-Dreyfus appeared on screen. The latter’s previous appearance was in a Woody Allen‘s Deconstructing Harry, so it’s quite fitting that her return would be in a film by the former. Though Holofcener’s career is much younger than Allen’s (and not nearly as prolific) her work feels right at home next to the typical Allen film. Instead of intricate plots, both directors prefer more open-ended explorations of the privileged middle and upper classes, and the various hijinks in which they dabble. And even though Enough Said’s style and structure occasionally feel like that of a network sitcom, it is ultimately a highly enjoyable comedy, albeit one that operates at a broader level than Holofcener’s previous work.

    Having directed episodes of TV’s Parks and Recreation and Enlightened in the years since her last film (the wonderful Please Give), it’s not entirely surprising that some sitcom-y tendencies have slipped into Holofcener’s authorial bloodstream. With its abundance of characters and hazily sketched subplots, Enough Said does have a tendency to feel like something of a pilot episode. Some of the comedy arrives in fits and starts, and some dialogue exchanges feel a too artificial for their own good. Under different circumstances, these traits would become large, painful thorns in a film’s side.

    Enough Said, thankfully, has the low-key level of craft and acting that elevates its material into territory that is entirely pleasurable, rather than grating. That elevation comes largely from Ms. Louis-Dreyfus as protagonist Eva, and the late James Gandolfini as love interest Albert. The pair of TV titans (Louis-Dreyfus is close to beating Lucille Ball‘s record amount of Emmy wins) seem like an odd match at first glance. And, in fairness, it’s kind of hard to picture Elaine or the Veep going for Tony Soprano. They appear to agree. When the two divorcees meet at a party, they both dryly comment that there’s no one at the even they find attractive. Yet that first shared sentiment turns out to be a hidden sign. After a surprisingly enjoyable first date, Eva and Albert’s relationship starts to grow in ways they never expected.Of course, there are complications. If you’ve seen the trailer, you know how Eva’s relationship with new client Marianne (Catherine Keener, Ms. Holofcener’s muse of sorts) throws a wrench in everything. Yet whether or not you have foreknowledge of the film’s surprise, it’s hardly likely to affect your perception of the film. Holofcener keeps the pacing brisk, never allowing the more dramatic undercurrents of the story to suck the fun out of the film as a whole. At first, that makes Enough Said seem rather slight. And, truthfully, Enough Said is a modest, unambitious character-based comedy. Yet even among the sitcom-y scenes and situations, there remains a remarkable attention to detail when it comes to the characters. The ensemble is close to being overstuffed (with friends, ex-husbands, daughters, and clients), yet seeing Louis-Dreyfus and Gandolfini play against type is more than enough to give the film some intrigue. Watching the former handle less misanthropic and neurotic humor, and watching the latter be funny at all, proves to be the film’s secret weapon.With the amount of time TV stars spend in a role, they tend to become associated with a certain persona, and are thus more vulnerable to being typecast. And even though Louis-Dreyfus retains some facial tics from her Seinfeld days, by the time Enough Said rolls into its final reels, there’s no mistaking Eva for Elaine. The maternal compassion and hesitant romantic longing that the actress finds, without going overboard, is a delight to watch. For such a simple set up, Enough Said pulls its leading lady in a surprising number of directions. Individually they may seem plain, but the combination that Holofcener and Louis-Dreyfus come up with here somehow feels fresh.
    More subdued, though just as enjoyable, is Mr. Gandolfini, in one of his last roles. While his untimely passing is tragic, he could still be alive, and his portrayal of Albert would be no less delightful. A self-professed slob, Albert remains good at heart. In situations where Tony Soprano would have lost his cool and started throwing punches, Albert keeps a level head and internalizes his feelings of anger and disappointment. It culminates in one of the film’s best scenes, that also happens to be one of the few dramatic ones in the entire 90 minute run time. And even though Enough Said is broader than Holofcener’s previous work, it still has her keen ability to use character-based comedy to touch on deeper emotional truths. Jordan Baker for FMR.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    I have to confess: romantic comedies are not my type. But there was so much hype about it that I decided to give it a try. I was quiteI have to confess: romantic comedies are not my type. But there was so much hype about it that I decided to give it a try. I was quite satisfied with all the characters. Except one, the main one: Eva. Not exactly sure what I did not like about her, whether it was the script or directing (both by Nicole Holofcener) or maybe the casting did not quite match with her. As a famous Russian theatrical director once said, "I do not believe it!". And then that awful scene where all three main characters got together, Eva, Marianne and Albert. I nearly left the theater, it was *that* awkward. But enough negativity, overall the movie was quite watchable and sometimes enjoyable. Maybe I should just avoid rom-coms... Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    I must be totally out of sync with what this film is purported to be...although I am almost the exact demographic target for it. I look forI must be totally out of sync with what this film is purported to be...although I am almost the exact demographic target for it. I look for movies about people and where nothing explodes.
    How was this a rom-com? Where were the laughs? And I do not see any thing like tears either...although I admit I nodded off at least 3 times! This was NOT as "Good as it Gets."
    What was this movie about and why should I care? Basically, to me, it's a movie about nothing. You can not compare it to Woody Allen, where at least there are loads of subplots and underplots. Even when his efforts fail there is a lot to look at even if it's just great scenery. There's not even scenery in this dud..
    I do think the interest in this movie has more to do with wanting to see Gandolphini's last work and that is coloring the responses. There was nothing that stood out in Enough Said. I don't even know what that title means. There was no interesting direction, no production values, no quirkiness or revelations. It was almost horrifically blah.
    Finally, I am done with critics who duped me into see the tedious Amour with their rave reviews.
    I am just so grateful I didn't drag my husband to this promising it would be a lot better than he thought. What a bore.
    Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.