User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 144
  2. Negative: 11 out of 144

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    "Epic dares to be original, unique and well creative, but its not. It offers very little to most adults while only "truly" entertaining the children. Its Blue Sky animations worst movie to date and on the low end of the animation spectrum, I expected more" C
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    4
    Epic is anything but epic in almost everyway. The movie so unaspiring that about 30 minutes into the film you just don't care about anything that is going on. A film to see with your kids once and then never again.
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    3
    A case of gross mis titling as Epic is anything but. It is in fact just a below par toon full of cutesy characters, predictable plot points, good vs evil, boy meets girl, blah, blah. There is no faulting the imagination in the animation as is generally the case in these types of film, but this one feels particularly adult resistant. There are a couple of good scenes( the meeting with theA case of gross mis titling as Epic is anything but. It is in fact just a below par toon full of cutesy characters, predictable plot points, good vs evil, boy meets girl, blah, blah. There is no faulting the imagination in the animation as is generally the case in these types of film, but this one feels particularly adult resistant. There are a couple of good scenes( the meeting with the deer, and the dog chasing the lead characters round the laboratory) or moments one in particular is very funny), but mainly it's an exercise in irritating tedium. I particularly disliked the father, and the snail and slug should have been trodden under foot. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    A good looking, but boring animation. I'd say about twenty minutes in to this film I started to just not care about The Leaf men or those things they were fighting and yes the story with the girl and her father somewhat matters overall whatever.
  5. May 27, 2013
    3
    I was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like aI was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like a character that was shallow, vain and disassociated from the main conflict, and still wanted me to like him at the end where his "emotional change and growth" really wasn't big enough to warrant any change in how I perceived him. All in All this is a very good looking film but that doesn't make up for the massive deficiency in character development. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    Not a good movie. Lacks on story and characters. And did I mention story is not that good?? Took my 6 year old daughter to see this as she loves going to the movies. First and only movie (so far) she asked to leave before it was over. Very boring. Skip it
  7. GFC
    Jun 23, 2013
    3
    Alright so I saw the trailer for this movie and I got excited. Epic looked like it was going to be an above average film. But when I went there it was just a complete bore. Its has the typical characters that you would expect and an unoriginal Idea. Remember ant story or whatever it was called? Also this movie got to repetitive with its action scenes. They were the exact same every time.Alright so I saw the trailer for this movie and I got excited. Epic looked like it was going to be an above average film. But when I went there it was just a complete bore. Its has the typical characters that you would expect and an unoriginal Idea. Remember ant story or whatever it was called? Also this movie got to repetitive with its action scenes. They were the exact same every time. This is a movie I think you should all avoid unless you are very curios. Expand
  8. Jun 7, 2013
    4
    I won't lie when I say there was no real reason for me to see epic. I don't have children and I'm not necessarily an animation junkie, but I don't mind trying out the latest computer animated films as more times than not they have a certain high degree of quality to them despite their markets current over-saturation. Besides epic, which has the distinction and the advantage of opening theI won't lie when I say there was no real reason for me to see epic. I don't have children and I'm not necessarily an animation junkie, but I don't mind trying out the latest computer animated films as more times than not they have a certain high degree of quality to them despite their markets current over-saturation. Besides epic, which has the distinction and the advantage of opening the summer movie season for the kiddos, we have the annual Disney Pixar offering which this year is a prequel to one of my favorites of theirs, Monsters Inc. as well as the sequel to 2009's surprise animated hit from Illumination Entertainment Despicable Me which could end up wiping the floor with Dreamworks Turbo that opens a few weeks after Gru and his minions no doubt dominate the fourth of July weekend. And while epic will seemingly only be on the same quality level as that forgotten before it gets here Ryan Reynolds vehicle it still has some good qualities going for it. With epic, Blue Sky studios (the Ice Age films, Rio) has delivered a completely creative and imaginative world of characters that suffer only from the lack of originality that is delivered through its story. This may be due to the fact that five different writers collaborated on the screenplay or simply because when you break it down to its simplest form it is as classic a tale of good vs. evil as there ever could be. I don't mind this because it has a few other layers that make the story a little more engaging if not being a little too subtle for the target audience. Still, despite the fact that epic is sometimes unintentionally funny when at its most serious and often can feel like a direct to video feature, it looks like a big studio film and has enough creative juices flowing in its character and production designs that we can forgive it's laziness in terms of story, for the most part.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Collapse
  9. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    While the animation is decent, "Epic" suffers from the fact it just looks like it was phoned-in. The story is boring, the characters are lifeless and I found I just couldn't find myself caring a single shred over what happens to the characters in this movie. Finally, the cast brought in to bring life to the animated characters could not have been more wrong for the film as they eitherWhile the animation is decent, "Epic" suffers from the fact it just looks like it was phoned-in. The story is boring, the characters are lifeless and I found I just couldn't find myself caring a single shred over what happens to the characters in this movie. Finally, the cast brought in to bring life to the animated characters could not have been more wrong for the film as they either are just bad voice actors or they just don't look like the voice that should belong to the character design. Expand
  10. Aug 9, 2013
    4
    If I had to judge the film based on the amount of effort put into the animation, color and smoothness of textures I'd give a 10. Though I was constantly distracted by the plot which left much to be desired. It's understandable that this is a film for kids but it only appeals to those of a short attention span and I would even see some kids eventually get bored of the humor projected mainlyIf I had to judge the film based on the amount of effort put into the animation, color and smoothness of textures I'd give a 10. Though I was constantly distracted by the plot which left much to be desired. It's understandable that this is a film for kids but it only appeals to those of a short attention span and I would even see some kids eventually get bored of the humor projected mainly from the slugs. Characters who had very little involvement in the plot managed to achieve undeserved roles near the ending when all they did was say a few lines and disappear for half of the movie compared to other characters who did all the work and all they get is a pat on the back and sent away when they were no longer needed. Don't get me wrong, the film would've been amazing if they worked a little more on plot development than just throwing in random occurrences to get the story to move along. Expand
  11. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    What I did not like that almost any child who was with me in the room laughed at times dianvulaban few giggles around the room from time to time and that there are many scenes that try to be funny (do not make mission), the final and as you know from the 20 minute course. The good thing is that it leaves a clear environmental message: take care of nature, if you do not care we're doingWhat I did not like that almost any child who was with me in the room laughed at times dianvulaban few giggles around the room from time to time and that there are many scenes that try to be funny (do not make mission), the final and as you know from the 20 minute course. The good thing is that it leaves a clear environmental message: take care of nature, if you do not care we're doing wrong, the plot and some characters (because some people are a bit copied from the saga of Tinkerbell) That if you try to copy to. many respects to the Tinkerbell movies. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The ratio of humor and action and parent-child bonding is so formulaic, and the character design and molded-figurine-like animation so typical of the genre in the age of Pixar (and Pixar imitators), that Epic evaporates from the mind within minutes of leaving the theater.
  2. Reviewed by: Jenny McCartney
    May 27, 2013
    60
    The diminution works its appeal once again in Epic – the latest film from the creators of "Ice Age" and "Rio" – which is just as well, because the rest of the narrative follows a rather predictable route.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Rose
    May 27, 2013
    60
    What stands out is the animation. The microcosmic woodland world is luminous and detailed, and there's a nice disconnect of scale whereby humans appear as lumbering, slow-motion giants.