Miramax Films | Release Date: December 6, 2002
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 456 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
402
Mixed:
28
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleDec 3, 2013
Wow, talk about aiflm with an overwhelming amount of unnecessary hate. Equilibrium is a very high quality sci-fi action flick with great sequences of drama, along with a fantastic performance by the ever brilliant Christian Bale. HisWow, talk about aiflm with an overwhelming amount of unnecessary hate. Equilibrium is a very high quality sci-fi action flick with great sequences of drama, along with a fantastic performance by the ever brilliant Christian Bale. His performance alone lifts this up from your ordinary action movie to something much more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
OpFreeManAug 14, 2014
It was good! far worse films have been given completely unjustified high scores on this website. Take guardians of the galaxy for example. Absolute rubbish! Yet it gets a ridiculously high score.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mike212Jan 14, 2014
Equilibrium is one of those movies I regret not having seen earlier and I was amazed to see that it had scored so badly pretty much everywhere. To start of, yes Sean Bean is in it and yes it happens it should be no mystery by now. ChristianEquilibrium is one of those movies I regret not having seen earlier and I was amazed to see that it had scored so badly pretty much everywhere. To start of, yes Sean Bean is in it and yes it happens it should be no mystery by now. Christian Bale plays John Preston is a futuristic cop called a Grammaton Cleric, his job is to find and arrest (or kill) sense offenders which are people who have decided to reject the Fascist governments policy that emotions are evil and need to be pressured using a special drug. Prestons character development through out the movie is phenomenal, to see a cold blooded killer who only cares about following his corrupt governments rules to a soft hearted human who risked everything for a puppy is definitely something to see. The new fighting technique called gun kata is definitely interesting when he is actually shooting but when he gets into a close quarter fight near the end it is a bit ridiculous to watch 2 grown men and professional killers slap each others gun about and make absolutely no head way in the fight for a good 30 seconds. The plot is one of the best I have ever seen and kept me enthralled through out the entire movie, there was never a point that I wanted to look away from the screen apart from one part but not because it was bad but because I didn't want to believe it would happen. The team behind this movie worked hard and the actors worked even harder to get their message across, Equilibrium deserves a 10/10 and if I could go any higher I would. Every one needs to go see this movie right now! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
fkpartizanOct 13, 2014
I feel the need to clear the air here. There is a massive disparity between the very poor reviews this movie received from critics and the massive praise it enjoyed from viewers. Do not believe either. Users who have given this movie 10/10I feel the need to clear the air here. There is a massive disparity between the very poor reviews this movie received from critics and the massive praise it enjoyed from viewers. Do not believe either. Users who have given this movie 10/10 are out of their minds--it is simply not that good--and critics who have panned it are being too harsh. Although this an exceedingly half-baked re-hash of Orwell and Huxley, it is nonetheless an entertaining and not entirely mindless action flick. The fight sequences are, for the most part, pretty good and I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the inventive nature of the gun battles (a unique if not entirely realistic idea that you simply need to see if you want to get it). While you shouldn't expect anything particularly profound or original, this movie is not completely mindless. On the whole, I recommend you give it a try. But go in with both eyes open and don't expect too much. If you approach this film from that perspective and don't take it too seriously I think you will genuinely enjoy it. 6.5/10, imho. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TGDROXFeb 16, 2015
When I watch a movie I want two things: I want to be entertained, and I want a story I can follow.

Equilibrium gives me both. If you don't compare it to the Matrix or any other action movie, it's pretty good. Christian Bale's
When I watch a movie I want two things: I want to be entertained, and I want a story I can follow.

Equilibrium gives me both.

If you don't compare it to the Matrix or any other action movie, it's pretty good.

Christian Bale's character doesn't start out good. He's actually a really bad guy. You watch his character grow throughout the movie.

You really end up hating the bad guys in a good way. You root for Christian Bale's character, not because he's such a good guy, but because he's taking it to the bad guys.

The action sequences are not realistic. No, they are not.

But if I wanted realistic I'd go to public square and watch the drunks box it out.

I go to the movies to escape reality, and this movie did exactly that.

On the negative side, it seemed the black guy and the main villain were pretty emotional. Smiling is a sign of happiness, and shouting is a sign of being upset in some way. So that was very stupid.

It's not perfect. The characters don't have much personality, but it has a good story.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ewkdon223Oct 30, 2012
Critics keep mentioning the plot and the themes which are the weaker aspects of equilibrium. This movie was incredible for me because of the performances "christian bale" "emily watson" "sean bean" , the superb novelty and excellence of theCritics keep mentioning the plot and the themes which are the weaker aspects of equilibrium. This movie was incredible for me because of the performances "christian bale" "emily watson" "sean bean" , the superb novelty and excellence of the martial arts and action sequences, and the crisp sharpness of atmosphere. Alot of criticism is aimed at bcuz its based in a dystopic future world and its "done before" but dystopic setting should be thought of as a genre rather than a plot so i don't think it has to be new and original all the time. Also note that it came out in 2002, soon after the first matrix movie. So it's a bit unfair to say that it copied the matrix when a lot of work would have already begun on equilibrium. Most pple would have watched it years and years after it was made, bcuz they saw christian bale in batman. Equilibrium is always in my mind christian bales greatest performance. And Gun kata a semi-realistic martial art that has spawned a real-life niche in itself. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
MarkusWMay 13, 2009
Once of my alltime favourite movies. Drama and Action could go together before the new BSG. But it´s hardly surprising that a movie warning of "soft totalitarianism" isn´t well recieved the media. Make a movie about a clicheed Once of my alltime favourite movies. Drama and Action could go together before the new BSG. But it´s hardly surprising that a movie warning of "soft totalitarianism" isn´t well recieved the media. Make a movie about a clicheed fascist gouvernement seizing power using anti-terror as an excuse and they love you. But a movie talking about how the concept of hate-crimes will lead to policing of thought and you are a heretic. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
RyanJ.Mar 9, 2006
one of the best films ever made, original and inovative action, amazing acting and a film that can be watched over and over. It will make you question al the critics who try to discredit the film.
5 of 7 users found this helpful
10
KyleS.May 9, 2007
It appears that all the low ratings for this movie are just people that are bashing it, while the good reviews seem filled with inspiration, appreciation, and satisfaction. What are the people making low ratings missing? I thought this movie It appears that all the low ratings for this movie are just people that are bashing it, while the good reviews seem filled with inspiration, appreciation, and satisfaction. What are the people making low ratings missing? I thought this movie was one of the best I have ever seen and was absolutely blown away by it. Stunning effects and choreography, incredible depth in the story, extremely believable character development, and an amazing message. Not to mention heart pounding action - this movie literally made me feel like I wanted to stop watching it because it was so suspenseful and absorbing that I didn't want to risk watching it all for fear it might not go the way I wanted it to! Absolutely amazing. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
9
MangoporkNKMar 2, 2006
CRIMINALLY Underrated!! Don't make the gullible mistake of pidgeonholing this movie as a matrix/1984 ripoff. Director Kurt Wimmer already addressed these claims stating that while he did willingly borrow some elements from those films, CRIMINALLY Underrated!! Don't make the gullible mistake of pidgeonholing this movie as a matrix/1984 ripoff. Director Kurt Wimmer already addressed these claims stating that while he did willingly borrow some elements from those films, his dramatic intent was to re-examine several themes that are crucial to humanity while presenting a new take on choreographed hyperstylized action. Did he succeed? Instead of a simple answer, and instead of offering more hyperboles or pompous critical slams like everyone else here, let me just say this: In all of my 22 years of watching films from every genre, making it a near-weekly tradition to go out to the movies with close friends & beloved family members, Equilbrium is the only movie that I immediately bought a second ticket for just so that I could experience it again consequently after it's first showing. And that's just for the action scenes. My friends and I whipped out our cell phones, calling everyone we knew inviting them to come see this pleasant gem that has shined out from nowhere. The ultimate bottom line, stripping away all of the hype and mostly undue criticisms, Equilbrium entertains with it's truly unique, expertly choreographed, jaw-dropping action sequences mixed with passion, art, tight pacing, great acting, and wonderful drama. It's story may or may not be unique to you, but it is touching nonetheless, and if you have any sense of empathy then you will remember it. Is it the best film you'll ever see? Probably not. But honestly now, what movie ever is, universally speaking? It boils down to this: If you're looking for a good time, you will find it in Equillibrium. If you want a film that hits the right notes of the delicate musical balance that is "action & drama" without being hammy or contrived, Equilibrium is your song. If you hate science fiction, enjoy bitching about movies, are too cynical, or have no sense of empathy, look elsewhere (or better yet, stop watching films altogether and find a new hobby). As for me, three years after that fateful first viewing, this film is still near the top of my highly-selective DVD shelf. Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
MiKEApr 2, 2006
I liked this movie. but its nowhere close to bladerunner. but still I enjoyed it alot. It seems like the director really wanted to make this movie as good as possible and it shows. Not a bad movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
SzymonZ.Jan 8, 2007
The Film is complete - you get what you see. It tells a story, doesn't let you down in any moment, full of action, nice effects, nice cinematography, etc.... It is complete.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
JHJun 21, 2007
Great action, Bale carries the movie. Guards and troopers look a little too stylish. But the clerics are dead on.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Sep 20, 2007
This was one of the best action movies I've ever seen! It has some of the feel of The Matrix but the action was more believable. Christian Bale was AWESOME! The story was good, a little slow at times but good. It had depth and heart This was one of the best action movies I've ever seen! It has some of the feel of The Matrix but the action was more believable. Christian Bale was AWESOME! The story was good, a little slow at times but good. It had depth and heart which you don't see much in action these days. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
MarkK.Jan 10, 2009
An enjoyable film overall. Only faults I can find are the similarities to the Matrix (which cause a great amount of De ja vu) and some of the fight scenes get a bit brainless, but it's great fun.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Substance90Jun 28, 2011
I am seriously considering never again opening Metacritic. I mean what sort of nonsense ratings are those? Are these critics retarded or what? This is an amazing movie and deserves at least an 8!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SandundJun 8, 2009
Whats up with most of these critics. If they didn't see the depth and the message in this movie, well they are a bunch of retards who were probably dropped as infants. This in one of the most iconic movies I've seen for a long Whats up with most of these critics. If they didn't see the depth and the message in this movie, well they are a bunch of retards who were probably dropped as infants. This in one of the most iconic movies I've seen for a long time. A definite cult fav. Hats off. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful
9
NickJun 17, 2008
One of the most underrated films of all time with a deep and ahead of its time story.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
StefanM.Feb 12, 2008
those who gave this film 0 are jealous!!!! OK, it has from films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984, etc. some ideas, but Kurt Wimmer was doing this project for 12 years and his final product, Equilibrium, is fantastic movie! so, those who gave it those who gave this film 0 are jealous!!!! OK, it has from films like Fahrenheit 451, 1984, etc. some ideas, but Kurt Wimmer was doing this project for 12 years and his final product, Equilibrium, is fantastic movie! so, those who gave it less than 6 can come here and suck my balls!!!!!!!!! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
9
WillD.Jan 5, 2003
9.5 even. This movie... reigned. Today's reviewers are such a bunch of paid off schlocks. This is THE MOST UNDERRATED FILM of the year, and perhaps the decade. Those reviewers would be giving nines and tens if this film came out before 9.5 even. This movie... reigned. Today's reviewers are such a bunch of paid off schlocks. This is THE MOST UNDERRATED FILM of the year, and perhaps the decade. Those reviewers would be giving nines and tens if this film came out before the Matrix. The difference between the two is that the society depicted in Equilibrium is actually possible. The acting, story, cinematography, sound, choreopraphy and set design were each nearly flawless. If you like action and you've seen The Two Towers, then finding a better flick than Equilibrium from the list at left will be extremely difficult, if not impossible. And if you've got a DVD player, and missed it at the theatre, don't rent... buy. Your friends will know who the king is after they pop by for a flick, and that's a guarantee. P.S. Possibly the best conventional action footage ever... I guess I'd better stop before I start naming reviewers who SHOULD BE FIRED FOR BEING IGNORANT MONKEYS. And the best action P.C. game in history is called DEUS EX, and this site would do well to review it. [Ed: Try the search engine: PC - 90; PS2 - 80] (Great site, nonetheless.) Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KarmaS.Oct 13, 2007
Very nice! Sure Matrix was damn good, but it was one of the trend at that period, only because this movie didn't advertise as much, doesn't mean this is a bad movie at all. True critic make minor stream movies alive! is it's Very nice! Sure Matrix was damn good, but it was one of the trend at that period, only because this movie didn't advertise as much, doesn't mean this is a bad movie at all. True critic make minor stream movies alive! is it's good! Only stupids, just like to COMPARE!!! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
PaulS.Mar 23, 2008
I thought this was one of the best films I have ever seen. The hidden references to classical works and the amazing fight scenes won me over. I would consider this a "must see".
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
ChrisH.Aug 25, 2008
Say what you want but despite real originality and some silliness Wimmer's anti-utopia is still one of the bests I've ever saw. And anyway nowadays you can't really do anything truly original.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
PhilipF.Feb 20, 2009
Excellent movie, great fight scenes, and they actually managed to make gun fights amazingly interesting. Gun-kata is actually something i'd enjoy seeing in future movies, even if it is fictional. plot only really became cheesy for about Excellent movie, great fight scenes, and they actually managed to make gun fights amazingly interesting. Gun-kata is actually something i'd enjoy seeing in future movies, even if it is fictional. plot only really became cheesy for about a 10 minute period towards the end, but other than that, great flick. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ZefranC.Sep 3, 2008
Awesome movie. Those who rated it low, simply doesn't understand it. I'ts not a movie for everyone, but if everyone was able to understand it, we where in a better world.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JonathanC.Jan 7, 2009
This movie is severely underrated. In my opinion, this movie is one of the better sci-fi or action movies I've ever seen. But then, Star Wars: Ep. 3 got a 68 on metacritic, and it's garbage.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RonnyG.Jan 28, 2009
This is one of the best movies ever. It's action scenes outclass the Matrix by at least 2x, if not 100x! The plot, character development, characters, and ending all outclass The Matrix (which was a great movie.) My favorite part is the This is one of the best movies ever. It's action scenes outclass the Matrix by at least 2x, if not 100x! The plot, character development, characters, and ending all outclass The Matrix (which was a great movie.) My favorite part is the ending! One of the best endings ever, because it says what we all feel, and gives us what we truly want: Pure Ownage. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JenG.Feb 28, 2009
This is an excellent rendition of the potential of totalitarianism today. I have to agree with some other users, that the "critics" are truly in denial about society. Take a hard look at the world today, know anyone on anti-depressants or This is an excellent rendition of the potential of totalitarianism today. I have to agree with some other users, that the "critics" are truly in denial about society. Take a hard look at the world today, know anyone on anti-depressants or Ritalin? Do you feel world news is uncensored? If you feel that world leaders and nations aren't manipulating emotions for political/financial gain or profit, you are truly in denial as well. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KRSep 26, 2008
Reading the critics' reviews, I am astonished by the vacuity and triteness. Apparently they hate dystopia themes because they fail to produce any kind of intelligent criticism. It contains a clever dystopia premise with solid acting and Reading the critics' reviews, I am astonished by the vacuity and triteness. Apparently they hate dystopia themes because they fail to produce any kind of intelligent criticism. It contains a clever dystopia premise with solid acting and innovative---if unrealistic---action sequences. Once again, if you hate dystopia themes then just admit it upfront. Don't pretend, though, that this movie is "mindless" because it copies other dystopian themes. That is a mindless statement, for sure. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
MustisTheCatAug 22, 2011
Very good movie. For another supposedly shallow action production you get a well written story with good played and believable characters and good action scenes. I liked the showing of the future world the director has chosen and particularyVery good movie. For another supposedly shallow action production you get a well written story with good played and believable characters and good action scenes. I liked the showing of the future world the director has chosen and particulary the psychology behind the main person. The world did not get demonised the way it is done in other action flicks. We see that indeed, a world without emotions is a calm place with everyone doing their job for the good of the society. It would even present an attractive picture if wasn`t for the over the top police procedures. Instead of being locked up somewhere, the emotion (as society`s enemy #1) is to be destroyed once and for all. Getting rid of all the culture by the state is also too much for the vision to be acceptable. What we see exactly is what we might miss if we took the pill that supposedly is our saviour. In both dimensions : from POV of a single human being and the whole bunch of people. Hell yes it would have been more "efficient", but we`d stop being people. John preston sees that and shows others. It was fascinating, making me reflect the movie for couple of weeks. To add to that, we get some drama with some good action. Believable, original and solid. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SolveigDec 25, 2011
Why does this movie receive such low scores from reviewers? It is a fantastic movie! I have to agree with MarkusW, guess the media did not like the message.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
EssenceOfSugarJan 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An underrated piece of art, this bleak future where emotions are forbidden has an ironic emotional core to it. It doesn't surround itself with blatant copies of Fahrenheit 451 and 1984, in fact, what many people would assume are carbon copies I would prefer to call references, harking back to other dystopian films while also being a standalone film in its own right. Equilibrium treats the matter with mild stoicism, foreshadowing particular events in a neat way that manages to explode in a thrilling yet thoughtful way. The ignorance of many critics that assumed the worst, didn't seem to see the whole picture. None of this was about the fact that censorship exists or that you could be executed for certain crimes. The whole idea of the film was to make you see how people behaved through lack of emotion, with the failure to see that emotion is what makes us human. Rather than take a purely political motive, it manages to incorporate perhaps a majorly ethical motive. The action that is contained in this film is not just for showing off. The stylistic features render the action scenes mindblowing, but no less helping to drive the core theme of the story - besides, the main character is a cleric, trained in the art of Gun Kata (a thrilling name for a sadly non-existent masterpiece of fighting style) who manages to put a chink in Libria's armour as we see through his perspective by realising he can use this weapon against the system that attempts and fails to betray him as someone who is 'feeling'. When I first regarded this film, I became fascinated about how, amongst the close-ups and wider shots, the main character seems to obviously show some kind of emotion without the intrusion of the system demanding why on earth he hasn't been arrested for his crimes. This ultimately came to the climax, whereby the foreshadowing managed to sneak its way in at the beginning. The fact that Christian Bale was chosen for this role makes me wonder why some people didn't think this was good, considering how deft he was in executing the action, the visual non-speaking scenes and the dialogue. To the amazing use of irony, a number of heart-rending scenes kept up the core theme, and the stylistic use of camera focus on Christian Bale emphasised the distress that we could feel he was going through, one being his flinching when we don't see the dogs being shot, but we can feel it by way of his reaction. However, I thought one of the most chilling scenes was during a raid of someone's apartment, with fires burning and people spattered with blood, was the simplicity of a dying man running into the main character, known as John Preston, bleeding, desperation and hope glittering in his eyes as he slides down, leaving Preston aghast and completely horrified, reflecting the man's pain. The expression on his face could not have been possibly matched, Christian Bale just executed that so perfectly that I could feel myself choking up and stopping dead. So this film, by none the way anything completely copied from other films, is a masterpiece in its own right. By way of insulting the stylistic features to convey emotion and provide thrilling action that shaped the film, the amazingly well-acted characters that were to no end incredibly fascinating, the amazingly clever storyline, you are refusing to take it to the light of some of the world's greatest films and distastefully making the biggest mistake of throwing it away. Like the scene in the film, whereby Preston awakes from a nightmare with shock and overwhelming emotion, tears away the fabric from the window to reveal glimmering light on the horizon and a rainbow glowing in the rain, it strips away the layers as the film goes on, lulling you into a false sense of security, but instead just brings you surprises exploding onto the scene, leaving you brimming with hope at the end. Look out for the poignant reference of Yeats. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
pauljohnsonJun 5, 2012
It's cliched, and often at times, a little silly, but there's enough story, thematic threads, action and good acting - especially from Bale - to keep you entertained. It's not as deep as say, Blade Runner, but there's enough richness in theIt's cliched, and often at times, a little silly, but there's enough story, thematic threads, action and good acting - especially from Bale - to keep you entertained. It's not as deep as say, Blade Runner, but there's enough richness in the themes of emotion and feeling to get you talking. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
moviesnobJun 23, 2012
entertaining and great action scenes. christian bale does a wonderful job portraying a devoted cleric who begins to doubt his original beliefs, abandons them, and eventually fights for them. very good end fight scene.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SubzOct 4, 2012
After watching this movie, I was completely shocked at its metascore! Thank god the users have got it right! This films goes up there in my favourite films of all time list. The story is really good, I don't know why some people were badAfter watching this movie, I was completely shocked at its metascore! Thank god the users have got it right! This films goes up there in my favourite films of all time list. The story is really good, I don't know why some people were bad mouthing the story, it was really interesting and executed nicely, job well done right there. The action itself is fantastic, I've only watched it recently so considering it was a 2002 film I was definitely impressed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MenogAug 4, 2013
I can't understand the low score on this movie. The movie is awesome! Maybe the mainstream media has a problem with this sort of films... maybe it makes people aware of their own goals!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
UGAug 27, 2007
Great movie and super action.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MattLFeb 4, 2008
I'm going to have to side with the general public on this one: it was indeed a good, and more importantly, fun movie. I think critics, in their pursuit of pure analytical commentary of movies, have forgotten the magic of the movies : I'm going to have to side with the general public on this one: it was indeed a good, and more importantly, fun movie. I think critics, in their pursuit of pure analytical commentary of movies, have forgotten the magic of the movies : having fun. Sure, the story was a little inconsistent, overused, what have you, but me and my friends had a blast watching it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MitchellF.Dec 20, 2005
A low budget masterpiece. The story, the passion, and the fantastic action made this movie epic. Some people may think that this movie is a rip off of the Matix, but the story is completely new and origional. The visuals may have been low A low budget masterpiece. The story, the passion, and the fantastic action made this movie epic. Some people may think that this movie is a rip off of the Matix, but the story is completely new and origional. The visuals may have been low budget....but so what.....they didn't over due the graphic's like The Transporter 2 did. The scenery was fanstatic. After all that, the fighting was unbelievable. The combined martial arts with gun fighting...and pulled it off perfectly. I recommend you see this movie, enjoy, tell your firends, then watch it again, it's just that good! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RyanF.Feb 27, 2006
When I first saw Equilibrium, I wasn't very impressed. It seemed like just another movie with an odd story. But then after seeing it over and over at friends houses, the story slowly fell into place. It really makes you think. The only When I first saw Equilibrium, I wasn't very impressed. It seemed like just another movie with an odd story. But then after seeing it over and over at friends houses, the story slowly fell into place. It really makes you think. The only thing I didn't like about it was the scene where he goes into the dark room and shoots but doesn't have ANY shots fired at him. And the story has some parts that make you go "What?!" Waaay better than the Matrix. And in the last half of the movie I was stuck into my seat. Great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AvriS.Oct 16, 2007
Great Movie. Didn't quite understand why the reviewers bashed it so much,for a movie with such a low budget,it actually turned out to be very good,i don´t think it has anything to do with the Matrix at all because even its Great Movie. Didn't quite understand why the reviewers bashed it so much,for a movie with such a low budget,it actually turned out to be very good,i don´t think it has anything to do with the Matrix at all because even its futuristic views are different,all in all don´t pay attention to the critics and watch it,it will be worth it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewKOct 24, 2007
This movie was well shot and compared to many other hack n slash sci-fi action movies, the plot/script had some thought put into it. Contrary to the negative comments of the press. I, as a viewer and person, consider it a well done movie. This movie was well shot and compared to many other hack n slash sci-fi action movies, the plot/script had some thought put into it. Contrary to the negative comments of the press. I, as a viewer and person, consider it a well done movie. What do you most of the comments have to back up their negatives? Reviews on other, past movies. Review a movie based on itself and you have a good movie.. not because you care to think about other movies in its place. Encore. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LPJun 28, 2007
What is wrong w/ the critics? This is one of the best pictures made! Figures!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MajorH.Jul 27, 2007
Brilliant. Don't trust the critics...trust yourself. This movie rocks. Hard.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TARGET1058Feb 19, 2008
Great movie...might not make you think a whole lot but the action and it being something different makes up for it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JakobL.Feb 24, 2008
The 'professional' critics seem to be bashing the story rather than the actual film. It was good, silly fun. Not all movies have to be well scripted with oscar-worthy performances to entertain you. Ironically, Transformers got The 'professional' critics seem to be bashing the story rather than the actual film. It was good, silly fun. Not all movies have to be well scripted with oscar-worthy performances to entertain you. Ironically, Transformers got double this films score yet it was minus the fun. Bizzaro. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeoM.Jul 6, 2008
I laughed when i saw the critics reviews,because they didn't actually say why it was bad, just that it was bad.I believe this is because they cant face society may 1 day be like that.I appreciate to seeall the good reviews.Makes me I laughed when i saw the critics reviews,because they didn't actually say why it was bad, just that it was bad.I believe this is because they cant face society may 1 day be like that.I appreciate to seeall the good reviews.Makes me think how biased their opinion is. Away from the critic bastards it was a superb film..hert stopping plot with excellent action sequences. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
toadNov 15, 2005
One of the best movies I have ever seen. Smoothly blends drama and action, making a sweet movie. the story is great, even it is not quite original. Action is exciting, and surprises. The only problem with this movie, is the low budget. It One of the best movies I have ever seen. Smoothly blends drama and action, making a sweet movie. the story is great, even it is not quite original. Action is exciting, and surprises. The only problem with this movie, is the low budget. It only aired in 300 theaters across the US. If it had aired in more, it would have been a major blockbuster. A must see for every movie fanatic, action lover, and drama people. Christian Bale at his best! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesMDec 11, 2005
Although not perfect, I do appreciate this film. It masquerades its true purpose and style by disguising itself as a matrix rip-off, and critics seem to have been easily fooled. This film is indeed art regardless of the frequent action.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndyW.Dec 17, 2006
I don't understand why critics gave this generally negative reviews. It may not be the best movie, but it sure is an eye-opener.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MiroC>Oct 23, 2006
This is a best picture... psycho, action and dramatic in one movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AlexPFeb 16, 2008
Granted this is no Oscar caliber movie this is probably the harshest critic score on all of metacritic and that is a big statement. This movie is very entertaining while managing to keep an interesting storyline and believable acting, and Granted this is no Oscar caliber movie this is probably the harshest critic score on all of metacritic and that is a big statement. This movie is very entertaining while managing to keep an interesting storyline and believable acting, and when I think of all the far worse movies (and there are many of them) who have received about double the score I really wonder what the critics expect. I does give me hope though to see the huge abyss between the users and critics scores. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
joeMay 25, 2009
Seriously, these critics are retards. Notice that that Roger Ebert gave it the HIGHEST score of all the critics, and he tends to be one of the tougher ones (he wrote the book "your movie sucks" if that says anything). I would say Ebert is Seriously, these critics are retards. Notice that that Roger Ebert gave it the HIGHEST score of all the critics, and he tends to be one of the tougher ones (he wrote the book "your movie sucks" if that says anything). I would say Ebert is right on this, 75 to 80 is probably a fair score for this movie. How anyone can call this movie stupid and then go give higher ratings to other films like "Shoot em' up" I will never know, but I really can't help but think someone was paid to hate this film. Yeah the plot is a litte extreme and uses other authors and movies themes, but by that logic 99% of ALL action and romance films should have never been made (just try and name a few love stories or martial arts films that are REALLY original; now think of the ones that aren't and critics seem to love). So let's say the film had no plot, but retained it's amazing action (that was creative AND inventive) that right there earns it a decent score. Now throw in a message that was at least important if not a little corny as well as some good acting and that makes for a pretty good movie. I just don't see how, because the movie happens to not have the most ORIGINAL plot, that people can hate it for have GOOD things thrown on top of that unoriginal plot. Ever seen DARK CITY or films like that? Horrid action and a plot that you might find on some kids Live Journal, yet are still enjoyable and somehow critics love it. Well this movie had a more sensible plot and better action and somehow that makes it worse? At least the oldest and wisest of movie critics isn't affected by bribes, and if anyones ever seen the original Fahrenheit 451 it has an even corneir plot and NO action and people somehow say it's SO much better. Honesty, these critics really pissed me off and anyone who just says this movie was bad because of unoriginality or because "it takes itself to seriously" is just being asinine; how do you think the characters are going to act, like monkeys in a cage? The movie deserved to be made and to that extent it was made well, so lay off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikaelG.Nov 25, 2006
I watched this movie yesterday, and must say that it's one of my favourite movies of all times, displaying aesthetical completeness as well as believable plot and beautifully done costumes, weapons and architecture. Not to mention I watched this movie yesterday, and must say that it's one of my favourite movies of all times, displaying aesthetical completeness as well as believable plot and beautifully done costumes, weapons and architecture. Not to mention convincing characters and, of course, the gun kata. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StraitjacketAug 26, 2010
I just can't understand the critics sometimes. This movie is great! Don't just always think about '' how crazy idea the storyline is''. This movie has a inner message, and it is beautiful, exiting, and so true. I recommend you to watch,I just can't understand the critics sometimes. This movie is great! Don't just always think about '' how crazy idea the storyline is''. This movie has a inner message, and it is beautiful, exiting, and so true. I recommend you to watch, people who give points like 1-6 instead of 7-10, are just too stupid to understand this. Definetly a worth of your time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
coolunmeAug 23, 2011
The critics who reviewed this terrific movie are morons. Judging from the list of bad movies they gave good reviews for its no surprise. This film is one of the best sci fi action movies ever. You don't have to appreciate the ideas that areThe critics who reviewed this terrific movie are morons. Judging from the list of bad movies they gave good reviews for its no surprise. This film is one of the best sci fi action movies ever. You don't have to appreciate the ideas that are presented but cannot deny its powerful impact. We ourselves are the evil we try so hard to oppose. Our ideas and judgements about humanity are all at stake no matter how its presented. And this film does a great job of elevating that narrative. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
avatar16Dec 28, 2011
Jamais vous n'aimerez voir des acteurs aussi fades dans un film, car le manque d'expression, voilà le thème principal d'Equilibrium. Et devoir faire ça durant tout le film, cela relève duJamais vous n'aimerez voir des acteurs aussi fades dans un film, car le manque d'expression, voilà le thème principal d'Equilibrium. Et devoir faire ça durant tout le film, cela relève du miracle. C'est pour ça que le film est une preuve de plus qui confirme l'immense talent de Christian Bale, qui s'enivre à merveille d'émotions au fil de l'histoire, sans se cacher au spectateur. Un jeu d'acteur remarquable qui enjolive l'ambiance hypnotique d'Equilibrium, à la mise en scène soignée et au scénario bien plus complexe qu'il n'y parait sous ses airs de shooter movie. Mais non sans défaut, car c'est sous son apparence de blockbuster (surtout pour la fin) que le film se perd (malgré des fusillades assez stylées), entâchant quelque peu les superbes et intenses moments où Bale parle avec ses yeux. Et je ne parlerai pas des effets numériques... En somme, Equilibrium est un très bon film, mais qui aurait pu se passer du côté "action" pour être encore meilleur. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
mrniceJul 21, 2012
The Metacritic division of critics and users reflects my stance on this movie: The inner critic hates it finds it ridiculous and lacking, while the inner user enjoys the fresh straightness of it, and the audacity to infuse the mindless actionThe Metacritic division of critics and users reflects my stance on this movie: The inner critic hates it finds it ridiculous and lacking, while the inner user enjoys the fresh straightness of it, and the audacity to infuse the mindless action with a subversive message. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
michaelj32Apr 19, 2012
Equlibrium With Christian Bale

Its an interesting movie. Maybe for people that studied world war two and hitler. They mention Hitler in the film. The movie revolves around the idea of strong feelings being illegal. A police state enforces
Equlibrium With Christian Bale

Its an interesting movie. Maybe for people that studied world war two and hitler. They mention Hitler in the film. The movie revolves around the idea of strong feelings being illegal. A police state enforces this, and can terminate and incinerate â
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
theofficialjeffSep 8, 2012
This is seriously one of the greatest action movies I've ever seen. The action is awesome, the premise, while simple, is incredibly effective, and you have Christian Bale. Winning combination if I've ever seen one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Mar 29, 2015
Yes, "Equilibrium" borrows heavily from other, better sci-fi pieces - like "The Matrix," "Gattaca," and "Fahrenheit 451," to name a few - but damn is it fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sagramola89Feb 21, 2013
Set in a fictional dystopia, where having feelings is a crime and are being prevented by medication, this action/thriller movie has an interesting concept and nicely done action sequences.
What I liked: Christian Bale was perfect for this
Set in a fictional dystopia, where having feelings is a crime and are being prevented by medication, this action/thriller movie has an interesting concept and nicely done action sequences.
What I liked: Christian Bale was perfect for this role. The same emotionless facial expressions he used in "American Psycho" really helped bringing the character to life. The stunts are excellent as well. The concept of this ficional dystopia is really interesting.
What I didn't like: The movie had a few unrealistic scenes and plotholes and the action sequences were over-the-top. If you're too much into realism, you might have a problem with this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LoRevisorJan 15, 2015
Christian Bale,conta com uma super performance,uma brilhante história e cenas **** Yeah!!!.
Sean Bean um pouco que aparece já deixa sua marca no filme com uma brilhante performance. Como disse uma história brilhante que talvez com um
Christian Bale,conta com uma super performance,uma brilhante história e cenas **** Yeah!!!.
Sean Bean um pouco que aparece já deixa sua marca no filme com uma brilhante performance. Como disse uma história brilhante que talvez com um orçamento maior teria um resultado mais interessante porém mesmo assim o filme ficou ótimo
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
theseparatorDec 19, 2013
Totally under-appreciated and misinterpreted film.
This is one of my all time favorite movies, yet I have a hard time
defending it now as a serious piece of cinema, and I'm not sure why. It gets low ratings on all the major film sites
Totally under-appreciated and misinterpreted film.
This is one of my all time favorite movies, yet I have a hard time
defending it now as a serious piece of cinema, and I'm not sure why. It
gets low ratings on all the major film sites despite tons of great
actions scenes, a huge overarching story line, great attention to
detail, and a terrific performance by Christian Bale.

The Story: The dictator ruled state of Libria force-feeds its citizens
drugs to suppress their emotions, and in fact, feeling emotion is
entirely illegal. Punishment is death.

Overactive emotions have been known to cause many of humanity's
previous atrocities and wars, so to vanquish emotion is to therefore
benefit humankind. There is a method to the madness; this film is set
right after world war III, and emotion suppression is modern humanity's
solution for preventing world war IV.

Of course there are those that do not see this repression as a benefit
and so an underground resistance forms. Although the plot is
excellently executed, the dystopian theme comes across as just a little
bit too close (for some, not for me) to an exact replica of an
Orwellian model. Equilibrium has been accused of being unoriginal, a
mere mishmash of well-known various Sci- Fi stories.

I was never bothered by this mishmash. Examining the film shows there
are more than enough original features, features that people must be
overlooking when judging, because the originality more than counter
balances the borrowed material.

The top ranking law enforcement officials are (I think very cleverly)
called Clerics. They employ the use a fictitious fighting style called
the Gun Kata. The Gun Kata a major part of the film and makes for some
amazing scenes. The details about the world are so specific that it
really is an amazing accomplishment on writer/director Kurt Whimmer's
part. Whimmer makes a living mainly as a writer, Equilibrium being one
of only two major features he's directed.

As I said earlier, Christian Bale gives a great performance, handling
almost all the fight scenes himself, and due to budget constraints,
only being allowed a handful of takes to get each set of complex
choreography right. Director Whimmer makes excellent use of light and
space, pleading his case for humanity's right to "feel" as light peeks
through the drab gray tones of the photography, rarely, but just
enough.

Equilibrium is the biggest box office flop of a film I can think of.
For how epic it is, the 20 million dollar budget seems miniscule, but
its total to-date gross is $1.2 million, a totally pathetic ratio.
Equilibrium appeared around the same time as the Matrix was doing its
thing and so Equilibrium got very little press. The two films share a
similar vibe and since Equilibrium came out second, it loses points for originality, and even though The Matrix is undoubtedly a great achievement, Christina Bale is hands-down the better lead (I'm not too fond of Keanu Reeves). Just based on that fact alone Equilibrium is worth checking out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticJul 23, 2015
The themes and messages, which, while maintaining depth, loses its capacity and strength due to its copycat of many classics (too many to name). It's no stupid film by any means, and I always have faith in Christian Bale. He is phenomenal.The themes and messages, which, while maintaining depth, loses its capacity and strength due to its copycat of many classics (too many to name). It's no stupid film by any means, and I always have faith in Christian Bale. He is phenomenal. But it is too unoriginal to deem a classic. Despite this, I am unanimous in my confusion for the hatred critics gave this film. The action sequences alone are some of the most awesome and intricate I've seen. This movie's feel, look and style make it one hell of an experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ChymosOct 1, 2013
First of all I am not saying the movie is perfect because of the fact that there is no such thing as perfect even though the director maybe could have wanted to see the movie that way. Second of all I am not saying the movie is dark andFirst of all I am not saying the movie is perfect because of the fact that there is no such thing as perfect even though the director maybe could have wanted to see the movie that way. Second of all I am not saying the movie is dark and melancholic because its really not, eventually. Third, the movie was pretty great for those honest needing people reading this.

I cannot undergo being selfish and saying that the movie reminds me a little bit of "The Matrix" (1999) which is one of my most favourite movies of all time. Everyone will or is thinking that. The cut-scenes are probably at its peak of that time, now I'm not even hailing Bales performance and his scenes. Even the acting from the children are fantastic.

The storyline for the main characters are fulfilling yes, the script is detailed and deep enough to be intriguing. I must give credit to the intro of the movie. Somehow it wants one to look away from fascism and at the same time to understand why and how. I believe its called somewhat of a mixed feeling you could say.

The outro needs to be cut down in two to be understood. Just as a human face is divided in symmetry depending on where you cut it. Leaving the whole brain of the story behind of what to happen hereafter with one man's face looking forward in the future of the horizon of tomorrow. From the top again: satisfying surprising and curious.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Cookieninja111Oct 31, 2013
I love the difference between the User and Critic score, but I liked this movie because I liked the world that was presented and the characters even though they didn't need any emotion (major plot point)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gozip666Nov 6, 2015
Gj critics. You reminded me why i never use your opinions to justify movies or anything.
As for the film - it has good action, interesting setting and kind of cliched plot, but in a good way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 24, 2016
Gorgeous movie, gorgeous Classical soundtrack. Superbly acted and the story was so Orwellian.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1943-Equilibrium
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews