Equilibrium

Equilibrium Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 444 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a future society, citizens are prevented from expressing emotions and are controlled by militaristic police with the enforced use of a dehumanizing drug.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. 75
    Would be a mindless action picture, except that it has a mind. It doesn't do a lot of deep thinking, but unlike many futuristic combos of sf and f/x, it does make a statement:
  2. 70
    The fun here is not so much in the solid if stolid performances from Bale and co-stars Taye Diggs and Emily Watson (gussied up to resemble the Jefferson Airplaneā€“era Grace Slick) or in Wimmer's overpolished plot devices as it is in the production values.
  3. Equilibrium improves as it rolls along -- either that or, ironically, it wears down the senses until the viewer succumbs.
  4. 40
    Flashy, "MATRIX"-style action sequences trump ideas; it's hard not to feel you've just watched a feature-length video game with some really heavy back story.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    38
    Equilibrium just happens to be a really bad comic book.
  6. Super- violent, super-serious and super-stupid.
  7. If someone left "1984," "Fahrenheit 451," "Brave New World," "Gattaca" and the Sylvester Stallone potboilers "Judge Dredd" and "Demolition Man" out in the sun and threw the runny glop onto a movie screen, it would still be a better picture than Equilibrium, a movie that could be stupider only if it were longer.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 135
  1. TARGET1058
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    Great movie...might not make you think a whole lot but the action and it being something different makes up for it.
  2. PaulS.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    I thought this was one of the best films I have ever seen. The hidden references to classical works and the amazing fight scenes won me over. I thought this was one of the best films I have ever seen. The hidden references to classical works and the amazing fight scenes won me over. I would consider this a "must see". Expand
  3. Sandund
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Whats up with most of these critics. If they didn't see the depth and the message in this movie, well they are a bunch of retards who Whats up with most of these critics. If they didn't see the depth and the message in this movie, well they are a bunch of retards who were probably dropped as infants. This in one of the most iconic movies I've seen for a long time. A definite cult fav. Hats off. Expand
  4. AndyW.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    I don't understand why critics gave this generally negative reviews. It may not be the best movie, but it sure is an eye-opener.
  5. May 24, 2016
    8
    Gorgeous movie, gorgeous Classical soundtrack. Superbly acted and the story was so Orwellian.

    Watch it online for free:
    Gorgeous movie, gorgeous Classical soundtrack. Superbly acted and the story was so Orwellian.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1943-Equilibrium
    Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2015
    7
    The themes and messages, which, while maintaining depth, loses its capacity and strength due to its copycat of many classics (too many toThe themes and messages, which, while maintaining depth, loses its capacity and strength due to its copycat of many classics (too many to name). It's no stupid film by any means, and I always have faith in Christian Bale. He is phenomenal. But it is too unoriginal to deem a classic. Despite this, I am unanimous in my confusion for the hatred critics gave this film. The action sequences alone are some of the most awesome and intricate I've seen. This movie's feel, look and style make it one hell of an experience. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    This was quite a pain. This was truly done by someone that watched 1984 and Matrix too much, and made it uninteresting. Action was just silly,This was quite a pain. This was truly done by someone that watched 1984 and Matrix too much, and made it uninteresting. Action was just silly, no back-bone story, utterly predictable. Man, why did I watch this... Expand

See all 135 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.