Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Posner
    May 31, 2013
    38
    Erased, I predict, is a word that will be used to describe what happens to your memory of this cloned facsimile of a movie immediately after watching it.
  2. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 15, 2013
    33
    Erased is a snoozy, sputtering Euro chase flick—a sort of poor man’s Liam Neeson revenge movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    May 17, 2013
    30
    Erased is eminently forgettable.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    May 16, 2013
    30
    Viewed solely as a string of action sequences, Erased delivers the kind of dryly efficient, wearyingly familiar entertainment that already clogs too many of our movie screens.
  5. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    May 16, 2013
    25
    Eckhart’s another matter. He’s adequate, but there is something about his raspy voice and WASPy body language that’s more in tune with being the bad guy at the board meeting than the hero racing through the train station.
  6. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 14, 2013
    25
    All we know is that the only sure way to avoid the loss of any more I.Q. points in the world today is to stay away from movies like Erased.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Apr 29, 2013
    20
    The film’s glib disregard for collateral murder runs to farcical extremes.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Been in something of an action thriller mood lately, but this film had me to the point where I actually groaned at some of the scenes. I'm not sure why they needed to the gimmick of having the daughter be on the rollercoaster with her CIA father, but it ruins what little they may have gained with Aaron Eckhart in the lead role.

    Often times when I see an actor or actress doing something wrong in terms of how to accurately portray emotions without appearing over the top, I blame the director, especially in an instance where I have seen the same actor nail a more difficult and confusing emotion. There are too many scenes in this movie where the players feel like they are being forced to try too hard. The worst offender (be it her own fault or not) is the young Liana Liberato some of the emotional change ups she conveys are just too unrealistic, even for a 14-15 year old girl that she is supposed to be playing. It would appear though that the director didn't coach Aaron in his role (which would make sense given as much star power as he has these days), as it seems he's the only one of all of them that gives a consistent and overall good performance.

    Erased, was likely a labor of love, for the writer Arash Amel and much care was taken to give the dialogue an authentic feel, however the delivery of the lines makes them feel campy and clichéd. Too bad that the director had to ruin his own movie so much.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Erased was a halfway decent movie but it failed to deliver on many accounts. For one, the plot was incredibly weak, and this was a surprise because the premise had so much potential. The concept of an ex-CIA agent turned blue-collar guy trying to make a living but getting duped by a shell company and having to fight for the survival of he and his daughter seemed very interesting. However, the failed execution due to poor writing where the only way the plot either progresses or reaches conflict is through character stupidity is a let down. The acting was solid by the entire cast, though I think Olga Kurylenko was underutilized. The action sequences were pretty legit as well. All in all, it's worth a free watch but if I would've paid money to see it, I would've been pretty disappointed. Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2013
    6
    It's not a bad thriller. Clearly a low budget movie, but Aaron's performance is good and the story movies at a fair clip. i'd recommend it. Special mention has to be made of tLiana Liberato who is very convincing as the daughter. It's much more real than other spy movies. Full Review »