Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 1982
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 361 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
305
Mixed:
35
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
WillC.Jul 30, 2003
From sequels to altered originals. The original would have scored a 9. But you don't change a movie once released. Twenty years later, I still love E.T., but the new version would have better use in a scrap heap.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
XtraT.Nov 14, 2003
Contrived tear-jerker for Speeelberg fans. Thin in the first place, and now dragged out again for a new generation of dopes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DanW.Apr 4, 2002
It's very decent fluff, but that's all it is. Seems like most critics seem to enjoy fellating Spielberg, and this is no exception. What's more shocking is that this rerelease of a successful film is a sleazy tactic we're It's very decent fluff, but that's all it is. Seems like most critics seem to enjoy fellating Spielberg, and this is no exception. What's more shocking is that this rerelease of a successful film is a sleazy tactic we're more used to from the likes of George "Hack" Lucas. Don't get me started. You know what? If you saw E.T. the first time, there's no reason to waste $10 on it again. The added scenes, cleaned-up special effects and remastered score are smokescreens for Spielberg's grotesque grab for cash. While the film rates a 6, the motivation behind the rerelease deducts it a full 5 points. Enjoy your thievery, Steven. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
Mr.P.Mar 22, 2002
This movie is tired and boring. It makes me feel like a little boy all over again, and that isn't a good feeling. I gave this movie a 1 because I felt like giving it this many middle digits the entire time I watched it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
BlahJul 18, 2003
This movie was too boring.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
1
DeanK.Jan 25, 2006
Despite the movies great effects for the time this over the top smaltz factory from the man obsessed by 6 year old heroes himself (mr spielberg) is the most over rated bag of salmon sick I have ever watched. ET go home? I wish he'd Despite the movies great effects for the time this over the top smaltz factory from the man obsessed by 6 year old heroes himself (mr spielberg) is the most over rated bag of salmon sick I have ever watched. ET go home? I wish he'd never bothered to come here in the first place. Expand
4 of 17 users found this helpful
0
TiggerO.Jun 3, 2003
Taking the guns out made this movie blow. Leave movies alone.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
EdwardHMar 23, 2010
Like all Spielberg movies, every single minute of this looser is predictable. This is the first movie that made me realize that Hollywood was pandering to me--I was about 19 then. The term "puerile" not only comes to mind, but walks up to me Like all Spielberg movies, every single minute of this looser is predictable. This is the first movie that made me realize that Hollywood was pandering to me--I was about 19 then. The term "puerile" not only comes to mind, but walks up to me with a stupid look n its face and slaps me around for ten solid minutes. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful