Focus Features | Release Date: March 19, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 848 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
794
Mixed:
29
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JackKellyFeb 2, 2013
I can't write in words or explain how good this film actually is. Eternal Sunshine is a heartwarming film with such an original, intriguing narrative that will have you gripped in the first ten minutes. The film gives such a twist on aI can't write in words or explain how good this film actually is. Eternal Sunshine is a heartwarming film with such an original, intriguing narrative that will have you gripped in the first ten minutes. The film gives such a twist on a conventional romcom and I was baffled at how 'serious' yet still likeable Jim Carrey played the main character. Just.... watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JsuarezoMar 3, 2013
How happy is the blameless vestal's lot!The world forgetting, by the world forgot.Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!Each pray'r accepted, and each wish resign'd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NerusanJul 27, 2013
This is easily in my top 3 favorite movies. It's a good story about destiny and how powerful the heart truly is. I tear up every time I see this and for good reason. I have heavily recommended this to all of my friends and always will
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MBond1810Apr 11, 2013
Such a deep and heartfelt movie is rare today. Jim Carrey's acting is fantastic. A masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJun 28, 2016
The screenplay is perhaps one of the most original of the current century. Its cerebral themes of memories and the exploration of their importance to us in how we live out lives is both captivating and reflective of the human mind and theThe screenplay is perhaps one of the most original of the current century. Its cerebral themes of memories and the exploration of their importance to us in how we live out lives is both captivating and reflective of the human mind and the internal turbulence inside each of out minds. Charlie Kaufman never ceases to amaze me with his scripts. He's just that amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Casual-CriticDec 31, 2013
When into the movie without much expectations, and it completely floored me. This movie was just incredible, every actor played their part perfectly and the creativity and artistic talent that went into making this movie is astounding. I'mWhen into the movie without much expectations, and it completely floored me. This movie was just incredible, every actor played their part perfectly and the creativity and artistic talent that went into making this movie is astounding. I'm not usually one for romance movies but damn you have to watch this, never seen a movie like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SchizophreniacFeb 10, 2014
touching. it is my one favorite film from my favorite films. I can suggest this film If you want to leave your home and go to this story. story is amazing, sometimes you will be sad but after this film you can understand some differencestouching. it is my one favorite film from my favorite films. I can suggest this film If you want to leave your home and go to this story. story is amazing, sometimes you will be sad but after this film you can understand some differences between real life and dreams.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoJan 1, 2015
Everything about this film i love. I think this was the first film that i felt really emotionally touched by. It's concept is great and explores it's themes in a surreal and beautiful way. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are great in it, and theEverything about this film i love. I think this was the first film that i felt really emotionally touched by. It's concept is great and explores it's themes in a surreal and beautiful way. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are great in it, and the multi stories of love being dealt with in the film covers many different types of love. The directing is great, and the director made sure there waa a sort of uncertainty and eeriness over most scenes which can reflect how love is also, never knowing which way it's going to go and knowing they can affecr your life dramatically. Great film, i love it. A MUST WATCH. And i pretty much never really liked the romance genre due to it be all to soppy and predictably boring. This is how romance film should be undoubtedly! LOVE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidJun 5, 2014
One of the most unique romance movies of the last decade. Jim Carrey is one of his best roles and Kate Winslet delivers like always and a great supporting cast with Kirsten Dunst, Tom Wilkinson, Mark Ruffalo and Elijah Wood. Superb directionOne of the most unique romance movies of the last decade. Jim Carrey is one of his best roles and Kate Winslet delivers like always and a great supporting cast with Kirsten Dunst, Tom Wilkinson, Mark Ruffalo and Elijah Wood. Superb direction by Michel Gondry and writing by the smart Charlie Kaufman Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndresjoyaMar 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind is a strange, beautiful and painful resulting in creating a masterpiece! The performances are emotive, the soundtrack is glorious, and the plot is as imaginative as beautiful. The script is surprisingly effective, all this weird creation can work as well thanks to the emotional center that gives the director to the movie making it a classic film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jerseylicious88Apr 11, 2014
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is my favorite movie of all time, although it is not for everyone. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is (obviously) my favorite Jim Carrey movie and also my favorite Kate Winslet. It is also probablyEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is my favorite movie of all time, although it is not for everyone. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is (obviously) my favorite Jim Carrey movie and also my favorite Kate Winslet. It is also probably the best written and best edited movie I have ever seen. I love the rainy and trippy atmosphere, I love the acting, I love the soundtrack, I love how confusing and hard to follow it is, and I love how real everything feels. It is an amazing movie. And I would recommend it to everybody who can handle a trippy and confusing movie. This is my favorite movie of all time (that I have seen so far) and I would obviously give it an 8/8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alwayswatchingAug 26, 2014
Joel, played by Jim Carry, skips work and goes for a walk on a beach in a cold winter day. He meets Clementine, played by Kate Winslet, and falls in love with her while both are unaware of a common past that connects them together. In theirJoel, played by Jim Carry, skips work and goes for a walk on a beach in a cold winter day. He meets Clementine, played by Kate Winslet, and falls in love with her while both are unaware of a common past that connects them together. In their relationship, Joel and Clementine experience love, happiness, intimacy as well as hate, sadness, and insecurity.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is not a just love story, it is spectacular take on why we love and hate others, why we remember and forget, and why we make connections and we break up. Joel shares his most intimate and private moments of his life with Clementine to stay connected to her, moments that makes him feel embarrassed, weak, or insecure (for example, the flashback to the bird scene). These little details in their relationship seems unimportant in short run and their efforts to stay connected seems futile because they are not changing anything immediately. In the long run, however, these trivial moments are the main reason behind their behavior, decisions, moods, and emotions (for example , Jim Carry decision to take a different train). The more they open up and the more private moments they share, the stronger the bond between them becomes.

This movie complements the Joel and Clementine story with other characters' stories who are experiencing similar problems in their relationships. The development of their story makes this movie even more engaging, and extremely fun to watch. Kirsten Dunst' character and her relation with her colleagues, particularly, questions morality of certain actions that seem innocuous and helpful in first glance but can have unintended consequences.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juliankennedy23Jul 24, 2014
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind: 8 out of 10: Screenwriter Charlie Kaufman is in a league of his own. If cloning is ever allowed in the United States we need to clone Mr. Kaufman. (If there is any community that will embrace cloning itEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind: 8 out of 10: Screenwriter Charlie Kaufman is in a league of his own. If cloning is ever allowed in the United States we need to clone Mr. Kaufman. (If there is any community that will embrace cloning it will be Hollywood. Name any other place in America where nepotism is a religion. Hiring your own clone is the ultimate in nepotism.)

Charlie Kaufman has found that fine line between realistic dialog and interesting dialog. Characters talk, fight and fall in love just like they do in real life. But unlike most movies that try to mirror real life speech Kaufman makes it interesting. (Of course it helps that Kaufman's always throws in the bizarre such as adulterous homicidal book authors addicted to sniffing Angel Trumpet or people entering John Malkovich's head.)

Now just imagine if a Kaufman clone could, oh I don't know, help George Lucas write romantic dialog. (If there is anyone who occupies the opposite side of the good dialog screen writing scale it's Lucas. His dialog is so wooden it would embarrass a marionette. Plus think of the Variety headline "Kaufman Clone helps pen Clones")

Oh the movie. Eternal Sunshine has some great performances especially by a subdued Jim Carrey. (This should surprise but after his brilliant turn in Man on the Moon, the only real surprise is how with his quiet desperate performance you forget its Carrey.) There is a really good subplot about the goings on at a mind erasure clinic. (The movie sensibly sets it up as a no big deal four-man operation like one of those laser eye surgery places in a strip mall.)

And there is a really realistic romance between Carrey and Kate Winslet that blows most movies away. Currently ranked thirty-second greatest movie of all time by the IMDb. Eternal Sunshine is one movie you won't be able to get out of your head.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
A complicated film yet so delicate, with a surprise cast of Jim Carrey who shockingly revealed his true talent. A Unique but a sensational love story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LaraRNov 17, 2014
The first time I watched this, I was a little too young to understand how much depth this film actually has. A few years later, I watched it again and I must say, I cried like a baby. This is one of the few films that left me befuddled,The first time I watched this, I was a little too young to understand how much depth this film actually has. A few years later, I watched it again and I must say, I cried like a baby. This is one of the few films that left me befuddled, awestruck and emotional. It was so refreshing to watch a whole new approach on romance and it really is incomparable. I love everything about it; the acting, cinematography and screenplay. Gondry undoubtedly made a memorable film. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SmileATTFeb 10, 2015
For a person who is not a big fan of Romances i must say that movie just grab me.The writers did a really good job Kate Winslet was awesome very good performance she hit me in the ground with that role a cute girl a little bit wild and crazyFor a person who is not a big fan of Romances i must say that movie just grab me.The writers did a really good job Kate Winslet was awesome very good performance she hit me in the ground with that role a cute girl a little bit wild and crazy very impulsive and emotional and Kate Winslet totally nailed.But im little confused about Jim Carrey im not sure why i didn't like it in that movie was it because of the character that he play maybe because he was a little unsocial and sad and i just can't imagine Jim Carrey in role like this i don't know but i didn't like it .And that's probably one of the few things in the movie that i didn't like everything other was good the story was very touching the movie show us that side of love that is probably purest and strongest.When two persons chose to continue their lives together no matter what.Bought of the characters in the movie saw every bad habit every pain every embarrassing moments every bad side in other person but they chose ignore that and to stay with the things that make them SMILE.The things that make them happy and the moments when they tease each other when they open them selfs in front of the other person and he accept them .They chose not to thrown away with easy hand this deep and important feelings I think that's beautiful.The movie really touch you and drawn you in lot of emotions.Deserve Watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Mar 13, 2016
Jim Carey performance here is the highlight as he separates himself from his usual performances to bring to life a unique character in a great way. Add to that the solid script that holds the story even though it leaves some questions behind,Jim Carey performance here is the highlight as he separates himself from his usual performances to bring to life a unique character in a great way. Add to that the solid script that holds the story even though it leaves some questions behind, Overall, a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BigPoppaFitzMar 16, 2017
I won't go into detail in reviewing the movie (or reviewing it at all) but I will say, anybody who gave this film a mixed or negative review just doesn't understand it. Period. There's no other way around it. Either that or you hate movies,I won't go into detail in reviewing the movie (or reviewing it at all) but I will say, anybody who gave this film a mixed or negative review just doesn't understand it. Period. There's no other way around it. Either that or you hate movies, in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
barney1892Oct 17, 2015
The eternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a timeless movie where the director is perfect in recreating through fragments a love story that hurts itself; the actors, Jim Carrey with his melancholy mood and Kate Winslet rebel and in aThe eternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a timeless movie where the director is perfect in recreating through fragments a love story that hurts itself; the actors, Jim Carrey with his melancholy mood and Kate Winslet rebel and in a constant sorrow to world and herself, they are simply two faces of the same medal.
Destiny, case, fortune, will are shades of life, but this time narrated in a different way, through memory, eyes and fragments, all pieces of love. I love this movie, in my opinion tells a story of love in a never seen way. For me is perfect, every person has destined to a precise one, but nowone has told it in this way, for those reasons this is movie is perfect. Masterpiece
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
Eternal Sunshine is a difficult film to rate. Despite misgivings, I find myself rating it up because it has imagination both in terms of the visuals and the story. Personally, I am disappointed that it was not a great film, which in theEternal Sunshine is a difficult film to rate. Despite misgivings, I find myself rating it up because it has imagination both in terms of the visuals and the story. Personally, I am disappointed that it was not a great film, which in the beginning I hoped it might be. The problem, I think, is that I wanted to be wrapped up in the experience with a sense of delight. Instead, the pessimistic undercurrent brings a sense of despair. When it was over I didn't get the "feel good" feeling I wanted, but still, it was one the better films I've seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
I loved this. I watch a lot of movies and that means I watch a lot of bad movies as well. But every now and then I see something like "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" and it makes me just really happy and yearning to watch more films,I loved this. I watch a lot of movies and that means I watch a lot of bad movies as well. But every now and then I see something like "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" and it makes me just really happy and yearning to watch more films, hoping to see something as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jelenabiebs31Jan 18, 2016
It's an incredible movie, takes you on a journey and leaves you at your doorstep wondering what the hell just happened.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-403-Eternal-Sunshine-of-the-Spotless-Mind-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pjthexdjJul 22, 2016
My favorite movie of all time. Nicely written. Great performances from Winslet and Carrey. Makes me want to go to Montauk and look for Lacana to get that procedure done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ExtrimemanMay 12, 2017
A masterpiece. Like,the only thing I need to say. One if the best movies,period. Gondry and Kaufman did an incredible job,and Jim Carry gave probably his best perfomance in the entire career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews