User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 947 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 947

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. R.Kamath
    Apr 20, 2004
    5
    For a movie getting such fantastic reviews, the main characters in "Eternal Sunshine" are awfully 2-dimensional, particular Jim Carrey's character Joel, who doesn't have much of a noticable personality at all. Furthermore, Joel's relationship with Clementine is so cardboard that it seems to have virtually no meaning; not only is there absolutely no chemistry between the For a movie getting such fantastic reviews, the main characters in "Eternal Sunshine" are awfully 2-dimensional, particular Jim Carrey's character Joel, who doesn't have much of a noticable personality at all. Furthermore, Joel's relationship with Clementine is so cardboard that it seems to have virtually no meaning; not only is there absolutely no chemistry between the two, you are not really given any indication that their apparently 2 year relationship was anything but a one week fling, and a pretty sorry one at that; it's riddled with situations of conflict and negativity. But to counter these, the directors attempt to create situations of "poignancy," but they tend to feel scripted and forced rather than natural, depicting such hackneyed scenes as them running around in the snow, throwing snowballs at each other, and stargazing from a frozen lake. These scenarios uniformly smack of artifice, or at the very least lack any magical qualities-- perhaps because the main characters have no chemistry at all on the screen! Anyway, never once did I feel any regret that their relationship ended, nor did I feel any sympathy/empathy for their characters. Ultimately, the main problem I had with this movie was that it seemed apparent that the moviemakers went out of their way to try and make something oh-so-meaningful and "like, metaphysical, and stuff." It sort of works as a concept that can operate in the viewers' own mind and cause him/her to question the meaning of his/her own relationships, but on its own terms, the movie is not particularly engrossing, thrilling, or magical. It's barely adequate. Expand
  2. ShawnD.
    Apr 18, 2004
    5
    I know a lot of people liked this but it wasn't for me. None of the characters in the film are people you'd want to have as friends. They're a bunch of whiny sadsacks whose lives are pathetic. I kept waiting for something dramatic to happen but the film maintained the same pace throughout. The acting was fine but I'm not a fan of seeing the lives of a bunch of losers.
  3. LiamS.
    Jun 7, 2004
    5
    This movie was too clever for its own good. It starts with a clever premise, and then gets very caught up in the machinations so much that it loses much of the storyline. Still, the acting performances of Jim Carrey and Kirsten Dunst were absolutely first rate. (Kirsten Dunst in particular was fabulous, and showed more acting ability than I thought she had.) The acting saved this movie, This movie was too clever for its own good. It starts with a clever premise, and then gets very caught up in the machinations so much that it loses much of the storyline. Still, the acting performances of Jim Carrey and Kirsten Dunst were absolutely first rate. (Kirsten Dunst in particular was fabulous, and showed more acting ability than I thought she had.) The acting saved this movie, in my opinion, otherwise it would have merited something in the neighbourhood of a 3 out of 10. Far too much time was spent on Jim Carrey's internal struggle, and not enough on the revelations towards the end of the film. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    6
    The concept for Eternal Sunshine is simply incredible. Unfortunately, the narrative isn't. The love story should feel genuine, but it never gets fully fleshed out due to subplots that constantly get in the way of Joel's (Jim Carrey) story arc. However, with strong performances from all cast members, interesting visuals and a great soundtrack, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is worthThe concept for Eternal Sunshine is simply incredible. Unfortunately, the narrative isn't. The love story should feel genuine, but it never gets fully fleshed out due to subplots that constantly get in the way of Joel's (Jim Carrey) story arc. However, with strong performances from all cast members, interesting visuals and a great soundtrack, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is worth a watch, at the very least. Expand
  5. RandyJ.
    Mar 22, 2004
    5
    This movie was just a'ight for me. It just wasn't feeling it tonight, dawg!
  6. JBarr
    Apr 8, 2005
    5
    Good, but overrated. Besides, how can u give a good rating to a movie with Frodo in it besides LOTR?
  7. WilliamH.
    Oct 5, 2004
    6
    I REALLY wanted to like this movie, being a fan of both Michel Gondry's music videos (for the White Stripes, Chemical Bros., and others), and also of Charlie Kaufman, esp. since "Adaptation." The visuals were stunning, the acting was good, but the story really boiled down to the kind of "chick flick" relationship-dissection movie that I usually run screaming from. I guess I expected I REALLY wanted to like this movie, being a fan of both Michel Gondry's music videos (for the White Stripes, Chemical Bros., and others), and also of Charlie Kaufman, esp. since "Adaptation." The visuals were stunning, the acting was good, but the story really boiled down to the kind of "chick flick" relationship-dissection movie that I usually run screaming from. I guess I expected it to be more social satire, less soul-searching. 6 points just for the cleverness of ideas involved, and the great, understated visuals. Expand
  8. GinaR.
    Mar 30, 2004
    6
    Overall, the film was somewhat amusing and riveting. However, throughout the movie, innumerable webs were spun and unfinished. At times, it would seem that one particular such circuit would be completed, yet by the end it was left dangling and imperfect.
  9. PatC.
    Nov 15, 2004
    6
    What Dreams May Come Lite. Here we have science accelerating forgetfulness in a kind of Alzheimer's ward for young adults, so Joel must careen around in his mind to preserve remembrance of events that normally would take years to age properly and their value accrue. There is even some re-engineering of event memories to conform them to one's worldview, which by the way is the What Dreams May Come Lite. Here we have science accelerating forgetfulness in a kind of Alzheimer's ward for young adults, so Joel must careen around in his mind to preserve remembrance of events that normally would take years to age properly and their value accrue. There is even some re-engineering of event memories to conform them to one's worldview, which by the way is the clinical description of a narcissist. Carrey and Winslet present a convincing rendition of chemistry and angst. Pretty heartfelt as a love story, but too convoluted to dazzle. Sorry, I lost it when all that cutting-edge technology was put in the hands of two boneheads who couldn't hold a job at a convenience store. Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2015
    6
    Whilst it's unique plot and good dialogue is mesmerising, I could never see myself watching this again. The introduction was sloppy and put together and the first act needed WAY more context than it delivered. All in all, it's not a bad movie to say the least, you can tell there was meta tons of effort put into it. I wish that they didn't get so caught up in the confusion and mysteryWhilst it's unique plot and good dialogue is mesmerising, I could never see myself watching this again. The introduction was sloppy and put together and the first act needed WAY more context than it delivered. All in all, it's not a bad movie to say the least, you can tell there was meta tons of effort put into it. I wish that they didn't get so caught up in the confusion and mystery element as it's third act resolution leaves significant arcs with poor and disappointing endings. Expand
  11. Sep 11, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Poo tee weet. A tale of two ex-lovers incapable of getting over each other the normal way so instead elect to do it with science. The movie ends where it began, lacking any resolution whatsoever and proving that their unhappy relationship will prevail, leaving me only with disappointment and a dejected "ok".

    With that said, Winslet's acting is great, and the cinematography is beautiful. But I can't recommend this to a friend.
    Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2015
    4
    I guess i deserved this movie.....I was trying to escape The Help......and then they dangle this in front of me....Should have never watched The Help.....maybe this movie will kill me....jesus christ she has blue hair..? i would do this procedure if only i had some g d money.....get OUt a there Jim Carry..You were already hurt by Matthew Broderick and Television.....your getting dennisedI guess i deserved this movie.....I was trying to escape The Help......and then they dangle this in front of me....Should have never watched The Help.....maybe this movie will kill me....jesus christ she has blue hair..? i would do this procedure if only i had some g d money.....get OUt a there Jim Carry..You were already hurt by Matthew Broderick and Television.....your getting dennised here and you pretty much were dennised in 23...and guys came and took the girl with heart from you on the beach...being honest i'm skipping ahead to the second act....-JRA Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Not only (Kaufman's) most accessible and romantic screenplay, it's his most complete. The third act works like a charm and pulls all his themes, characters and conflicts together beautifully.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    A wildly imaginative, hugely entertaining tour de force that asks big questions about life and love and fate while never ceasing to fully engage the viewer.
  3. 88
    Chases so many ideas that it threatens to spin out of control. But with our multiplexes stuffed with toxic Hollywood formula, it's a gift to find a ballsy movie that thinks it can do anything, and damn near does.