Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2011
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
63
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
KadeemluvmusicDec 4, 2012
I can really easily blame the Academy of Motion Picture of Arts and Sciences for picking Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close an Oscar nomination for Best Picture. It was a mistake, a ruse, a scam, and a shocking blow to critics who I thinkI can really easily blame the Academy of Motion Picture of Arts and Sciences for picking Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close an Oscar nomination for Best Picture. It was a mistake, a ruse, a scam, and a shocking blow to critics who I think they were right on the bad reception of the movie. Ya know, this is not what it seems, but I don't think this is Sandra Bullock's kind of a drama movie. The film wasn't as near as her phenomenal role in 2009's The Blind Slide which she deserved that Oscar no matter what choices the Oscar committee has something to prove. But when I heard about the new ruling for the Best Picture race, I thought they were supposed to pick 5 instead of the 10 films (the same 5's they always put in every year during the nominations announced). I wasn't really sure if they're doing the right thing, but It feels unsatisfied and distasteful if you want to know who the winner is during award season. So, shame on you, Oscars. I thought The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo should've replaced Incredibly Close to get a Best Picture nod. That film is so entertaining, I should start reading the book again. But for those of people who wants to see more Sandra Bullock, try rebooting the original Speed instead. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
SammetsfanDec 26, 2011
As somebody whose son died on 9/11, I found this film to be both exploitive and inaccurate. It was forced and poorly done. A disappointment. And boy is Sandra Bullock getting old.
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
1
JamesStealJan 6, 2012
The movie should be renamed "Extremely Melodramatic and Incredibly Boring". If you want to watch a movie about 9/11, go watch 911: The Road to Tyranny.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
alleyt1989Jun 9, 2012
What rubbish! Possibly one of the most irritating protagonists I have ever come across. He needs a whole lot of 'harden up'. The attempts at emotional manipulation is far too obvious and make this even more unbearable. Really bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MorriBeyFeb 18, 2012
The kid is annoying. The voice over will drive you nuts. Its a fairy tale movie where there is no real tale to speak of. Tom Hanks will give some wind to its sails but its destiny is the bargain bin.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
AJEDec 30, 2011
Embarrassingly forced, and extremely slow moving. Random lines like "I wish it was you..(that the mom died instead of the dad)", that don't flow with the hack job story line make sensitive watchers cry. Other than those few forced tears,Embarrassingly forced, and extremely slow moving. Random lines like "I wish it was you..(that the mom died instead of the dad)", that don't flow with the hack job story line make sensitive watchers cry. Other than those few forced tears, there is no way any decent critic would give this movie a nod. Thomas Horn's reviews all talk about his stint on Jeopardy. Stick with games shows, my friend. It's a real shame since a gripping 9/11 movie would be appreciated. No doubt one of the worst movies I have seen in the last 10 years. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
thorshammerJun 2, 2012
Disappointing and overrated don't begin to say it. Contrived sentimentality, what Michael Phillips aptly calls "a fundamentally dishonest weepie" - I tried but I couldn't even endure this movie to the end. Little more than a setup for theDisappointing and overrated don't begin to say it. Contrived sentimentality, what Michael Phillips aptly calls "a fundamentally dishonest weepie" - I tried but I couldn't even endure this movie to the end. Little more than a setup for the Academy, yeesh. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
tjm52667Jan 18, 2012
This movie is just the type of crap the Academy loves to award itself for , beyond awful. i have a bag of lint that is a more convincing actor than Thomas Horn and i assume Tom Hanks jumped to get out of this pretentious piece of garbage
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
aaronbartuskaJan 16, 2015
This is my least favorite movie of all time, no question. Let's get this out of the way: the 9/11 subplot of this movie is a cash grab. The movie's main plot would've been exactly the same if all 9/11 elements were wiped out of it, minus theThis is my least favorite movie of all time, no question. Let's get this out of the way: the 9/11 subplot of this movie is a cash grab. The movie's main plot would've been exactly the same if all 9/11 elements were wiped out of it, minus the fact that it probably wouldn't have been a tearjerker (it wasn't one for me, but I can imagine it was for many other viewers). Now that that's said and done, I was looking forward to Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close because it was the second film adaptation of author Jonathan Safran Foer's work, which I usually love. Also, with a cast that included Hanks, Bullock, Sydow, and Goodman, I was practically sold. Not to mention the Best Picture nomination almost ensured that I was going to like this movie. The supporting actors were good, but all of their performances were smothered and subverted by Horn's annoying and almost unwatchable performance. If the character was written as a bratty kid then Horn may just be the greatest actor in the world. Even if that is the case, an unenjoyable lead character usually leads to an unenjoyable movie. That is the case with this one. I'll give it this: the oxymoron part was pretty cool, even if it only took up about a minute of this overly long film. And, oh god, the tambourine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
lovesmoviesDec 29, 2011
Self-indulgent, without redemption, exploitative. The only adjectives applicable to this disturbing attempt at emotional manipulation using 9/11 as its storyline...so disappointing!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
aics119Mar 17, 2012
This may be one of the worst movies I have seen in my life, and I am very disappointed that it was recognized by the Academy. The protagonist got on my nerves within the first 10 minutes, and I soon found myself hoping for scenes that didThis may be one of the worst movies I have seen in my life, and I am very disappointed that it was recognized by the Academy. The protagonist got on my nerves within the first 10 minutes, and I soon found myself hoping for scenes that did not contain the obnoxiously unrealistic character. Not even Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks are able to save the horrible writing and directing that plague the film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
VanHatinApr 1, 2012
Extremely annoying and God awful is what you get when you sit through this horrible movie. I usually give movies the 20 minute rule, which is after 20 minutes if I do not like it then I shut it. However, the problem was that I watched thisExtremely annoying and God awful is what you get when you sit through this horrible movie. I usually give movies the 20 minute rule, which is after 20 minutes if I do not like it then I shut it. However, the problem was that I watched this pile of crap with another person that wanted to see what happened next. I would have shut the movie off within 10 minutes. Save yourself the money, time and the wasted 2 hours of your life that you will NEVER get back and do not try and watch this movie. I wanted to bash the kids brains in as soon as he spoke!! I wish I was taking the same drugs that other reviewers are obviously taking to give this movie more than 0. Absolute dog sh*t! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
JUANPANBSep 2, 2013
Me preguntaba por que me llamo la atención esta película, y caí en cuenta de que solo era por la aparición de Tom Hanks en esta película y su nominacion a los premios de la Academia, me di cuenta que es una de las peores película jamasMe preguntaba por que me llamo la atención esta película, y caí en cuenta de que solo era por la aparición de Tom Hanks en esta película y su nominacion a los premios de la Academia, me di cuenta que es una de las peores película jamas creadas y que el uso de 9/11 era una especie de burla, es una película muy aburrida y me parece que si la ven perderán su tiempo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews