User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 495 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Emily
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Many people cried during the film, it was that awesome. At 2pm, there was a line for the movie going out the theater, which I've never seen before. As an American, perplexed at the varying stories from the news media, I have been dying to know a clear, concise explanation about Sept. 11th, and I recieved it and more. Finally! I thought the movie was funny too, and exceptionally Many people cried during the film, it was that awesome. At 2pm, there was a line for the movie going out the theater, which I've never seen before. As an American, perplexed at the varying stories from the news media, I have been dying to know a clear, concise explanation about Sept. 11th, and I recieved it and more. Finally! I thought the movie was funny too, and exceptionally well-done. I felt it was crisper than Moore's last film, which I also enjoyed. Whoever gives it a low rating must have not watched the movie, or they would have noticed THE REAL FOOTAGE of BUSH knowingly doing a photo-op while the Twin Towers were collasping. You must remember that this is NOT a MOVIE to critique for fun, folks, it's real footage, not fantasy and special effects. Not to mention, the audience did clap at the end of of movie. I will be back to watch it again once it's not sold-out, thank you very much! Expand
  2. TaylorJ.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The most patriotic and emotionally moving movie that I've ever seen.
  3. Misha
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Watching the movie hasn't changed my mind much, as I already had a strong opinion about the whole thing... My message to everyone - open your eyes! Wake up to face the music. Moore has done a great job to shake us all up.
  4. NickA.
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Never could one film have so polarized opinions on both sides of the political spectrum within the USA as this. Although some of Mr. Moore
  5. StacieL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I think George did this himself. All that Michael did was give us facts, have his say on it and let us decide whether or not Bush was right about his actions. This film has made me open my eyes to the cruelness and the lies that's in the world.
  6. Jake
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    I've just got to say, America is full of morons and brainwashed people. Americans (mainly just stupid people) let this monster of a president into office, and now he's completely screwed up America and this movie exposes it. If this country completely depending on the direct vote of the people, that piece of garbage in the white house wouldn't be our president.
  7. AndreaE.
    Jul 5, 2004
    8
    More akin to a newspaper editorial column than a news story, Michael Moore puts his opinion (that you should not re-elect Bush) to film in a witty, subversive, and entertaining way. The research (to support that opinion) is superficial, but any thinking person can see what is opinion, and what is fact, and hopefully clarify their own opinions via the issues he touches on. Creative use of More akin to a newspaper editorial column than a news story, Michael Moore puts his opinion (that you should not re-elect Bush) to film in a witty, subversive, and entertaining way. The research (to support that opinion) is superficial, but any thinking person can see what is opinion, and what is fact, and hopefully clarify their own opinions via the issues he touches on. Creative use of music, spot-on edits, and a flow that keeps your interest, is what I saw good about this film. Too many people are misunderstanding that to like this film is to agree with it, and to disagree with it requires one to dislike it. Let's try that standard on Chein Andalou. All those who like popped eyeballs can think it is a good film and all those who find it gross can think that whole film is bad? This IS good documentary film making, which needs to be seen in context to its intentions (to present one man's opinion, much like a newspaper editorial column) not judged by whether one agrees with that man's opinion or not. Expand
  8. PayamM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle class knows whats going on. We have power in numbers and that will be reflected in our votes! Expand
  9. AnneG
    Aug 22, 2004
    8
    I'm an Australian who has visited the States many times and loved both the countryside and the people I met there. But I a, shocked at the number of 0 votes for this film!!! Almost all of them claim that Moore is lying or misrepresenting the truth but I haven't read ONE which actually points out in which areas he has lied. The Marines in the car park definitelt exist, do they I'm an Australian who has visited the States many times and loved both the countryside and the people I met there. But I a, shocked at the number of 0 votes for this film!!! Almost all of them claim that Moore is lying or misrepresenting the truth but I haven't read ONE which actually points out in which areas he has lied. The Marines in the car park definitelt exist, do they not? The young Iraqi boy with his left arm totally mangled is not a lie, is he? I would LOVE to hear from some viewers who can present their side of the story and show that Bush sent his troops (with Australian backup) for a viable reason. Expand
  10. Dave
    Sep 10, 2004
    8
    How can anybody claim this movie is a 'bunch of lies' or 'fictitious' when much of the movie is made up of actual quotes that came straight from George W. Bush's mouth? Some things may be exaggerated, but the essence of the film cannot be disputed.
  11. MooreforpresidentM
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Best movie Ive seen all year. A lot of you out there need to open your ignorant eyes and see that the Bush Administration is corrupt. Do you know what that word means?
  12. TonyP.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    I wonder if any conservatives give the film a high rating and, inversely, if any liberals found the film wanting?
  13. JoeM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    One of the best pictures of the year. If this doesn't wake people up to the injustices and misguided totalitarianistic leanings of the Bush and Chaney show, nothing will.
  14. Aramis
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    Information I already from the BBC & NYtimes (Are they lying too?) + Bias = Entertainment. I don't hear anyone pleading for Saddam's story to be treated without bias. Shouldn't all war criminals get equal treatment? Besides all I heard at the end of this movie was applause (and the full house theatre was packed with seniors).
  15. TH
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    First of all, Richard Clark worked for GW. If Clark let the Bin Laden family go, Bush should bear the responsibility. Most negative reviews here are made by believers of right-wing propaganda and are deviod of any facts...just like they are accusing this movie of doing. F/911 is a good movie, whether you like what it says or not. There are some very strong messages and it will entertain First of all, Richard Clark worked for GW. If Clark let the Bin Laden family go, Bush should bear the responsibility. Most negative reviews here are made by believers of right-wing propaganda and are deviod of any facts...just like they are accusing this movie of doing. F/911 is a good movie, whether you like what it says or not. There are some very strong messages and it will entertain the viewer from start to finish. Expand
  16. BirdMan
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Great film everyone should see
  17. UsmanT.
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    Okay, lets put this film into context. It comes from a man who is an open conspiracy theorist pushing his own agneda. Now lets discuss the film. It is an eye opening film for mass audience which shows the behind the scenes going ons in reaction to the tradegy of sept 11. It reflects the motives of bush and his friends both within government and the oil industry in reaction to sept 11, Okay, lets put this film into context. It comes from a man who is an open conspiracy theorist pushing his own agneda. Now lets discuss the film. It is an eye opening film for mass audience which shows the behind the scenes going ons in reaction to the tradegy of sept 11. It reflects the motives of bush and his friends both within government and the oil industry in reaction to sept 11, trying to maximise their profits with no regard for the welfare of other people. I find it rather limiting in terms of sources once it gets to the Iraq reporting and rather one sided without showing the whole picture on some occations, to the extent of taking things out of context to show the writers own point of view. In conclusion, I would say it is a dark reality of the current political situation, and it is time the public stood up and put their views forward to influence the government so they dont go to war on the basis of oil rather on the premise of humanitarian aid with a UN resolution and an agreement of the security council. Expand
  18. PaulD.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    This movie will open your eyes. Bush is a complete idiot who rode his name and his father's friends to the white house. Watch the movie and judge for yourself!
  19. BrandonS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    The critics who don't seem to like this movie often say "moore made this up." Yet I have not seen one fact refuted yet. Newsweek tried to, but they ended up misquoting the film. This is a clearly presented argument culled together from the things those of us paying attention already knew, helping to bring this info to those who started paying attention too late and are now waking up The critics who don't seem to like this movie often say "moore made this up." Yet I have not seen one fact refuted yet. Newsweek tried to, but they ended up misquoting the film. This is a clearly presented argument culled together from the things those of us paying attention already knew, helping to bring this info to those who started paying attention too late and are now waking up from the haze of Bush's propaganda. Two devastating scenes: Bush's (non)reaction to the news that "America is under attack" and the black-screen, audio-only presentation of the 9/11 strike. The story of the mother who lost her son in Iraq is painful to watch, but demonstrates the real hearts of Americans as well as I've ever seen done. A strong argument against the worst president in American history (and, no, this is not an exaggeration of the current, truly horrific administration.) Expand
  20. TonyT.
    Jul 20, 2004
    7
    Not as good as 'Bowling for Columbine', it isn't as humorous and its more obvious. A lot of things were already known by me and we all Know Bush isn't the best president of the states ever. Still a very good effort from Moore to get the public to see what kind of a Nit-wit Bush actually is. And of course great timing in election year.
  21. JamesH.
    Jul 27, 2004
    8
    This is a film that lists a series of facts and then links these facts together with speculation. The speculation is of course, just speculation and will be dismissed and praised in equal measure. However, the facts are pretty hard to dispute and for an independant like me, it was difficult to reach a significantly different conclusion to Moore's speculation. Even the most die-hard This is a film that lists a series of facts and then links these facts together with speculation. The speculation is of course, just speculation and will be dismissed and praised in equal measure. However, the facts are pretty hard to dispute and for an independant like me, it was difficult to reach a significantly different conclusion to Moore's speculation. Even the most die-hard Bush/GOP supporter will be left with a few questions to ask after watching this film. Expand
  22. PeterA.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    This movie was a brilliant achievement, one of the most patriotic compositions ever put to cellulite.
  23. W.Wagner
    Jul 5, 2004
    9
    Forces you to question not only the state of our country and its leaders, but also your own views regarding all things political. Hilarious and heartbreaking file footage makes the film. If only Moore could have kept his hatred on the cutting room floor and allowed the evidence to mount on its own; that would have bolstered the argument and sharpened the sting.
  24. PaulW.
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Cannes. To everyone who thought this was a load of lies....open your eyes and get your head out of the sand. Expand
  25. NicholasS.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed (what was he doing?). Yes, the movie is propaganda, but so is things the media says and things that the Bush administration say, such as Iraq had WMDs. All of the people have critiqued the method of the film and NOT its CONTENT. Please, start making an argument. Expand
  26. JeremyH.
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect summation, so that anyone who views it will be absolutely sure to vote Bush and co. out of office. One thing I was surprised about was how well Moore articulated a sense of concern for the people of the military that have been sacrificed by bush and rumsfeld, a feeling of pride and patriotism for the people in uniform who are willing to risk and die to protect and support the United States. It's impossible to watch this film, and not feel that these kids (and they are kids) need all the support they can get from everyone back safe within the borders of the US. Attack the film and Moore if you must, but the message is loud and clear. It's time to end the mistaken reign of GWB and his administration once and for all, for the good of the country and the world. Expand
  27. DamianP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    9
    Very funny movie. You couldn't make this stuff up if you tried, so it must be true. Right?
  28. Nadine
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Anyone who says this movie is anti-American needs to use their brains and take a better look at this movie. I've noticed the only people who don't like this movie are IGNORANT in every sense of the word and very closed minded.
  29. MatthieuR.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    A must see for anyone foolish enough to actually support this war. Drop the tough guy act and rhetoric, and actually witness some of the horrors we are guilty of.
  30. MikeS.
    Nov 15, 2004
    7
    Hello again Sparklemotion. you complaints would be okay, if not for the fact that Britian, our largest ally, has only lost about 70 soldiers. The democrats did not embrace Moore and you cannot say that he is the reason that Bush won. Americans are not smart enough to allow that to happen, it would require actually becoming infromed, which most did not. Instead they chose to vote with Hello again Sparklemotion. you complaints would be okay, if not for the fact that Britian, our largest ally, has only lost about 70 soldiers. The democrats did not embrace Moore and you cannot say that he is the reason that Bush won. Americans are not smart enough to allow that to happen, it would require actually becoming infromed, which most did not. Instead they chose to vote with their hearts. About the movie, you may have disagreed with it, but that is no reason to give it a zero. Moore's passion on the topic is noticable to all, and that is commendable, in an age where we are faced with mindless movies all the time. There are many things that I disagree with, but that doesn't mean that I can't see their passion, that does not mean that I have to hate something. That is one of the few things we have left in America, freedom of speech. Expand
  31. JohnH.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    In reality, it is a nine, but I wish to counter-balance the conservative fools who give it zeros. They just want the ****ing tax breaks. Moore gives an insightful look into the darker side of big buisness. In its nature, it is to point out people who get power, and abuse it. Since Bush is one of the best examples now, he just happens to get bashed. Anyway, Bravo!
  32. GregT.
    Oct 20, 2004
    7
    Most of the reviews below are not based on the movie, but on political bent and belief. As a documentary, this film was interesting and fairly comprehensive. There may be lies in it, skewed against the current U.S. Administration. But the corpses were real and so was the Iraqi woman screaming "Oh God. Where are you? I beg for vengence." And vengence, they will get, if it kills them. Bush Most of the reviews below are not based on the movie, but on political bent and belief. As a documentary, this film was interesting and fairly comprehensive. There may be lies in it, skewed against the current U.S. Administration. But the corpses were real and so was the Iraqi woman screaming "Oh God. Where are you? I beg for vengence." And vengence, they will get, if it kills them. Bush stated in this film "They are not happy being occupied. I wouldn't be happy if we were occupied." And indeed that is at least one truth. This movie documents not just the recent war in Iraq but the failure of human beings generally to evolve much beyond the cave man days, in which, in the modern era, we are still all hitting each other over the head with clubs, in an ultimately vain attempt at controlling dictators, governments, land, oil and religion. We are in a helluva mess and indeed "God, where are you?" Expand
  33. PH
    Oct 30, 2004
    7
    There is, of course, a reason people on the far-right want you to avoid this movie: It's entertaining and damning of Bush at the same time. They are entitled to their opinion, of course, as long as they've seen the film. What troubles me is their belief that patriotism can not encompass dissent. (Though they never had a problem with this when Clinton was in office!) To those on There is, of course, a reason people on the far-right want you to avoid this movie: It's entertaining and damning of Bush at the same time. They are entitled to their opinion, of course, as long as they've seen the film. What troubles me is their belief that patriotism can not encompass dissent. (Though they never had a problem with this when Clinton was in office!) To those on the far-right who say "Move to Canada!" or whatever new version of "love it or leave it" they can manage, I say that the idea of a nation with millions of nuclear weapons and exclusively made up of neo-cons is a very scary though. Me and my moderate-to-left-leaning ass are staying. Expand
  34. TrentK
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I think any person who gave it a 0 is a Republican, and a scared one at that. Moore makes such valid points, that your fear is justified. See this movie. Very eye-opening.
  35. RyanM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film I've seen so far this year. Completely amazing in every way. Expand
  36. jifu
    Oct 8, 2004
    9
    Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem off. This was a very moving work of art that really hits the emotions. I am happy that it is being called more than a documentary. Expand
  37. TimothyG.
    Jun 24, 2004
    9
    Ok, here's my prediction, this movie will not do as well as the hype... Just look at the scores... It's split 50/50 with very "love it" or "hate it" feelings. No one will leave this film with a "yeah, I thought it was ok..." feeling. Granted, it will still be the top grossing documentary of all time, but it is certainly not going to live up to the controversy. It's Ok, here's my prediction, this movie will not do as well as the hype... Just look at the scores... It's split 50/50 with very "love it" or "hate it" feelings. No one will leave this film with a "yeah, I thought it was ok..." feeling. Granted, it will still be the top grossing documentary of all time, but it is certainly not going to live up to the controversy. It's essentially an "art flick" being marketed to the mainstream media. Personally, I love when that happens, remember Blair Witch? I was a projectionist at the time, people left the theatre going "what the hell was that!!!?, demanding refunds.. lol, and the same will apply to this, believe it or not, folks will walk into Fahrenheit 911 thinking it's a remake of the Bradbury novel.. Watch it happen. Enjoy the Fun! Expand
  38. BrianY.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    Important film. Well made and disturbing.
  39. RichieRich
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Any way you cut it, this is a powerful film. Sure Moore takes some cheap shots and twists things to suit his purposes. Those are not the hard hitting points in this film. The story of the soldier's whose lives are lost or forever changed is the real story here. Why?
  40. Tony
    Jun 25, 2004
    8
    First, the usually empty matinee was packed. Second, there were more laughs and more applause then any movie I can remember. Now, about the movie - only thing I could find wrong was that a few parts dragged a little. 15 minutes shorter would have worked better. Otherwise, it was totally enjoyable, and from what I have heard, accurate in what it said, although I'm sure Bush has done First, the usually empty matinee was packed. Second, there were more laughs and more applause then any movie I can remember. Now, about the movie - only thing I could find wrong was that a few parts dragged a little. 15 minutes shorter would have worked better. Otherwise, it was totally enjoyable, and from what I have heard, accurate in what it said, although I'm sure Bush has done and said some good things that were left out. Everyone has to see this - then decide for themselves what to do come November. Expand
  41. VinceH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    First of all, I must say that I was biased before seeing this movie becuause I just so happen to agree with the politics of this film and I'm a fan of Moore's books & films. But I was blown away with this one. A.O. Scott of the NY Times says he feels that with this film, Moore has gone beyond mere doc-maker to a great filmmaker, and I must agree. Yes, the footage of Moore riding First of all, I must say that I was biased before seeing this movie becuause I just so happen to agree with the politics of this film and I'm a fan of Moore's books & films. But I was blown away with this one. A.O. Scott of the NY Times says he feels that with this film, Moore has gone beyond mere doc-maker to a great filmmaker, and I must agree. Yes, the footage of Moore riding around in an Ice Cream truck and handing out Army recruting brochures to senators all reek of Moore's usual show-offy style which is usually more about him and his antics than what the film is about, and another sequence where Moore visits the mother of a dead soldier drags on a bit too long and begins to feel like a very special 20/20 episode. But Moore is an unequal master of editing news & video footage into effective & brilliantly placed places in the film to serve his purpose. Regardless of your political stance, many facts presented in the film (esp. in the first hour) will startle even the most jaded viewer. To the people who state this movie is "full of lies" and "distorts the truth" etc. Moore has stated many times in interviews that he is a personal filmmaker who presents his subjects and his facts about them to leave it up to the viewer to decide who they believe. He is not telling people what to think or who to vote for, but presenting (very strong) evidence that could very well change the way you see the world around you. Expand
  42. SkipH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Pay no attention to all the naysayers on this film. Many of them haven't even seen it and will not drop their blind support of "their master" Bush. Every theater I went to here in Bush country, Austin Texas, was sold out for just about every single showing. It's a powerful film and should be seen by everyone. See for yourself, then make up your mind. My guess is that those Pay no attention to all the naysayers on this film. Many of them haven't even seen it and will not drop their blind support of "their master" Bush. Every theater I went to here in Bush country, Austin Texas, was sold out for just about every single showing. It's a powerful film and should be seen by everyone. See for yourself, then make up your mind. My guess is that those who've blindly locked-step with the monstrosities they now call "Neo-Cons" (Cons... how appropriate ;-)... my guess is that they will leave the theater with their collective heads hanging in shame. Face it, you were duped by corporate criminals who used your good patriotic nature for the lust of power and financial gain. I know you're not all bad people, but it's not too late to right the horrible wrongs your endorsments have helped bring about. If Moore is lying as many of your charge... why isn't anyone suing him? Could it be because he isn't lying? Expand
  43. Mike
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    All the people giving this movie a "0" or a "1" crack me up. They're just angry that the movie doesn't reinforce the views that the people who think for them at Fox News have been spewing for the last 3 years. And when Michael moore talks about how dumb Americans are, take a guess who he's talking about.
  44. ValarieB.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    I hope this movie, at the very least, makes some people want to discover what the truth REALLY is. The majority of the media does not tell us the truth- most are owned by those who want to keep the truth from the people. I feel people should do what they can to discover the truth for themselves. And as far as a person whom I could see making positive changes in this country - I am going I hope this movie, at the very least, makes some people want to discover what the truth REALLY is. The majority of the media does not tell us the truth- most are owned by those who want to keep the truth from the people. I feel people should do what they can to discover the truth for themselves. And as far as a person whom I could see making positive changes in this country - I am going to vote for Dennis Kucinich, even though I will have to write his name in. I would encourage people to check him out, and look into everyone who's attempting to run. You can vote for whomever you want. Don't just take what anyone feeds you. Expand
  45. JerradH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    8
    Those who are pawns of the Right will see this movie as a batch of lies and conspiracy theories that hold no merit, and anyone who believes anything Moore says is an unpatriotic moron. They're wrong. Those who are pawns of the Left will see this movie as gospel and perfection, and that we have completely failed the war on terror and caused nothing but endless suffering in Iraq. Those who are pawns of the Right will see this movie as a batch of lies and conspiracy theories that hold no merit, and anyone who believes anything Moore says is an unpatriotic moron. They're wrong. Those who are pawns of the Left will see this movie as gospel and perfection, and that we have completely failed the war on terror and caused nothing but endless suffering in Iraq. They're wrong too. Somewhere in the middle lies the truth. Basically, the way I saw it, Moore asks a lot of interesting questions, and certainly proves that our President is, without a doubt, low on the totem pole of presidential history and ability. However, he failed to showcase some of the good things we're doing in Iraq, even though he does a good job at proving we went to war there without good reason. He also fails to show just how bad things were under Saddam's regime, and paints an incorrect picture of happiness and productivity there before the attack. He also completely omits Britain from his "Coalition" segment, and also did a few edits that were contrary to his point of view. In other words, mostly right, but hardly perfect. This war was wrong, people are suffering, Bush is not a good president, the administration is ineffective and straining international relationships, but other issues that should've been raised simply weren't. For that, it gets an 8. Expand
  46. SandraC.
    Jun 26, 2004
    7
    After seeing this movie, which was very effective, it leaves me with only one choice in this presidential election, and anybody who takes Moore's message seriously has to vote for the same candidate: Ralph NADER. No matter how much you disagree with Bush, Kerry is right there in bed with him by authorizing the Iraq war. Go Vote, people, but if you don't like the Iraq war, you After seeing this movie, which was very effective, it leaves me with only one choice in this presidential election, and anybody who takes Moore's message seriously has to vote for the same candidate: Ralph NADER. No matter how much you disagree with Bush, Kerry is right there in bed with him by authorizing the Iraq war. Go Vote, people, but if you don't like the Iraq war, you have to vote for Nader. The only thing Kerry would have done differently would have been to employ more French troops, more Germans, and more Russians, all of whom would have bombed innocent Iraquis like we have done. War is hell, and ONLY Nader was against war in Iraq. Kerry voted to authorize this war. Kerry participated in free fire zones in Vietnam. Maybe he would have extended the inspections for a few more months, but he wanted this war just as much as Bush. They are both full of it. It's NADER time. (And you all know who Moore voted for in 2000, right? Nader.) Expand
  47. Amanda
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    I understand that there are issues with this film, and how Moore presents certain facts. But we have to realise that the world is more complex than black and white, there are many gray areas, to ignore them is dangerous.
  48. AaronP.
    Jun 26, 2004
    8
    It seemed the only people watching this movie were those who already disliked the Bush adminstration. Very few of the comments had not already been in the news, but it was put together as a political ad campaign for Kerry. (I wonder if he contributed) Of course people were cheering in the theatre. My only hope is that the rest of the country who may not be as informed get a chance to It seemed the only people watching this movie were those who already disliked the Bush adminstration. Very few of the comments had not already been in the news, but it was put together as a political ad campaign for Kerry. (I wonder if he contributed) Of course people were cheering in the theatre. My only hope is that the rest of the country who may not be as informed get a chance to watch this in time. Lets hope Blockbuster is willing to carry the DVD/VHS before the election. Next lets see Moore tackle obesity in America. Expand
  49. GingerB.
    Jun 27, 2004
    8
    This movie is good, not great...there is some great footage of our "leader"...but for the most part it won't be anything new to people who visit the real news websites...also...c'mon people...1's and 0's?!!...you make yourself out to a be a right wing lunatic when you rate with a score like that...why put so much energy into defending a politician?...because the movie This movie is good, not great...there is some great footage of our "leader"...but for the most part it won't be anything new to people who visit the real news websites...also...c'mon people...1's and 0's?!!...you make yourself out to a be a right wing lunatic when you rate with a score like that...why put so much energy into defending a politician?...because the movie holds more truth than you would like?...I personally could watch michael moore take cheap shots at bush for days...and he could...it's just such an easy thing to do... Expand
  50. TimC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    If you want a true picture of the inner workings of the current American regime (aka the Bush Administration) then this is your film. As expected the right wing repub extremists are using every propoganda technique they've got to trash this film, but unfortunately for them facts are facts. This film is well conceived and well presented, and leaves a powerful impact upon its audience.
  51. JonnyR.
    Jun 27, 2004
    7
    Although i agree with most of Michael Moore's points-of-view, i feel that his movies are one-sided. For example, in Fahrenheit 911 he interviewed countless soliders who despise the war, and would do anything to not be in Iraq. How come he didn't interview U.S. soliders who enjoy the killing...lets be honest, all armies have those who enjoy hurting/killing other people. Not Although i agree with most of Michael Moore's points-of-view, i feel that his movies are one-sided. For example, in Fahrenheit 911 he interviewed countless soliders who despise the war, and would do anything to not be in Iraq. How come he didn't interview U.S. soliders who enjoy the killing...lets be honest, all armies have those who enjoy hurting/killing other people. Not everyone in Iraq is there to "free" it's people. Yet this was only briefly touched on. However this said, i do think this is an important film. It shows us how truly awful our foreign policy is. If another country doesn't want to play ball with us, we will invade them and replace their government with one that is similar to ours. After all...our system works for us, it must work for everyone right?! Who cares what the Iraqis want...it is what we want that counts! And damn it, we want oil! M Many republicans wanted to ban this movie from being shown to the public, as it made our judicially appointed president look bad. Obviously a violation of the free speech ammendment...yet they they claim to be patriots?! Another minor detail...Moore played the wrong song in the soundtrack.. The "Bodies" song the solider was reffering to is written/performed by Drowning Pool. No matter how one feels towards Michael Moore's movies, the fact that they spark so much debate makes it worth while. Expand
  52. C.B.
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    I just wish Moore was running for Prime Minister in Canada. We love him up here! A+
  53. MarkT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Powerful, moving, humorous, tragic. It's finally refreshing to see other parts of the story not reported by the media or suppressed by the current administration. Anyone who claims to believe in truth and democracy must see this film.
  54. MikeN.
    Jun 27, 2004
    8
    Newcomer George W. Bush portrays a Forrest Gump-type simpleton who, by simply "Being There," manages to become President of the United States. Once in office, Bush spends all of his time on vacation, playing golf and goofing off. But then, no surprise, enemies of the United States take advantage of his complete incompetance to attack. Comedy ensues! It is not difficult to see why Cannes Newcomer George W. Bush portrays a Forrest Gump-type simpleton who, by simply "Being There," manages to become President of the United States. Once in office, Bush spends all of his time on vacation, playing golf and goofing off. But then, no surprise, enemies of the United States take advantage of his complete incompetance to attack. Comedy ensues! It is not difficult to see why Cannes judges considered giving Bush a special award for Best Comedic Performance. This is, quite simply, the funniest comedic performance in the history of the cinema. Bush is a natural comedic genius. The camera loves him. Jim Carrey's rubber faced muggings seem contrived and staged compared to Bush's ridiculous attempts to deliver a simple home-spun aphorism. Peter Sellers turn in this same role now seems forced compared to Bush's interpretation. He inhabits the role of the "heaven blessed dimwit" in absolutely convincing fashion. Moore has the good sense to get out his star's way, realising that there is nothing funnier than putting Bush on screen for five straight minutes. The film is cleverly made however. Moore carefully juxtaposes some manipulative scenes with Bush's own witless attempts at media manipulation. The net effect is that no matter how much you dislike being manipulated by Moore, you dislike being manipulated by Bush much, much more. Expand
  55. MelissaG.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    I think we should send Bush to the front lines in Iraq for a month. And send all of our military home. Bush should be tried for war crimes. Look at the thousands he has killed. I will be taking my children to see this documentary. And I will encourage everyone I can, friend, co-workers, to see this. And Mr. Bush the saying is, "Screw me over once, shame on you, screw me over twice shame I think we should send Bush to the front lines in Iraq for a month. And send all of our military home. Bush should be tried for war crimes. Look at the thousands he has killed. I will be taking my children to see this documentary. And I will encourage everyone I can, friend, co-workers, to see this. And Mr. Bush the saying is, "Screw me over once, shame on you, screw me over twice shame on me". Or in other words, don't expect to get a second term in office! Expand
  56. EricR.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    Wraps up many newspaper stories about Bush that haven't seen popular news coverage, but does so in an over-the-top manner, which is tremendous fun, given the method of documentary filmmaking Moore practices. More documentarians need to learn from Moore, we need more of his filmmaking and less of 'Discovery' channel fare.
  57. Edsfilms
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    A truly important film to be seen at this time of our American history. Whether you agree with our President or don't, you owe it to yourself to at least see the film and then decide for yourself. And even if there are things in the film that are exaggerated for making a point, if even 25% of what is in the film is true, then this country is in the sorriest state of political A truly important film to be seen at this time of our American history. Whether you agree with our President or don't, you owe it to yourself to at least see the film and then decide for yourself. And even if there are things in the film that are exaggerated for making a point, if even 25% of what is in the film is true, then this country is in the sorriest state of political upheaval in its short and violent history Expand
  58. JayG.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    This film gets top score because it shines the harsh light of scrutiny on an Administration that has tried EVERYTHING to avoid it. Gods know you can't rely on American media for it. As for this much touted Hitchens' article on Slate, what a joke. Chris Hitchens takes 'Moore' to task for essentially blaming Bush on the Bin Laden/Saudi evacuations when Clark tried to be This film gets top score because it shines the harsh light of scrutiny on an Administration that has tried EVERYTHING to avoid it. Gods know you can't rely on American media for it. As for this much touted Hitchens' article on Slate, what a joke. Chris Hitchens takes 'Moore' to task for essentially blaming Bush on the Bin Laden/Saudi evacuations when Clark tried to be the fall guy from it. What Hitchens fails to say is that the FAA had to approve such departures, and the FAA is an Executive branch, therefore Bush is responsible. Oh ya, and he then bitches about how Moore said we needed twice as many troops in Iraq than were deployed, even though he was against the invasion. Is Hitchens this stupid? You bet, apparently if you oppose the war you want your troops to lose, instead of getting adequate numbers to do the job. What an idiot. If this is the best the Right can do, then Nov. '04 is going to be a blast! Expand
  59. JohnB.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Now we need another one on Bush's lies about the economy and environment.
  60. SusanB.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Moore does a great job exposing our Leader as a shifty, narrow-minded idiot who can't even form his own sentences. It's obvious he only cares about money and will use his power to get more for the "haves, and haves more" , dividing our country even further. Bad, bad Bush.
  61. RobertA
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    Go Gore! aw dammit! he lost. begin to end this is the movie in a nutshell.
  62. DonW.
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    The complaint that a lot of the information contained was already known seems to miss the point of the film, in my opinion. It seems much more concerned with putting all of the most severe indictments against Bush into one tight little package aimed at getting the most passionate response possible from the audience. It succeeds masterfully, I think. Is some of the information manipulated The complaint that a lot of the information contained was already known seems to miss the point of the film, in my opinion. It seems much more concerned with putting all of the most severe indictments against Bush into one tight little package aimed at getting the most passionate response possible from the audience. It succeeds masterfully, I think. Is some of the information manipulated beyond any resemblance of truth? I strongly doubt it. Is the film take great liberties with the arrangement of clips and the exaggeration of its points and the merits of some circumstantial evidence? Of course. That's Moore's trademark. He does this better than anybody. Expand
  63. AdrianP.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    Fantastic. It should be a requirment for every American citizen to see this movie.
  64. JoshL
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Michael Moore is NOT A Canadian! He was born and raised in Flynt Michigan, simple research can tell you. He's one of the most patriotic and brilliant people to have the guts to speak out in America against evil. This movie is undoubtledly one-sided, but admittedly so, just as it is undoubtably genius.
  65. JohnA.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Excellent! Sure it's biased but there's too much here to dismiss. See it if only for the candid footage that you won't be seeing on Fox or CNN for that matter. Hell they're not allowed to show a coffin.
  66. SteveO
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated that the administration has not had a chance to respond, which is not true considering their view is the only one usually heard and took us to war. Expand
  67. DuncanJ.
    Jul 12, 2004
    8
    Right, So, about this Michael Moore thing: First thing that I want to say is that it was very American orientated this time. It was the last time too, in Bowling for Columbine, but he also expanded his outlook to further than just the borders of the US. This time he focused on the internal set up in the U.S. vis-à-vis the American ruling class and it?s close and insidious ties, not Right, So, about this Michael Moore thing: First thing that I want to say is that it was very American orientated this time. It was the last time too, in Bowling for Columbine, but he also expanded his outlook to further than just the borders of the US. This time he focused on the internal set up in the U.S. vis-à-vis the American ruling class and it?s close and insidious ties, not just amongst it?s own members, but with outside agencies such as the Saudi ruling family. He also turned his attention to the ?little man?, the working class families, that are caught up in doing the actual fighting in Iraq. He followed the story of one woman, and the dreadful lose of her son in Iraq. She almost turned from pro army and war to anti army and war, and she was left with such pain, it was hard to watch. This film also highlighted an expansion in Michael?s understanding of the world, in terms of class struggle and hierarchical structures. He highlighted the conditions necessary to perpetuate the status quo in terms of fear. The documentary featured a psychologist who spoke very soundly on the ?state of fear? that is being produced by the colour coding of terrorist threats from green through blue on to orange and then to red. This colour coding system is backed up and enforced by continual changes in status level and unconfirmed and unfounded threats being broadcast on the daily or hourly news channels. The telling statement at this stage of the documentary was that there is no way that the ?threat?, or ?construed threat? as it should be labelled, will ever go to ?Green?. Although it is an obvious statement, it?s one that needs to be heard, as it will get folk thinking. The general feel of this documentary was one of intense knowledge being imparted. One felt like one was in a class room, with names, dates, facts, figures being thrown at one, however, although slightly laboured and a little overwhelming at times, the importance of what was being said was not diluted. In fact, the documentary cleverly used a lot of sound bites and historical footage to highlight just how irrational, opportunistic and parasitic the ruling class can be. With completely contradictory statements being heard from the mouths of high-level figures in the current US Bush administration. The impact of the facts and figures was further highlighted by some horrific footage of beheadings, burning bodies, wounded and dead civilians and disaffected and disillusioned American soldiers. There are two points that I am very glad that he rose. Firstly, he highlighted whom ?politicians? really ?work? for and secondly, hinted at the hierarchical structure that is the very nature of the whole system. First point first. There is footage of George W. Bush addressing a ruling class ?elite? dinner. To quote: ?What an impressive crowd: the haves, and the have-mores. Some people call you the elite, I call you my base..? More, much more, could have been made of this point, but as it was, it was sort of put out there, but glanced over. This is a central point to what it is to be ?under? capitalism. Working class folk, voters in general, have hitherto felt that the government and politicians were there for them, and to serve their needs, this highlights the fact that this was a completely false assumption. As already noted, this documentary was very American centred, however this point about politicians, if it was more generic, could have included a piece about the ?Privy Council? in the United Kingdom, and the fact that all cabinet members have to swear allegiance to a group of un-elected, un-accountable people. The second point, regarding the hierarchical structure of society ties in neatly with the first point of allegiance. The hierarchical nature of society and the controls and mechanisms that are necessary for it?s continuation were highlighted throughout the documentary in terms of fear and the control which that afforded the ruling classes over the oppressed masses. Latterly he highlighted the fact that maybe this was not the best way to organise production and hence society. Although, throughout the film, the proceeding two points were minor ones, the fact that Michael chose to include them in this piece is very telling, in terms of both his personal development and understanding as well as being very thought provoking to the general masses, like you and I. Another significant indicator of Michael?s thinking was the fact that the word ?Capitalism? was never once mentioned. One can take this as a very clever way of circumventing the irrational and dogmatic appeal that the word, and it?s connotations of freedom and justice, has on the American public, hence removing barriers to the film in terms of understanding and acceptance, from the populace at large. Or, if you look at it in a slightly more negative way, he still assumes that some form of capitalism is possible, with just the current ?big players? needing removed. In retrospect, it?s hard to cling to the idea that he feels that Capital is the way forward, though he?s been clever enough not to put a label on the god of the people. He has crucified the current system, in terms of its main players and supporters, but he has not labelled the system and hence can get away with that. I dare say that this cinematic piece would have been very differently received if he had labelled the system as capitalism and said that it was rotten to the core, which of course, in terms of decay, may not be a though that he shares. Another major aspect of this piece of work is that it was delivered via the cinema screens. In a sociological sense, media, especially the TV and the cinema have a huge impact on the psyche of individuals. It has been the media that has oppressed them, shaped them, made them think as they think and shown them they way forward for so many years, in all its formats, from TV through cinema, to the newspapers and books. It is fitting with both ironic justice and dialectical thought, that one form of weighted communication, cinema, will highlight the pitfalls, the terror and tyranny of the system that created it, hence showing the way forward to thinking individuals. As Karl Marx said; "What the bourgeoisie, therefore, produces, above all, is its own grave-diggers. Its fall and the victory of the proletariat are equally inevitable" He?s still accurate, all these years down the line. He has still to have his renaissance; we are still to have our chance to shine, as a race. Prison These walls that have been constructed They can not be seen, touched, smelled or affected You see, they crumble, from the inside Just like the sand, before the rolling tide. And just as surely as the tide comes and goes From here, to who knows? The walls are creaking and straining Inside their world, it?s continually raining Their sky is grey and overcast, they know they have to fight to the last, But when the last is, only we can decide Take it upon ourselves, do it with pride! In Solidarity, Dunk Expand
  68. SashaB.
    Jul 13, 2004
    9
    An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is possible to be American and criticize the Bush administration after all. Frankly, no matter how biased you think this film is, there are important issues here that need to be discussed and not avoided. Expand
  69. BillH.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Those 7 minutes of Bush sitting in the Florida classroom after he'd been told the country was under attack said it all to me!!
  70. Jared
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    I believe the people that rate this film a zero and then give thier naive comments about "no truth" and "propaganda" should do their own homework and learn the FACTS. Democratic or Rebulican, doesn't make a difference, our "leader" failed us.
  71. DennisP.
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    Considering how corrupt and incompetent this administration is, I actually thought that Moore was a little too soft on Georgie W.Bush and his cabal of neoconservative ideologues. Still, huge kudos to Michael Moore for showing what the corporate press will not. It's not only Bush who looks despicable here, but the mainstream media as well, who did nothing but cheerlead this horrible, Considering how corrupt and incompetent this administration is, I actually thought that Moore was a little too soft on Georgie W.Bush and his cabal of neoconservative ideologues. Still, huge kudos to Michael Moore for showing what the corporate press will not. It's not only Bush who looks despicable here, but the mainstream media as well, who did nothing but cheerlead this horrible, unnecessary war. Expand
  72. LinhN.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    There is an obvious rift between the 1's and 9's here, and the right and left wingers, but let me ask one question... whats so wrong about being overly critical and skeptical about what our president is doing and how he acts, aren't we supposed to question our leadership? isnt this America? Isnt this a democracy? If you want a biased take on Bush, his actions, his war, etc There is an obvious rift between the 1's and 9's here, and the right and left wingers, but let me ask one question... whats so wrong about being overly critical and skeptical about what our president is doing and how he acts, aren't we supposed to question our leadership? isnt this America? Isnt this a democracy? If you want a biased take on Bush, his actions, his war, etc then you should watch this movie, if you dont, you should see it just to be capable of realizing the otherside might have some type of point. nothing i mean absolutely nothing can rid me of the image of our president immedietly after the attacks on the world trade center. How did we elect a president so indecisive? If i was a betting man I would bet that not one other former president would have acted the way Mr. Bush acted that day. He was like your sports superstar who couldnt take the shot at the end not because he didnt have enough time, just because he didnt know how to. thats how bad it is. Expand
  73. SethB.
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    Slanted, one sided, yes-but most documentaries I've seen are. Moore does not like this administration and gives facts and ideas to support his veiw. For all the detractors of the movie, show me some facts supporting your veiw that Bush-Cheney are actually good for the country and it's people. It might me that there is no defense for this false, embarassing President now in Slanted, one sided, yes-but most documentaries I've seen are. Moore does not like this administration and gives facts and ideas to support his veiw. For all the detractors of the movie, show me some facts supporting your veiw that Bush-Cheney are actually good for the country and it's people. It might me that there is no defense for this false, embarassing President now in control of the country. Expand
  74. JohnC.
    Jul 4, 2004
    9
    Well done & by-and-large factualty correct. I don't buy that pipeline stuff though.
  75. DavidM.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    The rating given above says it all. See this movie. Be moved. Be awakened. Learn. To John K: We mourn the loss of Paul Johnson and Nick Berg - victims of war and all the atrocities associated with it. People like you are most unfortunate and you sully humanity by stating that Michael Moore should be beheaded as these poor innnocents were. The likes of you, as the appointed one's The rating given above says it all. See this movie. Be moved. Be awakened. Learn. To John K: We mourn the loss of Paul Johnson and Nick Berg - victims of war and all the atrocities associated with it. People like you are most unfortunate and you sully humanity by stating that Michael Moore should be beheaded as these poor innnocents were. The likes of you, as the appointed one's base, are despotic, fundamentalistic, tunnel-visioned, dogmatic and unwilling to deal with reality portrayed in this movie (documentary or not). We have one who is appointed to the highest office in the land denying the reality of this war and the strategic deception that created it. Why focus on the coffins coming home (in fact, he suppresses all of this and as much dissent as his "team" can muster)? Why focus on the dead Iraqi innocents when he can focus on profit and his messianic vision of "peace" and "freedom". The images of this war are ugly and distasteful - because that is the nature of war, sir. Michael Moore and other sources of news like Al Jazeera bring home the truth and you refer to it as treason and propaganda. What about the massive American propaganda machine? The truth of this war is bitter as is your denial of it. Yank your head out of the sand, sir. People are dying - Americans and Iraqis. This war is horrible in the extreme (and getting worse) and this great country's name is sullied in the world by the acts of an imperialist who chose to deceive the world in launching this preemptive offensive. This country is now in greater danger of being attacked than ever before. Sad to say, but it's true - we are no more "secure" today than we were pre 9/11. The truth of the war is bitter, sir. You might deny it to others, but be kind to yourself and don't deny it to yourself. Question what you have been told by this administration as we question Michael Moore, too. Keep your mind and heart open - Open to reality. Open to truth. Peace. Expand
  76. LarryR.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    I don't know quite what to say about this movie. I was shocked by the utter horror and depravity of this administration. Moore has successfully disclosed an administration that is like a rotten onion; the more you peel, the worse you cry. I was deeply moved by Moore's conviction and courage. I can think of no one, including Al Franken, that has done a better job of revealing I don't know quite what to say about this movie. I was shocked by the utter horror and depravity of this administration. Moore has successfully disclosed an administration that is like a rotten onion; the more you peel, the worse you cry. I was deeply moved by Moore's conviction and courage. I can think of no one, including Al Franken, that has done a better job of revealing just how bad an unelected president can be and why we now deparately need the democratic process to work for the people this time. Sue your way into office? Only democracy loses. Expand
  77. PrestonF.
    Jul 4, 2004
    7
    Entertaining, no matter you're view on Mr. Moore.
  78. Misty
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    Things that make you go hmmm! Everyone should know the Gore should have been our President. But no, with all the right people in place, no one could beat a cheater. No matter what, Bush will be our President for another term if that pipeline is not finished. He will make sure of that. Everyone knows that there is no other reason for our soldiers to still be in Iraq risking their lives for Things that make you go hmmm! Everyone should know the Gore should have been our President. But no, with all the right people in place, no one could beat a cheater. No matter what, Bush will be our President for another term if that pipeline is not finished. He will make sure of that. Everyone knows that there is no other reason for our soldiers to still be in Iraq risking their lives for nothing. Bush still have not found weapons of mass destruction, but he has struck gold (OIL). I hope that the pipeline is finished before his term is up. That way so many of our American soldiers won't continue to die. Expand
  79. ArtW.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    What is it about the right wing that makes them want to quash any dissent toward Bush? This after 8 years of constant Clinton-bashing. This movie should be seen by all Americans, whatever your political stripe. Then decide. And attack the evidence presented in this movie, not Michael Moore for shining a light onto it. Go Kerry-Edwards 2004!
  80. PhyllisS.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    See the movie. You will not regret it.
  81. RohiniB.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    Great Movie!!!!
  82. GregH.
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    A previous reviewer wrote: "if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER". This sounds like a reasonable argument, but is really not practical. If someone's prime aim is to get rid of Bush, then only a vote for Kerry will do A previous reviewer wrote: "if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER". This sounds like a reasonable argument, but is really not practical. If someone's prime aim is to get rid of Bush, then only a vote for Kerry will do that. Sure I'd like Nader in the White House, but I would never forgive myself if my vote for him meant four more years of George W. Getting Bush out is, for me, the ultimate aim. For the sake of the US and our standing in the World. Expand
  83. ChrisO.
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    Despite criticism from the right on the individual elements of the film the larger truths in this work shine through loud and clear. No matter what political affiliation, if you are a Patriotic American you cannot help but be moved to question this administration?s policies. Policies which have lead to greater terrorist activity - not less -, meaning less security at home, and a Despite criticism from the right on the individual elements of the film the larger truths in this work shine through loud and clear. No matter what political affiliation, if you are a Patriotic American you cannot help but be moved to question this administration?s policies. Policies which have lead to greater terrorist activity - not less -, meaning less security at home, and a squandering of the positive overall world support of America which existed immediately after 9/11. The critical element in my mind? why didn?t Bush wait until the weapons inspection?s had run their course before the attack on Iraq, we would then have retained the moral high ground and would have had a leg to stand on with world opinion. This film was the final straw of this Republican ? my vote will go against the Bush ?regime?! Expand
  84. N.Churchill
    Aug 10, 2004
    9
    Very disturbing.
  85. DekeM.
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Don't listen to the fascists, go see the movie.
  86. IbanescuE.
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    A movie that speaks loud and clear about hypocrisy and stupidity... i can only ask myself how comes that many americans still praise bush as a great leader... maybe its the president they deserve after all :)
  87. MarkB.
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    Woodrow Wilson once described D. W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation as being "history written with lightning". Cinematically, of course, he was right; but if spin doctors had existed back then, they would've informed him that even in 1916, publicly extolling a film that, however well made, amonts to a 2 1/2 hour recruiting poster for the Klan maybe isn't the thing for a U. S. Woodrow Wilson once described D. W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation as being "history written with lightning". Cinematically, of course, he was right; but if spin doctors had existed back then, they would've informed him that even in 1916, publicly extolling a film that, however well made, amonts to a 2 1/2 hour recruiting poster for the Klan maybe isn't the thing for a U. S. President to do. Well, maybe the current White House resident won't be using those words to describe Michael Moore's brilliantly entertaining, thought-provoking "op-ed documentary" right now, but clearly many moviegoers are doing just that...and more will follow if Moore accomplishes his stated goal of making George W. Bush a "one-term wonder". I'll be among the first to admit that some of the film's inevitable criticisms aren't TOTALLY without merit:his attempt to read the president's mind on 9/11 is at best spurious-- who knows what any of us in Bush's position would do when receiving the horrible news... and the only individual who truly knows what was going through Bush's mind then was Bush. Sadly, too, Moore's attempt to go for the emotional gut late on isn't 100% successful because an inevitable by-product of ALL wars good or bad, justified or unjustified is far too great a number of Lila Lipscombs. All valid, and yet Moore's film succeeds AT WHAT IT SETS OUT TO DO for the same reasons that Oliver Stone's dazzling, incendiary JFK did 13 years ago. Both films are masterful in their use of the "spaghetti-on-the-wall" attack: Stone threw every possible conspiracy theory, widely discussed or whispered, at the audience within three hours; he didn't care if you bought into all or even most of them--he just wanted to put a bug in your ear to at least question the Warren Commission. Moore, in like fashion, knows that he's not going to fully convince you of every accusation he levels at Bush & Co., but he also knows that if a few are true, they've got some 'splainin' to do...and if a few more are true as well, screw the elections, let's begin impeachment proceedings ASAP! Along with Mel Gibson's The Passion of the Christ (of all films to compare this to!) Fahrenheit 9/11 has irrevocably redefined everything the studios thought they knew about what they thought audiences wanted to see, which is why I honestly can't see why ANYONE who truly loves film, regardless of whether they think that Bush's actions in Iraq are the greatest humanitarian act since the days of Oskar Schindler or that he deserves more terms in office than FDR, would pass this film up. (This includes all you Metacritic contributors who didn't let your refusal to see it stop you from giving it a big fat goose egg!) Perhaps, too, "the choir" that Moore has been accused of preaching too is bigger than even he imagined; not only did he quintuple his own previous box office record (and that for any documentary), but the fact that lots of other elephant-shooting documentaries (The Hunting of the President, Control Room, Bush's Brain, Outfoxed, The Corporation...even, in its own way, Super Size Me) are playing in theaters and doing well indicates that there are definitely some raw nerves out there itching to be tapped. Let's face it; paying to see ANY movie (plus refreshments, babysitting, parking and maybe dinner) is definitely more of a commitment than just clicking on Fox News or Rush Limbaugh...or even buying a Regnery Press book that may or may not get finished. So to those of you who want that unregenerate, America-hating traitor Moore and his work wiped off the face of the earth, may I humbly suggest this: make your OWN liberal-bashing, anti-Kerry movie, get it into theaters, and I'll be delighted to pony up my $6.50 for a matinee ticket. After all, EVERYONE (including, believe it or not, Moore) has the right to persuade fellow Americans to their point of view, and then in November we get to decide who was the most persuasive. That's what the America that you vociferously claim to be the only ones who truly love is all about, isn't it? Well, isn't it? Hmmmm? Expand
  88. CaptainCraig
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Even if only half of the facts in this production are correct....its the scariest move you will ever see. I give it 8 points for the productions values and 2 more for the guts to make it!
  89. AchimH.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    Important movie.
  90. LeeD.
    Oct 17, 2004
    7
    Alas, I knew this would happen. No one can actually view Fahrenheit 9/11 as a MOVIE, and thus all of these grades you see before you are all based on people's personal opinion and not the actual quality of the film. I agree with Moore's politics [almost] completely, but we all know this film is not a masterpiece, nor is it an abomination. Moore skillfully allows his subject to Alas, I knew this would happen. No one can actually view Fahrenheit 9/11 as a MOVIE, and thus all of these grades you see before you are all based on people's personal opinion and not the actual quality of the film. I agree with Moore's politics [almost] completely, but we all know this film is not a masterpiece, nor is it an abomination. Moore skillfully allows his subject to do most of the work, leaving the viewer with an ernest experience, although not all of the points will have stuck together by the timw you wake up the next morning.The MOVIE is solid, though nothing worth crying over. The politics... take it somewhere else. We're here to discuss film. Expand
  91. VanessaR.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Tell it like it is Roger Moore! Those critics who will not face reality are the ones who need to be in Iraq fighting an unnecessary war. Obviously, they do not have any children there fighting an unecessary war.
  92. StephenM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    An important film for those who can open their eyes and minds.
  93. DavidC.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    This documentary was excellent. I wish it didn't have to resort to showing the mangled bodies of innocent children to get the point across. I also did notice some of the collaborators and Micheal stuffing words in people's mouths a couple of times. But this is an eye openner of a doc. I highly recommend it.
  94. VassilisI.
    Oct 23, 2004
    8
    This was a very good documentary film. Of course some of the things Michael Moore says are already common knowledge (perhaps in all the world except USA). The bin Laden family financial affairs with George W. Bush for example is something we all knew! The film contains some really breath taking moments. I must say that although I don't like your President (I'm from Greece), I This was a very good documentary film. Of course some of the things Michael Moore says are already common knowledge (perhaps in all the world except USA). The bin Laden family financial affairs with George W. Bush for example is something we all knew! The film contains some really breath taking moments. I must say that although I don't like your President (I'm from Greece), I was really shocked when this happened. Shocked and sad. Anyway, about the film... Moore doesn't say a word about the part of Israel in this case and about the neo-conservatives (Cheney - the real US President for me -, Rumsfeld and Wolfowitz) who in 2000 stated that a huge terrorist act would justify a war in Iraq (are they prophets or what?). Also, I didn't like the scene when he asked the members of the Parliament to send ther children in Iraq, it didn't contain class. But I think it was a good thing that some Americans start to think whether their goverment is telling the truth or not. Food for thought, nonetheless. Expand
  95. DecepticonP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    8
    Just see it and work it out for yerself.
  96. StuF.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    People who think Michael Moore is a communist are wrong. He is made this movie because he knows the potential of America and Bush is simply ruining the lives of families and America's good name.
  97. JohnT.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Clearly this is one of the best documentary films to date. I had the oppotunity to see it in Cannes and loved it. But don't take my word for it, go see the movie for yourself, and make up your own mind. The film's brilliance isn't so much the details it presents as fact, or the way that it presents them; it is that the film can be the focal point for a political discussion Clearly this is one of the best documentary films to date. I had the oppotunity to see it in Cannes and loved it. But don't take my word for it, go see the movie for yourself, and make up your own mind. The film's brilliance isn't so much the details it presents as fact, or the way that it presents them; it is that the film can be the focal point for a political discussion during an important election year. Expand
  98. RipleyJ.
    Jun 23, 2004
    7
    It's true this movie doesn't shed any fresh light on the subject, but it's got panache and a few things you might not have seen before or seen presented so entertainingly. Despite the usual hyperbole and occasional intellectual sloppiness typical of the director, Moore raises points that deserve attention amid the usual slavish deference and dangerous symbiosis the U.S. It's true this movie doesn't shed any fresh light on the subject, but it's got panache and a few things you might not have seen before or seen presented so entertainingly. Despite the usual hyperbole and occasional intellectual sloppiness typical of the director, Moore raises points that deserve attention amid the usual slavish deference and dangerous symbiosis the U.S. corporate media has with the government. It's telling that most user reviews seem to fall at the extremes (10's and zeros). There's more politics at work here than a rational assessment of this film's merits. Think of Moore as updating--with film--the pamphleteering tradition of William Laurence Sullivan or Thomas Paine. Expand
  99. R.G.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    Nice giving it a zero when it's not even out yet. Just stay confy watching Fox News and leave the saving of America to the rest of us that really care about freadom, choice and independent thinking.
  100. TedS.
    Jun 24, 2004
    8
    I am not a fan of Michael Moore, but I got a chance to see a screening of this and was impressed. There is a lot of information that I wan't familiar with, and while I still kind of find Moore annoying, the way he paces and plots the documentary is excellent and engaging. I am hopeful about this film because I believe it may make enough money to allow documentaries to have more I am not a fan of Michael Moore, but I got a chance to see a screening of this and was impressed. There is a lot of information that I wan't familiar with, and while I still kind of find Moore annoying, the way he paces and plots the documentary is excellent and engaging. I am hopeful about this film because I believe it may make enough money to allow documentaries to have more presence in the market. People who are against this movie probably have legitimate criticisms about its content and that's cool-- someone should make a film articulating the other side of the argument. But for this side, Moore has done a great job because the film is entertaining, and most documantaries are not. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Moore stays "on message" here from first shot to last. There is no debate, no analysis of facts or search for historical context. Moore simply wants to blame one man and his family for the situation in Iraq the United States now finds itself in…So the real question is not how good a film is Fahrenheit 9/11 -- it is undoubtedly Moore's weakest -- but will a film help to get a president fired?
  2. Reviewed by: David Gates
    60
    That's the real problem with Fahrenheit 9/11: not the message, but the method… Moore’s default mode is overkill: he even notes that on the night before the attacks Bush slept on "fine French linen." Surely scratchy muslin wouldn't have stopped the evildoers.
  3. 70
    Fahrenheit 9/11 offers the thrill of a coherent explanation for everything, but parts of the movie are no better than a wild, lunging grab at a supposed master plan. [28 June 2004, p. 108]