User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 494 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Emily
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Many people cried during the film, it was that awesome. At 2pm, there was a line for the movie going out the theater, which I've never seen before. As an American, perplexed at the varying stories from the news media, I have been dying to know a clear, concise explanation about Sept. 11th, and I recieved it and more. Finally! I thought the movie was funny too, and exceptionally Many people cried during the film, it was that awesome. At 2pm, there was a line for the movie going out the theater, which I've never seen before. As an American, perplexed at the varying stories from the news media, I have been dying to know a clear, concise explanation about Sept. 11th, and I recieved it and more. Finally! I thought the movie was funny too, and exceptionally well-done. I felt it was crisper than Moore's last film, which I also enjoyed. Whoever gives it a low rating must have not watched the movie, or they would have noticed THE REAL FOOTAGE of BUSH knowingly doing a photo-op while the Twin Towers were collasping. You must remember that this is NOT a MOVIE to critique for fun, folks, it's real footage, not fantasy and special effects. Not to mention, the audience did clap at the end of of movie. I will be back to watch it again once it's not sold-out, thank you very much! Expand
  2. TaylorJ.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The most patriotic and emotionally moving movie that I've ever seen.
  3. Misha
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Watching the movie hasn't changed my mind much, as I already had a strong opinion about the whole thing... My message to everyone - open your eyes! Wake up to face the music. Moore has done a great job to shake us all up.
  4. NickA.
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Never could one film have so polarized opinions on both sides of the political spectrum within the USA as this. Although some of Mr. Moore
  5. StacieL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I think George did this himself. All that Michael did was give us facts, have his say on it and let us decide whether or not Bush was right about his actions. This film has made me open my eyes to the cruelness and the lies that's in the world.
  6. Jake
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    I've just got to say, America is full of morons and brainwashed people. Americans (mainly just stupid people) let this monster of a president into office, and now he's completely screwed up America and this movie exposes it. If this country completely depending on the direct vote of the people, that piece of garbage in the white house wouldn't be our president.
  7. PayamM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle I loved the movie. I made me both laugh and cry, but most importantly, it makes me want to vote. I signed up last week and I know where my vote is going. The DVD came out today and I am buying a copy for my mom, and my brother, my dad, my aunts, and my neighbor. Oh, and one for myself. Thank you Michael for showing us that you can't bribe the "rich" forever. No the common middle class knows whats going on. We have power in numbers and that will be reflected in our votes! Expand
  8. MooreforpresidentM
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Best movie Ive seen all year. A lot of you out there need to open your ignorant eyes and see that the Bush Administration is corrupt. Do you know what that word means?
  9. TonyP.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    I wonder if any conservatives give the film a high rating and, inversely, if any liberals found the film wanting?
  10. JoeM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    One of the best pictures of the year. If this doesn't wake people up to the injustices and misguided totalitarianistic leanings of the Bush and Chaney show, nothing will.
  11. Aramis
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    Information I already from the BBC & NYtimes (Are they lying too?) + Bias = Entertainment. I don't hear anyone pleading for Saddam's story to be treated without bias. Shouldn't all war criminals get equal treatment? Besides all I heard at the end of this movie was applause (and the full house theatre was packed with seniors).
  12. BirdMan
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Great film everyone should see
  13. PaulD.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    This movie will open your eyes. Bush is a complete idiot who rode his name and his father's friends to the white house. Watch the movie and judge for yourself!
  14. BrandonS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    The critics who don't seem to like this movie often say "moore made this up." Yet I have not seen one fact refuted yet. Newsweek tried to, but they ended up misquoting the film. This is a clearly presented argument culled together from the things those of us paying attention already knew, helping to bring this info to those who started paying attention too late and are now waking up The critics who don't seem to like this movie often say "moore made this up." Yet I have not seen one fact refuted yet. Newsweek tried to, but they ended up misquoting the film. This is a clearly presented argument culled together from the things those of us paying attention already knew, helping to bring this info to those who started paying attention too late and are now waking up from the haze of Bush's propaganda. Two devastating scenes: Bush's (non)reaction to the news that "America is under attack" and the black-screen, audio-only presentation of the 9/11 strike. The story of the mother who lost her son in Iraq is painful to watch, but demonstrates the real hearts of Americans as well as I've ever seen done. A strong argument against the worst president in American history (and, no, this is not an exaggeration of the current, truly horrific administration.) Expand
  15. PeterA.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    This movie was a brilliant achievement, one of the most patriotic compositions ever put to cellulite.
  16. W.Wagner
    Jul 5, 2004
    9
    Forces you to question not only the state of our country and its leaders, but also your own views regarding all things political. Hilarious and heartbreaking file footage makes the film. If only Moore could have kept his hatred on the cutting room floor and allowed the evidence to mount on its own; that would have bolstered the argument and sharpened the sting.
  17. PaulW.
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Having watched this film its only gone to confirm what I and most of the people who don't live in the USA think that bush is a clown that should not get a second term in office or the whole world is doomed. Thank God for Michael Moore lifting the lid on some awful unhanded things that the bush admin have been up to since they came to power. Thats why this film won best picture in Cannes. To everyone who thought this was a load of lies....open your eyes and get your head out of the sand. Expand
  18. NicholasS.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed I have been reading other users comments. None of the people denouncing the movie have attacked any of Moore's arguments, such as the link between Bush, the Bin Ladens and oil, the fact that the Bush administration flew the Bin Ladens out of the US right after the 9-11 attack or the fact that Bush sat in a classroom for upwords of 7 minutes when he heard the 2nd tower was bombed (what was he doing?). Yes, the movie is propaganda, but so is things the media says and things that the Bush administration say, such as Iraq had WMDs. All of the people have critiqued the method of the film and NOT its CONTENT. Please, start making an argument. Expand
  19. JeremyH.
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect Phenomenal and incredible. This film will not convince any bush administration apologists... it takes too much pleasure in exposing Bush as the contemptible fool we all believe him to be. I am fairly certain that Moore specifically wants to raise the ire of the informed left (and any fence-sitters as well) by encapsulating all of the arguments against this administration into a perfect summation, so that anyone who views it will be absolutely sure to vote Bush and co. out of office. One thing I was surprised about was how well Moore articulated a sense of concern for the people of the military that have been sacrificed by bush and rumsfeld, a feeling of pride and patriotism for the people in uniform who are willing to risk and die to protect and support the United States. It's impossible to watch this film, and not feel that these kids (and they are kids) need all the support they can get from everyone back safe within the borders of the US. Attack the film and Moore if you must, but the message is loud and clear. It's time to end the mistaken reign of GWB and his administration once and for all, for the good of the country and the world. Expand
  20. DamianP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    9
    Very funny movie. You couldn't make this stuff up if you tried, so it must be true. Right?
  21. Nadine
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Anyone who says this movie is anti-American needs to use their brains and take a better look at this movie. I've noticed the only people who don't like this movie are IGNORANT in every sense of the word and very closed minded.
  22. MatthieuR.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    A must see for anyone foolish enough to actually support this war. Drop the tough guy act and rhetoric, and actually witness some of the horrors we are guilty of.
  23. JohnH.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    In reality, it is a nine, but I wish to counter-balance the conservative fools who give it zeros. They just want the ****ing tax breaks. Moore gives an insightful look into the darker side of big buisness. In its nature, it is to point out people who get power, and abuse it. Since Bush is one of the best examples now, he just happens to get bashed. Anyway, Bravo!
  24. TrentK
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I think any person who gave it a 0 is a Republican, and a scared one at that. Moore makes such valid points, that your fear is justified. See this movie. Very eye-opening.
  25. RyanM.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film Every thread of this film, which challenges "Hoop Dreams" for the spot of best documentary ever, is not fiction but fact. People who disagree with Moore would love to find something in this film that was fabricated, but it isn't. That is, at its very core, the genius of "Fahrenheit 9/11". It's reality not fantasy, and even at that, it's more riveting than any other film I've seen so far this year. Completely amazing in every way. Expand
  26. jifu
    Oct 8, 2004
    9
    Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem Resolution 1441 did not authorize the war. Many people feel that the war was illegal, such as Hans Blix and Kofi Annan, who said that the invasion did not have the Security Council approval and was therefore illegal. Not that Americans care what the U.N. thinks. As to the movie: the best of his movies so far. The editing and music were superb, and only once or twice did the pacing seem off. This was a very moving work of art that really hits the emotions. I am happy that it is being called more than a documentary. Expand
  27. TimothyG.
    Jun 24, 2004
    9
    Ok, here's my prediction, this movie will not do as well as the hype... Just look at the scores... It's split 50/50 with very "love it" or "hate it" feelings. No one will leave this film with a "yeah, I thought it was ok..." feeling. Granted, it will still be the top grossing documentary of all time, but it is certainly not going to live up to the controversy. It's Ok, here's my prediction, this movie will not do as well as the hype... Just look at the scores... It's split 50/50 with very "love it" or "hate it" feelings. No one will leave this film with a "yeah, I thought it was ok..." feeling. Granted, it will still be the top grossing documentary of all time, but it is certainly not going to live up to the controversy. It's essentially an "art flick" being marketed to the mainstream media. Personally, I love when that happens, remember Blair Witch? I was a projectionist at the time, people left the theatre going "what the hell was that!!!?, demanding refunds.. lol, and the same will apply to this, believe it or not, folks will walk into Fahrenheit 911 thinking it's a remake of the Bradbury novel.. Watch it happen. Enjoy the Fun! Collapse
  28. BrianY.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    Important film. Well made and disturbing.
  29. RichieRich
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Any way you cut it, this is a powerful film. Sure Moore takes some cheap shots and twists things to suit his purposes. Those are not the hard hitting points in this film. The story of the soldier's whose lives are lost or forever changed is the real story here. Why?
  30. VinceH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    First of all, I must say that I was biased before seeing this movie becuause I just so happen to agree with the politics of this film and I'm a fan of Moore's books & films. But I was blown away with this one. A.O. Scott of the NY Times says he feels that with this film, Moore has gone beyond mere doc-maker to a great filmmaker, and I must agree. Yes, the footage of Moore riding First of all, I must say that I was biased before seeing this movie becuause I just so happen to agree with the politics of this film and I'm a fan of Moore's books & films. But I was blown away with this one. A.O. Scott of the NY Times says he feels that with this film, Moore has gone beyond mere doc-maker to a great filmmaker, and I must agree. Yes, the footage of Moore riding around in an Ice Cream truck and handing out Army recruting brochures to senators all reek of Moore's usual show-offy style which is usually more about him and his antics than what the film is about, and another sequence where Moore visits the mother of a dead soldier drags on a bit too long and begins to feel like a very special 20/20 episode. But Moore is an unequal master of editing news & video footage into effective & brilliantly placed places in the film to serve his purpose. Regardless of your political stance, many facts presented in the film (esp. in the first hour) will startle even the most jaded viewer. To the people who state this movie is "full of lies" and "distorts the truth" etc. Moore has stated many times in interviews that he is a personal filmmaker who presents his subjects and his facts about them to leave it up to the viewer to decide who they believe. He is not telling people what to think or who to vote for, but presenting (very strong) evidence that could very well change the way you see the world around you. Expand
  31. SkipH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Pay no attention to all the naysayers on this film. Many of them haven't even seen it and will not drop their blind support of "their master" Bush. Every theater I went to here in Bush country, Austin Texas, was sold out for just about every single showing. It's a powerful film and should be seen by everyone. See for yourself, then make up your mind. My guess is that those Pay no attention to all the naysayers on this film. Many of them haven't even seen it and will not drop their blind support of "their master" Bush. Every theater I went to here in Bush country, Austin Texas, was sold out for just about every single showing. It's a powerful film and should be seen by everyone. See for yourself, then make up your mind. My guess is that those who've blindly locked-step with the monstrosities they now call "Neo-Cons" (Cons... how appropriate ;-)... my guess is that they will leave the theater with their collective heads hanging in shame. Face it, you were duped by corporate criminals who used your good patriotic nature for the lust of power and financial gain. I know you're not all bad people, but it's not too late to right the horrible wrongs your endorsments have helped bring about. If Moore is lying as many of your charge... why isn't anyone suing him? Could it be because he isn't lying? Expand
  32. Mike
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    All the people giving this movie a "0" or a "1" crack me up. They're just angry that the movie doesn't reinforce the views that the people who think for them at Fox News have been spewing for the last 3 years. And when Michael moore talks about how dumb Americans are, take a guess who he's talking about.
  33. ValarieB.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    I hope this movie, at the very least, makes some people want to discover what the truth REALLY is. The majority of the media does not tell us the truth- most are owned by those who want to keep the truth from the people. I feel people should do what they can to discover the truth for themselves. And as far as a person whom I could see making positive changes in this country - I am going I hope this movie, at the very least, makes some people want to discover what the truth REALLY is. The majority of the media does not tell us the truth- most are owned by those who want to keep the truth from the people. I feel people should do what they can to discover the truth for themselves. And as far as a person whom I could see making positive changes in this country - I am going to vote for Dennis Kucinich, even though I will have to write his name in. I would encourage people to check him out, and look into everyone who's attempting to run. You can vote for whomever you want. Don't just take what anyone feeds you. Expand
  34. Amanda
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    I understand that there are issues with this film, and how Moore presents certain facts. But we have to realise that the world is more complex than black and white, there are many gray areas, to ignore them is dangerous.
  35. TimC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    If you want a true picture of the inner workings of the current American regime (aka the Bush Administration) then this is your film. As expected the right wing repub extremists are using every propoganda technique they've got to trash this film, but unfortunately for them facts are facts. This film is well conceived and well presented, and leaves a powerful impact upon its audience.
  36. C.B.
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    I just wish Moore was running for Prime Minister in Canada. We love him up here! A+
  37. MarkT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Powerful, moving, humorous, tragic. It's finally refreshing to see other parts of the story not reported by the media or suppressed by the current administration. Anyone who claims to believe in truth and democracy must see this film.
  38. MelissaG.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    I think we should send Bush to the front lines in Iraq for a month. And send all of our military home. Bush should be tried for war crimes. Look at the thousands he has killed. I will be taking my children to see this documentary. And I will encourage everyone I can, friend, co-workers, to see this. And Mr. Bush the saying is, "Screw me over once, shame on you, screw me over twice shame I think we should send Bush to the front lines in Iraq for a month. And send all of our military home. Bush should be tried for war crimes. Look at the thousands he has killed. I will be taking my children to see this documentary. And I will encourage everyone I can, friend, co-workers, to see this. And Mr. Bush the saying is, "Screw me over once, shame on you, screw me over twice shame on me". Or in other words, don't expect to get a second term in office! Expand
  39. EricR.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    Wraps up many newspaper stories about Bush that haven't seen popular news coverage, but does so in an over-the-top manner, which is tremendous fun, given the method of documentary filmmaking Moore practices. More documentarians need to learn from Moore, we need more of his filmmaking and less of 'Discovery' channel fare.
  40. Edsfilms
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    A truly important film to be seen at this time of our American history. Whether you agree with our President or don't, you owe it to yourself to at least see the film and then decide for yourself. And even if there are things in the film that are exaggerated for making a point, if even 25% of what is in the film is true, then this country is in the sorriest state of political A truly important film to be seen at this time of our American history. Whether you agree with our President or don't, you owe it to yourself to at least see the film and then decide for yourself. And even if there are things in the film that are exaggerated for making a point, if even 25% of what is in the film is true, then this country is in the sorriest state of political upheaval in its short and violent history Expand
  41. JayG.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    This film gets top score because it shines the harsh light of scrutiny on an Administration that has tried EVERYTHING to avoid it. Gods know you can't rely on American media for it. As for this much touted Hitchens' article on Slate, what a joke. Chris Hitchens takes 'Moore' to task for essentially blaming Bush on the Bin Laden/Saudi evacuations when Clark tried to be This film gets top score because it shines the harsh light of scrutiny on an Administration that has tried EVERYTHING to avoid it. Gods know you can't rely on American media for it. As for this much touted Hitchens' article on Slate, what a joke. Chris Hitchens takes 'Moore' to task for essentially blaming Bush on the Bin Laden/Saudi evacuations when Clark tried to be the fall guy from it. What Hitchens fails to say is that the FAA had to approve such departures, and the FAA is an Executive branch, therefore Bush is responsible. Oh ya, and he then bitches about how Moore said we needed twice as many troops in Iraq than were deployed, even though he was against the invasion. Is Hitchens this stupid? You bet, apparently if you oppose the war you want your troops to lose, instead of getting adequate numbers to do the job. What an idiot. If this is the best the Right can do, then Nov. '04 is going to be a blast! Expand
  42. JohnB.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Now we need another one on Bush's lies about the economy and environment.
  43. SusanB.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Moore does a great job exposing our Leader as a shifty, narrow-minded idiot who can't even form his own sentences. It's obvious he only cares about money and will use his power to get more for the "haves, and haves more" , dividing our country even further. Bad, bad Bush.
  44. AdrianP.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    Fantastic. It should be a requirment for every American citizen to see this movie.
  45. JoshL
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Michael Moore is NOT A Canadian! He was born and raised in Flynt Michigan, simple research can tell you. He's one of the most patriotic and brilliant people to have the guts to speak out in America against evil. This movie is undoubtledly one-sided, but admittedly so, just as it is undoubtably genius.
  46. JohnA.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Excellent! Sure it's biased but there's too much here to dismiss. See it if only for the candid footage that you won't be seeing on Fox or CNN for that matter. Hell they're not allowed to show a coffin.
  47. SteveO
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated When did Michael Moore become a Canadian? He was born in Michigan! Or maybe if you question the political climatic currently in this country you must be a foreigner. This is a profound movie no matter what your political bent. Of course the right will attack and the left will use it as a rallying call, but the point is to discuss and think about these issues. Many comments have stated that the administration has not had a chance to respond, which is not true considering their view is the only one usually heard and took us to war. Expand
  48. SashaB.
    Jul 13, 2004
    9
    An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is An excellent movie, that should not be missed no matter what your political leanings. People are being killed daily because of Bush's policies, so one cannot ignore any side of this debate. It amazes me how many misconceptions about this movie I have already heard. For instance, the comment from Fantasy, who thinks Moore must be Canadian. Sorry Fantasy, Moore is American, it is possible to be American and criticize the Bush administration after all. Frankly, no matter how biased you think this film is, there are important issues here that need to be discussed and not avoided. Expand
  49. BillH.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Those 7 minutes of Bush sitting in the Florida classroom after he'd been told the country was under attack said it all to me!!
  50. DennisP.
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    Considering how corrupt and incompetent this administration is, I actually thought that Moore was a little too soft on Georgie W.Bush and his cabal of neoconservative ideologues. Still, huge kudos to Michael Moore for showing what the corporate press will not. It's not only Bush who looks despicable here, but the mainstream media as well, who did nothing but cheerlead this horrible, Considering how corrupt and incompetent this administration is, I actually thought that Moore was a little too soft on Georgie W.Bush and his cabal of neoconservative ideologues. Still, huge kudos to Michael Moore for showing what the corporate press will not. It's not only Bush who looks despicable here, but the mainstream media as well, who did nothing but cheerlead this horrible, unnecessary war. Expand
  51. LinhN.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    There is an obvious rift between the 1's and 9's here, and the right and left wingers, but let me ask one question... whats so wrong about being overly critical and skeptical about what our president is doing and how he acts, aren't we supposed to question our leadership? isnt this America? Isnt this a democracy? If you want a biased take on Bush, his actions, his war, etc There is an obvious rift between the 1's and 9's here, and the right and left wingers, but let me ask one question... whats so wrong about being overly critical and skeptical about what our president is doing and how he acts, aren't we supposed to question our leadership? isnt this America? Isnt this a democracy? If you want a biased take on Bush, his actions, his war, etc then you should watch this movie, if you dont, you should see it just to be capable of realizing the otherside might have some type of point. nothing i mean absolutely nothing can rid me of the image of our president immedietly after the attacks on the world trade center. How did we elect a president so indecisive? If i was a betting man I would bet that not one other former president would have acted the way Mr. Bush acted that day. He was like your sports superstar who couldnt take the shot at the end not because he didnt have enough time, just because he didnt know how to. thats how bad it is. Expand
  52. SethB.
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    Slanted, one sided, yes-but most documentaries I've seen are. Moore does not like this administration and gives facts and ideas to support his veiw. For all the detractors of the movie, show me some facts supporting your veiw that Bush-Cheney are actually good for the country and it's people. It might me that there is no defense for this false, embarassing President now in Slanted, one sided, yes-but most documentaries I've seen are. Moore does not like this administration and gives facts and ideas to support his veiw. For all the detractors of the movie, show me some facts supporting your veiw that Bush-Cheney are actually good for the country and it's people. It might me that there is no defense for this false, embarassing President now in control of the country. Expand
  53. JohnC.
    Jul 4, 2004
    9
    Well done & by-and-large factualty correct. I don't buy that pipeline stuff though.
  54. DavidM.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    The rating given above says it all. See this movie. Be moved. Be awakened. Learn. To John K: We mourn the loss of Paul Johnson and Nick Berg - victims of war and all the atrocities associated with it. People like you are most unfortunate and you sully humanity by stating that Michael Moore should be beheaded as these poor innnocents were. The likes of you, as the appointed one's The rating given above says it all. See this movie. Be moved. Be awakened. Learn. To John K: We mourn the loss of Paul Johnson and Nick Berg - victims of war and all the atrocities associated with it. People like you are most unfortunate and you sully humanity by stating that Michael Moore should be beheaded as these poor innnocents were. The likes of you, as the appointed one's base, are despotic, fundamentalistic, tunnel-visioned, dogmatic and unwilling to deal with reality portrayed in this movie (documentary or not). We have one who is appointed to the highest office in the land denying the reality of this war and the strategic deception that created it. Why focus on the coffins coming home (in fact, he suppresses all of this and as much dissent as his "team" can muster)? Why focus on the dead Iraqi innocents when he can focus on profit and his messianic vision of "peace" and "freedom". The images of this war are ugly and distasteful - because that is the nature of war, sir. Michael Moore and other sources of news like Al Jazeera bring home the truth and you refer to it as treason and propaganda. What about the massive American propaganda machine? The truth of this war is bitter as is your denial of it. Yank your head out of the sand, sir. People are dying - Americans and Iraqis. This war is horrible in the extreme (and getting worse) and this great country's name is sullied in the world by the acts of an imperialist who chose to deceive the world in launching this preemptive offensive. This country is now in greater danger of being attacked than ever before. Sad to say, but it's true - we are no more "secure" today than we were pre 9/11. The truth of the war is bitter, sir. You might deny it to others, but be kind to yourself and don't deny it to yourself. Question what you have been told by this administration as we question Michael Moore, too. Keep your mind and heart open - Open to reality. Open to truth. Peace. Expand
  55. LarryR.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    I don't know quite what to say about this movie. I was shocked by the utter horror and depravity of this administration. Moore has successfully disclosed an administration that is like a rotten onion; the more you peel, the worse you cry. I was deeply moved by Moore's conviction and courage. I can think of no one, including Al Franken, that has done a better job of revealing I don't know quite what to say about this movie. I was shocked by the utter horror and depravity of this administration. Moore has successfully disclosed an administration that is like a rotten onion; the more you peel, the worse you cry. I was deeply moved by Moore's conviction and courage. I can think of no one, including Al Franken, that has done a better job of revealing just how bad an unelected president can be and why we now deparately need the democratic process to work for the people this time. Sue your way into office? Only democracy loses. Expand
  56. Misty
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    Things that make you go hmmm! Everyone should know the Gore should have been our President. But no, with all the right people in place, no one could beat a cheater. No matter what, Bush will be our President for another term if that pipeline is not finished. He will make sure of that. Everyone knows that there is no other reason for our soldiers to still be in Iraq risking their lives for Things that make you go hmmm! Everyone should know the Gore should have been our President. But no, with all the right people in place, no one could beat a cheater. No matter what, Bush will be our President for another term if that pipeline is not finished. He will make sure of that. Everyone knows that there is no other reason for our soldiers to still be in Iraq risking their lives for nothing. Bush still have not found weapons of mass destruction, but he has struck gold (OIL). I hope that the pipeline is finished before his term is up. That way so many of our American soldiers won't continue to die. Expand
  57. ArtW.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    What is it about the right wing that makes them want to quash any dissent toward Bush? This after 8 years of constant Clinton-bashing. This movie should be seen by all Americans, whatever your political stripe. Then decide. And attack the evidence presented in this movie, not Michael Moore for shining a light onto it. Go Kerry-Edwards 2004!
  58. PhyllisS.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    See the movie. You will not regret it.
  59. RohiniB.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    Great Movie!!!!
  60. GregH.
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    A previous reviewer wrote: "if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER". This sounds like a reasonable argument, but is really not practical. If someone's prime aim is to get rid of Bush, then only a vote for Kerry will do A previous reviewer wrote: "if you truly support Michael Moore's message, you CANNOT vote for Kerry/Edwards, two Senators who voted to authorize the Iraq War. You MUST, if you have any conscience at all, Vote for RALPH NADER". This sounds like a reasonable argument, but is really not practical. If someone's prime aim is to get rid of Bush, then only a vote for Kerry will do that. Sure I'd like Nader in the White House, but I would never forgive myself if my vote for him meant four more years of George W. Getting Bush out is, for me, the ultimate aim. For the sake of the US and our standing in the World. Expand
  61. ChrisO.
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    Despite criticism from the right on the individual elements of the film the larger truths in this work shine through loud and clear. No matter what political affiliation, if you are a Patriotic American you cannot help but be moved to question this administration?s policies. Policies which have lead to greater terrorist activity - not less -, meaning less security at home, and a Despite criticism from the right on the individual elements of the film the larger truths in this work shine through loud and clear. No matter what political affiliation, if you are a Patriotic American you cannot help but be moved to question this administration?s policies. Policies which have lead to greater terrorist activity - not less -, meaning less security at home, and a squandering of the positive overall world support of America which existed immediately after 9/11. The critical element in my mind? why didn?t Bush wait until the weapons inspection?s had run their course before the attack on Iraq, we would then have retained the moral high ground and would have had a leg to stand on with world opinion. This film was the final straw of this Republican ? my vote will go against the Bush ?regime?! Expand
  62. N.Churchill
    Aug 10, 2004
    9
    Very disturbing.
  63. DekeM.
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Don't listen to the fascists, go see the movie.
  64. IbanescuE.
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    A movie that speaks loud and clear about hypocrisy and stupidity... i can only ask myself how comes that many americans still praise bush as a great leader... maybe its the president they deserve after all :)
  65. MarkB.
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    Woodrow Wilson once described D. W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation as being "history written with lightning". Cinematically, of course, he was right; but if spin doctors had existed back then, they would've informed him that even in 1916, publicly extolling a film that, however well made, amonts to a 2 1/2 hour recruiting poster for the Klan maybe isn't the thing for a U. S. Woodrow Wilson once described D. W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation as being "history written with lightning". Cinematically, of course, he was right; but if spin doctors had existed back then, they would've informed him that even in 1916, publicly extolling a film that, however well made, amonts to a 2 1/2 hour recruiting poster for the Klan maybe isn't the thing for a U. S. President to do. Well, maybe the current White House resident won't be using those words to describe Michael Moore's brilliantly entertaining, thought-provoking "op-ed documentary" right now, but clearly many moviegoers are doing just that...and more will follow if Moore accomplishes his stated goal of making George W. Bush a "one-term wonder". I'll be among the first to admit that some of the film's inevitable criticisms aren't TOTALLY without merit:his attempt to read the president's mind on 9/11 is at best spurious-- who knows what any of us in Bush's position would do when receiving the horrible news... and the only individual who truly knows what was going through Bush's mind then was Bush. Sadly, too, Moore's attempt to go for the emotional gut late on isn't 100% successful because an inevitable by-product of ALL wars good or bad, justified or unjustified is far too great a number of Lila Lipscombs. All valid, and yet Moore's film succeeds AT WHAT IT SETS OUT TO DO for the same reasons that Oliver Stone's dazzling, incendiary JFK did 13 years ago. Both films are masterful in their use of the "spaghetti-on-the-wall" attack: Stone threw every possible conspiracy theory, widely discussed or whispered, at the audience within three hours; he didn't care if you bought into all or even most of them--he just wanted to put a bug in your ear to at least question the Warren Commission. Moore, in like fashion, knows that he's not going to fully convince you of every accusation he levels at Bush & Co., but he also knows that if a few are true, they've got some 'splainin' to do...and if a few more are true as well, screw the elections, let's begin impeachment proceedings ASAP! Along with Mel Gibson's The Passion of the Christ (of all films to compare this to!) Fahrenheit 9/11 has irrevocably redefined everything the studios thought they knew about what they thought audiences wanted to see, which is why I honestly can't see why ANYONE who truly loves film, regardless of whether they think that Bush's actions in Iraq are the greatest humanitarian act since the days of Oskar Schindler or that he deserves more terms in office than FDR, would pass this film up. (This includes all you Metacritic contributors who didn't let your refusal to see it stop you from giving it a big fat goose egg!) Perhaps, too, "the choir" that Moore has been accused of preaching too is bigger than even he imagined; not only did he quintuple his own previous box office record (and that for any documentary), but the fact that lots of other elephant-shooting documentaries (The Hunting of the President, Control Room, Bush's Brain, Outfoxed, The Corporation...even, in its own way, Super Size Me) are playing in theaters and doing well indicates that there are definitely some raw nerves out there itching to be tapped. Let's face it; paying to see ANY movie (plus refreshments, babysitting, parking and maybe dinner) is definitely more of a commitment than just clicking on Fox News or Rush Limbaugh...or even buying a Regnery Press book that may or may not get finished. So to those of you who want that unregenerate, America-hating traitor Moore and his work wiped off the face of the earth, may I humbly suggest this: make your OWN liberal-bashing, anti-Kerry movie, get it into theaters, and I'll be delighted to pony up my $6.50 for a matinee ticket. After all, EVERYONE (including, believe it or not, Moore) has the right to persuade fellow Americans to their point of view, and then in November we get to decide who was the most persuasive. That's what the America that you vociferously claim to be the only ones who truly love is all about, isn't it? Well, isn't it? Hmmmm? Expand
  66. CaptainCraig
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Even if only half of the facts in this production are correct....its the scariest move you will ever see. I give it 8 points for the productions values and 2 more for the guts to make it!
  67. AchimH.
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    Important movie.
  68. VanessaR.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Tell it like it is Roger Moore! Those critics who will not face reality are the ones who need to be in Iraq fighting an unnecessary war. Obviously, they do not have any children there fighting an unecessary war.
  69. StephenM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    An important film for those who can open their eyes and minds.
  70. DavidC.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    This documentary was excellent. I wish it didn't have to resort to showing the mangled bodies of innocent children to get the point across. I also did notice some of the collaborators and Micheal stuffing words in people's mouths a couple of times. But this is an eye openner of a doc. I highly recommend it.
  71. StuF.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    People who think Michael Moore is a communist are wrong. He is made this movie because he knows the potential of America and Bush is simply ruining the lives of families and America's good name.
  72. JohnT.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Clearly this is one of the best documentary films to date. I had the oppotunity to see it in Cannes and loved it. But don't take my word for it, go see the movie for yourself, and make up your own mind. The film's brilliance isn't so much the details it presents as fact, or the way that it presents them; it is that the film can be the focal point for a political discussion Clearly this is one of the best documentary films to date. I had the oppotunity to see it in Cannes and loved it. But don't take my word for it, go see the movie for yourself, and make up your own mind. The film's brilliance isn't so much the details it presents as fact, or the way that it presents them; it is that the film can be the focal point for a political discussion during an important election year. Expand
  73. R.G.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    Nice giving it a zero when it's not even out yet. Just stay confy watching Fox News and leave the saving of America to the rest of us that really care about freadom, choice and independent thinking.
  74. BillM.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    We just got this movie in at the local cinema I work for. We had all be anxiously waiting to preview it before the audiences. While there is no new information released in the film that will shock anyone we were ALL amazed at how funny and geniunely touching the movie was. While one of our republican coworkers thought it was a bunch of outright lies, the other two actually enjoyed it. One We just got this movie in at the local cinema I work for. We had all be anxiously waiting to preview it before the audiences. While there is no new information released in the film that will shock anyone we were ALL amazed at how funny and geniunely touching the movie was. While one of our republican coworkers thought it was a bunch of outright lies, the other two actually enjoyed it. One of whom even cried when watching the woman who lost her son. I highly recommend this film for everyone, if nothing else it will spark the kind of debate that this country needs to have. Expand
  75. TristanC.
    Jun 24, 2004
    9
    This movie is, by far, one of the best movies I have seen in a very long time. I was eager to check out the user comments on this movie seeing that I was affected by it so deeply, but I was shocked to see that so many biggot Republicans had given the movie a 0. Of course they give it a 0; I mean I am sure I would be upset too if the President from my party's ticket promoted an insane This movie is, by far, one of the best movies I have seen in a very long time. I was eager to check out the user comments on this movie seeing that I was affected by it so deeply, but I was shocked to see that so many biggot Republicans had given the movie a 0. Of course they give it a 0; I mean I am sure I would be upset too if the President from my party's ticket promoted an insane war, promoted biggotry, promoted intolerance, and made up words that don't even exist. So please Republicans of the world, stop degrading "art" just because you don't agree with the subject material. That is why it is called art! Expand
  76. LeeF.
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    A superbly done movie -- no matter what your politics.
  77. LillianD.
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    There wasn't any new information presented. It was just wonderful to know that someone else saw it all. By looking at the American Press, I thought I was living in the land of the zombies, yellow ribbons and talk radio. When the audiance stood and cheered at the end of the movie, I felt there was a chance left for this country. Thank you, Michael Moore. I will take my children to see There wasn't any new information presented. It was just wonderful to know that someone else saw it all. By looking at the American Press, I thought I was living in the land of the zombies, yellow ribbons and talk radio. When the audiance stood and cheered at the end of the movie, I felt there was a chance left for this country. Thank you, Michael Moore. I will take my children to see it R rating or not. Expand
  78. DavidK.
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    I feel exactly the same way Lillian D. did when she saw this film: There wasn't any new information presented, but it sure was wonderful just to know that someone else saw it all! I'm not as disparaged by the American Press as she was, after all, I did read about these things in the news. I was just deeply disappointed that no-one else in the country seemed to give a damn ("land I feel exactly the same way Lillian D. did when she saw this film: There wasn't any new information presented, but it sure was wonderful just to know that someone else saw it all! I'm not as disparaged by the American Press as she was, after all, I did read about these things in the news. I was just deeply disappointed that no-one else in the country seemed to give a damn ("land of the zombies"). The audience stood up and cheered at the end of my showing of the movie, too, and I finally felt there was a hope, a chance left for this country. Thank you, Michael Moore. For those of you that say this movie is full of lies, I would point out that the main actors end up hanging themselves by their own rope! So what part of the movie was lies? Expand
  79. JohnW.
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    5% over the top, 5% cheap shots, 90% slap-upside-the-head reality. A fine film, a truly iconic film. The Clinton years will be encapsulated by Primary Colors -- this will be the film of the W. presidency.
  80. ChadS.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    "Fahrenheit 9/11" is like Oliver Stone's "J.F.K.", full of conjectures and theories that produces an adrenaline rush of disbelief towards our government's secret conduct, but unlike Stone's proven fabrications, the Palm d'or winning doc at this year's Cannes is seemingly factual. For the sake of our soldiers giving up their lives in Iraq and Afghanistan, we can "Fahrenheit 9/11" is like Oliver Stone's "J.F.K.", full of conjectures and theories that produces an adrenaline rush of disbelief towards our government's secret conduct, but unlike Stone's proven fabrications, the Palm d'or winning doc at this year's Cannes is seemingly factual. For the sake of our soldiers giving up their lives in Iraq and Afghanistan, we can only wish that Michael Moore is telling blatant lies. There has never been a film quite this important, in which it should be required viewing for every thinking man, woman, and child. Never mind objectivity. There is so much wrongdoings by our current administration that seems indefensible, and I'm looking forward to hearing the spin in the upcoming weeks. I usually hate Michael Moore's films, but the content of "Fahrenheit 9/11" is so much bigger than his occasionally self-serving techniques. I understand Quentin Tarrantino and the jury now. This movie inspires insane hyperbole from its believers. Michael Moore should get a Nobel Peace Prize nomination for his work here. Expand
  81. BillC.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    The really sad and shocking thing is the lack of compassion among the ranks of individuals who consider themselves Christians or at least well meaning, good-hearted individuals. I don't deny the slant of the movie, but so much of it could not possibly be disputed. The evident is derived from public record, and I for one want to know that my president, for example has ties with the The really sad and shocking thing is the lack of compassion among the ranks of individuals who consider themselves Christians or at least well meaning, good-hearted individuals. I don't deny the slant of the movie, but so much of it could not possibly be disputed. The evident is derived from public record, and I for one want to know that my president, for example has ties with the family of the person responsible for propogating the events of 9/11. I want to know that the Bush family is so connected to the Saudi Royals that the Saudi Prince Bandar is known fondly among the Bush family as "Bandar Bush", or even that the Bush's have received 1.4 Billion in Saudi money over the years. Were the 20 odd images of G.H.W. Bush shaking hands with various Saudi oil merchants doctored too? I want to know why over 100 Saudis, 24 of whom Bin Ladens were allowed to leave the country directly after 9/11 without being questioned in the least when no one else, even GHW Bush was allowed to fly. Finally, why was Bandar Bush in the White House having a casual dinner with President Bush on September 13, 2001? What were they discussing? For us as viewers, it shouldn't be about taking sides, rather being greatful for factual information (that comes from public record, Moore has a legal team of fact checkers and attorneys who will sue any one who discredits the information he presents (hence the muted conservative public response to the movie) and attempts to slander him. If blind support for someone you admire prevents you from questioning their actions, you may have some questions to ask of yourself. Expand
  82. FredB.
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    This is an exceptionally well made and persuasive piece of cinema. Anyone who criticizes without seeing it is obviously afraid that it might change their minds. To those who do see it your politics probably will not change, but your view of the unnecessary war in Iraq will, no matter who you are. My wife has been a staunch republican for 30 years and has now decided to vote against Bush This is an exceptionally well made and persuasive piece of cinema. Anyone who criticizes without seeing it is obviously afraid that it might change their minds. To those who do see it your politics probably will not change, but your view of the unnecessary war in Iraq will, no matter who you are. My wife has been a staunch republican for 30 years and has now decided to vote against Bush in November. Now that's powerful cinema. Expand
  83. GrantH.
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    This movie backs up Moore's claims at the Oscars that we are fighting a "fictional war for fictional reasons". It also unforgetably shows that Bush's purported leadership quality is itself fictional. My one fear is that only liberals will see the movie, and so it will be just preaching to the converted. So my request is this: please take along a conservative or undecided friend This movie backs up Moore's claims at the Oscars that we are fighting a "fictional war for fictional reasons". It also unforgetably shows that Bush's purported leadership quality is itself fictional. My one fear is that only liberals will see the movie, and so it will be just preaching to the converted. So my request is this: please take along a conservative or undecided friend or family member when you go see it. Expand
  84. Mitch
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    A brilliant film. The most important issue Mr. Moore brings to light is the horrible cost of the war. Dead Iraqi women and children. Brave young American soldiers who have lost arms, legs and too often their lives. There are too many people supporting this war without a clear idea of the consequences. Without clearer thinking, the toll in human life will go on for years and years with no A brilliant film. The most important issue Mr. Moore brings to light is the horrible cost of the war. Dead Iraqi women and children. Brave young American soldiers who have lost arms, legs and too often their lives. There are too many people supporting this war without a clear idea of the consequences. Without clearer thinking, the toll in human life will go on for years and years with no real winners except for the American war profiteers. Expand
  85. PatrickB.
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    The true horror resulting from this excellent film is the thought of another four years in the US with Bush at the helm.
  86. ClintonM.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    This movie is awesome. Not as good as Bowling but pretty darn close. Moore will open a few eyes with this one. The movie focuses the spotlight on the Bush administrations weaknesses and shows scenes that you will never see in mainstream media. It is slanted against Bush but the movie never claims that it is showing all sides of the story, it is what it is an awesome expostulation of the This movie is awesome. Not as good as Bowling but pretty darn close. Moore will open a few eyes with this one. The movie focuses the spotlight on the Bush administrations weaknesses and shows scenes that you will never see in mainstream media. It is slanted against Bush but the movie never claims that it is showing all sides of the story, it is what it is an awesome expostulation of the present administration and I for one loved it. Kudos Michael Moore for having the chutzpah to stand up against this administration that claims anyone who criticizes them is unamerican. Expand
  87. BushS.
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    It had more humor in it that Bowling for Columbine. I'd also like to point out that President Bush is submoronic and we knew this before the film. I think it's easy to bash on Moore because he says what he thinks. Thats scares a lot of people. It's easy not to really listen.... It's easier to say he has no proof... The Critics are all about rubbing that in his face. It had more humor in it that Bowling for Columbine. I'd also like to point out that President Bush is submoronic and we knew this before the film. I think it's easy to bash on Moore because he says what he thinks. Thats scares a lot of people. It's easy not to really listen.... It's easier to say he has no proof... The Critics are all about rubbing that in his face. But I see nothing of their proof discrediting him. The media is afraid of Moore, and so is big buisness. The Repulican party is dirty and I'm glad someone had the balls to say what they thought was going on. This film is Moore's opinion on current politics. I wish more Americans would listen and use their God given rights! Go see the film that Cannes rated as number one! It's the only American film to win ever! [Ed: Wild at Heart??] Expand
  88. Matt
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    This film will make you think. A lot.
  89. MaggieC.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Brilliance! After seeing such a compelling anti-war tour de force, I don't see how any right-thinking person could vote for Bush or Kerry this fall. All I ever see is both of them golfing, boating, skiing, etc., and both of them blindly voted for war in Iraq, sacrificing our young men and women and killing innocent Muslims. Use your brain and listen to your heart -- vote Ralph Nader!
  90. JohnS.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    People say that this movie is one-sided. What is the other side? We aren't really at war, Bush it not really a moron, and the Oil industry is not making any money. Is it someone else up there saying the things Bush says on the screen?
  91. PattiP.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Documentary filmmaking at its best. The people who gave it 1's or 0's are part of the problem, and didn't even see the film. I'm scared for the future of our country, and the world.
  92. KevinB.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    Very informative. If our so called mainstream media had been reporting even a fraction of the info in this film, we probably wouldn't be involved in this horrible mess in Iraq.
  93. JimJ.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    Prepare to see what the media will not show you. You can't refute the footage. No thousand word commentary can replace what the pictures tell. Brilliant and courageous. A must see.
  94. EricS.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    First off, For those of you who criticized Fahrenheit 9/11 for being biased, you are merely speaking out against the majority of documentaries. The whole point of these types of movies are to show the opinion of an individual, and persuade others to share that person's point of view. Hopefully, Fahrenheit 9/11 will at least help the fanatical Bush-supporters open their eyes, and at First off, For those of you who criticized Fahrenheit 9/11 for being biased, you are merely speaking out against the majority of documentaries. The whole point of these types of movies are to show the opinion of an individual, and persuade others to share that person's point of view. Hopefully, Fahrenheit 9/11 will at least help the fanatical Bush-supporters open their eyes, and at least consider the other side of the story. Although some of the material presented in this film was slightly inaccurate (i.e., the portrayel of the Iraqi people before our occupation), most of it was true. If you insist on claiming that the film was "all lies and propaganda", try and support your opinion with some factual evidence. Expand
  95. DannyL.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    Some of the facts may be a bit twisted, but this is clearly an excellent movie to watch. Every person of voting age should watch this, if only to spur them to seek out the truth regarding the vast network of power in politics today.
  96. SheilaB.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    I find it interesting that people are not concerned about the obvious conflicts of interest involving big money and big power. The Carlyle Group, including the Bin Ladens and the Bushs, were MAKING MONEY on the worst attack in US History on our soil. People choose to remain blind......we will pay dearly. Ashcroft covers the bare breasts of statues. A good guy to be limiting our freedoms.......
  97. DonF.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    One of the most compelling films I've seen all year. The pity is, those who need to see it most probably won't see it, as the conservative "news" press have already been grinding it down.
  98. JulieA.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    This is a must-see movie for anyone who thinks they know what's going on in the country today. Being a patriot means keeping a close eye on our government and ensuring that the United States is serving the people's interests in its actions -- this film will help you do just that. This isn't a partisan rant, it's a factual argument that we've gone very wrong -- and This is a must-see movie for anyone who thinks they know what's going on in the country today. Being a patriot means keeping a close eye on our government and ensuring that the United States is serving the people's interests in its actions -- this film will help you do just that. This isn't a partisan rant, it's a factual argument that we've gone very wrong -- and Moore is right. Expand
  99. JamieS.
    Jun 29, 2004
    9
    "Moore claims that NO members of Congress have kids in Iraq. That's a flat lie. Four members of Congress have kids in Iraq." No, THAT'S a lie. Moore DOES NOT claim that NO congressman have kids in Iraq. He says ONLY ONE congressman does. And that's the truth - the son of the democratic senator from S.D. was in Iraq. "Moore claims that most of the soldiers dying in Iraq are "Moore claims that NO members of Congress have kids in Iraq. That's a flat lie. Four members of Congress have kids in Iraq." No, THAT'S a lie. Moore DOES NOT claim that NO congressman have kids in Iraq. He says ONLY ONE congressman does. And that's the truth - the son of the democratic senator from S.D. was in Iraq. "Moore claims that most of the soldiers dying in Iraq are minorities, specifically poor black soliders" -- another LIE by you, Moore never makes this claim, he does imply, however, that the poor are targeted for military recruiting. Who's the liar? Moore or "Go N." ? Expand
  100. TomS.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Just lays out the facts in an emotional way and then lets you decide. funny and moving.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Moore stays "on message" here from first shot to last. There is no debate, no analysis of facts or search for historical context. Moore simply wants to blame one man and his family for the situation in Iraq the United States now finds itself in…So the real question is not how good a film is Fahrenheit 9/11 -- it is undoubtedly Moore's weakest -- but will a film help to get a president fired?
  2. Reviewed by: David Gates
    60
    That's the real problem with Fahrenheit 9/11: not the message, but the method… Moore’s default mode is overkill: he even notes that on the night before the attacks Bush slept on "fine French linen." Surely scratchy muslin wouldn't have stopped the evildoers.
  3. 70
    Fahrenheit 9/11 offers the thrill of a coherent explanation for everything, but parts of the movie are no better than a wild, lunging grab at a supposed master plan. [28 June 2004, p. 108]