Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 8, 2005
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 585 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
278
Mixed:
137
Negative:
170
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
TimeOfTheChimpsMar 4, 2014
Very poor. Ben Grimm looks very sorry, looking like hardened Play-Doh instead of rock. Susan Storm (Jessica Alba) is here for the looks only, serving no real purpose to the story. The only good characters (heroes) in this story are JohnnyVery poor. Ben Grimm looks very sorry, looking like hardened Play-Doh instead of rock. Susan Storm (Jessica Alba) is here for the looks only, serving no real purpose to the story. The only good characters (heroes) in this story are Johnny Storm (insanely funny and awesome) and Reed Richards. The only two good characters come from good casting, while the others are misfires. Whoever was responsible for casting Ben Grimm and Sue Storm needs to have their eyeballs shoved into their nasal cavity. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesSep 3, 2014
With the news about the reboot of this super-hero group teaming up, I thought it was time to review this movie that is so silly to care much for. This super-hero flick carries an impressive cast but it's served with amounts of clichés andWith the news about the reboot of this super-hero group teaming up, I thought it was time to review this movie that is so silly to care much for. This super-hero flick carries an impressive cast but it's served with amounts of clichés and mediocre special effects. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 15, 2015
Competent entertainment, and a fun feuding dynamic between youngish heroes not quite ready for the limelight, but it's basically just the Marvel Origin Story Template applied once more. Jessica Alba can't act, but Julian McMahon as Dr. DoomCompetent entertainment, and a fun feuding dynamic between youngish heroes not quite ready for the limelight, but it's basically just the Marvel Origin Story Template applied once more. Jessica Alba can't act, but Julian McMahon as Dr. Doom is one of the better villain performances in this stable. Meh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
heyitsmegrif4Dec 23, 2011
Fantastic four assembles the worst cast to play superheroes I have ever seen. Boy do they do a bad job of it. It has okay special effects but a cheesey story. I give this movie 23%.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
"Fantastic Four" is not fantastic as it sounds. Its not like "Spiderman" or "Iron Man". Its worse than them. Its terrible with diverse problems; starting from the acting to the visuals, everything is childish and a waste of time. Save"Fantastic Four" is not fantastic as it sounds. Its not like "Spiderman" or "Iron Man". Its worse than them. Its terrible with diverse problems; starting from the acting to the visuals, everything is childish and a waste of time. Save yourself and watch something alse. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
3
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Spiderman 2 raised the bar for the superhero movie. Fantastic Four misses the cut in every way imaginable.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hApr 28, 2013
You could torture people with this movie.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
probubly one of the most boring comic book movies ever done . you have 4 super heroes who dont fight crime and dont do much of any thing els till the very end . which is so anticlimatic and dull i wanted to forget i saw it. the only appealingprobubly one of the most boring comic book movies ever done . you have 4 super heroes who dont fight crime and dont do much of any thing els till the very end . which is so anticlimatic and dull i wanted to forget i saw it. the only appealing parts of this film is jessica alba in her underware and the film starts out kinda intresting then just falls down the toilet into bordem. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
CubixreviewsMay 14, 2012
Fantastic Four, a great movie, a really great movie! It's a movie that can't be forgotten, because it is clever. I love this movie, and I love Jessica Alba's voice acting (and I like even her face :P). Even the other actors are fantastic, theFantastic Four, a great movie, a really great movie! It's a movie that can't be forgotten, because it is clever. I love this movie, and I love Jessica Alba's voice acting (and I like even her face :P). Even the other actors are fantastic, the one that flies with fire, the elastic ones, the "rock" one. (9.7) Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
ImpostirEvilAug 10, 2015
Good times, FF needed a new look, very reminiscent of the Ultimate FF by Millar. Enjoyed Doom as well. Love the Sci-Fi explorer approach. The new actors on board were great.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
5
billrullerMay 16, 2012
I can understand why this was criticized too much, but to me personally I kinda thought it was decent. It still could've done better though. I do like the cast to the heroes and villain. The action scenes are pretty good, but the sad part isI can understand why this was criticized too much, but to me personally I kinda thought it was decent. It still could've done better though. I do like the cast to the heroes and villain. The action scenes are pretty good, but the sad part is that there was only 2 scenes. Also, this whole movie does is always make pointless catch phrases so it would sound funny. They didn't have to make the whole movie humorous. I was surprised to the performance of Julian McMahon as Dr. Victor von Doom, he was better than I thought. But the thing I really disliked about this movie was the annoyance of Human Torch and complaining of The Thing. The Thing always **** and complained through out the whole friggin' film, I wanted Mr. Fantastic to use his elastic body to cover Things mouth. There was a few flaws with this film, but I still enjoy watching it. It's just not a great superhero alliance film, like X-Men, Watchmen, Kick-Ass, and The Avengers. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
It's not one of Marvel's best titles, it's settles on mediocrity and never really goes anywhere all that interesting, but some good action sequences and humor help hold up the bland plot, an ok movie that fans of the comic will appreciate.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaSep 12, 2014
I've never really followed Fantastic Four, but this film proved to be a decent one in the line of less than complimentary comic-based movies. Not the best by any means but it had a lot of things working for it.

There were laughs,
I've never really followed Fantastic Four, but this film proved to be a decent one in the line of less than complimentary comic-based movies. Not the best by any means but it had a lot of things working for it.

There were laughs, nonchalant and light-hearted moments; the characters worked - and that's the most important aspect.

Of course, a superhero flick is as good as its villain, and I didn't quite grasp Dr. Doom. He was okay, but not amazing. They didn't focus on him enough, I think, to give him depth.

Not the deepest, most dramatic film of all time, or one to provide unexpected turns of events, but it still shines at its own right.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
Four astronauts named Reed Richards, Susan Storm, Johnny Storm, and Ben Grimm gain superpowers after being affected by a cosmic radiation exposure and uses them to save their town, but little do they know that Victor Van Doom has also beenFour astronauts named Reed Richards, Susan Storm, Johnny Storm, and Ben Grimm gain superpowers after being affected by a cosmic radiation exposure and uses them to save their town, but little do they know that Victor Van Doom has also been infected with a full power so dangerous that they must stop it before its too late.

I'm gonna give a thumbs up for the cinematography, the CGI, the action scenes, and the acting.

However, I'm gonna give a thumbs down for the bland script, the plot holes, the overused clichés, and the dumbest moments where Johnny Storm as the Human Torch carries an action figure of the Thing in which Ben as the Thing destroys it.

Fantastic Four is a very mediocre marvel movie, but it has the potential of the comics with strong performances, cool CGI, and unique action sequences.

2.5/5 stars
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ImUnavailableMar 2, 2012
it is clear that Fantastic Four doesn't want to take itself too seriously. In some cases this can be a good thing for a movie to do. This does not, however, give a movie permission to aim low. But that is precisely what FF does. Boringit is clear that Fantastic Four doesn't want to take itself too seriously. In some cases this can be a good thing for a movie to do. This does not, however, give a movie permission to aim low. But that is precisely what FF does. Boring characters, cliche writing and underwhelming action combine to make this an entirely forgettable film that wastes most of its potential. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 7, 2012
I don't understand this poor score, the film is fantastic, the cast is wow incredible, the effects are awesome, I believe that the critics don't watch the special of the film. Sorry but this movie is amazing.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 28, 2013
Don't listen to the other critics on this one, Fantastic Four is fantastic! The effects are great, some moments are humorous, and it actually moves along without lagging.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
3
WesselK.Dec 13, 2005
If there's no story, the special effects have no function, and the characters are cartboard.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BlazeC.Dec 6, 2005
The movie was really good and I think that the critics are wrong. It was a great story with great graphics..... IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE !!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
FredBobOct 17, 2006
The movie was ok at best. The biggest problem is that one of the hottest women in the world (Alba) has to go invisible. Too bad!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DevonC.Mar 12, 2007
A BIG BORE but is a great action movie and interest. Kinda copies X-men.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JekSpaceyMay 3, 2014
I would be a coward if I did not admit that I enjoyed this film (of course the most fun is given by the shapes of Jessica Alba) , but even if I did not admit that it has one of the worst screenplays ever written for a cinecomic . Take theI would be a coward if I did not admit that I enjoyed this film (of course the most fun is given by the shapes of Jessica Alba) , but even if I did not admit that it has one of the worst screenplays ever written for a cinecomic . Take the Raimi Spider-Man , which I think best represent how it should be done a cinecomic , in those films there's always been a dramatic side and a funny side , but neither of them prevailed over the other, Raimi was able to keep them in perfect balance , making it believable ( as a film about a man spider to be credible ) most of the events !
In " Fantastic 4 " this balance there is absolutely , in fact, the film tends to give more benefit to the side comic caring about the psychology of the characters and their state of mind after having acquired powers . The consequence is a characterization of the characters to the limits of trivial !
Another weak point is the villain , anonymous and absolutely no bite , really badly written !
On the plus side we definitely special effects incredible , absolutely not at the level of the film, and the music , which surely would have had even more impact if the film had been conceived differently!
If you want to see a cinecomic studied well and with great directing and screenwriting , stay completely away from this mess !
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerJan 20, 2015
Un film coinvolgente,composto da un cast straordinario,peccato che a molti non è piaciuto.A me è piaciuto principalmente per la storia e per i personaggi,sia il primo che il secondo capitolo li ritengo all'altezza della trilogia di Spider-ManUn film coinvolgente,composto da un cast straordinario,peccato che a molti non è piaciuto.A me è piaciuto principalmente per la storia e per i personaggi,sia il primo che il secondo capitolo li ritengo all'altezza della trilogia di Spider-Man creata da Sam Raimi. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
Paramilitary400May 17, 2015
Fantastic Four had the chance at being a spectacular action movie. This movie misses the mark in every way. The effects are alright at best, the story is lame and the cast was poorly assembled. The only actor that fits the movie is JessicaFantastic Four had the chance at being a spectacular action movie. This movie misses the mark in every way. The effects are alright at best, the story is lame and the cast was poorly assembled. The only actor that fits the movie is Jessica Alba having starred in Sin City the same year. A ton of money was blown on producing this movie. Another fantastic four movie is on the way with a new cast. I've seen the new cast and I still believe they could have cast appropriate actors. However, I'm not surprised they made another movie because this movie is absolutely dreadful. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
TheElusivePossomAug 30, 2005
You have to take a film like Fantastic Four with a pinch of salt, because it is what it is: an FX-laden, cheesy-line-riddled action-fest. In terms of depth, it's on a par below X-men and Spiderman, swapping multi-dimensional character You have to take a film like Fantastic Four with a pinch of salt, because it is what it is: an FX-laden, cheesy-line-riddled action-fest. In terms of depth, it's on a par below X-men and Spiderman, swapping multi-dimensional character presentation and believable plights with tighter costumes and firmer buttocks; perhaps a fair trade? The film reflects the powers of its heroes well: it seems hot at first, but soon requires huge stretches of imagination, resulting in a plot that is rocky, and at times invisible. The extent to which The Thing's wife harshly breaks of their marriage based on his new image is ridiculous. Otherwise, the film manages to hold your interest for as long as it lasts, but culminates in a dire conclusion (it hurts to compare the final epic battle of this film and any other super-hero flick, it really does). Just about worth seeing, but everyone will anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ashwanis.Oct 11, 2005
Awesome the best superhero movie ever made period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MalcomMOct 20, 2005
Those of you who voted 10 for this piece of corny popcorn superhero B-gade flick obviously just got out of a dark and campy cave! Shame on you people! You guys just don't cut it being a critic. Ridiculous, simply ridiculous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertoL.Sep 17, 2005
Worst comic book film ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JerkGuyOct 11, 2007
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TylerG.Aug 8, 2007
A just absolutely horrible film, no plot, the action is almost non-existent, it sucked worse than any movie I could possibly imagine, I would rather watch the CGI animated Barbie Doll movies than see this again. I don't recommend it to A just absolutely horrible film, no plot, the action is almost non-existent, it sucked worse than any movie I could possibly imagine, I would rather watch the CGI animated Barbie Doll movies than see this again. I don't recommend it to anyone. This movie sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlO.Aug 6, 2009
I could have crapped a better script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattyM.Dec 10, 2005
Does every year have to have a super hero movie like 2004's Catwoman? Judging by 2005's Fantastic Four, I'm afraid so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamOct 26, 2005
Even though it's no Batman and Robin (by this I mean it's not terrible), it's still no Batman Begins (by this I mean it's not Spectacular). That is pretty much the whole movie, the FX are not terrible but aren't Even though it's no Batman and Robin (by this I mean it's not terrible), it's still no Batman Begins (by this I mean it's not Spectacular). That is pretty much the whole movie, the FX are not terrible but aren't great, the acting isn't awful but not classic, and the only thing that isn't either is the dialouge, and I don't mean that in a good way. Batman Begins, Red Eye, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and the Underated War of the Worlds are still better, but I will more likely than not still get this. I won't use money or gift certificates though. I'll wait for my birthday or if my friend wants to give it. So it's good, but I won't use money top own it though. I disagree with almost everyone who said this was the best movie of the summer, but I'm not calling them retarded or stupid as I usually do, since the only time I do it is when they insult my opinion, and since they don't I'll respect their opinion, as long as they respect mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
Lacks the majesty of other superhero flicks such as the stunning Batman Begins and Spider-Man 2, and reveals itself as a dissapointing cliché ridden flick full of superficial characters and mind-blowing effects, but hey, at least it Lacks the majesty of other superhero flicks such as the stunning Batman Begins and Spider-Man 2, and reveals itself as a dissapointing cliché ridden flick full of superficial characters and mind-blowing effects, but hey, at least it entertains a bit and the actors are carismatic, no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelB.Dec 7, 2005
It stays true to the story of the comics and it has Jessica Alba in it, so that will be enough to draw in a lot of fans. However, it just doesn't have the energy that some of the other recent Marvel comics-turned-movies, such as the It stays true to the story of the comics and it has Jessica Alba in it, so that will be enough to draw in a lot of fans. However, it just doesn't have the energy that some of the other recent Marvel comics-turned-movies, such as the X-Men series and Spiderman series, have. Still, I suppose it's much better than that god awful version of Daredevil with Ben Affleck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntarikshS.Oct 6, 2005
One of the coolest movies of the year which was fun to watch great acting, superb special effects, very good action and decent story makes this my 4th best marvel comic book movie and 5 best from all comic book movies. You should definitely One of the coolest movies of the year which was fun to watch great acting, superb special effects, very good action and decent story makes this my 4th best marvel comic book movie and 5 best from all comic book movies. You should definitely watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IlzeS.Sep 10, 2005
Movie was a lot laughable. There are funny jokes, some kind of adventure. I liked Jessica Alba & Ioann Gruffud. Only, Gruffud is better in King Arthur. Funny, small movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CaitlinB.Sep 24, 2005
Worst movie ever. Some seens were not oppropriate for yonger viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanJ.Jan 27, 2006
F4 was a great starting point for future movies they couldn't give you it all or make them masters of their power to start off. Every great story has to have a begenning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KeenanSAug 9, 2009
An insipid, and painfully stupid comic book flick. This film quite simply; is not fantastic on any level. From the numerous cliches, to the stupid action scenes, to the awful dialogue and humor, Fantastic Four falters under the weight of its An insipid, and painfully stupid comic book flick. This film quite simply; is not fantastic on any level. From the numerous cliches, to the stupid action scenes, to the awful dialogue and humor, Fantastic Four falters under the weight of its ineptitude and fails to entertain. You have much better options when it comes to comic book films like; Watchmen, Sin City, The Dark Knight, Iron Man, or the Spider-Man trilogy. Go see one of those instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesB.Dec 11, 2005
Passible, light fun. Good cast, although Ioan Gruffudd, playing Reed Richards, seemed a little miscast. Probably would have been disappointed to have seen it in the theater...but, on DVD, not so bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChuckM.Dec 10, 2005
This hearkens back to the good old days of comic book movies that have no plotlines or reasonable dialogue. Comicdom's first family is given the 1960's camp treatment instead of the intelligence offered to Spider-Man & Batman This hearkens back to the good old days of comic book movies that have no plotlines or reasonable dialogue. Comicdom's first family is given the 1960's camp treatment instead of the intelligence offered to Spider-Man & Batman Begins - or even the Hulk. Disappointing to a lifetime FF fan, but not unentertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TammyDec 16, 2005
I love the invisible girl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarcI.Dec 7, 2005
Stupide, and too much make-up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
markKAug 23, 2005
This movie arely strings you along with glib lines and has just enough interest to tease you into not walking out of the theatre. You will find soon yourself thinking, "Why another action book to movie?", and don't worry, you won't This movie arely strings you along with glib lines and has just enough interest to tease you into not walking out of the theatre. You will find soon yourself thinking, "Why another action book to movie?", and don't worry, you won't be alone. Just to cap it off this movie has one of the most anticlimatic endings I can remember, and, as result, it's hard to even recommend this as a DVD release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RirenDec 31, 2006
This movie manages to be stupid, mediocre, and very cool at the same time. It isn't a great film like Spiderman, but it still has its own moments and character. Given the source material, and Jessica Alba, its simply impossible for this This movie manages to be stupid, mediocre, and very cool at the same time. It isn't a great film like Spiderman, but it still has its own moments and character. Given the source material, and Jessica Alba, its simply impossible for this movie to fail its audience on all levels, and it doesn't. Like I said, it has its moments, which prove that it's more than a meaningless presentation of the IP. But overall, its a rather stupid movie, in many ways. Plus, it lacks the excitement and build up of the characters *as superheroes*, which left me feeling a bit unsatisfied. If you're into superheroes, it's an entertaining flick, but it's not a great movie, and is nothing compared to what comic book movies can be (for that, see Batman Begins and Spiderman). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexaMar 26, 2006
The acting was TERRIBLE! and the action scenes and dialogue were bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Aug 25, 2006
It really does suffer in to the unavoidable comparison to The Incredibles...and most other comic book movies made in the last 3 years. With a different director, the second installment would have shot of making a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayD.Jun 28, 2007
The writers of this script need to be taken out and shot! Casting is likewise terrible, in that Jessica Alba out acts the vast majority of actors in this film. I don't recommend this movie to anyone over the age -of let's say- eight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenC.Jul 29, 2007
The story is good, but the only part I liked was the one action sequence
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NickV.May 11, 2009
Everything ranged from mediocre to bad in this movie. Jessica Alba and the guy who played Mr. Fantastic were hilarious every moment they weren't mean to be in their roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JacobJul 26, 2015
Fantastic Four’s decent cast, serviceable banter, and amazing effects on the Thing both in looks and character show the crew has some handle on the group but unfortunately the story gives them nothing to work with. Once the group gets thereFantastic Four’s decent cast, serviceable banter, and amazing effects on the Thing both in looks and character show the crew has some handle on the group but unfortunately the story gives them nothing to work with. Once the group gets there powers nothing happens. Little action, no crime fighting just characters sitting around and doing nothing until the last 10/15 where the audience witnesses a decent fight with a poor quality Doom. With the way comicbook movies have evolved over the years this film becomes even more of a joke/cheesefest as time goes on. Thankfully, the sequel, which this film surprisingly got, picked up the pace a bit and regardless of its problems was better and somewhat resembled what a Fantastic Four movie should be. Hopefully the reboot will continue the trend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuNov 23, 2013
Fantastic Four is a simple yet entertaining superhero flick. Of special note would be Chris Evans as the Human Torch and a suave, slippery Doctor Doom. Yes, it could have been better but it also could have been a lot worse. Solid stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
The FF deserved better. This is an Iconic comic franchise. Legendary, as big as they get. Yet for the movie they slap this together? The poor casting on Dr. Doom, Invisable Women, and Reed Richards didn't help. Not that these people are badThe FF deserved better. This is an Iconic comic franchise. Legendary, as big as they get. Yet for the movie they slap this together? The poor casting on Dr. Doom, Invisable Women, and Reed Richards didn't help. Not that these people are bad actors, nor can they be expected to save such a weak script, but they absolutly do not potray the FF characters well. Marvel Should buy back the rights to this franchise and make the movie it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
It looks really cheap for a Marvel movie and the acting is horrendous from quite a few of the stars. This and its sequel are the only Marvel movies I don't recommend to anybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmReviewsSep 4, 2012
While it haves great actors, "Fantastic Four" wasn't worth enough. It is an enjoyable movie, but It doesn't go to the level of Batman, or Iron Man. The story is a bit predictable, but the comedy was funny at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Although it does have a small handful of entertaining moments, this movie still remains to be a complete slap in the face to the original characters and lore - thanks mostly to a mediocre script filled with forgettable characters and cheese.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Apr 20, 2015
To be fair, I feel this movie isn't as bad as many make ir out to be. The Fantastiv is a great comic, but it is one of those comics that simply only works on paper (or digital page.)

The effects are pretty good and I thought the casting
To be fair, I feel this movie isn't as bad as many make ir out to be. The Fantastiv is a great comic, but it is one of those comics that simply only works on paper (or digital page.)

The effects are pretty good and I thought the casting was generally good all round. Alba may not be a perfect visual depiction of Sue Storm, but I thought she did OK.

My main gripe with this movie is the writing.OMG, could they messed Dr Doom up any more! Granted, McMahon is doing his best with what he's been given, it still isn't enough to hide the butchering his character underwent in the writers script. For shame Mark Frost and Michael France!

Plot is also incredibly underwhelming. Granted, it does work very well as a F4 origin story, a shame it didn't do much else.

Overall:
Fantastic 4 is a decent, but flat, origin story. It doesn't do too much wrong, but fails to be interesting, aside from a few moments here and there. Worth a watch, but only as a rental.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tessara_VejganJan 13, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. Its an ok movie. Has its moments but ultimately mediocre. Story was not very good. acting was average, effects were nice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SuperheroMoviesMay 17, 2014
Fantastic Four lacks the emotional depth and storytelling ability that has made past Marvel films so memorable, but the light humor of the characters occasionally makes it worth the while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksDec 3, 2013
A cheesy yet action packed motion picture based on the classic comic. Despite poor special effects,
Story, casting and acting, and a final battle that will leave you wanting more, the directing isn't half bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bfoore90May 6, 2016
Not as bad as what is presented but mediocre at best. The plot is bland and some of the acting is pretty corny but its pieced together with some good comedy and some flashy action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheNikoHeroAug 6, 2015
I enjoyed this movie. Its not bad at all, its a bit clumsy and cheesy, but! They got the characters right. I know this is probably a unpopular opinion, but I enjoyed it! Its not perfect at all, but its still watch worthy. I enjoyed the movieI enjoyed this movie. Its not bad at all, its a bit clumsy and cheesy, but! They got the characters right. I know this is probably a unpopular opinion, but I enjoyed it! Its not perfect at all, but its still watch worthy. I enjoyed the movie because it has a very good mix between all of those characters. Johnny, Susan, Ben, Reed, all their different personas mixed, its a very good way of showing it.

Now the movie IS very fast when it comes to action packed. But they needed a good way to start off them, and I think they did OKAY. It would be much better, but its differently not bad.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankennedy23Jul 27, 2014
Fantastic Four: 4 out of 10 Some comic book heroes don't translate well to film. Daredevil was a case in point. While a blind guy wearing a cherry red leather outfit might work on the panels of a comic book it looks silly on screen. (Not thatFantastic Four: 4 out of 10 Some comic book heroes don't translate well to film. Daredevil was a case in point. While a blind guy wearing a cherry red leather outfit might work on the panels of a comic book it looks silly on screen. (Not that this excuses the horrible Daredevil movie mind you) Mr. Fantastic (The stretching guy) of the Fantastic Four suffers this same fate. When he stretches it looks either disgusting (hand squeezing under the crack beneath a door) or quite silly (every other time he stretches.) Not that the character is helped by Ioan Gruffud's somnolent performance. He makes up one third of the most sleep inducing love triangle ever filmed.

The lady in question is the Jessica Alba who looks fantastic in and out of her costume (She turns invisible when naked sorry guys. But some dutiful frame by frame DVD action will surprise the patient) but she expresses no emotion about either man (Or for that matter having superpowers. But I guess looking like Jessica Alba is kind of a superpower in itself). The third part is our pseudo villain Dr. Doom. (I say pseudo because he turns villain sometime around the closing credits in the most truncated villain performance in the history of superhero films) Dr. Doom as written for the comics is the perfect screen super villain. Which begs the question why he is barely in this movie and more importantly why he is a metrosexual evil businessman (Forced to be evil because his IPO went down in price and the bank is pulling out? Which shows a remarkable lack of knowledge how IPO's work) When Alba tells Gruffud she never slept with Doom we have to believe her. I have a hard time believing these saccharine characters go the bathroom let alone have sex.

The other two members of the four (Evans and Chiklis) give competent if one note performances. But by the time all the introductions and back-story is completed the movie is over. With no villain, unimaginative action set pieces and some shaky special effects Fantastic Four is more mediocre than fantastic. Though there is that one frame of a not quite invisible Alba that is Fantastic indeed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Le__XenomorphDec 16, 2014
Three words..... What the f*** 3/10 (Poor)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffFeb 1, 2016
Tim Story directs this animated, family friendly movie...not superhero movie, that is 'Fantastic Four'.

In this movie, we follow some iconic scientists including Reed Richards (Ioan Gruffudd), Sue Storm (Jessica Alba), her brother Johnny
Tim Story directs this animated, family friendly movie...not superhero movie, that is 'Fantastic Four'.

In this movie, we follow some iconic scientists including Reed Richards (Ioan Gruffudd), Sue Storm (Jessica Alba), her brother Johnny Storm (Chris Evans) and Ben Grimm (Michael Chiklis), along with Victor Von Doom (Julian McMahon) to travel to space, only to find themselves in an accident that leaves them with extraordinary abilities.

Reed can stretch further than any human being can, Sue can turn invisible to the point where you'll forget that she is even in the room, Johnny can manipulate fire hotter than Super Nova, and Ben turns into a giant rock. Victor has also been affected by the accident, which allows him to produce bolts of energy.

The main issue with this movie, to start of with, is the content...it is rated 'PG' from where I'm from. That is an issue, the genre of superhero movies are not "family films", kids can still watch them, but where is the violence? Where is the grittiness? Where is the occasional time where our heroes can speak with realistic dialogue and not having any trouble using the occasional curse word every now and then?

This film is nothing but a cliched cartoon with an over-reliance on special effects that does not do a good enough job covering its thinly written story and non-sympathetic heroes.

I don't hate this movie as much as most people do...but I can see the reasons as to why some would anyway, but I will say that this movie does get a rating of a "Fantastic" 4...out of 10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheDude-Aug 6, 2015
Despite the esteemed cast and good special effects fantastic four is trying to be a comedy rather than a superhero movie but the worst part is the comedy isn't even funny, also the movie really lacks in character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
Here 's another Marvel movie because beyond the Fantastic Four director Tim Story was fair as in the sequel, but do not despair because the restart in this year will be better than the two of Story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EOB900Aug 25, 2015
I know people say this is bad but i honestly i think its ok
I think the choices to play the fantastic four are great choices and i like its creativity and its gets a few laughs
But unfortunately the film does lack a story and a villian
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NinthDoctorGuySep 6, 2015
Tim Story's adaptation is not quite as good as Trank's, but was still thoroughly enjoyable. Michael Chiklis was easily the best thing about the film, his portrayal being enjoyable and believable. The rest of the cast sort of stand in hisTim Story's adaptation is not quite as good as Trank's, but was still thoroughly enjoyable. Michael Chiklis was easily the best thing about the film, his portrayal being enjoyable and believable. The rest of the cast sort of stand in his shadow, though Jessica Alba is just here for the looks as her acting is just abysmal. The special effects were mostly miss, but some were hits. Despite its cons, it does do an aspect much better than Trank's adaptation: the handling of Dr. Doom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 14, 2016
Marvel's first attempt to make a Fantastic Four movie was handled out to 20th Century Fox Film Corporation which we all thought it would've been a good idea. This was obviously better than the 2015 reboot although the Thing is way too small.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nahtan1244Feb 14, 2016
An ok movie. The best characters are johnny storm and Reed Richards. Sue storm and ben grimm are not very good. This movie gets the comedy element of the fantastic four right and dr.doom's look was taken straight from the comics and veryAn ok movie. The best characters are johnny storm and Reed Richards. Sue storm and ben grimm are not very good. This movie gets the comedy element of the fantastic four right and dr.doom's look was taken straight from the comics and very good. However the action scenes are cheesy and not well done. also the acting can at times be a little choppy. Overall this is an ok but borderline bad adaptation of the fantastic four Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DyliebarMar 2, 2016
It's an okay film, I will admit that!! I liked the action, I liked the characters, it was a fun time!!! Even though the storytelling was a bit off and the acting was really corny at times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FuturedirectorApr 25, 2016
A superhero film that uses inappropriate story-telling, simple action, more love and friendship than violence (as it shouldn't), same characters, simple visual effects and a bad beginning. Until now, any Fantastic Four film is a good one. ButA superhero film that uses inappropriate story-telling, simple action, more love and friendship than violence (as it shouldn't), same characters, simple visual effects and a bad beginning. Until now, any Fantastic Four film is a good one. But it's coming, at least, now we've this not-satisfactory-enough "action" film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Adapting The Fantastic Four was never going to be easy. Any Fantastic Four film has to respect the beloved characters at the team's core, the first fruit of the Stan Lee/Jack Kirby collaboration which—alongside Lee and Steve Ditko'sAdapting The Fantastic Four was never going to be easy. Any Fantastic Four film has to respect the beloved characters at the team's core, the first fruit of the Stan Lee/Jack Kirby collaboration which—alongside Lee and Steve Ditko's Spider-Man—revolutionized comics in the early '60s by introducing problem-ridden heroes. Following the source material means establishing four distinct personalities, getting the family-like team dynamic right, making sure there's action, throwing in some laughs, creating convincing special effects, and getting the origin story out of the way while still making room for an adventure. That's a lengthy checklist. Fantastic Four puts half a click next to a single box.

To focus on the positive, Tim Story's Fantastic Four—the product of a decade of development, countless screenwriters, and several directors who drifted in and out of the project—comes alive whenever the focus shifts to the relationship between the Human Torch (Chris Evans) and The Thing (Michael Chiklis). After encountering a cosmic storm while working alongside Julian McMahon (as a business tycoon who spends the film slowly turning into Dr. Doom), Evans, Chiklis, Ioan Gruffudd (playing the stretch-tastic super-scientist Reed Richards), and Jessica Alba (playing the Invisible Girl) return to Earth with strange—and in Chiklis' case, disfiguring—powers. Chiklis becomes destructively depressed; Evans, as probably the least angst-ridden comic-book hero ever created, can't wait to take to the skies, show off for girls, and perform motorcycle stunts. (That last part doesn't make a lot of sense, but a trip to the X-Games provides plenty of opportunities for product placement.) Chiklis conveys a real humanity beneath his none-too-impressive monster suit, and Evans makes it clear that his constant teasing is, in its own way, an attempt to keep his buddy from plunging into despair. It's nicely played by both actors.

Then there's the rest of the movie. The obvious product of countless revisions, Fantastic Four jumps from character to character and scene to scene with little logic and gives everyone but Evans and Chiklis a single defining character trait to go with their powers: McMahon is megalomaniacal. Gruffudd is dull. Alba is, well, the girl. Sure, the characters should be iconic, but they don't have to be living action figures. There's a spark-free love triangle between Gruffudd, Alba, and McMahon, and eventually, everyone starts stretching, disappearing, flaming, or clobbering as the plot dictates. Then the film ends with the promise of many more adventures to come. But who would want them? Not comic-book fans, who've been spoiled by too many good movies like Batman Begins and the Spider-Man series. Not action fans, who will wonder why the fireworks fizzled. And not the morbidly curious looking for the truly terrible film that the early trailers promised. Instead, they'll find something much worse: A garish mediocrity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SomePersonaJan 22, 2017
This movie really sucks. It is very dated and the comedy is totally cheesy and just flat and unfunny. It might be the worst superhero movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews